Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

In other news I test drove a high mileage Volvo. It was every bit as clean and well cared for as described. Sadly it went into limp home mode on test drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

ba_barabus wrote: »
    In other news I test drove a high mileage Volvo. It was every bit as clean and well cared for as described. Sadly it went into limp home mode on test drive.

That the 2.4 (?) auto that was on here somewhere recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

*Obligatory spoiler joke*

Totes LOL!

Some Paddies never change! :pac:

pajor wrote: »
    That the 2.4 (?) auto that was on here somewhere recently?

Yep. Engine light came on and no power. Was nice up until then

Where it became a big Swedish pile of meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,294 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You're the automotive grim reaper.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    You're the automotive grim reaper.

I've just parked on a NO PARKING CONE.

Literally everything I touch falls to pieces of late. I found myself test driving a 2010 Avensis 1.6 petrol after the Volvo.

The Vectra however seems to be immune to my effects and just keep running better and better.

Rarer than a M5? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Drool, that is all.

Ultimate Q car. Slightly less power than an m5 but still a v8 and none of the m5 garish branding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Nice yoke but jaysus, you could buy an M5 for that money.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Nice yoke but jaysus, you could buy an M5 for that money.

No doubt you could. I'm just liking the exclusivity and that's it a V8 with a manual box.

The manual is a huge plus, there should always be a manual option.

Cleveland, buy it!
    See if they'll take the 535 or it, they're worth more outside of our mental country. :D

CianRyan wrote: »
    The manual is a huge plus, there should always be a manual option.

Cleveland, buy it!
    See if they'll take the 535 or it, they're worth more outside of our mental country. :D

Arah no, feckin manual. I have one manual and that's enough!
    I do want to sell the 535d to the UK though.

Arah no, feckin manual. I have one manual and that's enough!
    I do want to sell the 535d to the UK though.

Your 535 an auto?

OSI wrote: »
    535d only came in auto. Didn't trust mere mortals not to fry the clutch with all that torque :p

Understandable. :pac:

Your 535 an auto?

More torque than an e60 m5, don't you know :P

Seriously, BMW said they couldn't fit a manual 'box to handle all the torque. Although I have heard of manual 530ds being remapped up to and past the 535d torque figures with no issue.

More torque than an e60 m5, don't you know :P

Seriously, BMW said they couldn't fit a manual 'box to handle all the torque. Although I have heard of manual 530ds being remapped up to and past the 535d torque figures with no issue.

Sounds like sucking up to the yanky doodle market to me. :P

In a daysul? Them yanks prefer their 88 octane version of petril shur!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Quick question. Does this sound normal ? It was cold this morning 0 degree c. So I went in to town came home 10km each way. Car warmed up as usual temperature gauge sat just under 90 as they do on all focuses. But when I got home I knew I had to bring my mother back into town in a few minutes so I left the car running outside with the hot air heater blowing on 2. Came back out 10-15 mins later temperature outside was still 0 degree.

Got into car it was warm and all that but I looked at the temperature guage and it read approx 70 degree c. Is that normal that it would drop. I always assume that once a car got upto operating temperature it would stay at it. When I started driving it it quickly returned to the usual operating temp.

In a daysul? Them yanks prefer their 88 octane version of petril shur!

Neverrr mind.. I'm just confusing myself. There's too many variations to the E60 all together. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,408 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Bpmull wrote: »
    Quick question. Does this sound normal ? [...]

Normal I'd say.

Noticed diesels cooling down a bit quicker than petrols btw. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

joujoujou wrote: »
    Normal I'd say.

Noticed diesels cooling down a bit quicker than petrols btw. :)

No petrols around our house to compare it too :pac: the last time my parents had a petrol car as a daily driver was 2000 :eek: we did have a 1.8 vvc mgf for a few years as a weekend car that was great craic but there not that suited to Ireland.

If I drive my Mazda, it'll be hot nearly an hour after I stop. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Any big lump of iron is going to be hot for quite a while after it stops :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

Bpmull wrote: »
    ---- Is that normal that it would drop.----.

Yes, happen in diesel common enough. At idle engine not under load, excess heat not generated. Longer diesel engine is left to idle cooler it get. EGT get low quickly on diesel at idle. Short answer, it is normal. Should notice it in traffic congestion too when stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I really really need to get off my arse and sell my Octavia now. Will venture to remove the alternator myself and get it reconditioned during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

what ever happened to the boards.ie car sticker? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

what ever happened to the boards.ie car sticker? :pac:

I bumped the thread a while ago but I got no response. I was going to ask you :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

OSI wrote: »
    I have it on good authority that the order has been placed.

ah, not through us then :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

ah, not through us then :P

Well that sucks!

At least we're getting one :)