Ever consider walking out of a job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭420

Yes. Everyday and everyday i see the same group of people sitting outside drinking their expensive coffee's planning their moves getting through life the easy way and then i think to myself that im not working for this company ..i'm working for them . Them sitting there watching the people go to work drinking their coffee's.. All day everyday.

Rant over. Work in the morning!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

yeah, and that's why I chose to work with men :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I had a terrible telemarketing job for a few months in 2009. Left for 'lunch' one day, went to an interview, went home, never went back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,240 ✭✭✭✭siblers

When I was working at Smyths toys I was so tempted to, the 2 managers there were the two biggest arses to work for. I wish I had told one of them to go f**k themselves, I lasted two weeks then one Saturday I just decided I couldn't do it anymore so didn't bother turning up. Had a few missed calls off them, got my P45(or60) in the post a week later and that was that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I walked out of some many fucking jobs when I was younger. It was a joke. And when I say younger I am only talking over the last 10 years.

I would quit a job... wouldnt even text or call. Just no show cause I got "bored" or some other immature and foolish shit. But the mental thing looking back was that I would often use the last job as a reference and still get another job!!! ... wtf like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

A friend of mine in New York quit his job today. He walked out of it because a new boss was treating him like dirt. He's the second person to leave the job this week too so management will surely take notice.

I've done it once. One summer during college I got a job in a kitchen as a deep scrubber. I worked for something like 11 or 12 hours without even taking a piss. I had my hands in the sink the entire time; my fingernails all fell off at the end of the shift. I quit and never went back. I never even went in to pick up my cheque, I told them they could stick it up their arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

SV wrote: »
    Ever actually do it?

I mean not handing in the notice, just straight up telling the boss to go fûck themselves and strutting out?

Never been as tempted to as lately but, being honest, I don't have the balls to carry it out
    I feel your pain. It's not worth it in the long run though, especially if you'll need a reference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I walked out of some many fucking jobs when I was younger. It was a joke. And when I say younger I am only talking over the last 10 years.

I would quit a job... wouldnt even text or call. Just no show cause I got "bored" or some other immature and foolish shit. But the mental thing looking back was that I would often use the last job as a reference and still get another job!!! ... wtf like.

That post is a Celtic Tiger relic !, seriously though it's better to walk than be stuck in a job you hate, researchers have stated it's healthier mentally and physically to be unemployed than stuck in a job you hate with piss poor pay, no control over your day and duties and no prospects, this is especially true with things like call centres or shop work where your're a pawn of fate at everyone's whim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

Ever actually do it?

I mean not handing in the notice, just straight up telling the boss to go fûck themselves and strutting out?

Never been as tempted to as lately but, being honest, I don't have the balls to carry it out

Have done it.

Walked straight out into unemployment because of practices at the firm with which I disagreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

'It's against the law to give a bad reference' According to the misses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Walked out of a few jobs when I was younger. Bar work, kitchen staff and call centre.

My cousin though, he worked in a computer programming job. 6 years for the same company. Well paid and very competent at it. But personality wise clashed with most of his superiors.
    On finding out that he'd been given a new job he applied for he decided to quit in epic fashion. He hung up the call offering him the new position, and immediately set about telling people in the place what he thought of them. By all accounts it was a tirade of abuse aimed at 3 particular people that would have made the lads on goodfellas ask him to tone it down a bit.
    Walked out feeling proud as a dog with two dícks.
    The job he went to lasted 10 weeks.... And now he has an awful time explaining why he has no reference for 6 years of his employment history. :pac:
    He's sorted now again, but still quite an embarrassment for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Used to do telesales and on the long bus ride in the morning, I often contemplated getting off a few stops early and hang out in the shops for most of the day. :) Never did but didn't last long in the job anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

Walked out of a good paying one a few years back due to stress ( actually just didn't go in one day ).
    I ended up living abroad for a few months a week later, unplanned, where I met my now wife and now have kids and very happy....( despite thinking the same about present job the odd time...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I did a few years ago. I was miserable and being bullied by a colleague and the guy I was working for was a right SOB. So I got a new job and told him I would be leaving on the X date. He told me I couldn't go as I would owe them a month's notice. I said no, my contract is up then. I had been sent out a new contract but because I was so unhappy I hadn't signed it.

Then he started threatening me. Then he rang the people who had offered me the new job and told them if they took me on he would sue them as I was in breach of verbal contract to him!!! I had been stupid enough to tell him where I was going unfortunately. So they withdrew the job offer. I'd say he was delighted then thinking I would be forced into staying.

I left anyway as per the date I had notified him. I had enough of being bullied and treated like crap by everyone involved at that stage. And then I sent him a solicitor's letter stating that if he defamed me again I would pursue him for lack of earnings.

I had another new job two weeks later and I hope he learnt the basic lesson that you retain staff by treating them well and not like ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Have desperately wanted to in current job, senior manager is bordering on bullying/ verbally abusive. One meeting recently she spent an hour telling the new staff that I could not manage a p1ss up in a brewery while i was sitting there doing inductions and slating me continually (so much another senior manager came to check on me afterwards to say she had never heard anyone treated like that before). Should say that I am very well qualified and very good at my job so it is unfair. Wish I had the guts to walk out but I freeze and stay quiet - would love to see her face if I did (it's a very PC organisation)

How big is the company? Do you have policy and procedure on anything like working conditions etc? Sounds like an awful position to be in. But you're also letting it happen. If you don't speak up about it it will continue. It's work, people are meant to be professional. Seriously, put a stop to it today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Would love to in my current job. Company treat me well and overpay me but the egos and politics do my nut. F**king mickey measuring contests everyday where people aren't doing the right thing, they're just doing what best suits their personal agenda.

5 years ago I'd have left. I've done it in two jobs before (albeit I left 'properly' with notice and stuff) with nowhere to go. But when you have a kid and a mortgage and the company pay you a very good wage they ultimately end up owning you pretty much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Not so much a job-walking out story, but there was a client who irritated me a little bit.

I usually did a bit of overflow work for her when she had too much too handle so it was just a bit of extra cash. I wouldn't starve without it, but it was welcome. She could be a bit nit-picky to the point of where writing her articles was sometimes too time-consuming, but it was very good experience and she always praised my work stating that I was one of the best writers she'd worked with.

Anyway, she asked me to do about seven or so high-quality technical articles. I was a bit tired but decided to take on the work anyway. The deadline was two days, but three hours later she kept sending the articles back to correct minor things. It was high-quality so I didn't mind (the pay was nice too), but after a while I was just too wrecked because I'd been teaching as well. Since the deadline was far away I told her that I just wasn't up to it and that she'd better go with someone else (if I change my mind on a job I make sure the deadline is as far as possible and let the clients know immediately).

Anyway, she then sends me a snarky message saying that the deadline had now changed to twenty-four hours (thanks for letting me know!) and that I'd "let her down". The next day I got a polite "thank you for your work and best wishes in your future endeavors" e-mail. Fair enough, she was being a miserable cow so I was ultimately glad not to have to work with her again.

Since then, I've gotten several e-mails where she asks if I'm available for work, as if nothing happened. What? I sent her an e-mail after the first one saying thanks for considering me, but I'm too busy to take on overflow work now. She doesn't seem to have gotten the message though because I keep getting the odd e-mail asking if I'm available.

Nuts.

• Moderators Posts: 52,294 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Left at job at a printers and the boss didn't realise for 2 weeks that I'd quit :pac:

Was working for the printers and they started to cut back my hours. Got to a 3 day week. Then cut again until eventually it was a half day a week (if I was lucky). Found another company willing to give me full time work instantly. Two weeks later got a call from the printer asking me to come in for a half-day. :rolleyes:

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Ever actually do it?

Was working in Holland for a year (went to improve my dutch and gain experience to bring back to family business).
    Boss at one firm didn't hold up his end of the bargain, so i told him i was leaving as i wasn't doing the work i went there to do, and left to work for his competitor.

No need to be childish about it with "**** you"s or anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Oh actually did walk out one time of a pub job.

Small bar with four of us on. Me and the ex missus and the boss and her fella. Big party in for a Christmas do and the boss said something real sh!tty to my missus. So she fcuked plates around the kitchen, said "F**k you b!tch, I'm outta here" and walked. All I could do was follow suit. Felt bad for yer man coz he was a nice guy but the boss was a cnut with no people skills. Anyway, dunno how they managed with two people coz the four of us were struggling on the night.

When we got home, I pulled a big set of keys from my pocket which were the keys to pretty much everything in the pub. Brought them with me accidentally. So if they got through the night, they had another headache in trying to lock up and get replacement keys.

She was a cnut anyway so she deserved it. Dreaded going to that job every single day so was delighted I got to walk out even if it was the missus who made the call to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Would have liked to but never have. The way I see it, why give them the satisfaction of possibly not paying you what you're owed, and shafting you out of a reference.

I've worked too hard in the jobs I've taken on to just burn bridges and leave with nothing to show for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

I worked in telesales for about a week and a half. I hated the fact that I knew I was disturbing people constantly and constantly. The guy sitting beside me had just sold broadband to a woman in her 80s who clearly didnt have a clue what she was buying and probably didnt even have a computer.

I walked up to the manager and said thank you for the opportunity but this is not for me. I still get annoyed with myself that I didnt try and stop the guy beside me from doing what he did.

Yeah, cold calling sales jobs are the lowest of the low. Jobs like that need to staffed by a particular kind of pr*k especially if the job involves hounding the elderly :mad:

I'd have walked from that one myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

I used to drive tower cranes back in the day and i worked for an agency so i could pick and choose my own work. Some times i would be on a a site for a day some times i could be there a couple of years. I started on a sire in Dublin city center and was a great site untl the foreman come back from his holidays (architect had been in charge for previous 2 weeks).

Monday morning comes and i am on site at 7-30 AM to be greeted by this fat red faced idiot screaming that he wanted me on site from 7-00 AM from now on....okay says me no problem. I climb into crane and work the day. Tuesday morning i am up in the crane at 7 AM and it's pissing rain and howling wind. Foreman gets on the radio at 7-30 and asks me why i am not lifting. I explain that it's too windy and for safety reasons i wouldn't be lifting until the wind dies down.

Fat guy proceeds to threaten to come up to crane and punch my head in if i don't start lifting. I say go ahead knowing that he would either (A) Have a heart attack before he got to the top (B) He would get stuck in the slew ring if he did reach the top. He continued to rant over the radio for a while until i turned it off and climbed down. I stood in front of him and asked him would he like to punch me now (Am not exactly tiny myself:) )

He told me he would be putting my name out there and i would NEVER work construction in this country again. I went to my car and rang the agency to tell them what had happened and went home. They rang me that evening asking me to go to another site the next day. I still get the odd call/text from the agency asking me am i available to work on a crane for a few weeks at a time even though i have not worked construction in many years:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

bumper234 wrote: »
    I used to drive tower cranes back in the day and i worked for an agency so i could pick and choose my own work. Some times i would be on a a site for a day some times i could be there a couple of years. I started on a sire in Dublin city center and was a great site untl the foreman come back from his holidays (architect had been in charge for previous 2 weeks).

Monday morning comes and i am on site at 7-30 AM to be greeted by this fat red faced idiot screaming that he wanted me on site from 7-00 AM from now on....okay says me no problem. I climb into crane and work the day. Tuesday morning i am up in the crane at 7 AM and it's pissing rain and howling wind. Foreman gets on the radio at 7-30 and asks me why i am not lifting. I explain that it's too windy and for safety reasons i wouldn't be lifting until the wind dies down.

Fat guy proceeds to threaten to come up to crane and punch my head in if i don't start lifting. I say go ahead knowing that he would either (A) Have a heart attack before he got to the top (B) He would get stuck in the slew ring if he did reach the top. He continued to rant over the radio for a while until i turned it off and climbed down. I stood in front of him and asked him would he like to punch me now (Am not exactly tiny myself:) )

He told me he would be putting my name out there and i would NEVER work construction in this country again. I went to my car and rang the agency to tell them what had happened and went home. They rang me that evening asking me to go to another site the next day. I still get the odd call/text from the agency asking me am i available to work on a crane for a few weeks at a time even though i have not worked construction in many years:D

Assholes on sites:mad:,there's always one Billy Big Boots. My story was driving a machine on a site & the guy who had it hired in was basically a dick from his waking moment 'til he closed his eyes again.It all came to a head one morning when he was screaming at me for "not picking up mortar bins the right way",this bollix wouldn't even know how to start my machine,let alone drive it.I stepped ouy of it & told him "one more word & I'd bury my boot in his face".He left me alone for another few hours & then started again over something else,I rang my boss told him where I left the keys & went home never to return.Found out afterwards that the previous driver lasted 2 hours before walking off the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Walked out of a job after breaking a managers jaw & giving him a concussion...

I walked into the toilets at the company Xmas party & heard said manager seriously bad-mouthing my kid brother while snorting substances off the sink...

I introduced his face to the sink in a downward motion at high speed...that'll learn him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

I walked into the toilets at the company Xmas party & heard said manager seriously bad-mouthing my kid brother while snorting substances off the sink...

I introduced his face to the sink in a downward motion at high speed...that'll learn him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

MonstaMash wrote: »

I believe this would be called an assault? Also, did you walk out or get escorted out by police?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

I walk out every day, ....then sadly walk back in again the following morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

bear1 wrote: »
    I believe this would be called an assault? Also, did you walk out or get escorted out by police?

So you're siding with the **** talking junkie over the concerned older brother?

I'd have done the same, probably would have fallows up with a slap too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

CianRyan wrote: »
    So you're siding with the **** talking junkie over the concerned older brother?

I'd have done the same, probably would have fallows up with a slap too.

No I'm not siding with anyone, one thing is a slap, but break their jaw and a concussion? I think that is way too excessive