If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

hugo29 wrote: »
    when you are over there in 2014 could you pick up next weeks lotto numbers for me:D

Back now, if only I got your message sooner Hugo :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

got bill for fixing up of powerwasher 780 euro:eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan1 wrote: »

You could buy a new one for that!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

That would buy you a new tractor mounted washer

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    You could buy a new one for that!:eek:
    yup...:mad: i suppose in fairness i have spent nothing on it in 5 or 6 years since i bought it and if i get another 5 or 6 years out of it i will be happy( maybe after i get over the shock of the bill)

Did you not get a quote first?!:eek:

i had rang 2 different lads about 8 times over the summer to fix it, i told this guy what had to be done, parts needed where new diffuser, fuel nozzle, thermostat, ballcock, fan motor, , transformer, electrodes,filter. then labour for fitting parts:rolleyes: and for cleaning it down etc

:pac: I'd have given up and bought a new one!

i used it all summer with no heat working on it, but you really need the heat to do a proper job, the plus side was i used no diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

i used it all summer with no heat working on it, but you really need the heat to do a proper job, the plus side was i used no diesel

ah the kids and OH will enjoy the wash now with the bit of heat in the water

yup will come in handy for the annual christmas wash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

yup will come in handy for the annual christmas wash

Whether they need it or not !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

What is it a fcuking fire engine:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Monster 67 kg calf. Thank god cow and calf r grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

hugo29 wrote: »
    What is it a fcuking fire engine:D

Whelan got one of them crowd control water cannons down from the north chape after the GF agreement ;)

TITANIUM. wrote: »

Stock bull or AI?
    Nearly has to be a ch with that weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Stock bull or AI?
    Nearly has to be a ch with that weight.

I'll guess it's a blue .
    Is he up and drinking yet ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I've no way of weighing a calf, buy we've had a few over the years that I couldn't lift up. Big Charolais calves. They can be slow to get motoring th big calves.
    How many days did she carry?

Hes a AI Ch off Angelus. Shes 10 days carried but we've had her on a restricted diey for about a month.
    Hes dopey enf. There'll prob b abit of work following this fella id say.

Hes a AI Ch off Angelus. Shes 10 days carried but we've had her on a restricted diey for about a month.

Off a LM/CH?
    I've seen many good threads off the lads here, be it tubing,bale propping, learning to suckle etc. I doubt I can offer much more advice except find a sq bale of hay.

Sounds typical of some of the Ch. Still after a good feed of beastings, and a snooze us Mightn't know him!
    Carried 10 days with what? What date did ya AI her?

Off a LM/CH?
    I've seen many good threads off the lads here, be it tubing,bale propping, learning to suckle etc. I doubt I can offer much more advice except find a sq bale of hay.

Haha tryed that one b4. Heard sum1 on here the other day say they used a wheel Barrow. Gave a shot of selenium to perk him up abit. He'll be grand. I know most lads hate the extra work with a big calf but I love it. Love seeing um come round and thrive. He'll be getting the tube at 2 if he hasn't sucked. Ya hes a Ch

Selenium under the tongue is pretty similar to pinching the lip of the tongue. Pain releases adrenaline which makes the heart work faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Hugh 2

Just as a matter of interest how did you weigh him?
    I tried standing on a scales to weigh a huge BB this spring but me being rather heavy and unable to really see my stomping wellies never mind the readout my and calfs weight *ucked up the scales.:eek:

Sorry for jumping on this thread I did not go back to start to see what it was about:)

Hugh 2 wrote: »
    I tried standing on a scales to weigh a huge BB this spring but me being rather heavy and unable to really see my stomping wellies never mind the readout my and calfs weight *ucked up the scales.:eek:

Sorry for jumping on this thread I did not go back to start to see what it was about:)

I'd say a lamb scales would be a good way of weighing a calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Chisler2

They must have got word of your (ahem!) "dependency" ;) and know how much it's worth to you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Weigh yourself on the scales. Then lift the calf and step onto the scales. Difference is the weight of the calf.

bbam wrote: »
    Weigh yourself on the scales. Then lift the calf and step onto the scales. Difference is the weight of the calf.
    if ya can lift him:D

Biz is spot on. A lamb scales hanging in the shed. Sling the calf into an old beet pulp nag and off u go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

if ya can lift him:D

Great sign if ya can't. ;)

My head used to be wrecked with dopey CH calves. The vet gave us an injection a few times, it gives the calf the urge to suck. VIT E or something. Feckin torture trying to get the calf up under the cow, all the time watching for her to mow either you or the calf with a kick !
    Don't miss that much