If Sinn Fein had majority Govt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Augmerson wrote: »
    Possibly it's a fear that if the working class and lower middle class vote in SF, you'll see Celtic jersey wearing council estate hooligans raping and pillaging their way across the land, hepped on up goofballs with all that money they now get from the Dole, roaring 'RA songs and beating the **** out of anyone with a South County Dublin accent.

The Horror.....

The Horror....

Not so much a Golden Horde as a Dutch Golden Horde. A mans wealth and status will be measured by how many horses and ponys he keeps in the field. Halting sites for travellers will be set up on various golf courses, BOD and Huberman will be banned from the front pages of the Indo................

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Nodin wrote: »
    Not so much a Golden Horde as a Dutch Golden Horde. A mans wealth and status will be measured by how many horses and ponys he keeps in the field. Halting sites for travellers will be set up on various golf courses, BOD and Huberman will be banned from the front pages of the Indo................

The queue for the Kool Aid will begin at Dundrum Shopping Centre.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

The queue for the Kool Aid will begin at Dundrum Shopping Centre.

Followed by the killing fields of Athenry?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Nodin wrote: »
    BOD and Huberman will be banned from the front pages of the Indo................

Where do I sign up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

All the old fogies harping on about sh*t that happened 30, 40+ years ago. Will ye ever move on? Only Irish people could be this backward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Mint Aero wrote: »
    All the old fogies harping on about sh*t that happened 30, 40+ years ago. Will ye ever move on? Only Irish people could be this backward.

The problem with that is that the families of victims are still very much around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

errlloyd wrote: »
    I'd emigrate.

where to? columbia? become a drug/arms smuggler... you will do well under a sinn fein goverment they would give ya tax breaks for your arms import business :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Sleepy wrote: »
    Can you imagine being the poor bastard in the civil service who'd have to try and teach them how to count?! Honestly, I reckon I'd have to emigrate. I couldn't see my boss staying in business so I'd have to find work elsewhere when he did.

Assuming they were true to their election promises:

Tax revenues would plummet despite ever higher rates.
    Many of the multi-nationals would leave as their tax deals were reneged on / corporate taxes were increased.
    Unemployment would sky-rocket.
    The markets would stop lending to us or rates would be above 10% leading to complete meltdown within 12 months.
    We'd see what a GUBU nation was really like.

Ultimately it would end with the IMF having to be called back in and / or Fine Gael being voted back in to clean up after yet another "Republican" party's train-wreck populism.

More realistically, they'd very quickly do a u-turn on most of their manifesto and we'd see the above happen to a less extreme degree.

Sure isn't that what you do during an election campaign :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

In fairness, I think even the sinn fein supporters know it would be a complete disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭paulbok

Only 16 years since the end of the campaign, not that long ago. As others have mentioned, still plenty of families suffering as a result.

Sure SF base their whole party on stuff that went on 80/90 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

I find myself at times trying hard to figure out some peoples genuine horror and terror at the idea of Sinn Fein being in government here. It's a possibility - an outside possibility yes, but if you look at their manifesto, their ideas, there is really nothing to them. Same as any party because they will say anything to get into power. I see the worry coming from media outlets like the papers (Indo/Sindo). What are they worried about? Nobody who buys those papers will ever vote SF.

Yes SF have links to the war in the North, but how long will people be bringing that up as an excuse not to vote for them? Someday Gerry will be gone, and McGuinness, and a new crop of SF people will be there, maybe the first generation who've had nothing to do with the Troubles.

Sometimes I think it's more of a genuine concern that SF in gov't would completely **** up the status quo in this country. You'd have say, the Vinters Association, which has (imo) had every administration since year 0 in it's pocket and has gotten it's way practically forever, having to cosy up to SF. Same goes for the media, the law society, business, construction federation and many other monopolised professions and vested interests.

And maybe all these people and groups who have a lot to lose know that whatever SF propose, it'll be a populist manifesto, designed to win the vote of the working and middle classes (dunno even how much of a middle class we have left these days) and whatever is proposed will be paid with with higher taxes coming from the wealthy.

Is that it or am I just drinking too much water with lime in it?

No I think you are on the ball with that, I can't stand FF/FG/Lab but as much as I'd like to see the middle/working classes prosper, I still dont think I could lend SF my vote, Pearse has been impressive, and perhaps mary lou but thats all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

People were stupid enough to believe Kenny and Gilmore so there's no reason why they wouldn't be stupid enough to believe Adams and "the boys"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Old fogies harping on about the Sh*t (murders) that happened only 30, 40+ years ago . . .

How dare we indeed :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

paulbok wrote: »

Aren't FF/FG split over an issue from the early '20s? And the Labour party, aren't they based on issues from the mid-to-late 19th century?

If you're basing it on this, then the Greens are the only viable solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Sinn fein, left wing populism. Have people not learned from FF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

mattjack wrote: »
    A radical change ? could we have a new flag .... with a funky new design with a beard motiff in the middle .

Maybe a new national anthem too , something along the lines of " , ohh ahh , up the 'Ra".

We already have a republican national anthem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Cant see the Gardai or the army taking orders from a Sinn Fein minister

They did in 1932 (well ex-shinners at least)

There's been gunmen in Government since this State was founded. Sure our first President & longest running PM was one of the leaders of 1916.

Don't see why SF being in power is such bad thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Albert Reynolds at his first press conference ^ See told you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

Martin Ferris would make a great minister of defence. :D

The Unionists up north would also get very paranoid aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Well, you could skim through http://www.sinnfein.ie/files/2011/SF_GeneralElectionManifesto2011.pdf
    Or maybe just trot out tiresome cliches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I wouldn't like it but I'd see how it goes. I certainly wouldn't be weirdly feeling "ashamed to be Irish" and "terrified" and I'm not going to lie like Ray D'Arcy that I'd emigrate.
    No, not only Irish people. And it's not backward.

People have very active imaginations :eek:

I think it would be refreshing to have a Government representing us in the EU that won't bow down unquestioningly before our EU masters.

Leaving the obvious IRA jokes aside, you know that SF know how to negotiate and play hardball in negotiations (thinking Good Friday agreement)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

People have very active imaginations :eek:

I think it would be refreshing to have a Government representing us in the EU that won't bow down unquestioningly before our EU masters.

Leaving the obvious IRA jokes aside, you know that SF know how to negotiate and play hardball in negotiations (thinking Good Friday agreement)

Yep. The United Ireland they killed for and died for is going really well so far.

Phoebas wrote: »
    Yep. The United Ireland they killed for and died for is going really well so far.

The United Ireland they committed to achieving through democratic means? Think they would say it's a work in progress.

But hey, getting Ian Paisley to shake their hands and share power is not bad.

All I know is I'd rather have Martin McGuinness on my side of the table over Enda Kenny or any of the other clowns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

errlloyd wrote: »
    I'd emigrate.

Yeah I would too.

SF are not a credible government party even though I fear they may hold the balance of power in 2016.

However for them to form a government, at a very minimum, Gerry needs to own up on his IRA membership and admit Jean McConville was murdered for no good reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

mikeym wrote: »
    Martin Ferris would make a great minister of defence. :D

Not to mention the savings on transportation of prisoners, what with him showing up to ferry them around himself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

paulbok wrote: »
    Only 16 years since the end of the campaign, not that long ago. As others have mentioned, still plenty of families suffering as a result.

Which came about from stuff that happened 800 years ago...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

old hippy wrote: »
    Which came about from stuff that happened 800 years ago...

No. Which came about with the Plantation of Ulster in the early 1600s. It was the divide and conquer mechanism religiously employed (pun intended).

http://www.thereformation.info/plantnire1610.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Axel Lamp

They'd increase corporation tax, then i'd be on the dole within a month. The dole would be then be cut after about 2 months after the Shinners realise their economic policies are idiotic.
    • Tax the wealthy
    • The wealthy leave
    • Tax the middle class then
    • Middle class can't afford to leave the country
    • Tax the middle class pensions too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

tbh i dont think things will change that much