Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

jersey101 wrote: »

Does it work in reverse if a Dub were to marry a farmerette?:D

Actually my father would probably get his gun out before he set foot on the land.....
    (and he's be waving his license at you too)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Kovu Murr wrote: »

Actually my father would probably get his gun out before he set foot on the land.....
    :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Kovu Murr wrote: »

You could be better off with a dub than some culchie that would want to do things the way they did at home . If my wife was a plasterer or a farmer I'd say there would be a lot more clashes that there are already :P

moy83 wrote: »
    You could be better off with a dub than some culchie that would want to do things the way they did at home . If my wife was a plasterer or a farmer I'd say there would be a lot more clashes that there are already :P
    Dont know about that one Moy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Actually that poses a good question lads and ladies. Which is better to go out with/marry in your eyes?
    A. some one who knows nothing about farming and never wants to?
    B. Someone who knows nothing about farming but wants to learn about it and help you out with jobs the whole time?
    C. Or a farmers son/daughter who knows a fair bit about farming?

Actually that poses a good question lads and ladies. Which is better to go out with/marry in your eyes?
    B. Someone who knows nothing about farming but wants to learn about it and help you out with jobs the whole time?
    B. as they wont agrue with you on how to do things :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

B. So long as they never question me.:pac:

No in all fairness, a farmers son. It helps if they know how to assist when needed. I already do about half the work here so a bit of help wouldn't go amiss at times. Esp as we're approaching calving next month and I already see one that will be a problem :(

A. Would be my choice .
    I would prefer to make my own decisions right or wrong
    I would prefer to do different things together and have craic at them . Farming is a 365 days job and its nice to leave it outside the door when you're finished for the day .
    Even with my own kids , if they're interested in farming I would sooner give them a few acres of there own to start with or rent somewhere to let them do things their own way .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

A. why would you want a doll smelling of sh*te most of the time,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

A. and if she couldnt speak english too it would be even better

hugo29 wrote: »
    Classy Hugo :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

anyone at the char bull sale in ennis on sat, just wondering how they were going

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

You forgot
    D. A woman who knows nothing about farming and as soon as she comes in around the place wants to be making decisions:eek:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Im telling you Hugo is one of the benefits of pay-per-view

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

My neighbours daughter a farmer was going out with a 'white trainer' what we call a towney and he father told her once that he can look in but will never look out!!!

"white trainer" like it, ah we all looked in at some stage in our lives, bet if he played a bit of hurling there would not be a problem

a friend of mine from tipp, his father in law would not speak to him for years cause he had no interest in hurling, father had no choice after he married the daughter and yer man was looking across the table at thim

i always said imagine if he was after the farm what would have happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Married B, if doing it again would have to be C with a good grazing platform adequate cubicle space and copious amount of slurry storage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Argh, disaster on the "big dig", broke the excavator arm! Work at a standstill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

I have a loading shovel here that I haven't as much use for. Yours free if you come to collect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

She wouldn't be long about copping on.
    " No me understand". ;-)

td5man wrote: »
    She wouldn't be long about copping on.
    " No me understand". ;-)

Thats for sure . Ive spent days listening to "me not no what you mean " and on the friday evening its great enlish when telling me how much they are owed and where they would like to be collected on monday !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I have a loading shovel here that I haven't as much use for. Yours free if you come to collect.

Is that manual or automatic Iver :D

moy83 wrote: »
    Thats for sure . Ive spent days listening to "me not no what you mean " and on the friday evening its great enlish when telling me how much they are owed and where they would like to be collected on monday !

break into the irish Moy, that confuses them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

blue5000 wrote: »
    You forgot
    D. A man who knows nothing about farming and as soon as she comes in around the place wants to be making decisions:eek:
    changed that there for ya:D in my case i married a dub, not from a farm, but had worked on a farm. I make 95% of the decisions about the farm and i want absolutely nothing to do with his lorry unless he is collecting something for me

the boys over in the cable tv forum are growing on me, they are a font of knowledge about wires and signals and the like:)

break into the irish Moy, that confuses them

It confuses me too ! I can understand it fine but I dont speak it that often so I wouldnt be to strong on the spake . I did primary and secondry all through irish but as soon as I left it was left in the bowels of my brain !

whelan1 wrote: »
    changed that there for ya:D in my case i married a dub, not from a farm, but had worked on a farm. I make 95% of the decisions about the farm and i want absolutely nothing to do with his lorry unless he is collecting something for me

he has a 5% input, jayus whelan1 fair play to ya, ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Is that manual or automatic Iver :D

Its mainly manual, but will automatically fall over in the ****e if you let go of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

he has a 5% input, jayus whelan1 fair play to ya, ;)
    there the things he does when i am not here