Pay the Broadcast Charge or shut down RTE?

• 22-11-2013 11:20PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭

Since they're bringing in the broadcast charge to pay for RTE whether we like it or not I'm curious as to whether that's what the average boardsie's opinion on the charge: would you rather pay for RTE via the broadcast charge or save your cash and go without?

Would you rather pay the broadcast charge or go without RTE? 139 votes

Pay the charge and keep RTE
    0% 0 votes
    Save the money and scrap RTE
    38% 53 votes
    Let people who want it, pay for it as a subscription service like Playboy/Sky Movies etc.
    61% 86 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

Sleepy wrote: »
    Since they're bringing in the broadcast charge to pay for RTE whether we like it or not I'm curious as to whether that's what the average boardsie's opinion on the charge: would you rather pay for RTE via the broadcast charge or save your cash and go without?

You really don't need to ask that question. Its utterly obvious what your answer will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Neither? Frankly, they should be able to sustain themselves from advertising revenue and not have to be propped up by such charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

I'd pay double to get Tubbers and his feckin ears off the tv!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

There is always option C, let people who want it pay for it via subscriptions and tell them they have to operate based on subscription and advertising revenues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭usernamegoes

There should be an option "Sell it to private owners sustained by private means"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭bop1977

I'd pay double to get Tubbers and his feckin ears off the tv!

And don't forget about getting his smug voice off the radio while your at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

Everyone who owns a Tv is going to have to pay up or go to court.

Simple As.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Why do we never get the choice?

Pay up or face the consequences....why? What if i don't want RTE?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

bop1977 wrote: »
    And don't forget about getting his smug voice off the radio while your at it.

Ah jaysis, he's a bollix! :pac:

His face looks like a stretched out ballbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Shut down RTE, execute anyone 50+ and send the rest of them to work underground turning the big wheels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

The problem with letting them survive on their own is that they know they can't so we might as well shut them down. Our options is to keep it on life support at our expense, put it to sleep, or shoot it a few times and watch it slowly die.

mikeym wrote: »

Simple As.
    And my question is: do people agree with that policy or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Simple As.

And pay up, or go to court, even if you don't. Handy business plan if you've got buddies in government, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I'll pay money to shut down TV3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

Ah sure they're a great bunch of lads, give them all a raise

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I wouldn't miss RTE if it was gone in the morning, in fact it would be weeks before I even noticed. It is completely irrelevant to my life.

The problem with letting them survive on their own is that they know they can't so we might as well shut them down. Our options is to keep it on life support at our expense, put it to sleep, or shoot it a few times and watch it slowly die.
    They couldn't in their current form. TV3 manages to stay afloat as a commercially viable operation, I'm sure RTE could too if they were managed as a commercial entity.

usernamegoes has actually suggested my preferred option: scrap the charge and privatise the company (if no buyer can be found, make them operate as a commercial public owned company a la ESB).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭hotbabe1992

I would say lets have it on subscription those who pay watch,those who dont pay dont watch...Simple as that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭seanie_c

Simple As.

I don't have a TV, don't want one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

if you shut down RTE were would the government spout the propaganda ? a none state sponsored body would not put up with there tomfoolery... and they wont go to a sub modal as they would close down the next day as no one would pay for there service. sure there webby and streaming is cutting edge init lads. You can watch the same RTE new’s 24 hours a day shame there are only 3 news broadcast there version of sky new has me in stitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

They lost fifty million last year with both advertising and license money so it's both or nothing or another TV3 type effort.
    Personally I think for the money they provide good value eventhough I seldom watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

kneemos wrote: »
    They lost fifty million last year with both advertising and license money so it's both or nothing or another TV3 type effort.
    Personally I think for the money they provide good value eventhough I seldom watch it.

Being forced to part with money, under threat of legal action, for a product/service I don't want is piss poor value by any definition.

Being force to part with money, under threat of legal action, for a product/service I don't want is piss poor value by any definition.

I think it's good to have a national broadcaster that provides Irish oriented programming,debate and sports coverage.
    If you don't want it no doubt people close to you do,so think of it as a community service.

So do you also think people without cars shoulld pay road tax kneemos?

People without cars do pay for roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

kneemos wrote: »
    People without cars do pay for roads.
    That's not what was asked.

BNMC wrote: »
    That's not what was asked.

The two are completely unrelated unless you say that if everybody doesn't pay road tax we won't have roads,in which case I would say yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Just because people don't drive doesn't mean they shouldn't pay for roads. They have to get around some way.

People take serious umbrage with this broadcasting charge to keep Tubridy, Miriam O'Callaghan, et al on massively over inflated wage packets and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Should people who don't go to libraries pay for the Library service?
    Should people who don't go to museums pay for the Museum service?
    Should people who don't go to hospitals pay for the Health service?
    Should people who don't claim the dole pay for the Social Welfare service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

It's Motor Tax. Not Road Tax.