Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WARNING - attack in the Dun na Coiribe area

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 emma.gaynor

So you're saying that this guy won't be caught? Not very encouraging, is it? I'm wondering if you've actually read this thread and have seen the fact we've addressed my comment and I've explained myself.

I can see this being an issue between the two of us so I am going to step back and not respond, however if you want to take it further, feel free to send me a PM. Seeing as you're new to Boards; you click on my username and select "send private message to boneyarsebogman".

Welcome to Boards.

Thanks for the welcome.

Speaking from experience, it's unlikely he will be caught, but I cannot stress how delighted it would make me to be proven wrong.

And you're right, I hadn't read through the thread, it was a knee jerk reaction to your initial post. I certainly don't want to "take it further" but I appreciate the instructions on how to send a PM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

Disgusting, can't believe this happened to you OP and so glad you're okay. Fair play for contacting the Gardaí and the SU as well. It's best that these things are spoken about aloud than keeping it to yourself.

On the plus side, I posted this on Facebook and four of my friends have already "reFacebooked" it (we need a term for that...).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

OP, I saw this in the Galway forum and have been meaning to post in it.
    I cannot begin to imagine how scary it must have been to start speaking out about this and I admire your bravery for that so much. I'm very glad that you managed to get away.

Reading about the attack in Renmore and this incident in NUIG is actually making me feel sick. It's disgusting. I cannot believe that a violent attack could be carried out in the middle of the day outside the Kingfisher, such a public place. (I'm referring to NUI here, just realising that the incident in Renmore was also near a Kingfisher). Anyway, I would imagine that this area is quite well surveilled by CCTV so hopefully all of those responsible will be caught soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭ciano1

Apparently the people living in Cuirt na Coiribe all got a text from reception about the attack.
    News of the attack is defo spreading anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭MingulayJohnny

Discodog wrote: »
    Sadly the Guards won't do the obvious thing & get a female plain clothed Guard to act as bait. All the visible activity may just push him to try somewhere else. They should, at very least, set up some covert CCTV.

Lynsey de Paul (the blonde singer) did a brilliant video for women. She showed various simple techniques that will reduce your chances of being attacked & how to reduce the impact if you are.

Having been attacked myself on the street I've thought about why people don't do this also. Setting up a trap could be a good idea , but then you don't know if the attacker has a blade of some sort. Even if back up was close by ( bearing in mind that the attacker can't get wind of them ) it could turn nasty. Martial arts can be a lifesaver in these situations but even if you're very skilled it's a big risk to take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭MingulayJohnny

To be honest this doesn't surprise me.Ireland in general is going to the dogs and Galway is quite bad now compared to 20 years ago.From my experience like any other urban area in ireland Galway has it's lowlifes and undesirables.That is my opinion formed from personal experience,talking to people and reading the local papers for isntance in the sentinal yesterday the gardai said that there is at leat 12 houses burgled every week in the Galway city area.So to be honest i think things will continue to go downhill unless the gardai become effective or untill we have a justice system that favours the rights of the victim rather than one that favours the rights of the criminal.

I'm glad the OP managed to get away from this scumbag. I'm male and from rural Ireland myself but have lived in cities on and off now for ten years. I can't see the scumbag element of our society decreasing any time soon unfortunately but there's a lack of social solidarity that allows them to get away with a lot more than they should.

Myself , my brother and my father were talking recently about stories we'd heard or situations we'd been in ourselves with skangers and I asked my father what it was like when he was younger. He said there was always knackers about but people just didn't tolerate them as much , the real tough guys would take care of them and they'd just scatter. You'll find that when somebody who is full of sawdust and swagger is confronted with the real deal they quickly deflate.

These days people freeze on the bus or on the street when confronted with say a group of aggressive street kids , nobody wants to intervene because they're afraid they'll be brought up for assault. So you've basically got the undesirable element of our society knowing that if they want to target somebody there's a good chance that people around them will not intervene. I know this isn't always the case and there are still decent people out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

I agree, which is why the SU is so livid about it.

Fair enough. Anyone got any links to a full story about this? I'd be interested to read about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭shellib

Just seen this... Thanks a million for posting OP.... and thank god you got away!
    I am a first year in NUIG and walk that way every morning and evening usually after dark since its getting dark quite early these days.
    I am so grateful to made aware of this. Since I am only a first year I don't know many people to walk home with that live near me so am usually alone.
    I will defo be walking the long way from now on.
    Thanks again for posting :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I didn't hear anything about the attack on campus,in the middle of the day? Hard to believe people didn't see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

greetings wrote: »
    I didn't hear anything about the attack on campus,in the middle of the day? Hard to believe people didn't see it.

Hadn't heard anything about it either which is why I'm curious to see if any has a link to the full story. I walk by the kingfisher every day in the morning and again at varying times in the afternoon depending when I'm off and there's always a hape of people around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Foxx92

ciano1 wrote: »
    Apparently the people living in Cuirt na Coiribe all got a text from reception about the attack.
    News of the attack is defo spreading anyway!
    Yup and theres a notice on the gates saying not to walk alone there after 6pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Carolanne..

My friends have an apartment just across from that pathway nearest to the round about in dun. and I always run through it at night going to there place which would be about 8ish, gives me the shivers but they always wait outside the door for me
    one of my friends had the same ordeal around this time last year(given it was after night club time, which was stupid of her) but I wouldnt consider the area a bad place to live, it could happen absolutely anywhere and probably does in the places you least expect them because people don't "consider" them as bad places. Galway defintely isn't safe place anymore, I think people that are originally from here think it is because its small enough to know your way through all the streets,but its jsut the same as anywhere else, scumbags are everywhere
    I'm kinda rattled by this whole thread, as I am living in renmore too and go to NUIG and pass through that area every morning and evening I didnt even hear about either incident!
    Fair play to OP must be tough hope your ok xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

Rylan wrote: »
    I would recommend anyone out there who may be walking alone at night to invest in a personel alarm. Not sure where they can be bought but don't think they would cost more than €10 - €15 euro. A strap wraps around your wrist connected to the device and when separated or a button is pressed is make a load obvios shrill. May just panick the attacker to back off.

Maybe someone on here knows where they can be bought but def a good investment.

Looks something like this.

http://www.personal-alarms.co.uk/images/Silver-Minder-Phone-Personal-Alarm.jpg

As far as i know, you can get them in the NUIG student union shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GO_Bear

Hey, I lived in Dun na Coribie for over a year , and used to walk to and form college every day , around exam time I would come home at 10 or 11 when the lib closed and never had any problems. I am a male if it makes a difference but I was not hassled once.

It frightening to think that it can happen there, and fairplay to ya for getting away and posting. Galway is such a nice city , its a pity a few scumbags are sabotaging it !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 old fogey

The topic caught my eye, as it was a major beef of mine while in college. (too long ago) That area was dangerous years ago. Do not just ask for lights, ask for a security officer. There should be one patrolling there regularly. I am not a person who touts "entitlements" but you are most definitely entitled to a basic safety level as you pursue your degree. Demand a dedicated security officer for that area.
    I was an SU person decades ago. We fought for lighting. We got some. It used to be so much worse. We even asked for shuttle service like QUB had (has?) but what we should have done is demand an active, visible security presence along that strip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 techguy101

Carolyyn wrote: »
    The SU in the college where I work give out free personal alarms to staff and teachers, just picked one up today myself. Folks should check with NUIG SU about this or if not suggest it's something they should provide to students..

Awesome to know, I'll be asking my GF to get on ASAP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Unfortunately, this has happened again.
    September 9, 2011 Woman walking alone when she was accosted

BY FRANK FARRAGHER

A 20-YEAR-OLD female student had a lucky escape when two passersby heard her screams after she was attacked and dragged into bushes near the Dun na Coiribe complex, off the Headford Road, in the early hours of yesterday morning.
    The woman was walking back alone to her apartment at the student accommodation block between 2.30am and 2.50am when she was accosted and attack by a single male.
    The attacker – a man described as 5’7” to 5’8” tall and wearing black clothes with a black peak cap – managed to drag the young woman into an area of shrubbery where he attempted to assault her.
    Luckily, the woman’s screams were heard by two passersby who rushed to her aid and the attacker then ran off, leaving the victim in a badly shaken state.
    The alarm was raised and Gardaí arrived at the scene a short time after – the woman was given medical assistance but was released later that morning.
    Apart from being shocked and badly shaken, she is understood to be uninjured.
    A Garda spokesman told the Galway City Tribune that they were taking an extremely serious view of what was a very disturbing assault on the young woman.
    They have issued an appeal for anyone who may have seen anything suspicious in the vicinity of the Dun na Coiribe estate between 2 am and 3am yesterday morning to contact them at Galway Garda Station, Mill Street (091-538000).

http://www.galwaynews.ie/21464-passersby-save-student-violent-sex-assault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 mdbatches

It is NOT good enough that this has been let happen once again. There are three estates within this area: Cuirt na Coiribe, Gort na Coiribe (both of which are STUDENT RESIDENCIES) and Dun na Coiribe (which is home to many students). Its time that the university provided the area with 24 hour security. Similar attacks have happened over the past few years as documented on this forum and in the local press. Campus accommodation should be a secure environment for students. Girls BE CAREFUL! It isnt safe to walk ANYWHERE alone, especially in the grey hours of the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭bildo

Personal safety alarms are available in the SU shop at a reduced price of €3.50.

I encourage people to keep them to hand, especially if walking alone late at night.

Will O'Brien Equality Officer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Sham_Lad

bildo wrote: »
    Personal safety alarms are available in the SU shop at a reduced price of €3.50.

I encourage people to keep them to hand, especially if walking alone late at night.

Will O'Brien Equality Officer

Bullets available at your local sporting goods store at a price of €0.10each

Much better value... and a permanent solution to those a$$wipes that attack women!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 edelg

This was on https://www.facebook.com/SpottedNuigLibrary today.

"The page has recently received a few messages with warnings about "a tall individual wearing a long black coat and a white cloth over his head for a mask" who was seen "coming out of the bushes in the little alleyway just off the main road over the bridge" near Dun na Coiribe. The messages were all sent in by lads, some of whom admitted they were scared and all of whom had stressed that this is no piss-take and should be taken seriously. One lad said he was cycling home sober but "If it was a drunk girl on her way back from town the story could have been different". So this is just a post to warn anyone living around the Dun na Coiribe area not to walk alone in the dark, the guards have already been called out to the area over the very same situation before. Cheers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I was in the reading room till 5.30 last night, called into tesco on my way home (I live near there) Security guard from Dunnes saw me walking, called me over. Insisted on walking the length of the car park with me, said that he'd seen a guy just standing around there an hour before. Walked up to the Pillo hotel and got a taxi home the five minutes from there, yer man seemed a bit freaked by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

1995??

Jesus...

Back in my day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Reports of a guy in the bushes behind Aras Moyola last night too at around 9.30pm. Strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Left Cairnes just after that time and I didn't notice anything, but I'll be sure to keep an eye out about the place with all these reports.

To be fair, I think some of these things can get a bit exaggerated, but it's best be safe anyway.