Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

delaval wrote: »
    Ye could set up a tag team!!!

My quare one's a twin. I wouldn't touch her twin with a bargepole. No way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

One could be forgiven to think we were on the American farming forum with the amount of arsenal you lads are carrying around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Bizzum wrote: »

Do ya ever get confused with who's who

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

C0N0R wrote: »
    So hold on what's the story with semi-automatic rifles? I've a Remington 10/22 semi-auto and was hoping to bring it home with me, will I be able to licence it?

Semi auto .22 or semi auto shotguns aren't a problem. I've a semi auto 12 gauge here. Is it worth your while bringing it back, rather than getting one here?

One could be forgiven to think we were on the American farming forum with the amount of arsenal you lads are carrying around

Oh I only wish bob, my dream gun cabinet would hold off any zombie hoarde

Semi auto .22 or semi auto shotguns aren't a problem. I've a semi auto 12 gauge here. Is it worth your while bringing it back, rather than getting one here?

Customs and the paperwork could be the nightmare

Ah tis no fun raising lambs for the fox Bob, no money in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Sure how else would you keep the magpies and whatnot out of the yard !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Oh I only wish bob, my dream gun cabinet would hold off any zombie hoarde

I can imagine the dept inspector coming visiting your place. Can I see your medicine cabinet? Sure, just take a look at the gun cabinet first would ye? It might change yer mind on failing me over that bit of effluent! :D

There'd be no cow man on here without a gun if we had coyotes in Ireland.

Damo810 wrote: »
    I can imagine the dept inspector coming visiting your place. Can I see your medicine cabinet? Sure, just take a look at the gun cabinet first would ye? It might change yer mind on failing me over that bit of effluent! :D

Just wait till I move them few thousand rounds of ammo for ya so you can have a good look inside :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

How much would you pay for a 10/22? Transporting it home isn't expensive, I've a mate who brought a rifle home from nz before. My other option is licence it on the serial number and then get it posted once I get the licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Do ya ever get confused with who's who

Nope. He doesn't look anything like herself. :-)

How much would you pay for a 10/22? Transporting it home isn't expensive, I've a mate who brought a rifle home from nz before. My other option is licence it on the serial number and then get it posted once I get the licence.

With the plastic stock around €450 new. There might be any second hand floating around the shooting forum or Irish Gun Trader, buyers market at the moment.

Only shot one once, horrible yoke it was :D

I'm sure the weapon would have to be inspected in Ireland and held here before you could even apply for the licence as when you apply the gun shop has to fill out parts of the form too

With the plastic stock around €450 new. There might be any second hand floating around the shooting forum or Irish Gun Trader, buyers market at the moment.

Only shot one once, horrible yoke it was :D

Get yourself a good Steyr AUG Mara :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

is that cause her twin is her brother:D

Get yourself a good Styer AUG Mara :D

I'll make do with what I have now, my gun buying days are over, well, with the exception of changing one for a nice .22, and changing another for a side by side.

But that's definately it, and expensive craic.

I'll make do with what I have now, my gun buying days are over, well, with the exception of changing one for a nice .22, and changing another for a side by side.

But that's definately it, and expensive craic.

Ya don't want to be missing too many times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Same ere and despite being identical there's no comparison personality wise

Ya don't want to be missing too many times

Don't shoot till you see the whites of their eyes.

I'm more a a distance shooter, still haven't got the hmr nailed down yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Just watched all the all blacks game, even though I knew the result I didn't think it would happen, that's gutting. But I guess that's why there the world champions and why they have completed the first perfect season of the professional era. Was in Christchurch for the game 18 months ago, got so close then, gutted for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Just watched all the all blacks game, even though I knew the result I didn't think it would happen, that's gutting. But I guess that's why there the world champions and why they have completed the first perfect season of the professional era. Was in Christchurch for the game 18 months ago, got so close then, gutted for them.

cWhat are the gun control laws like in NZ, Connor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Massey10

Get yourself a good Steyr AUG Mara :D

Those plastic things are no good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

That a euro licence he has so, you apply for them in the UK and Germany and it allows you to carry weapons in most euro countries
    As far as i know it also allows a concealed weapon too. Each country has their own restrictions on types of firearms tho
    moy83 wrote: »
    He had a couple from germany too . Will that euro licence cover the guns in Ireland aswell

Just to clarify in case there's anyone out there labouring under any sort of misapprehension, a European Firearms Pass is NOT some sort of Community-wide gun licence!
    It is merely a transliteration of the details of your Firearm Certificate, legally accepted (almost) throughout the European Community. It is ONLY valid in conjunction with a current valid licence/certificate for the firearm specified.

For example, if you wish to take a firearm to most continental European countries, you'll need a current valid Irish Firearm Certificate, a European Firearms Pass for the firearm, and proof of the bona fides of your visit, ie. documentation detailing a hunting trip, or a target shooting competition.

The TYPES of firearms legally allowable and how they may be carried/transported are entirely defined by local laws.
    'Concealed Carry' is VERY MUCH a local matter and is in no way Europe wide!

The European Firearms Pass is practically useless for someone seeking to bring a firearm INTO the Republic of Ireland. It's a nice piece of extra documentation, but the Gardaí insist that ALL firearms privately held here are covered by a current valid Irish Firearm Certificate. This means that visiting shooters must apply for a Firearm Certificate through the Gardaí local to wherever it is they'll be staying/shooting during their trip.

Also, some 'guns' MUST be licenced here that don't even qualify as 'firearms' through most of the rest of Europe.
    The big one here is airguns under a certain power level.
    Most European countries regard them as non-firearms and no licence is required.
    Here in Ireland, they ARE regarded as firearms and MUST be licenced exactly the same as any other firearm.

Anyone possessing an airgun here in Ireland, including 'visitors', no matter what documentation they may have from anywhere else, MUST have a current valid Irish Firearm Certificate; otherwise, they are in possession of an unlicenced firearm, and subject to all the sanctions and consequences that entails.

Massey10 wrote: »
    Those plastic things are no good.

You would be very surprised

Rovi wrote: »

Also, some 'guns' MUST be licenced here that don't even qualify as 'firearms' through most of the rest of Europe.
    The big one here is airguns under a certain power level.
    Most European countries regard them as non-firearms and no licence is required.
    Here in Ireland, they ARE regarded as firearms and MUST be licenced exactly the same as any other firearm.

Law may have changed on this but I was told that once the pellet can't break the skin you don't need a gun licence for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Law may have changed on this but I was told that once the pellet can't break the skin you don't need a gun licence for it

That would essentially be airsoft devices.
    Anything with a muzzle energy of UNDER 1 Joule does not require a licence.
    And even airsofts can easily go over the energy limit and become 'firearms', as defined by Irish law.

Anything that discharges a metallic 'pellet' or similar is almost certainly legally a firearm and must be licenced.

Rovi wrote: »
    That would essentially be airsoft devices.
    Anything with a muzzle energy of UNDER 1 Joule does not require a licence.
    And even airsofts can easily go over the energy limit and become 'firearms', as defined by Irish law.

Anything that discharges a metallic 'pellet' or similar is almost certainly legally a firearm and must be licenced.

Yeah def agree as I'm referring to the air soft plastic pellets, the air guns that use the compressed spring and metal pellets are well over the limit