Tesco price match Lidl&Aldi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

foggy_lad wrote: »
    my last online shopping had several items with very short dates including the milk.
    That's a common complaint, I reckon they get rid of the stuff nearing its use by, as they know in store people would usually pick newer ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Nanazolie

Good to hear it is Irish Milk, Did you buy online or in store? my last online shopping had several items with very short dates including the milk.

In store, I had forgotten to buy milk in Lidl. When I buy online, I also get shorter dates. The same for Superquinn. I now add a comment to the fresh items when ordering online: please select furthest away use by date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Nanazolie wrote: »
    I was tempted today to buy 10 items in Tesco just for the sake of getting a ticket with a 10 euros off. Except I would rather do my shopping for 10 euros cheaper in Aldi or Lidl. I went to Lidl for their kids rain clothes and had a good look at the prices of groceries, then went to Tesco for an item I couldn't find in Lidl and checked the prices on these groceries (yes, I had plenty of time, lol, it was my lunch break). I could see how easily I could save 10€, or more.
    Apples were dearer in Tesco, so were the coleslaw, the hummus, the cherry tomatoes, mushrooms (and the Tesco Value were very sad looking too), organic oranges, biscuits, bread, etc...
    Incidentally, do Tesco include their store baked breads in their comparison, seeing Lidl now have in store bakeries?
    You would have to buy 10 items which are included in the comparisons and even then you only get the difference. also if aldi is cheaper but Lidl are dearer they deduct the dearer amount from any discount you get. It is a scam that makes people think their whole trolley is being compared when only a few items might be compared!
    In store, I had forgotten to buy milk in Lidl. When I buy online, I also get shorter dates. The same for Superquinn. I now add a comment to the fresh items when ordering online: please select furthest away use by date
    They should be selecting the freshest goods for their online shoppers or they will lose us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

rubadub wrote: »
    That's a common complaint, I reckon they get rid of the stuff nearing its use by, as they know in store people would usually pick newer ones.
    Although sometimes one would think that.
    its simply untrue Rubaub. I would tell you if it was true .

From when I worked there I had to pick for dotcom from time to time.

The PDA the picker has to carry will only scan the freshest stock in the store.
    If you pick a short dated product, it rejects it, if there is fresher available . The gun will not let the picker continue until the right date is chosen.

Sunday was the day that shorter dates came up as there is a limited delivery that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭Macy0161

They now have a cheaper milk called "Creamfields" which is the same price as the aldi milk but is not as fresh and won't last as long as it only has about 5-6days life when bought online, Aldi milk in store usually has 7-9days life.
    Whatever about use by dates, why would they not have their own brand as the cheapest, or price match creamfields? Nice handy bit of extra money when people go for their usual, and tesco's previously cheapest, milk without checking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

brokenarms wrote: »
    If you pick a short dated product, it rejects it, if there is fresher available . The gun will not let the picker continue until the right date is chosen.
    Interesting. If not a policy I thought it might also be more likely to be short dated since it might be young lads doing it and not bothering to picking stuff from the back -but in saying that in tesco the newest stuff is very often at the front of the pile.

I searched there and found a complaint in another thread that you replied to. And this one

They're fine. I was given short dated milk once, but I gave it back to the delivery guy. It's a huge time saver for me & between petrol and parking charges, it actually saves me money as well as time.

I wish normal in store customers got those guns, save me rooting!

-creamfields is owned by tesco by the way. The have lots of brands like this now, i.e. when you check the fine print it shows its tesco. I think chokablok ice cream is fully hides the fact its really tesco.

Just to come back to the milk, "creamfields" milk isn't in my usual tesco* as of yesterday. If it's not going to be stocked nationwide (regardless of whether its a Tesco brand), it's in effect a price rise. Tesco now price matching Spar and Centra, rather than Lidl/ Aldi with their milk in my local store, so one less thing to go in there for.

*It's a full on tesco, albeit a relatively small one, not one of the tesco metro or express or whatever their "convenience" ones are called.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

TESCO EVERYDAY VALUE KITCHEN TOWEL 2 ROLL €1.25
    ALDI EVERYDAY ESSENTIALS JUMBO KITCHEN TOWELS 480 SHEETS 4PK €2.25
    (Aldi 13c cheaper -more in Tesco roll)

TESCO SPRING FORCE TOILET TISSUE 9PK €2.69
    ALDI SAXON WHITE TOILET TISSUE 9PK 29.18MTR €2.69
    (Aldi 9.5c cheaper -more in Aldi roll)

TESCO FRESH HERBS THYME 25G €1.19
    ALDI FRESH THYME 20G €0.89
    (Aldi 8c cheaper)

So Tesco do compare on some Value items

Copy and pasted from my last shop. Got 1.04 back on a 30 euro shop
    Quantity Item Description Tesco Aldi Lidl
    1x YELLOW PEPPERS EACH CLASS 1 €0.59 €0.79 n/a
    1x CUCUMBER WHOLE EACH €0.59 n/a €0.69
    1x TESCO GALA APPLES MIN 5PK C €1.79 €0.90 n/a

1x BANANAS LOOSE (0.56kg) €0.70 €0.70 n/a

1x PREMIER LOW FAT MILK 1LTR €1.15 n/a n/a
    1x KELKIN EASY EAT MUESLI 1KG €3.99 n/a n/a

1x TESCO MACKEREL FILLETS IN BRINE 125G €1.09 n/a n/a
    1x FOREST FEAST REAL VALUE BOMBAY MIX200G €2.00 n/a n/a
    1x TESCO L/CH LOW FAT NATURAL COT CHEESE €0.85 €0.85 n/a
    1x T. EDAY VAL S/L CKN BRST FILLETS MED 541G €5.74 €5.39 n/a
    1x FLORETTE BISTRO SALAD 150G+25% FREE €1.39 n/a n/a
    Tesco comparable total €9.67 €0.59
    Competitor shop total €8.63 €0.69
    The difference €1.04 -€0.10
    Comparison cost less cost more

I only shop in aldi and buy meat in the butchers

Macy0161 wrote: »
    Just to come back to the milk, "creamfields" milk isn't in my usual tesco* as of yesterday. If it's not going to be stocked nationwide (regardless of whether its a Tesco brand), it's in effect a price rise. Tesco now price matching Spar and Centra, rather than Lidl/ Aldi with their milk in my local store, so one less thing to go in there for.

*It's a full on tesco, albeit a relatively small one, not one of the tesco metro or express or whatever their "convenience" ones are called.
    In the interests of fairness,

I should point out that my local tesco is now stocking creamfields milk. Still not sure I see the point of introducing a brand - this gimmicky stuff isn't why or how tesco are losing market share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,483 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Creamfields is a dreadful brand to make up for milk at that:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Creamfields

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭CorsendonkX

Good to hear it is Irish Milk, Did you buy online or in store? my last online shopping had several items with very short dates including the milk.

How would it be different buying online or instore? Online just means that the tesco staff walk around the store and shop for you, like regular shoppers some look at dates others just grab the first product on the shelf be it in date rotation or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Lissavane

How would it be different buying online or instore? Online just means that the tesco staff walk around the store and shop for you, like regular shoppers some look at dates others just grab the first product on the shelf be it in date rotation or not.
    You don't think it likely that staff might be instructed to pick short rather than long dates to fill online orders?

I'd be astonished if they didn't do so.

On the theme of dates, I know it's standard practice to put long date stock to the back of the display and short to the front - it makes sense. It's all good saleable stock so you want to sell older before newer.

What I don't understand is why most supermarkets tend to put the longer dates to the right of the display and the shorter to the left. Most people are right-handed and will automatically reach for the newer item even if they're not concerned by the use-by date. Maybe those shelves are filled by suppliers rather than staff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,135 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

that is crazy if that's what they are doing regarding putting
    in stuff with a closer best before date
    I know someone who shopped on superv online for months spending
    well over 100 a week
    the day they gave her bread that was going off the following day
    along with something else which escapes my mind is the last time
    she shopped online there
    Now, given how much dearer superv can be with certain products they
    should have done better or had a little more cop on

you lose someone online I doubt they'd come back whereas the
    casual shopper might nip into tesco from time to time even
    if they didn't like shopping there (myself)

If I went in to do my shopping myself in Tesco's I would make sure to get the freshest milk on the shelves because I don't use much and 3l should last at least 7 days from when I buy it, when I buy online from Tesco I'm lucky to get 4-6 days life on the milk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

I'd demand to speak to the store manager if any shelf stacker tried to make me take old stock.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

I'd demand to speak to the store manager if any shelf stacker tried to make me take old stock.

They don't try. Any shop rotates its stock- putting the oldest milk on the outside. The picker just grabs the one closest to the outside- if it happened to be a good date, because another shopper had had a rummage- so be it- otherwise- its whatever they come across- providing its within date. There is no quick and fast rule to say milk for sale has to have a BB date of a least a week in the future- though it is nice to get good fresh milk. As long as its not past its BB date- its fair game. Thats life. Its also why I refuse to shop online- regardless of which supermarket it is- or what the offer is that they make to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Lissavane wrote: »
    You don't think it likely that staff might be instructed to pick short rather than long dates to fill online orders?

An ex picker posted the process in one of the many Tesco threads. The equipment they use apparently doesn't allow them to scan through stock with short dates if it knows there's longer dated items available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Nanazolie

ThisRegard wrote: »
    An ex picker posted the process in one of the many Tesco threads. The equipment they use apparently doesn't allow them to scan through stock with short dates if it knows there's longer dated items available.

I find it hard to believe. Dates usually are on a printed sticker or printed on the pack, and the bar code doesn't reflect the date. I just confirmed that by comparing 2 packets of biscuits (same ones) with different best before dates.

And I received several times short dated items, or out of date items, which I got a refund for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,483 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I find it hard to believe. Dates usually are on a printed sticker or printed on the pack, and the bar code doesn't reflect the date. I just confirmed that by comparing 2 packets of biscuits (same ones) with different best before dates.

And I received several times short dated items, or out of date items, which I got a refund for.

UPC codes do not and cannot contain expiry date information. Generated barcodes for store-packed products can (albeit I'm fairly sure that no-one in Ireland is using this feature); but there is absolutely and utterly no way that the picker system can complain about shortdated/outdated milk or other similar products being provided.

Another case of Tesco PR being quite far from the truth.

Lissavane wrote: »

On the theme of dates, I know it's standard practice to put long date stock to the back of the display and short to the front - it makes sense. It's all good saleable stock so you want to sell older before newer.

What I don't understand is why most supermarkets tend to put the longer dates to the right of the display and the shorter to the left. Most people are right-handed and will automatically reach for the newer item even if they're not concerned by the use-by date. Maybe those shelves are filled by suppliers rather than staff?

No I don't think so. When you have time observe the in-store shoppers. Some check dates, others are in a speed contest to finish the order ASAP.

Your right handed left handed theory is a new one on me. All retail shops with perishable stock train staff to rotate stock from front to back. Longest date at the back, shortest at front. Of course shelf stackers cut corners by not rotating and just hurl up stock without rotating. When Tesco use to open 24 hours you could observe cage after cage of stock stacked on the floor with a minimal of staff to stock the shelf so the temptation to cut corners by not rotating is always there. It's all about filling the shelf and the fine detail like rotation or even the correct price are forgotten. I know someone that works in Tesco UK who came over here to work in a store for a number of months and he couldn't get over the lack of staff here, they use 4 times the amount of staff at night to stock shelves in the UK. Higher minimum wage here and Tesco Ireland unwillingness to dig into profit margins perhaps.

Another problem with longer dated perishable products such as butter spreads is that the suppliers sometimes feck up their own distribution and rotation in warehouse. CDC have systems to identify short dated stock. Example Tesco may agree a 60 day life on Tesco Olive spread, but the supplier delivers stock over a week dated 65 days, 67 days, 80 days, 70 days, 58 days, the system will only flag the 58 day product as short dated. It makes the shelf stacker life difficult and confuses the customer because they may buy the 80 day spread one week then the 65 day spread the following week and the customer is firmly convinced they got short dated stock.

Lastly Tesco when it went to a Central Distribution Centre model did away with most of the in-store merchandising by suppliers. They took the discount from suppliers reduced costs and told suppliers that tesco staff would do the merchandising. Milk, Bread, Eggs would probably be the only major items still merchandised by suppliers in Tesco and Eggs and Milk would be by agency staff who range from very good to next than useless at rotating. The odd time you may see a frustrated rep stocking shelves with his product.

I haven't used Tesco Online feature for the last few years, does it now tell you your product shelflife?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I don't really care, I'm just pointing out what someone who has actually done the job said.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

TESCO FRESH EGGS LARGE 6PK €1.85
    LIDL CONNELL FARM IRISH LARGE EGGS 6PK €1.19

TESCO CHUNKS IN GRAVY WITH LAMB 1.2KG €1.59
    LIDL ORLANDO DOG FOOD CHUNKS IN GRAVY LAMB 1.25KG €1.09

TESCO CISTERN BLUE 2PK €1.23
    ALDI POWER FORCE 3 TOILET BLOCKS ORIGINAL/BLUE 3PK €0.89

TESCO COOKING ONIONS MIN 1KG €1.39
    ALDI FRESH IS BEST ONION 1KG €0.79
    LIDL OAKLANDS ONIONS 1KG €0.79

TESCO GARDEN PEAS 1KG €1.23
    ALDI FOUR SEASONS GARDEN PEAS 1080G €0.99

TESCO EFFERVESCENT VITAMIN C 20PK €1.70
    ALDI EFFERVESCENT VITAMIN C ORANGE 20PK €1.09

TESCO EDAY VAL GDN PEAS IN SGR SLT WATER 300G €0.29
    ALDI SWEET HARVEST PROCESSED PEAS 400G €0.29

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

snubbleste wrote: »
    TESCO FRESH EGGS LARGE 6PK €1.85
    LIDL CONNELL FARM IRISH LARGE EGGS 6PK €1.19

TESCO CHUNKS IN GRAVY WITH LAMB 1.2KG €1.59
    LIDL ORLANDO DOG FOOD CHUNKS IN GRAVY LAMB 1.25KG €1.09

TESCO CISTERN BLUE 2PK €1.23
    ALDI POWER FORCE 3 TOILET BLOCKS ORIGINAL/BLUE 3PK €0.89

TESCO COOKING ONIONS MIN 1KG €1.39
    ALDI FRESH IS BEST ONION 1KG €0.79
    LIDL OAKLANDS ONIONS 1KG €0.79

TESCO GARDEN PEAS 1KG €1.23
    ALDI FOUR SEASONS GARDEN PEAS 1080G €0.99

TESCO EFFERVESCENT VITAMIN C 20PK €1.70
    ALDI EFFERVESCENT VITAMIN C ORANGE 20PK €1.09

TESCO EDAY VAL GDN PEAS IN SGR SLT WATER 300G €0.29
    ALDI SWEET HARVEST PROCESSED PEAS 400G €0.29
    Tesco chunks in gravy sounds real appetising!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Ilyushin76

Tesco chunks in gravy sounds real appetising!!!!

Its dog food

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats