Royal Marine Found Guilty of Murder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Gee Bag wrote: »
    Considering they haven't been sent via Ireland's triple lock mechanism for deploying troops abroad their deployment in Afghanistan is questionable.

However, they are operating in a non-combat role training EOD teams.

There are (or were) six Gardai stationed in Afghanistan at one stage. I'd love to hear them stopping lads in Kabul saying 'would you mind stepping out of the veh-ickle, I have reason to believe you have drink taken'

Is she taxed and NCT'ed? Also your reg plate isn't in the right font.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

wazky wrote: »
    How many Irish soldiers are implicated in that?, they aren't British soldiers you know.

Per head it's probably going to take a while before 1 gets around to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

The answer to everything is just going to revolve around how evil the US/UK/NATO etc are, isn't it?

My responses are to those working from a point where the US/UK/NATO have no responsibility for what's happening in the world and are nothing but 'soldiers of virtue' just trying to educate the little girls.

Which needs to be exposed for the utter bollocks that it is.

There are (or were) six Gardai stationed in Afghanistan at one stage. I'd love to hear them stopping lads in Kabul saying 'would you mind stepping out of the veh-ickle, I have reason to believe you have drink taken'

Were they not there helping and supporting the police force of the US puppet regime? Surely that makes them complicit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Per head it's probably going to take a while before 1 gets around to it.

Or maybe they won't do it at all maybe?, as I said the Irish Army doesn't have such a colourful history as the British counterparts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Shows how bad this particular act was when a British court convicted one of their OWN soldiers for murder, rarer than hens teeth.

Maybe someday they will bring in an IQ test for their efforts to win hearts and minds. They failed miserably in the occupied counties in our country. In the end of the day they lost, because of courages men and women who said no, and taught them a lesson, which it took how many years in Iraq And Afghanistan to find out they had to retreat with their tails between their legs after their defeat.
    Do the establishment care, no, how many young kids thought their future was in the BA, how many came back in body bags, how many came back without limbs, how many came back and took their own lives, how many are in jail that could not handle life after such an ordeal. The establishment have a lot to answer for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

What you think about the US and UK seems to be pretty relevant though.

There's a difference between the people of the US/UK (the majority of whom are in favour of withdrawal from Afghanistan despite the propaganda btw) and those who command foreign policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭whats the point

That wasn't the question. Whether theres 7 or 7000 , they are still there.

I'm pretty sure there is more than 7 of these guys fighting in Syria on behave
    of England, Are we to assume all of these guys represent England?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Considering they haven't been sent via Ireland's triple lock mechanism for deploying troops abroad their deployment in Afghanistan is questionable.

However, they are operating in a non-combat role training EOD teams.

The triple lock being what?

UN sanction - check (and voted for by the Irish government as part of the security council)
    Presidential approval - check
    Dail vote - not needed on a small deployment.

They are part of ISAF, as are Britain.

Are they invading foreign terrorists?

I'm pretty sure there is more than 7 of these guys fighting in Syria on behave
    of England, Are we to assume all of these guys represent England?

Do you recognize him by his mask or his AK47.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

So you are saying that 7 Irish soldiers is the same as the massive British/American etc force that is over there too?, are you for real?

The Irish role is purely ceremonial at best.

No it isn't, they are part of ISAF. Are they invading foreign terrorists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

You hear "Royal Marine killed injured terrorist" and you think ah ok, they're soldiers. They're trained to kill and who knows some of the **** they've seen. You might be able to justify it. But if you listen to the audio tape it's clear that it's pre meditated cold blooded murder. I'm a big supporter of the British Forces in general but I think what these lads did is inexcusable and they've been rightly locked up.

They not only murdered a man but I bet Al-Queda have gained a few new members off the back of this. Also, what must the ordinary Afghan people think? Not very good for public relations to say the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

The triple lock being what?

UN sanction - check (and voted for by the Irish government as part of the security council)
    Presidential approval - check
    Dail vote - not needed on a small deployment.

They are part of ISAF, as are Britain.

Are they invading foreign terrorists?

two out of three parts for the triple lock, there is no way any more than ten soldiers being deployed to Afghanistan would get Dail approval.

I never said they were invading foreign terrorists, stop attributing other peoples quotes to me.

Were they not there helping and supporting the police force of the US puppet regime? Surely that makes them complicit?

I've asked you once already to stop putting words in my mouth.

Try and respond to what I've actually posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭cerastes

it was the butler

No, by the colour of his skin ;)

Sad.

I've asked you once already to stop putting words in my mouth.

Try and respond to what I've actually posted.

You called the Afghan government a US puppet government and you said there were 6 Gardaí there. What were they there for? Was it to aid any agents of the government?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1019/137000-afghanistan/

So whats wrong with what I said?

You called the Afghan government a US puppet government

Yet again your mixing me up with another poster.

This is getting tiresome Guy

Yet again your mixing me up with another poster.

This is getting tiresome Guy

My bad. I did. So presumably you support the legitimate government there and are happy they want the US troops?

At this stage the war can't be won. I think they (the Afghan government) should start talking to the Talliban and try and make peace. If not, they'll be wiped out when ISAF leave and it'll be all back to square one. The bulk of american troops are going to be leaving soon anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,744 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

you know the true worth of your enemy, when they go from being cast by politicians as a henious foe that you can't negotiate with, to then being cast as a important player in an overall settlement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

it wasn't me just in case anyone's interested.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Corvo wrote: »
    Royal Marine Guilty Of Murdering Afghan Fighter

Hero.

His sentence is an abomination.

British soldiers protect us while we sleep.

We should never forget that.

That Afghan 'fighter' would think nothing of killing your mother / sister / daughter.

Fúck him.

This British soldier should be released immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

War is an ugly business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Lapin wrote: »
    Hero.

His sentence is an abomination.

British soldiers protect us while we sleep.

We should never forget that.

That Afghan 'fighter' would think nothing of killing your mother / sister / daughter.

Fúck him.

If the squaddie wants to protect people as they sleep, why not deploy to Willesden, Hackney, Clapton, Moss Side, Balsall Heath, Toxteth and some of the Northern towns?

I guess you also believe that the Black&Tans came to Ireland as peacekeepers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    If the squaddie wants to protect people as they sleep, why not deploy to Willesden, Hackney, Clapton, Moss Side, Balsall Heath, Toxteth and some of the Northern towns?

I don't understand you here.

North and East London areas, districts in working class areas elsewhere (some afflicted by riots in the past). And the reference to 'Northern towns'.

Whats your point?
    WilyCoyote wrote: »
    I guess you also believe that the Black&Tans came to Ireland as peacekeepers?

Of course I don't.

But again, I don't see the connection.

Arbitarily introducng the Black & Tans into a discussion dimminishes any debate.

Fúck him.

Not every person fighting for the Taliban is an extremist though, I think it was in the Doug Beattie book where he described how many of them would simply be locals conscripted or pressganged or simply after a few bucks. Also do not forget that many of the current afghan army and police also fought for the taliban previously, did they suddenly go from evil, murdering extremists to law and order loving democrats as soon as they decided they would get better looked after in the APA?

I guess it's just easier to dehumanise them for propaganda efforts, it makes it easier that way to justify flattening a village or wiping out entire families if people can convince themselves that they just killed a great evil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

I don't understand you here.

North and East London areas, districts in working class areas elsewhere (some afflicted by riots in the past). And the reference to 'Northern towns'.

Whats your point?

Of course I don't.

But again, I don't see the connection.

Bringing the Black & Tans into a discussion dimminishes any debate.

The places I mentioned are hell holes. The Northern towns? Parts of Bradford, Leeds, Newcastle, Nottingham, Middlesborough, Blackpool, Blackburn and Stoke (to name a few) ...........

The Black&Tans did much the same as this mindless mercenary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Cop on yourself and live in the real world.
    The real world says "guilty".