Ever had a good deed backfire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭The_Mask

You should tell him that you're supposed to leave the engine running when you jump start a car.

He knows this already, whatever happened it ruined his battery, maybe the other motorists battery was more powerful than his own :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

My brother once stopped at a petrol station and as he was going in to make his purchase, he noticed someone coming toward the door with a 12 pack of beer in each hand, so he opened the door for them and they rushed out without saying anything. Seconds later, an employee comes out after them. Turns out the person had just robbed the store. My brother had to wait for the police to come so he could tell them what he saw. He was worried they'd arrest him as an accessory since he held open the door.

Oh, I still laugh whenever I think about it! :D

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Yeah, big time. Went into work one morning, and a duty manager asked me to see if "I could get yer man out of trouble".

I did, he went on his way happy about an hour and a bit later

cost me my job, and an expensive specialist headset that I'd lent him to get home, it was supposed to be sent back on a Ryanair flight, but it never got to me, so doing a task that I was more than qualified for cost me a job I loved and a piece of equipment that I'd paid for to enable me to do the job more professionally.

regardless of the implications, I will NEVER again be a member of a trade union, I was well and truly shafted by both the union reps at the company concerned, and the area rep, who was more interested in protecting his stool pigeon than he was in getting justice for me.

And yes, I was way over qualified to carry out the task I did, in fact, I was probably the only one in a work force of over 100 that was legally qualified to do the task, and the real sickener was that the "management" knew that, but didn't have the balls to stand up to the union manipulators, or the courage to stand up to union bullying and intimidation that was rife.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭The Humble Sausage

Once came out of McDonalds and saw a homeless woman outside so bent down and offered her my meal (full, not touched and in a bag)...... and she spit in my face. To be fair to her it was a quality hock and her aim was impeccable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Hopefully not fitting in this thread, but I sent a private message to the girl the Daily Mail accused of being the "O'Connell St girl" on facebook as a heads-up and got a reply just now - she seems pretty freaked out about the whole thing ha! Seems a nice girl though, I knew a tonne of people from that area who went to the same college as her, got to feel a bit sorry for her, hopefully she sees the funny side since the real girl (from Brisbane - about a 16 hour drive north) got deported pretty much ASAP. Funny little claim-to-accidental-fame!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pingi

Few years ago was working in a shop beside a nightclub, was on the way to work one Sunday at 9am and found a phone on the foot path. Rang "MAM" on the phone to say I'd found her son/daughters phone and they could pick it up from the shop.

She F*cked me out of it for waking her up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Pingi wrote: »
    Few years ago was working in a shop beside a nightclub, was on the way to work one Sunday at 9am and found a phone on the foot path. Rang "MAM" on the phone to say I'd found her son/daughters phone and they could pick it up from the shop.

She F*cked me out of it for waking her up.
    Yeah but... such lovely people all-in-all. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Jezek

My friend found some dachshunds outside her house, 3 puppies and mam, obviously pets. We were trying to figure out what to do with them, when a friend of ours comes over, she's seen the dogs wandering around outside a house in the neighbourhood. So we take the dogs to that house, and there is a sign for a plumber at the back of the house with a phone number.
    . I call the guy and ask ' Sorry, are you the owner of some dachshunds? '
    'ARE YOU F*CKING KIDDING ME? YOU CALL ME IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT (It was around 10) TO CHAT TO ME ABOUT MY DOGS? YOU CAN F*CK RIGHT OFF. YOU WOKE ME UP AS WELL YOU BASTARD'
    'Ok, I guess you don't want me to give you runaway dogs back? Ok, nighty night'
    Woman's voice on the phone ' I'm so sorry for my husband. We'll be back at the house in a few minutes, we're out to dinner now. '

Meanwhile I can hear the guy at the other end screaming abuse at his son for forgetting to lock the dogs in. He wouldn't look at me when they came to get the dogs - he just kept saying how useless the kid was. Funny thing this was the 3rd time the dogs had run away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭loveBBhate

I don't expect any love for this one but this thread reminded me of something that happened to me before.

Living in town and was walking home after a house party we went to after the club and found a phone on the ground. It was near morning time at this stage so I figured I'd have little or no chance of the owner still being around town to return the phone, I figured the person would be asleep anyway.

There had been a few missed calls on the phone at this stage from 'Claire' and 'Shauna' so I figured at this stage the owner was a girl. (Names I'm using not real obviously) Sent Claire and Shauna a text message each off the phone to say I had found it and will return it at some stage the following day.

Anyway, queue the phone ringing at around 10am and me rattled in bed. It was the owner of this phone ringing off Claire's phone fcuking me out of it for stealing her phone. It was a pretty basic phone and she was going at me like I had robbed her brand new iPhone worth €600. I explained to her that I had sent two messages intending to return the phone but she was having none of it. "I'm calling the guards, getting my Dad to come after ya" etc...

I hung up, sent a text message each to her Mum and Dad off her phone, telling them that she's pregnant and to ring Daniel (a fella she had been sexting) and left his contact details in the message because 'he won't talk to me now and that it's his'.

Off I went in to town for a bit to eat, knocked her phone off, disposing of it bit by bit in to the canal and ready to start a new day, knowing that I had a good one ahead of me, but she didn't :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭sparksfly

Fixed an old lady's light socket when I called to her with a delivery from a supermarket. She phoned the boss after I left and said I stole 20 euro from her house. I was furious for ages after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Dublinpato

Jesus what is it with finding money in an empty field, I was talking to a chap yesterday he randomly found 8 50 euro notes in the middle of a field once, but ya some people are right ***** alright.

Did this said field have grass on it? i lost 8 50 notes in a field with grass any chance i could get it back?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Not a good deed but when I was cycle touring in Africa I pulled up off the road into the bushes to stay for the night. A woman suddenly appeared carrying a stack of wood (people generally just appear in the loneliest spots in Africa). She spotted me, I tried to ask in broken French was it alright if I could stay where I was for the night. She screamed as I approached, dropped her wood and legged it off into the distance.

I decided it was best to cycle on and find somewhere else after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Shared a house with a girl and was hanging around the place one day on my own not doing much at all.

Was a wet day and some of her clothes fell off the washing line onto the wet grass. I went outside to pick them all up and she arrived back to see me holding underwear and other stuff out at the washing line

Got a foul look, somehow she thought I some weirdo messing with her stuff and I got bad mouthed down the pub to mutual friends

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭loveBBhate

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Shared a house with a girl and was hanging around the place one day on my own not doing much at all.

Was a wet day and some of her clothes fell off the washing line onto the wet grass. I went outside to pick them all up and she arrived back to see me holding underwear and other stuff out at the washing line

Got a foul look, somehow she thought I some weirdo messing with her stuff and I got bad mouthed down the pub to mutual friends

Did they smell nice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭pauldla

Reading the stories, one thought keeps coming to mind: "Never get involved in a boy and girl fight" - William S Burroughs, Words Of Advice To Young People

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Ging Ging

Maybe the Gardai lost the evidence
    Stinicker wrote: »
    I found a smart phone once before and it was just by chance I found it really and I opened it and read the text messages as there was some girl and her boyfriend from Wexford down in Killarney for the weekend. I was rushing at the time and I rang the number of the mother and explained I had found the phone lost and I'd give it into the Garda Barracks for them to collect, she told me she'd ring the boyfriend to get them to collect it.

I handed it in and left my contact details and they never even texted me or rang to say thanks. I thought it was the most ungrateful flippant thing I'd ever encountered. At the time I had just gotten my iPhone like a week before and you can imagine my eyes when I found this samsung smartphone in the carpark walking back to my car which was around the same price as my own phone over €600.00.

I felt an obligation to get it back to the owner as I had just lost my trusty Nokia like a week before getting my new iPhone and at the time would have preffered not to have had to buy a new phone at all. It was so ungrateful and pure stinge not to ring and say thanks as the phone was put in an envelope with the girls name (acquired from the Mum) and my own contact details and left into the garda station for them which was a 10 minute drive out of my way (opposite direction) to my route home. If the situation was reversed and I was stupid enough to lose my phone I'd make sure to track down the kind person who returned it and shove a few bob into their hand for being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Ging Ging

Did you start singing "voulez vouus couchez avec moI, ce soir"?
    Not a good deed but when I was cycle touring in Africa I pulled up off the road into the bushes to stay for the night. A woman suddenly appeared carrying a stack of wood (people generally just appear in the loneliest spots in Africa). She spotted me, I tried to ask in broken French was it alright if I could stay where I was for the night. She screamed as I approached, dropped her wood and legged it off into the distance.

I decided it was best to cycle on and find somewhere else after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Just last night I helped a woman whose car had broken down. Was pushing it and slipped on the wet tarmac smashing my nose off the boot. Didn't bleed thankfully but its swollen quite a bit this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

Yeah, big time. Went into work one morning, and a duty manager asked me to see if "I could get yer man out of trouble".

I did, he went on his way happy about an hour and a bit later

cost me my job, and an expensive specialist headset that I'd lent him to get home, it was supposed to be sent back on a Ryanair flight, but it never got to me, so doing a task that I was more than qualified for cost me a job I loved and a piece of equipment that I'd paid for to enable me to do the job more professionally.

regardless of the implications, I will NEVER again be a member of a trade union, I was well and truly shafted by both the union reps at the company concerned, and the area rep, who was more interested in protecting his stool pigeon than he was in getting justice for me.

And yes, I was way over qualified to carry out the task I did, in fact, I was probably the only one in a work force of over 100 that was legally qualified to do the task, and the real sickener was that the "management" knew that, but didn't have the balls to stand up to the union manipulators, or the courage to stand up to union bullying and intimidation that was rife.

Does this make any sense at all to anybody else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

mutley18 wrote: »
    Refusing to eat sugar is hardly a good deed though? I don't do heroin, does that count as a good deed?

It's a light-hearted enough thread and I found his post quite amusing - can you f*ck off with this?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

"A good deed never goes unpunished"

Get permission before you attempt to do someone a favour , unless it's something you've done before or completely reversible and even then think twice.

If someone gets picky then then walk away by making out that you weren't really doing them a favour and just killing time so they can't possibly imagine they have any obligation to thank you or reciprocate in future.

Old Chinese saying about theatre
    "The people in the free seats hiss loudest"

OhHiMark wrote: »
    Does this make any sense at all to anybody else?
    Reading between the lines, he did a job that should have been done by a member of another union or that he wasn't insured to do and it caused a row that ended with him getting the sack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Brego888 wrote: »
    It's a sad indictment of our society that any man interacting with kids could possibly be tarred as a paedophile

Well it's a double-edged sword thingy, isn't it?

Very many paedophiles do put themselves into positions where they have access to children, so it's reasonable to be cautious about people in those positions. There's a difference of course between being cautious and jumping to conclusions. As somebody who volunteers to teach a physical sport (karate) to young kids I have to constantly take precautions to ensure that I am never in a position where I am alone with a child. The plain and simple truth is that if ever a child made an accusation, however untrue, there would be a sizeable portion of society who would immediately jump to the conclusion "so that's why Zen is involved in those clubs".

It's a scary thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 OrionA

My brother once stopped at a petrol station and as he was going in to make his purchase, he noticed someone coming toward the door with a 12 pack of beer in each hand, so he opened the door for them and they rushed out without saying anything. Seconds later, an employee comes out after them. Turns out the person had just robbed the store. My brother had to wait for the police to come so he could tell them what he saw. He was worried they'd arrest him as an accessory since he held open the door.

Oh, I still laugh whenever I think about it! :D

My Uncle (taxi driver) picked a group of lads up in town one evening and dropped them off at a garage on the journey home. Said they had to get fags and food so would be a few minutes. Uncle opens up his paper for a preuse while waiting and when they got back in dropped them to their destination. Cue guards at the door the next morning. Turns out they held up the garage! Poor uncle couldnt tell the guards anything was too busy reading his paper. Said they gave him a a savage tip though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭HansHolzel

The_Mask wrote: »
    Would have been a funnier story if he was a dwarf.

Like the one in Project X?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Abigayle

Jesus what is it with finding money in an empty field, I was talking to a chap yesterday he randomly found 8 50 euro notes in the middle of a field once, but ya some people are right ***** alright.

People roidin' in t'fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 OrionA

As for a good deed :P

My friends dad many years ago was heading to work on the bus. The bus pulled up just as he got to the stop and there was a woman in front of him struggling to get on the bus with 2 young kiddies and a buggy. He thought to himself he'd give her a hand cos she was lifting the buggy with the baby up, so he picked up the little boy, a fine big child he said. Said fine child then turned around and gave him a mouth full of abuse. Turned out it wasnt a child rather the womans husband who happened to be a dwarf. Said your man feckcd him out of it from a height

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭HansHolzel

mikemac1 wrote: »

Was a wet day and some of her clothes fell off the washing line...

A likely story *sniff*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Once in Galway, I was sober and just hanging out with my friends while they drank. At the end of the night we were walking past Eyre Square and there was a girl, still remember her name.. Amanda Delaney!!! You f**k. She had blood pouring from her leg and was sat against a window crying. She started stumbling around so my friend and I went up to her to help her. She was hammered and not making any sense and crying at the same time, I said I could drive the car up and bring her to hospital, she kept refusing so we said we couldn't just leave her. I asked her if she had anyone she could call. She said she did but her phone was dead.

I asked her if she knew the number, she gave me the number...I gave the number a call and it was her boyfriend. He was frustrated sounding but as any lad with a mad whore like her, would be. He told me to put him onto her. She talked for a bit yelled and hung up. The guy called back and said to put him onto her again. I did, she screamed at the top of her lungs "F**K OFF" and threw my phone into the ground and smashed it to bits. She didn't say a f'kin thing and took off.

Another time in Galway my friend and I walked by Javas and there was a lad passed out on the ground. My friend wanted us to stop and help, the rest of us were shaky to the idea but agreed. Similar deal, he could barely speak, couldnt tell us where he was staying, he wasn't from the city. We got a number to call, it was some lad he worked with and said thanks to us for taking care of him and he was a good lad, yadda yadda but didn't know where he was staying or who he was with. In the end we brought him to the Garda Station. They shouted at us "this isn't some feckin party!, get out!!", Tried to explain what was going on and some Garda physically pushed me out the door and told us if we didn't leave we'd be arrested. So we stepped outside of the station and one of the lads went into talk to them. And they took the guy in.

I recently sponsored a startup soccer team. The idea was you'd pay to sponsor a player for the season. They would then pick what player at random. I thought it was a cool idea, got excited to think I could track the player through the season. Then they sent me the excel sheet with the names and the sponsors beside them. Every sponsor other than myself and one other guy was a company name or a local politician. The player I got drawn has not featured on the squad. The companies and politicians, of course got the squad players. It's fine, I'm happy I helped the club at the same time, I'm sick of that kind of BS you get in Ireland.

Was working in Smyths Toystore a few years ago, went on my lunch break and saw a kid just outside the door crying his eyes out. Small lad, probably 5 years old or about that. He sprinted out into the parking lot! right in front of cars so I ran out and scooped him up in my arms and brought him back into the store. All the while the kid is kicking, punching and screaming, I put him down and he ran over to a woman who was his mother. She or anybody else seemed to notice or care.