If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

bbam wrote: »
    Weigh yourself on the scales. Then lift the calf and step onto the scales. Difference is the weight of the calf.

Forget weighing get beistings in, the only weight that matters is on the hook or in the mart

Assisted a neighbour with a section, all BB lads were on hand to help. Dead calf, what do ye think they did only weigh him and then start comparing the weight of dead calves. I went he to bed very confused. A competition for the biggest dead calf?????!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

delaval wrote: »
    Forget weighing get beistings in, the only weight that matters is on the hook or in the mart

Assisted a neighbour with a section, all BB lads were on hand to help. Dead calf, what do ye think they did only weigh him and then start comparing the weight of dead calves. I went he to bed very confused. A competition for the biggest dead calf?????!!!!!!

And they sold the weanlings to the guy that offered a ridiculous high price, but never paid them. Job a super one on paper. Will feature in the IFJ next will how much they are making per HA with costs that excluding 50% of expenses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

I see teagasc have a drainage manual out now, supposed to be a good read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

td5man wrote: »
    I see teagasc have a drainage manual out now, supposed to be a good read.

I downloaded a PDF version from the website a few weeks ago. It's good reading fe anyone on any type of land. But the pictures are so bad they are useless.

I'd say if a fella is thinking of a drainage job it is essential reading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Forget weighing get beistings in,

It takes 30 Secs to do man.
    He got two tube feeds and is up and about this morning thank god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I reckon Bob has one of these (not the wife, the feeding robot):D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyRTXbWQ3cM&lc=_gOyLubv3XJMxg51IiCOIotTsWtqTVJZSJlxfbU5Qyw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Thanks darragh, I want those 6mins of my life I wasted watching that back :P On that note, I need to go throw in some silage in the feeding passage, less of a workload than yourman, and probably save myself several 100grand in moneys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Timmaay wrote: »
    Thanks darragh, I want those 6mins of my life I wasted watching that back :P On that note, I need to go throw in some silage in the feeding passage, less of a workload than yourman, and probably save myself several 100grand in moneys.

I think your 100 grand might only buy half of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Whelan got one of them crowd control water cannons down from the north chape after the GF agreement ;)

Hey Whelan the riot platoon wants that cannon back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Great night in our house last night. You might remember during the summer I had a problem with the bull and almost all cows repeated. Had to use 2 pedigree bulls that i was feeding instead.

We scanned 50 cows/heifers last night and every one is in calf and there are 4 sets of twins. :D:D We scanned the weinling heifers that we will be selling and 3 of them are in calf and will have to get estrumate!

Calving is going to be a little later next year, but the main thing is that we get a live calf on the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

reilig wrote: »
    Great night in our house last night. You might remember during the summer I had a problem with the bull and almost all cows repeated. Had to use 2 pedigree bulls that i was feeding instead.

We scanned 50 cows/heifers last night and every one is in calf and there are 4 sets of twins. :D:D We scanned the weinling heifers that we will be selling and 3 of them are in calf and will have to get estrumate!

Calving is going to be a little later next year, but the main thing is that we get a live calf on the ground.
    Nice one reilig , hope every one of them hits the ground running for ya .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

We scanned the weinling heifers that we will be selling and 3 of them are in calf

Did you tell bob?

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    We scanned the weinling heifers that we will be selling and 3 of them are in calf

Did you tell bob?

We got caught a few years ago with 1. Every heifer is scanned before selling now and injected if necessary. Bob prefers to buy heifers and cull cows that are in calf so that he can experience the thrill of a section or have a suck calf for the kids to bucket feed :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

We got caught a few years ago with 1. Every heifer is scanned before selling now and injected if necessary. Bob prefers to buy heifers and cull cows that are in calf so that he can experience the thrill of a section or have a suck calf for the kids to bucket feed :p

bob a daddy:eek: blesses himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

did you sell the 2 bulls after ?

Jesus bob seems to have an awful reputation.
    Must be a bachelor farmer with 500 acres and A 1000 cattle coming thru his yard each year!

did you sell the 2 bulls after ?

Not yet :eek:

Judging by the Lim sale in Roscrea, the factory might be the best place for them. In my own view, it would be better for me to get €1700 for them in the factory than €2000 at the house. At least the factory wouldn't be coming after me in 6 months time if there was a problem with them. I'd need upwards of €2300 for them to prepare them for a sale.

I measured them with the weighing tape last week and both are over 550kgs. So its time to sit down and decide what will be done with them over the next few weeks. I would love to show them at a sale, but the time invested wouldn't be seen in the return.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Must be a bachelor farmer with 500 acres and A 1000 cattle coming thru his yard each year!

You're new here, let me clear it up a bit.

Bob is farming a small fragmented wet farm full of briars. He has 30 sucklers and and rearing a Moxy of young lads on the side of the road. The wife his cousin has taken up with her other cousin!!!

You're new here, let me clear it up a bit.

Bob is farming a small fragmented wet farm full of briars. He has 30 sucklers and and rearing a Moxy of young lads on the side of the road. The wife his cousin has taken up with her other cousin!!!

Ah the poor auld devil,
    I wonder should we club together to give him a dig out?

Ah the poor auld devil,
    I wonder should we club together to give him a dig out?

No, very proud is Bob. It would be an insult of the highest order to offer charity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Judging by the Lim sale in Roscrea, the factory might be the best place for them. In my own view, it would be better for me to get €1700 for them in the factory than €2000 at the house. At least the factory wouldn't be coming after me in 6 months time if there was a problem with them. I'd need upwards of €2300 for them to prepare them for a sale.

I measured them with the weighing tape last week and both are over 550kgs. So its time to sit down and decide what will be done with them over the next few weeks. I would love to show them at a sale, but the time invested wouldn't be seen in the return.

sure if they have bulled a few cows you are probably safe enough, i see a lot of the lads advertising on donedeal have put the bull down as fertility tested so i guess everyone out to avoid trouble these days

No, very proud is Bob. It would be an insult of the highest order to offer charity

Could we give him abit of work so!

I measured them with the weighing tape last week and both are over 550kgs

Do you find that weighing tape accurate
    Spose itd give you a ball park figure anyway.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,960 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I wonder if you bolted one end of the weighing tape to the crush wall could you get the vat back?:confused:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

He encourages it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

He encourages it

You wouldnt know what anyone here is really up to , its like the fella with the name of getting up early , be could stay in bed all day and people wouldnt believe it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

We got caught a few years ago with 1. Every heifer is scanned before selling now and injected if necessary.

One injection or two?

moy83 wrote: »
    You wouldnt know what anyone here is really up to , its like the fella with the name of getting up early , be could stay in bed all day and people wouldnt believe it
    once ya talk the talk