Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

rancher wrote: »
    Did you work there?

No lecturer in collage told us,, he knew a lad working there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

jersey101 wrote: »
    good operator to be fair, i starting wrapping silage and stacking when i was about ten. Did me no harm, ye would break a few things but ye learn the machine quick. We had and old elho wrapper with about 80k bales on her and she came off the tractor on me, she was fcuked but i fcuked her even more ha
    i remember the drawbar snapping off the wrapper on me one day while in the middle of wrapping a bale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ A young Redzer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

i remember the drawbar snapping off the wrapper on me one day while in the middle of wrapping a bale

ye i bent up all the cables on our one. We were trading it that year any way so it wasnt too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

jersey101 wrote: »
    ye i bent up all the cables on our one. We were trading it that year any way so it wasnt too bad.
    it was some walk of shame to the boss for me......was bloody flapping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

Have 2 12 yr (today) olds here and they have no problem mowing tedding raking and drawing bales, Spreading slurry and dung. Only damage is a spike hole in a side sheet where he was putting in a bag feed in a store shed. Have being a massive help all yr and soon I will be redundant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

dzer2 wrote: »
    Have 2 12 yr (today) olds here and they have no problem mowing tedding raking and drawing bales, Spreading slurry and dung. Only damage is a spike hole in a side sheet where he was putting in a bag feed in a store shed. Have being a massive help all yr and soon I will be redundant.

come back and post here in 10 years time :D

enjoy them while you have them 'cos when they leave the nest you will miss them

dzer2 wrote: »
    In a few years time they'll be tellin you what to do and then when ye do it it wont be right :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I was 10 also when I started driving. The novelty wore off after a yr or two of being let do all the rolling, slurry, and afew other paddock jobs ha. Its the opposite now, my dad does most the driving and lets me deal with the stock, suits me fine.

Timmaay wrote: »
    I was 10 also when I started driving. The novelty wore off after a yr or two of being let do all the rolling, slurry, and afew other paddock jobs ha. Its the opposite now, my dad does most the driving and lets me deal with the stock, suits me fine.

its a fcuker alright once ye start driving ye cant arse around like ye used to. Im not a machinery man either way, id prefere if it all was done by contractors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

whelan1 wrote: »
    its a scania 143

A classic scania, always had a thing for them, a one in good condition is worth good money still, i know lads that would only love one of them blawing in their ear all day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Haven't been on one since I took a short cut with the rush licker behind me.....twice...
    First time I slightly bent it to be an offhand licker.:D
    Second time it was like Christmas in the George......:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

was at table quiz last night, there was a question , 2 groups have 2 songs in the top 15(think it was 15) selling songs of all time the beatles is one who is the other? never ever would have got it

I saw Celine Dion on J Ross show lately. I think she might have an album out?

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Westlife

Nope. Not a modern band. I put down take that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Elvis Presley?

td5man wrote: »
    Elvis Presley?

Nope but a band in that where around in the seventies

Cliff richard or the Jackson 5

Boney m !!!!!

Never would have got that .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Boney m !!!!!

Ah..... who?

Never would have got that .

I doubt anyone got it

Ah..... who?

Exactly bit before my time too :-)

And mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

No water anywhere when I got up this morning. We have a 2kgal header tank for parlour so was able to milk. Couldn't get any reply from the guy who does the pumps here so we hauled up the sub ourselves (all 300 foot of pipe) to see what the story was. Inlet completely clogged with iron sediment. Half an hour cleaning inlet holes with a couple of bits of wire and we're back in business:cool:. Saved a nice bit for a Sat callout. I thought it was going to make a complete gangf**k of the day so pleased enough with how it worked out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I would have thought ccr would have been up there . Boney feckin m

Boney m !!!!!

Brown girl in the ring, Rasputin, By the rivers of babylon, Daddy cool .............I remember them.

No water anywhere when I got up this morning. We have a 2kgal header tank for parlour so was able to milk. Couldn't get any reply from the guy who does the pumps here so we hauled up the sub ourselves (all 300 foot of pipe) to see what the story was. Inlet completely clogged with iron sediment. Half an hour cleaning inlet holes with a couple of bits of wire and we're back in business:cool:. Saved a nice bit for a Sat callout. I thought it was going to make a complete gangf**k of the day so pleased enough with how it worked out.
    we had to lift ours last year too, amazed the amount of stuff blocking it..... did you lift it before, was the pump cutting out leading up to this?