How has the recession affected you?

• 29-11-2013 12:37AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31

Well, how has it affected you, and what has changed for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Which one? This one or the last one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Hasn't affected me a great deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

No real effect. Stopped watching the news and now daydream about what I'm gonna buy next when listening to other people moan about how hard up they are.

The recession, a speed bump in the progress of life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I used to rent movies from Xtravision, now I have to download them for free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Mr. Tom

I don't let it bother me really. I mean, it's bound to happen sometime. You could wear a hat if it really bothers you. There's loads of new techniques/procedures on the market at the market at the minute. Sure look at Wayne Rooney. You wouldn't even know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Cant afford the water charges anymore so Ive taken to drinking the fluid from dung, Bear Grylls style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Agricola wrote: »
    Cant afford the water charges anymore so Ive taken to drinking the fluid from dung, Bear Grylls style.
    Dung-water is getting it hard to achieve market traction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

well can't bring the smallies to the local santa train this year, santa himself has been seriously curtailed also, mortgage will be skipped to pay for that, no pressies between me and the missus, still gettin the heatin oil by the drum, heatin limited to upstairs in the evenin before bedtime, (which is gettin earlier as a result), esb being paid weekly (online) to spread it out, car tax left 'til the new year, when it can (hopefully) be paid, other than that.....grand....happy recession....i mean christmas....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

It's making me more money conscious than I would have been. I'm thankful it's happening now when I'm in my twenties with no mortgage or dependants because I feel it's teaching me lots of lessons (Yay! Lessons!) that will benefit me later in life when I do have them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Passed my driver theory test in 2008... never bought a car!

Last holiday was 2006..

Lost a couple of stone in weight.

For the last five years each year, my income for the year has been equivalent to four months pay when i was 21 - 23 years old.

Working a 40 hour week for no pay at an internship (not even jobbridge!)

Attempted suicide two years ago.

Haven't been to the dentist in 5 years.

Have owned three pairs of runners in the last five years.

On the plus side though I got an education! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,560 ✭✭✭✭road_high

danoc wrote: »
    Well, how has it affected you, and what has changed for you?

Could say it affected me a lot really. Was working on contract in a semi-state body, basically nobody used to get let go..or so everyone said!
    As our contracts ended they were of course not renewed in 2009/2010. The cutbacks were biting hard at that stage.
    Was quite a shock really at the time and of course huge financially and a very uncertain time in my life. But I did eventually manage to get another decent job and onto my current job which is thankfully better than what I used to have; lesson I learned is things just do happen for a reason and as long as you're willing to get out there and do things for yourself. I know many others in different sectors haven't been so fortunate and have had to leave to get an oppurtunity. Especially younger graduates with no experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I cut the legs off my trousers in summer to have shorts and then sow the legs onto my bodywarmers in winter so I have a coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭the flananator

I live in Australia.

It's making me more money conscious than I would have been. I'm thankful it's happening now when I'm in my twenties with no mortgage or dependants because I feel it's teaching me lots of lessons (Yay! Lessons!) that will benefit me later in life when I do have them.
    Many of the most successful people were brought up in hard times, they have an inbuilt instinct to not "splash out" when times are better so they don't be naked when the tide goes out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

I don't really go out to pubs anymore, only every couple of months. Just cannot justify the cost. I go to house parties instead, and the same with most of my friends.

I used to think nothing of €100 on a night in the pub, along with a €100 bag of cocaine most weekends. Hav'nt had cocaine in since the recession kicked in...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Things went downhill rapidly from 2009 for me. Hit rock bottom in 2011.

2013, I'm enthusiastic and excited about my future. However, thinking back on the previous decade causes mind numbing bouts of depression still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,866 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Financially, I'm self-employed so business is down 50% since the introduction of the USC three years ago. Still managed to tick along though. However, the last three months have been dreadful, just dreadful. Hopefully the mortgage will get paid on Monday.

Personally though, the less money we have, the better my wife and I have been getting along. Don't understand it, but I'm happier now than I've ever been!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭chrismon

No more work in my trade so I'm back in college re-educating myself with little money.
    Enough to get by and I'm happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Not too bad all along - we were both (husband and I) brought up in hard times so didn't go mad. We've been plodding along until this year, things just seem to have gone to ****e. His workplace and mine have both decided to shut down for January. No warning just an announcement and tough ****. Two totally separate unrelated businesses.
    We've a small bit squirrelled away but it's gonna be a tough year. Should be grand though by Spring - one loan (college for husband) nearly paid off and then the only real large bill we have is the mortgage.

Fecking ****e though.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,560 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Not too bad all along - we were both (husband and I) brought up in hard times so didn't go mad. We've been plodding along until this year, things just seem to have gone to ****e. His workplace and mine have both decided to shut down for January. No warning just an announcement and tough ****. Two totally separate unrelated businesses.
    We've a small bit squirrelled away but it's gonna be a tough year. Should be grand though by Spring - one loan (college for husband) nearly paid off and then the only real large bill we have is the mortgage.

Fecking ****e though.:(

Can I ask what sector you both work in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

chrismon wrote: »
    No more work in my trade so I'm back in college re-educating myself with little money.
    Enough to get by and I'm happy.

Brilliant attitude.

Recession has made me want to leave this country. The planning and regulatory authorities have got it so wrong here and continue to do so.

I just don't believe the government have the best interests of those who contribute to society the most in mind.

Spending cuts, and tax hikes across the board are hard to stomach. Particularly when you have people like Hogan proposing a new car tax, a tyre tax, bin tax and eh....a....leaving town tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭samina

I think it's hit the younger generation (teens, twenties) in a way that's hopefully going to make a difference to this country in the future. I don't think they have the sense of entitlement that the older generations have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

road_high wrote: »
    Can I ask what sector you both work in?

I work in a cafe/restaurant and husband is a Driver for a coach company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭jack747

yes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭hungry hippo 4

We hear the phrase, "we've turned a corner" on a daily basis.

cnuts

Lost my job last year because the company closed down, but I got another one very quickly so I wasn't financially affected (if anything I'm better off thanks to the redundancy).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I have to buy my foie gras from Lidl :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Theres a lot more complaining going on.

We hear the phrase, "we've turned a corner" on a daily basis.

cnuts
    yep! we're spinning round in circles! (faster than the politicians are spinning the story)