Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WARNING - attack in the Dun na Coiribe area

• 25-09-2010 6:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

This is a warning to all girls out there and living in the Dun na Coiribe area do NOT walk down the shortcut to the main road on the Quincentinal bridge in the dark.
    I was attacked there last night but luckily got away with scratches. He did not succeed with me thankfully but will try again with someone else!!!

Please pass this on to anyone that you know living in the area...Thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

did you report this to the gardai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

Is that the path to the bridge from the waterworks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 cath_murray

Rang them straight away at the scene....followed up with them today and asked that they patrol the area tonight

It is path down from the Tesco's roundabout on the way up to Quincential Bridge, people use it to get to the house in the back area of Dun na Coiribe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Perhaps this should also be posted in the NUIG section?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Sorry to hear of your experience OP. Thank you for bringing it to peoples attention...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭DOTHEDOG

Did you get a description

he attacked me from behind and i was too busy fighting him off...couldn't see him at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭seriouslysweet

Scumbag, I don't know where you mean but is still good to know.

As unfortunate as it is that you nearly got attacked, it was a bit silly of you to walk down that area by yourself. Regardless, I would advise to also alert the NUIG if you're a student there, so they can do a college-wide announcement here to raise awareness.

was going to contact the student union on Monday...asked Galway Bay FM to make an announcement today as well

And that is the reason that I am posting it here cause I didnt think that it would be dangerous to walk there at 10.30pm at night...and nether did my house mates

I am not a student there so if you know anyone that i can contact in NUIG I would appreciate it. Also want to campaign that there is a mirror or lights or something out on that path

Have contacted my landlord to have him contact the people that maintain the grounds to cut the grass so its not as easy to hid in wait there for someone like this guy did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,436 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

OP, welcome to Galway.

Sorry about what happened to you, and really glad to hear you had the oomph to fight it off, and the presence of mind to do the right things afterwards.

Overall, Galway is remarkably safe for a city this size and with this many transient people. But you do need to exercise a good bit of judgement. I have no problems walking around any of the city centre streets alone at night. But I'd never consider walking down that path you mentioned at night, and would actually think twice about doing it alone during the day, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Very sorry to hear that you (anyone) were attacked.

Very happy to hear that you fought the bastard off! Good for you.

@JustMary, been living in Galway for years and agree that it is a safe place to live

But there is bad people out there in any town and if I can save one girl from going through what happened or worse then something good has come out of something bad!!!

Please pass it on to anyone you know to be extra vigilant especially with the weekend festivities that are on at the moment (Oyster festival and Rugby)

If you can think of anything else that I can do to warn people and stop it happening to someone else please let me know...this is my way of fighting back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

sorry to hear what happened to you. I know you thought you were safe but you can never be safe at night time. This bastard was hiding and waiting for his victim. I have to daughters living in galway and I will get them to spread the word round all their friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭inisboffin

OP thank for posting, fair play for fighting the attacker off, and hope you are doing ok.
    It is good to be vigilant, but it was absolutely not your fault to make a choice to walk where a lot of others walk. We assume safety in a City like Galway because it IS relatively safe. After dark is tricky, and a spot we deem safe attracts a different element at night, and that's easy to forget. Safety in numbers is the way to go at night imo.

Some scumbag decides to now make it a danger spot, and messes all that up. We must always be aware, and this is NOT just about gender, as the scumbag element will target people for many reasons. A friend had a few pints on him and he walks with a cane, he was followed and jumped and the c*ap beaten out of him, would have been worse except some security guards at a nearby, but fairly desolated spot chased them off.
    He is still shaken a bit as it was so unexpected, and that is months ago. Awareness rather than fear, as there is no point in letting this asshole put you in fear. And self defense classes too. Sounds like you did a great job with him, but take it easy, as it's not a nice thing to happen to anyone, regardless of outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Sorry to hear that you've been through such an experience OP. Well done for still thinking of others despite being shuck up yourself and putting the word out there to be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

@cath_murray Congrats, on not only the way you dealt with the scum that attacked you BUT also in your positive attitude in the aftermath.
    Overall, Galway is remarkably safe for a city this size and with this many transient people.

While I would agree with the above, there have been a number of very disturbing incidents in Galway and I find the degree of complacancy is unbelievable at times, what with people walking alone late at night, either gender walking home ALONE AND very drunk and best of all walking home with headphones on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Very mature of you to spread this story OP. You might save somebody from serious injury or worse.

Fair play and well done for fighting the bastard off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 204 ✭✭GuessWho2009

there is camera's everywhere down there. it be caught on video so hopefully he be caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds1

Are there cameras down that lane? I often walked it and never noticed any, hope there are though! God I'd love to get my hands on him, makes me so mad!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

Have contacted my landlord to have him contact the people that maintain the grounds to cut the grass so its not as easy to hid in wait there for someone like this guy did.

Were you attacked by a Pokémon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭apoeiguq3094y

This is a warning to all girls out there and living in the Dun na Coiribe area do NOT walk down the shortcut to the main road on the Quincentinal bridge in the dark.
    I was attacked there last night but luckily got away with scratches. This occurred at 10.30pm so anytime in the dark is dangerous. He did not succeed with me thankfully but will try again with someone else!!!

Please pass this on to anyone that you know living in the area...Thank you

Terrible that this happened.... those walkways are very overgrown. If I'm thinking of the correct place anyway.

I think the OP means one of the two walkways leading into Dun from the main road. There's one near to where the Volvo ocean race sign is/was on the quincentennial rd and one closer to the bridge. At first I thought you meant on dyke road, which may not have been the best idea.... But these 2 paths are the main way into the estate.

Badly need some lights on it. Not aware of any cameras there though.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

This has me ****ing sickened tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

As unfortunate as it is that you nearly got attacked, it was a bit silly of you to walk down that area by yourself. Regardless, I would advise to also alert the NUIG if you're a student there, so they can do a college-wide announcement here to raise awareness.

Sorry, but the OP was attacked, not nearly attacked. Just because the attacker didn't succeed in badly injuring or killing the OP, doesn't mean is wasn't an attack.

While you're right that it's important to take precautions, the victim-blaming probably isn't necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭thelongfellow

Sorry, but the OP was attacked, not nearly attacked. Just because the attacker didn't succeed in badly injuring or killing the OP, doesn't mean is wasn't an attack.

While you're right that it's important to take precautions, the victim-blaming probably isn't necessary.

I don't think the poster was blaming the victim-it's just a fact of life these days that you don't walk anywhere overgrown like that alone at night. I stick to well lit areas at night and if I've to go the long way to stay safe I will.

None of that is ment to be a dig at OP. Hopefully the Guards will have some luck with catching whoever it was.

I'm not victim-blaming though. Most colleges advise that you don't walk alone. I know GMIT had a campaign about this in recent years, particularly following the murder of the poor Riedo girl.

Right, but calling someone "silly' in a post right after they were attacked DID *read* like victim blaming to me. It wasn't silly, it was a choice which was based on past experience. I do take your point about highlighting awareness and safer choices, but what the OP did was normal, not a risk taking activity. Attack impact can hit you a few days later at minimum, and the OP should get nothing but encouragement imo for posting the warning on here. Fair play OP.

inisboffin wrote: »
    Right, but calling someone "silly' in a post right after they were attacked DID seem like victim blaming to me. It wasn't silly, it was a choice which was based on past experience. Attack impact can hit you a few days later at minimum, and the OP should get nothing but encouragement imo for posting the warning on here.

It is all well and good to give her encouragement, but if you actually read my post you'll see that I also advised her to go talk to the students union as well. The guy is out there still. If he's attacked once, he's going to do it again and the next person might not be so lucky.

Raise awareness, get people active. These are what will stop him.

It is all well and good to give her encouragement, but if you actually read my post you'll see that I also advised her to go talk to the students union as well. The guy is out there still. If he's attacked once, he's going to do it again and the next person might not be so lucky.

Raise awareness, get people active. These are what will stop him.

Right, that part I agree with. NOT calling someone who was attacked "silly":mad:

Misguided?

Call it what you will, people need to realise that, while Galway is a relatively safe city, you should always be wary wherever you are.

Misguided?

Call it what you will, people need to realise that, while Galway is a relatively safe city, you should always be wary wherever you are.

Have NO idea what you mean by calling me misguided. All I am saying is that the OP didn't do anything 'silly' and YES it does read like victim blaming, that's what I responded to in your post. Blaming the person it happened to by calling them names makes no sense, when they did what 99 per cent of others do in that area.

'Silly' is relative, and we don't all walk everywhere in packs. Certain areas are more dangerous, but an attack can happen anywhere at any time. There is a fine line between awareness and taking it to a whole other level. Yes, I agree with you boneyarsebogman that we can get complacent, I just hope we don't fall into fear as opposed to common sense.

Have NO idea what you mean by calling me misguided. All I am saying is that the OP didn't do anything 'silly' and YES it does read like victim blaming, that's what I responded to in your post. Blaming the person it happened to by calling them names makes no sense, when they did what 99 per cent of others do in that area.

'Silly' is relative, and we don't all walk everywhere in packs. Certain areas are more dangerous, but an attack can happen anywhere at any time. There is a fine line between awareness and taking it to a whole other level. Yes, I agree with you boneyarsebogman that we can get complacent, I just hope we don't fall into fear as opposed to common sense.

No. I wasn't calling you misguided. You found great offense to me using the word "silly" to describe the act of her walking under a dimly lit underpass by herself. I'm going to leave this matter as it is going off topic somewhat and seems to be escalating to something between both of us. Feel free to PM me if you want to take it further.

We need to raise awareness about this city and what happens therein.

No. I wasn't calling you misguided. You found great offense to me using the word "silly" to describe the act of her walking under a dimly lit underpass by herself. I'm going to leave this matter as it is going off topic somewhat and seems to be escalating to something between both of us. Feel free to PM me if you want to take it further.

We need to raise awareness about this city and what happens therein.

Fair enough, that's your opinion. And yes, I did take offense at 'silly' for whatever reason. My point was that it a regularly used thoroughfare and one of the main walkways to the estate - not like red riding hood popping off the path or something, so therefore not a 'silly' choice. It does seem like better lighting is needed in this area. We both agree about raising awareness, so happy to leave it at that too :)

One final point: the fact it is a busy thoroughfare means nothing. As you remember, the poor Riedo girl was murdered on the Line, which is a very popular walk from Renmore to town. I guess the reason I feel that the OP's actions were "misguided" was because the murder occurred very close to where I lived and worked at the time, but also somewhere that I have walked myself, so it brought the point home to me.

No offense was intended towards the OP.

Yup. Attacks can happen anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

One final point: the fact it is a busy thoroughfare means nothing. As you remember, the poor Riedo girl was murdered on the Line, which is a very popular walk from Renmore to town. I guess the reason I feel that the OP's actions were "misguided" was because the murder occurred very close to where I lived and worked at the time, but also somewhere that I have walked myself, so it brought the point home to me.

No offense was intended towards the OP.

I don't think anyone is arguing against more awareness and caution being taken. That happened very close to where I live as well, and had walked it hundreds of times before it happened.

My point is that we have to be careful not to inadvertently dissuade anyone from reporting attacks for fear of being blamed or whatever. Of course everyone should be aware of their surroundings, and take all the relevant precautions...but the fact is that it doesn't always happen and sometimes people take advantage of that.

(And just as an aside, my problem with your post was less to do with the silly and more to do with suggesting that it wasn't an attack.)

I'm not very familiar with the area, so how is it with regards to lighting, maintenance of grassy areas and if there are CCTV camera?

I don't think anyone is arguing against more awareness and caution being taken. That happened very close to where I live as well, and had walked it hundreds of times before it happened.

My point is that we have to be careful not to inadvertently dissuade anyone from reporting attacks for fear of being blamed or whatever. Of course everyone should be aware of their surroundings, and take all the relevant precautions...but the fact is that it doesn't always happen and sometimes people take advantage of that.

(And just as an aside, my problem with your post was less to do with the silly and more to do with suggesting that it wasn't an attack.)

In hindsight that was a bit stupid of me. I meant more that it wasn't a sexual attack. Didn't mean in any way that she wasn't attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,994 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Sadly the Guards won't do the obvious thing & get a female plain clothed Guard to act as bait. All the visible activity may just push him to try somewhere else. They should, at very least, set up some covert CCTV.

Lynsey de Paul (the blonde singer) did a brilliant video for women. She showed various simple techniques that will reduce your chances of being attacked & how to reduce the impact if you are.

I'm not very familiar with the area, so how is it with regards to lighting, maintenance of grassy areas and if there are CCTV camera?

The path along the road to the quincentenial is well lit, the path on the other side of the hedge is reasonably well lit, but could be better. However the two paths (each about 5-10m long) through the hedge/trees are terribly lit. Its dangerous from the point of view that you would trip on something without seeing it, nevermind getting attacked by crouching-tiger/hidden-psycho

Is the pathway a popular walk for NUIG students? It might be an idea to put pressure on the Students Union to then put pressure on the City Council to improve the lighting in that area.

Yeah all the students from Dun Na Coiribe, Gort Na Coiribe, and Cuirt na Coiribe would use those two paths.

I think its a private contractor who looks after the green areas & trims those paths. They recently cut back some of the bushes, but the didn't do nearly enough. I understand that the trees help block noise from the road, but they really need to widen those paths.

Discodog wrote: »
    Sadly the Guards won't do the obvious thing & get a female plain clothed Guard to act as bait. All the visible activity may just push him to try somewhere else. They should, at very least, set up some covert CCTV.

Lynsey de Paul (the blonde singer) did a brilliant video for women. She showed various simple techniques that will reduce your chances of being attacked & how to reduce the impact if you are.

Heard that Vid is great. It's not just women that get jumped though, and the assholes do it for many reasons, sexual assault, robbery, plain-old violent powermongering. Apparently a lot of male-male muggings or attempted muggings/attacks go unreported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭soundbyte

OP, was this an attempted robbery, or was it something more serious? Glad to hear you got away.

OP have you been contacted by anybody in the media i.e. the Galway Advertiser/Galway Independent? If not, and if you're feeling up to it, maybe it might be a good idea to get in contact with them, so they can do a story about it. Not everybody who would walk there would be a student/boards member, so it would be a good idea to spread the word that was to be cautious too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

OP have you been contacted by anybody in the media i.e. the Galway Advertiser/Galway Independent? If not, and if you're feeling up to it, maybe it might be a good idea to get in contact with them, so they can do a story about it. Not everybody who would walk there would be a student/boards member, so it would be a good idea to spread the word that was to be cautious too.
    Got a mention;

http://www.galwayindependent.com/local-news/local-news/investigation-into-city-assault/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 emma.gaynor

I think you should change your ridiculous nickname if you really have the gall to challenge someone for taking a short cut to their home and, through no fault of their own, being attacked by some scumbag lowlife.

Very sorry to hear what happened to you Cath, I'm delighted you managed to fight him off and get away and I hope and pray that justice will be served, but in this day and age, it's unlikely to happen.

I think you should change your ridiculous nickname if you really have the gall to challenge someone for taking a short cut to their home and, through no fault of their own, being attacked by some scumbag lowlife.

Very sorry to hear what happened to you Cath, I'm delighted you managed to fight him off and get away and I hope and pray that justice will be served, but in this day and age, it's unlikely to happen.

So you're saying that this guy won't be caught? Not very encouraging, is it? I'm wondering if you've actually read this thread and have seen the fact we've addressed my comment and I've explained myself.

I can see this being an issue between the two of us so I am going to step back and not respond, however if you want to take it further, feel free to send me a PM. Seeing as you're new to Boards; you click on my username and select "send private message to boneyarsebogman".

Welcome to Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Rylan

I would recommend anyone out there who may be walking alone at night to invest in a personel alarm. Not sure where they can be bought but don't think they would cost more than €10 - €15 euro. A strap wraps around your wrist connected to the device and when separated or a button is pressed is make a load obvios shrill. May just panick the attacker to back off.

Maybe someone on here knows where they can be bought but def a good investment.

Looks something like this.

http://www.personal-alarms.co.uk/images/Silver-Minder-Phone-Personal-Alarm.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

I got a text from a friend of mine tonight regarding an attempted knife attack on a teenage girl outside the Renmore scout hall. My friend and their group were in the scout hall when it happened and the girl who was atttacked ran into them for safety and they called the Guards. The guy was in his late teens with shoulder length brown hair and average height apparently. The girl was ok thankfully and the Guards caught the guy who did it. But it might be an idea if you live in that area to keep that description in mind. My friend texted me about it as I sometimes use the Kingfisher gym in the evenings and am usually alone.

Just something to be aware of.

I got a text from a friend of mine tonight regarding an attempted knife attack on a teenage girl outside the Renmore scout hall. My friend and their group were in the scout hall when it happened and the girl who was atttacked ran into them for safety and they called the Guards. The guy was in his late teens with shoulder length brown hair and average height apparently. The girl was ok thankfully and the Guards caught the guy who did it. But it might be an idea if you live in that area to keep that description in mind. My friend texted me about it as I sometimes use the Kingfisher gym in the evenings and am usually alone.

Just something to be aware of.

When did this happen?