Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

jomoloney wrote: »
    is the Xmas market on yet?

heading up that way next week for a day or two
    Yup its on since last friday , the two sisters were in today . They said there is a place selling non alcoholic punch that you add whatever tipple you like yourself to and its lovely .
    I'll mosey in myself tomorrow night with the kids for a snoop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I was just looking at the paperwork for the last lot of lambs I sold. There's the usual VAT and Commission, then there's something called MSD Charge, what's that? I must ask Saturday if no one here knows.

Its a banking charge , I rang Eoin about his commision a couple of weeks ago and he explained them all . Didnt knock anything of his commision though

moy83 wrote: »
    Its a banking charge , I rang Eoin about his commision a couple of weeks ago and he explained them all . Didnt knock anything of his commision though

I'm paying for them feckers already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

you and most of the country

That doesnt mean they dont want more though :mad:

moy83 wrote: »
    That doesnt mean they dont want more though :mad:

How is it the EU won't pay farmers on the double for SFP and say agri plan, but we can pay the banks on the double.

Quick, someone ring Joe.

How is it the EU won't pay farmers on the double for SFP and say agri plan, but we can pay the banks on the double.

Quick, someone ring Joe.

Ah he's in bed or up counting his money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

how to chop wood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Handy way to chop logs. Liked the swedish fire torch link also

naughto wrote: »
    how to chop wood
    There isnt a knot in sight . Its a good idea all the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Or stand the log up in 2 old car tyres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Or stand the log up in 2 old car tyres.

Get a man in with a hydraulic log splitter for the day

delaval wrote: »

Have one for sale here if anyone is interested . It will split up to 14" long .
    Its working great but the father made another one that will take them 40" instead

delaval wrote: »

Amazing the amount of timber you can clear in a few hours with one of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

I'm trying to reduce the belly. What with tractors and loaders etc. an hour or so swinging the splitting axe is the only physical exercise I'm getting!

Same here. Was given simple advice...... Eat less train more :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

In traffic jam at roadworks, lights went red and car jumped the lights from way back. He didn't know there was a squad car in queue in front. Never smiled as much went the squad went after him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

whelan1 wrote: »
    In traffic jam at roadworks, lights went red and car jumped the lights from way back. He didn't know there was a squad car in queue in front. Never smiled as much went the squad went after him

Did you not see the light's go green several times when you were checking the talent. :-)

td5man wrote: »
    Did you not see the light's go green several times when you were checking the talent Boards. :-)

My uncle had a lot of weight on, went to the doctor and got advice. Went back some time later as big as ever. Doctor complained he wasn't going walking like what he was told, uncle said he was, three times a day. Doctor asked him what times, then told him he wanted him going walking at breakfast time, lunch time, and dinner time ;)

Passenger in car

td5man wrote: »
    Did you not see the light's go green several times when you were checking the talent. :-)

Ah if only I was 20 years younger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I'd say you're oul boy spent your entire late teens and early twenties peppering himself that some disinherited second son was going to turn up at his front door some Fri night around tea time holding his belly saying he was pregnant with your child and he eyeing up all the road frontage and the cubicle sheds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

ah now, not to many young lads would turn down a test drive in a older model;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Spent a couple of days canvassing IFA election. Great days out. The aroma of sweet smelling silage and the commentary on the great spell of weather are the impressions you bring away. Lots of lime spreaders working away and the odd farmer transferring slurry from one tank to another.:D

G'wan then, who were ya canvassing for :pac:

Handbags about to be thrown here i reckon :D

Was in Smyths there. Walked in and walked straight out. Pure chaos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Same here, found one guy in the field "working". He asked how we found him and I said all I had to do was follow the umbilical pipe. He **** himself thought I was Dept!!!!