Where do all my socks go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Pfft ... paint your feet black , none of sock nonsense OP.

On a slightly different note , herself sent one of the smaller offspring into the hotpress recently , he eventually returned with a set of bath towels she'd never seen before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

True story.
    My brother in laws dog had a habit of eating stuff he shouldnt like pebbles,toys,that sort of thing.
    He awoke to his dog roaring in pain one morning.
    He went out into his yard to find his poor mutt in the process of sh1tting out a football sock.
    The dog was running around yelping with a sock hanging out of his arse.
    Thats my best sock related anecdote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

What if you weren't losing a sock every time you are doing your laundry but actually gaining a sock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Mr.McLovin wrote: »
    this seems to be an epidemic, if only wearing sandals were cool this wouldn't be a problem

It's because of years of slandering by the sock industries lobbyists
    5starpool wrote: »
    Every 18 months or so throw out all your socks and buy 20 new pairs all the same colour for everyday wear.

I wear odd socks every day. I started about 7 years ago. I just couldn't be bothered anymore. They're only socks. Today one is green striped, the other is orange striped.

True story.
    My brother in laws dog had a habit of eating stuff he shouldnt like pebbles,toys,that sort of thing.
    He awoke to his dog roaring in pain one morning.
    He went out into his yard to find his poor mutt in the process of sh1tting out a football sock.
    The dog was running around yelping with a sock hanging out of his arse.
    Thats my best sock related anecdote.

Sounds like my friends dog , Wankbag.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=82334154

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

I'm always losing socks they go in a pair and only one comes back :s I'm convinced there's a some kind of creature in the machine stealing them lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

*tip of the day

the solution is to buy all black socks that way when you lose one you still have lots of unpaired but yet matching socks in the drawer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Socks?

Rich bastard!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

Wash your socks at 40 degrees or lower and they won't melt in the washing machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

pharmaton wrote: »
    *tip of the day

the solution is to buy all black socks that way when you lose one you still have lots of unpaired but yet matching socks in the drawer.
    Some wise words.

My drawer is always full of black socks and I never really have problems matching up. Even if two pairs are slightly different nobody is going to notice anyway. Well they look like black socks but they're not, only priest socks are truly black. You see, ordinary shops sell what look like black socks, but if you look closely, you'll see that they're very, very, very, very, very, very, very dark blue.

Some wise words.

My drawer is always full of black socks and I never really have problems matching up. Even if two pairs are slightly different nobody is going to notice anyway. Well they look like black socks but they're not, only priest socks are truly black. You see, ordinary shops sell what look like black socks, but if you look closely, you'll see that they're very, very, very, very, very, very, very dark blue.

I have to ask this ..... have you been looking through a priests drawers ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I have a selection of odd socks that I keep until their match (or their comrades as my mum used to call them) turn up. Every so often one does turn up but most are long gone to sock heaven, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

Give me your address OP and I'll drop around with my 36 odd socks. If we combine ours, perhaps we can find some matching pairs.

if the washing machine worm hole theory is correct as posted, our socks may most likely be the same socks and if we meet up it could tear the universe apart or maybe just the socks and then we would have no socks at all... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Give me your address OP and I'll drop around with my 36 odd socks. If we combine ours, perhaps we can find some matching pairs.

Ye won't and you should know that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Hence why I only have black socks in my drawer. Then the only challenge is not to be left with one trainer sock and one ankle sock.

Black socks are subversive, they infiltrate the 'white's only wash' and cause havoc. Their aim is to turn everything into a paler shade of grey.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

Phase 1) Steal Socks.
    Phase 2) ???????
    Phase 3) PROFIT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

folan wrote: »
    Phase 1) Steal Socks.
    Phase 2) ???????
    Phase 3) PROFIT

Phase 1) Steal Socks.
    Phase 2) Repack & Resell
    Phase 3) PROFIT

- Manifesto of Dunnes/Pennys secret agents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Every sock I own is the same colour for this reason, so that I can match pretty much any of them to make what appears to be a pair. Nevertheless, the number of socks I own diminishes over time. I'd don't know where they go, but clearly this effect still applies even if you try to cheat the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

I have begun to wear unmatched socks...so they are a different colour ..who the fec k cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭emmabrighton

I would wear different colours any day before I would wear different textures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

caustic 1 wrote: »
    I have begun to wear unmatched socks...so they are a different colour ..who the fec k cares.

The fashion police, they're coming to get you now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭heroics

I got around this by only owning two types of socks. Black ones for wearing with shoes and short white ones for runners. All the same brand. never have a problem matching socks :)

Have a friend who never matches their socks. just grabs 2 from the drawer like a lucky dip and goes with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭emmabrighton

its amazing this thread is four pages deep... the things we find interesting, eh?