If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Hugo, Have you many in?. We will start putting some in this weekend.

All cows in, cull cows and weanlings still out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

My oul boy had himself conviced we were heading for a winter of discontent last Fri. Not a sign of anything in the end:rolleyes:.

the joys of having a big vet bill:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Long night. 3 cows calved and two had calves all jumbled up in them....ugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Milked out wrote: »
    Are the cows still out?? not sure but I think the thermo bacteria are more common in soil so possibly your pre milking routine for that day missed a bit of earth an the udders of a few cows if your grazing tight?? strange one alright when it was low all year

Hmm yeh cows still out. But teats usually fairly clean, I tend to avoid doing anything pre milking, unless the cow is particularly dirty. Time to at least wipe them down with a paper towel I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

jersey101 wrote: »

We find always after testing things like that happen

Calves all survive? Vet job I take it? About the only unjumbling I can do with calves is push them back in and straighten up a front leg, I can sometimes straighten a head if its turned backwards, but very tricky.

You must have a huge number of wintercalvers also, ya always seem to be calving now ha! What % is it? 2bh I was the same last winter, loads in nov/dec/jan, I pushed the most of them around until Feb. Made sh%te of my CI, but had to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭flat out !!

I know this is a bit of a long shot, but did any if ye see my claw hammer?!, ye know the one with the green handle, after searching everywhere and no sign of it...!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

I know this is a bit of a long shot, but did any if ye see my claw hammer?!, ye know the one with the green handle, after searching everywhere and no sign of it...!:mad:

If you like I could offer you the answer I get. Every. Single. Time.

" ah ...I saw that ah..where did I see that now....it is around somewhere"

Suckler wrote: »
    If you like I could offer you the answer I get. Every. Single. Time.

" ah ...I saw that ah..where did I see that now....it is around somewhere"

Or where did you have it last?

whelan1 wrote: »
    We find always after testing things like that happen

suppose its not as bad as last year. One aborted coz the vet rammed her up in the crush

Timmaay wrote: »
    Calves all survive? Vet job I take it? About the only unjumbling I can do with calves is push them back in and straighten up a front leg, I can sometimes straighten a head if its turned backwards, but very tricky.

You must have a huge number of wintercalvers also, ya always seem to be calving now ha! What % is it? 2bh I was the same last winter, loads in nov/dec/jan, I pushed the most of them around until Feb. Made sh%te of my CI, but had to be done.

father did the first one and he talked me through the second one. First one was bad, head was bent back and one leg back, second one was only a leg.

Ah its very spread out l. 1/3 of the herd this year.

Need to tightin it up alot in the next to years. I have 4 calving in dec and im going to push them into spring, Going to estrumate 8 heifers so they calf in sept. Next year plan to push nov cows to spring or put them for AI three weeks early and estrumate heifers again. Should thighten it up nicely, all going well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Mine is missing as well !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

dharn wrote: »
    Mine is missing as well !
    Where did you have it last!!!!!!

Need to tightin it up alot in the next to years. I have 4 calving in dec and im going to push them into spring, Going to estrumate 8 heifers so they calf in sept. Next year plan to push nov cows to spring or put them for AI three weeks early and estrumate heifers again. Should thighten it up nicely, all going well

I'd love to avoid any autumn heifers, but afew repeats from the spring, and I aint letting them go till 3yr old. I only need 24cows to cover the liquid contract, the way things are now I'd get all of them from april/may calvers, I could nearly ditch the autumn calvers, and all the hassle of calving now! I'll keep dreaming for now ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Found it!!
    279227.jpg

I'd love to avoid any autumn heifers, but afew repeats from the spring, and I aint letting them go till 3yr old. I only need 24cows to cover the liquid contract, the way things are now I'd get all of them from april/may calvers, I could nearly ditch the autumn calvers, and all the hassle of calving now! I'll keep dreaming for now ha.

ah well ill be at it for the next ten yrs any way so may aswell have it right so its not hard to manage em. Its hard to get rid of them cows that roll over. I hope to be in a position in a few years that if a cow doesnt go on incalf after 3 inseminations shes gone :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Keep an eye out for mine too will ya, Stanley anti vibration yoke, last seen with the oul fella who denies ever having it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

towzer2010 wrote: »
    Found it!!
    279227.jpg

Peter was probably more of a sledge hammer than claw hammer when he was in his prime.

ah well ill be at it for the next ten yrs any way so may aswell have it right so its not hard to manage em. Its hard to get rid of them cows that roll over. I hope to be in a position in a few years that if a cow doesnt go on incalf after 3 inseminations shes gone :D

This certainly wouldn't solve all my problems, but I sometimes wonder should I flog off 15/20 of my poorer performers now (ladies would regularly get lame/mastitis/poor BSC etc), and replace them with 20 good spring calving cows. Would be a nice overnight boost, and let me breed more good cows quicker, but aside from the disease risk, its bloody hard to fine nice stock, lads only flog off their worst cows/heifers.

But anyways, utterly everything hinges on the replacement heifers in my view, get them all calving in late jan/feb as 2yr olds, shouldnt be more than 5yrs turning around the herd into a tight spring calving then. I'll use sexed semen on most AI for the winter until next march, hopefully will have enough held then to stop breeding for dairy at all.

And I had 2 bloody heifers that needed 4 inseminations before they held, definitely not what I want moving forward at all.

This certainly wouldn't solve all my problems, but I sometimes wonder should I flog off 15/20 of my poorer performers now (ladies would regularly get lame/mastitis/poor BSC etc), and replace them with 20 good spring calving cows. Would be a nice overnight boost, and let me breed more good cows quicker, but aside from the disease risk, its bloody hard to fine nice stock, lads only flog off their worst cows/heifers.

But anyways, utterly everything hinges on the replacement heifers in my view, get them all calving in late jan/feb as 2yr olds, shouldnt be more than 5yrs turning around the herd into a tight spring calving then. I'll use sexed semen on most AI for the winter until next march, hopefully will have enough held then to stop breeding for dairy at all.

And I had 2 bloody heifers that needed 4 inseminations before they held, definitely not what I want moving forward at all.

i know a lad up in durrow, delaval probably knows him too, who has a lovely herd of 200 nz friesan cows, keeps all heifers off them rears them and sells his surplus. Could be 50 of them and then he has 150 or so crossbred heifers that he calves every year, keeps calves and sells heifers, that might be a good option for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Muckit, did you see the front page of the tribune. The article details where some of the money went for the hse mental health unit that they now want to close. They spent 224k on furniture and crockery despite only having a budget of 10k. Some of the details:
    Sofa 1,700, Waterford wing chair? 725, four chandeliers 1,937 and a mirror for 2,500. It goes on to say that disciplinary action has been taken against those responsible for ordering. Only one polite word come to mind "Disgraceful'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Why are you serving till March. IMV serve for Dec/Jan and start again in May.
    You'll never tighten up otherwise.
    You said yourself that you only need a few winter calvers to fill liquid contract.
    Using sexed semen on low fertility cows will only compound the problem
    Use sexed if you want but only ai for 2 mth max.
    What you're doing now is leading to an 8 mth calving spread. Don't get hung up on CI till you sort block calving.
    Choose bulls on Fert first

College graduation in kk tonight :D have to be milked by 4.30 and on the road, god theres going to be some beer drank. First time all year i wont have to get up to milk in the morning :D

delaval wrote: »
    Why are you serving till March. IMV serve for Dec/Jan and start again in May.

Sorry serve so as they calf down until March I meant. But yeh I managed to avoid any animal calving from Xmas to end of Jan, I'll widen that window out more this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

towzer2010 wrote: »
    Found it!!
    279227.jpg

never knew he had that much hair

he never takes his keys from the car or locks his hall door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Muckit, did you see the front page of the tribune. The article details where some of the money went for the hse mental health unit that they now want to close. They spent 224k on furniture and crockery despite only having a budget of 10k. Some of the details:
    Sofa 1,700, Waterford wing chair? 725, four chandeliers 1,937 and a mirror for 2,500. It goes on to say that disciplinary action has been taken against those responsible for ordering. Only one polite word come to mind "Disgraceful'

Hi mac Taylor. I haven't seen that yet. I'd say they talking about that toghermore house in tuam? Ah sure whole thing fecked up. All about outward appearances. Forget about the people. Don't get me started!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

jomoloney wrote: »
    never knew he had that much hair

he never takes his keys from the car or locks his hall door

Has he still the 'sin bin' in Limerick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Where did you have it last!!!!!!

If I knew that it wouldnot be missing :cool: