Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PS4 Pre-Order Thread! Where are you getting yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

Just paid off the remainder of my money, launch night, picking up a mega bundle and ghosts. Yyyeeeehhhaawwww

Just a little disappointed that watchdogs wont be out til the new year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 jabbaUK

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    ya Im in the same position. Haven't heard from them since choosing a bundle around 2 months ago. Im not worried though, im sure they will call soon enough 😊

Same here got call nearly 2 weeks ago now asking what what bundle I wanted I said the Solis console as I will be getting bf4 and ghosts while picking it up she said that's fine and would get a call when to pick it up o. Release day. Haven't heard anything since. Gonna let the Xbox crew die down and nip into smyths on monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

it seems that my little moan to xtravision on facebook has kicked up a bit of a fuss. https://www.facebook.com/Xtravision/posts/683664068345263?notif_t=like

some woman went in for the xbox last night(its obviously for one of her kids) she left the store without her money or console. her refund is still being processed. she was on the phone today to some agency as they confirmed that xtravision are indeed breaking the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭hallo dare

Absolutely right, there can be no legal basis for this. The problem is that they are preying on people that are in too much of a hurry to get their consoles and will most likely agree to whatever they say just to be able to walk out one. Also, if you pay in advance, they have your cash and your console, they hold all the cards.

It is a form of extortion (even worse than those selling consoles at huge prices on ebay etc) and they deserve to go out of business because of stunts like this.

The only thing I would say is to go easy on the staff, I would presume they have no choice in the matter and this is coming straight from the top

If anyone for any reason is going to see a solicitor during the week ask about it or better still bring in a solicitors letter stating you have paid for your item and that you are here to collect it, by xtravision failing to release a fully paid for product with proof of purchase then further action will be taken in relation to this extortion towards my client.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

I think xtravision will seriously regret that cheeky move they made, I will personally never step foot into one again and they are forgetting the golden rule......dont fcuk with gamers, we spend most of our time online and have loud voices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 gamejunkie

well i just had a very interesting trip to xtra vision..i got speaking to the manager and asked him about this craic with 'buy a game or dont get your ps4' sh*t..he said he was as disgusted as me with it and he told his bosses (presumably XV head office) he will NOT be forcing any customers to buy something they dont ask for and if it means him losing his job so be it (hes leaving in december anyway but they dont know that lol ). i asked him if it was orders from sony and he just laughed and said its definately the work of the heads of XV trying to get some xtra money..he told them this was a sure way for the company to lose alot of customers and money so its a stupid idea. he wasnt at the launch of the xb1 last night andwasanry when he was informed about what had happened so he is going to be there on the launch of the ps4 (as hes getting one) and ensured me to come to him and i can just collect my console if thats all i want :) he even gave me a number to contact him for updates and he hopes XV will have learned from last night and this wont happen on launch night if they have any sense..he wants every one who has a ps4 on order from XV to cause a big stir before the 29th as he thinks what they are doing is illegal and he is going to ask his solicitor if thats the case and call them on it.
    he seemed to be very much on our side with this one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Burkie7

gamejunkie wrote: »
    well i just had a very interesting trip to xtra vision..i got speaking to the manager and asked him about this craic with 'buy a game or dont get your ps4' sh*t..he said he was as disgusted as me with it and he told his bosses (presumably XV head office) he will NOT be forcing any customers to buy something they dont ask for and if it means him losing his job so be it (hes leaving in december anyway but they dont know that lol ). i asked him if it was orders from sony and he just laughed and said its definately the work of the heads of XV trying to get some xtra money..he told them this was a sure way for the company to lose alot of customers and money so its a stupid idea. he wasnt at the launch of the xb1 last night andwasanry when he was informed about what had happened so he is going to be there on the launch of the ps4 (as hes getting one) and ensured me to come to him and i can just collect my console if thats all i want :) he even gave me a number to contact him for updates and he hopes XV will have learned from last night and this wont happen on launch night if they have any sense..he wants every one who has a ps4 on order from XV to cause a big stir before the 29th as he thinks what they are doing is illegal and he is going to ask his solicitor if thats the case and call them on it.
    he seemed to be very much on our side with this one :)

Fair play to him, still bad on the people who were robbed last night by this though on Xbox, hopefully if they change the policy they will issue a refund or store credit to them people, this isn't the time off the year to be ripping people off for something they have already paid for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭jaybe1

Kylzer911 wrote: »
    Thanks a million jaybe1! I'm now getting myself a Killzone mega bundle!! :D:D:D

Hard to get through to Brown Thomas but I think he has 3 mega bundles left!!:pac:

No worries kylzer glad to help. Happy gaming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭wcarey1975

I posted my feelings on the FB page of XV. It doesnt concern me as I'm in the USA but I'm extermely pi$$ed that they would do such a scumbag move. I feel for the people who work there but after this little stunt I hope they go bust I will NEVER set foot in an XV store again even if they are giving stuff away for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,190 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

XV just lost my custom ~€600. Purchased my launch console from somewhere else just there. Disgrace from a company who was in trouble not so long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 gamejunkie

New regulations to protect consumers from unfair, misleading or aggressive selling practices came into force on 26th May 2008.
    The Consumer Protection from Unfair Trading Regulations 2008 (the CPRs) implement the EU Unfair Commercial Practices Directive. They introduce a general prohibition against unfair commercial practices, specific prohibitions against misleading and aggressive practices and a blacklist of 31 practices that will be deemed unfair in all circumstances.
    The Government has also taken the opportunity to streamline and consolidate consumer protection legislation in the UK. The regulations amend the Consumer Protection Act and the Trades Description Act (amongst others) and revoke and replace the Control of Misleading Advertisements Regulations

A practice is unfair if it fails to meet the standard of "professional diligence" (the standard of skill and care that would reasonably be expected of a trader in its field of activity) and it materially impairs an average consumer's ability to make an informed decision, causing him to make a decision he would not otherwise have made.

Aggressive practices
    A commercial practice is aggressive if it significantly impairs (or is likely to significantly impair) the average consumer's freedom of choice by the use of harassment, coercion (including physical force) or undue influence and so causes or is likely to cause him to take a different decision.
    Undue influence results from a trader exploiting a position of power, even without using or threatening physical force.

A company found guilty of an offence could face an unlimited fine. An officer or manager of the company who consents to (or acts negligently in relation to) the offence can be found personally liable and fined or sentenced for up to two years in prison.

there was a lot more in this article but i just rook a few key notes from it....screw xtra-vision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭jaybe1

This is why I bought mine in Brown Thomas today so I can tell xtravision to shove it where the sun don't shine !! Never again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,916 ✭✭✭lertsnim

XV just lost my custom ~€600. Purchased my launch console from somewhere else just there. Disgrace from a company who was in trouble not so long ago.

New owners I presume? They wont see any money from me again. I tend to go in from time to time to see what's there and usually come away with something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,190 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

lertsnim wrote: »
    New owners I presume? They wont see any money from me again. I tend to go in from time to time to see what's there and usually come away with something.

They merged with HMV a couple of months ago.

Everyone should post a message on the XV FB page venting their views and hopefully it will help the ones that are currently being screwed and helping to stop the PS4 guys from being screwed next friday. Heres a link to their page. Bomb away....

https://www.facebook.com/Xtravision?hc_location=stream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Grudle

jaybe1 wrote: »
    This is why I bought mine in Brown Thomas today so I can tell xtravision to shove it where the sun don't shine !! Never again

Brown Thomas out of bundles. Still have console only as of 15 minutes ago.

Would have cancelled my Amazon pre-order if bundle was still available but willing to wait for Amazon to get it to me before Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

My reply to Mark Logan's comments to XV:

"Well I'm happy that I have my PS4 mega bundle ordered from Amazon.co.uk and 2 games ordered from Video Games Plus in Canada. Cheaper and sounds like they offer better service."

Terrible, terrible way for a company that a few months ago nearly went to the wall to treat it's customers.

"Well I'm happy that I have my PS4 mega bundle ordered from Amazon.co.uk and 2 games ordered from Video Games Plus in Canada. Cheaper and sounds like they offer better service."

Terrible, terrible way for a company that a few months ago nearly went to the wall to treat it's customers.

With CS like the one they offer they'll be back to the wall before long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

thats me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,688 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

How much are the games from Video Games Plus?

You expecting customs to catch them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Asylum15

Lads, I just ordered the Knack bundle from Amazon here http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sony-PlayStation-4-Knack-PS4/dp/B00GN1EMS6/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1385144230&sr=8-2&keywords=ps4+knack

Just wondering, what are my chances of getting it before Christmas day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭Lucious Sweet

Asylum15 wrote: »
    Lads, I just ordered the Knack bundle from Amazon here http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sony-PlayStation-4-Knack-PS4/dp/B00GN1EMS6/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1385144230&sr=8-2&keywords=ps4+knack

Just wondering, what are my chances of getting it before Christmas day?

Ask Amazon. Only they can answer that with any great certainty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Groinshot

jaybe1 wrote: »
    No worries kylzer glad to help. Happy gaming
    I picked up my Mega Bundle in BT today thanks to you jaybe1, muchos appreciado. Did they tell anyone what time they could pick them up at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Kylzer911

Luckily I was at home refreshing boards for entertainment!

He said pick it up the earlier the better but I dont think it really matters just sometime on friday!
    Groinshot wrote: »
    I picked up my Mega Bundle in BT today thanks to you jaybe1, muchos appreciado. Did they tell anyone what time they could pick them up at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

About €45 including delivery, would not worry about customs they always say they are cheap dvds on the packet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Asylum15

Just spoke to Amazon customer service. They STILL have Knack bundles apparently, and having ordered an hour ago, they are ''100%'' sure I'll get it before the 25th of December.

Pouring salt all over my face.

Kylzer911 wrote: »
    Luckily I was at home refreshing boards for entertainment!

He said pick it up the earlier the better but I dont think it really matters just sometime on friday!
    I forgot to ask I was so excited! I was actually on grafton street flicking through boards! Still a little miffed that I won't be getting knack on release day, that game is damn tough. Hopefully someone who doesn't want it will be getting rid of it for nice and cheap :)

Xenji wrote: »
    About €45 including delivery, would not worry about customs they always say they are cheap dvds on the packet.
    How long do they take to deliver? and are they us based? (ie we need a US psn account to play..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Paul MCM

Just spoke with Gamestop in Dublin, and they confirmed my PS4 for launch day and invited me to the midnight launch.

They have three bundles, Killzone mega bundle, Killzone and Knack. I think the Mega bundle is only available if you preordered before the end of June.

They are starting to ring people on Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Coming in at just under €50. I've never had games stopped by customs when ordering from these guys or Play Asia. Usually once the packages are small they tend not to bother with them.