Trivial things that annoy you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,284 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Michael Noonan's insistence on calling next year "two fourteen". :mad:

Two fourteen is eighteen fcuking hundred years ago, you halfwit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭HomelessMidge

I hate it when with a tablet packet, I start it on one end and someone then starts in the opposite end. Or when there's a certain amount of pain killers that are intended to be taken 2 at a time and someone takes 1 messing up the whole system!

Can't stand when someone leaves a disc out of its case or just puts it in a random one! I lose the head over that one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    People who ask you a question, and when you are half way thru the reply, they ask another question and/or answer their own original question, and then they take umbrage when you tell them you can only answer one question at a time.

Yes, i hate this.

Also people who ask you a question, but instead of letting your answer they just answer themselves.

Idiot: So what did you do at the weekend?

Me: *Intake of breath, about to answer*

Idiot: Myself and the wife went to Howth and ate some lovely seafood, sure twas grand weather for it. Did you ever eat in Howth?

Me: ...

Idiot: (Continuing unabated) We never had before but ah sure twas lovely so twas. What about yourself, what did the kids get up to?

Me: ...

Idiot: Becuase y'know yourself, our lot just want to play Xbox all the time, sure isn't it so hard to get them to go out and play?

THIS GOES ON FOR TEN MINUTES.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Always wondered about this behaviour too. It happened to me twice in the past year when I had to return items to two separate shops. Out comes the docket book with the sheet of carbon paper, for fook sake who still uses that, your man for Open All Hours???? Signature, date, address, reason for returning goods. What is done with this information?:confused:

I presume it's kept in case there's a problem with the transaction/returned item.

I once returned something to Brown Thomas, which I paid for by credit card/laser. I received a letter a few weeks later asking me to contact them regarding the transaction. When I went in, they told me they the incorrectly credited my card with €750, rather than €75!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

people who still say pounds instead of euro, we've had the euro for over a decade now you simpleton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Anyone know who this Roy Keane guy is ................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

The Big Bang Theory, I caught about 2 minutes of it last night. Do people actually think it's funny?
    It's pure dirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭saltyjack silverblade

When the app store for iphone tells me I need to update my apps in order to fix some bugs, but won't actually let me update the apps and keeps saying "Retry".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

When the stalk end of a carrot makes its way onto the dinner plate. I could kill someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Spending ages trying to decide to put for my 3,000 post, fecking doing my head in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Whats annoying me this week is that it's my birthday in a few days and three groups of people expect me to be at three different places at once.
    Family want me at home, college friends want me in the pub in town and school friends want me in the local. Head is wrecked :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,521 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Folk who have about 20 old tax disc's under their current one on their windscreen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Lately I've noticed this. People pushing their way onto a train without letting the people who are standing at the door get of first, it's unreal.

Also at the top of the ramp to Connolly platform 6&7 people just get to the top and stop, blocking up the whole thing as they look around clueless. Here's a tip, the platforms are about 20m wide and 450m long, move the feck out of the way and stop blocking up a choke point. Evolution has failed, I'm convinced of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭HomelessMidge

Whats annoying me this week is that it's my birthday in a few days and three groups of people expect me to be at three different places at once.
    Family want me at home, college friends want me in the pub in town and school friends want me in the local. Head is wrecked :(

Family, then its not favoritism over one group of friends and everyone is happy. Tell the lads you will meet up another day. Sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Family, then its not favoritism over one group of friends and everyone is happy. Tell the lads you will meet up another day. Sorted.

Yeah but my family are boring :L think I'll stick with the college friends. Not sure yet :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Yeah but my family are boring :L think I'll stick with the college friends. Not sure yet :L

Whoever will give best presents............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭mutley18

People who lick their fingers when turning pages. Usually old folk. Dirty bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Men with long fingernails, I'm looking at one now in a cafe ,he looks normal in all other respects , turning me off my coffee , the freak !, which reminds me of those guys who keep one thumbnail long for " playing my guitar" , cut it you duuurtburd!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

mutley18 wrote: »
    People who lick their fingers when turning pages. Usually old folk. Dirty bastards.

That's one that's irritated me since junior infants when our teacher used read us a story, and as she was nearing the end of the page, out comes the tongue and she draws her index finger down it, slobbers, and turns the page...

I just sat there aghast thinking "Did she just... Ohh that was disgusting!" :(

Thank fcuk for E-readers nowadays!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Squaredude

People who lick/suck their fingers clean after eating,get the fcuk out and wash your hands you dirty cnut. Also people who don't wash their hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭saltyjack silverblade

When landlords advertise that a king size bed is available and it is two single beds stuck together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Toilets in restaurants that have only one cubicle behind the door, and said cubicle being currently occupied by a woman who forgot to close the god damn door! :pac:

the amount of chung wans around Dublin sporting that scaldy greasy birds nest style hair bun on the top of their heads since it was made popular by that nordy girl stung for charlie in Peru.

Lately I've noticed this. People pushing their way onto a train without letting the people who are standing at the door get of first, it's unreal.

Also at the top of the ramp to Connolly platform 6&7 people just get to the top and stop, blocking up the whole thing as they look around clueless. Here's a tip, the platforms are about 20m wide and 450m long, move the feck out of the way and stop blocking up a choke point. Evolution has failed, I'm convinced of it.

I was getting off a dart at pearse the other day at about 17:00. except I couldn't get off because of all the people trying to get on right at the door, there was literally no gap. I had had a very bad day and just saw red
    I let a roar "MAKE WAY, WINDOWLICKERS !!"
    The crowd parted like the dead sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,106 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I was getting off a dart at pearse the other day at about 17:00. except I couldn't get off because of all the people trying to get on right at the door, there was literally no gap. I had had a very bad day and just saw red

I take it your not an Aphex Twin fan by any chance.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

ahem...err..it was the...ammm... red sea....but anyway...I know you've had a bad day...
    I'll go back to licking the windows...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭mattser

Just this evening on RTE Radio news the reader was talking about the storm in the Phillipines. She quotes the Prime Minister and then plays a clip of him saying exactly what she quoted. Newsreaders do it all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Days 298

Went to the 10 or less checkout. Old guy in front of me with half a trolley full of stuff gets there two seconds before me.....