Thank you, kind stranger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

ChewChew wrote: »
    I did that a couple of weeks ago. Was in the shop for 10 mins but paid for an hour. Came out and offered my ticket to an elderly lady who proceeded to laugh at me and went and bought her own ticket anyways. So I waited and gave to a young woman with a few kids. I reckon granny thought it was a fake.

Ha I know as this has happened to me on more than one occasion where you try to give a ticket to someone and you'd swear you've just asked them for their kidney. I actually offered a guy a ticket once and he told me to fúck off. There was another lad standing at the machine behind him and I asked him did he want it. He took it, thanked me profusely and we both left Mr Misery gobsmacked at the machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Was heading in to do my shopping, met an older lady bringing her trolley back and went to hand her the two euro for the trolley, she told me to keep it, I asked her if she was sure and she said she was after which I thanked her. It might not seem like much but I was really down on my luck at the time and that extra two euro meant I could buy myself a nice treat in the shopping. It really brightened my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

krudler wrote: »
    saw him going over to split it with another homeless dude.

Aww man that's the best part of this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

I was getting the bus to the airport a few weeks back, and had stupidly assumed that the Spar nearby with a cashpoint would be open at the time they claimed to open.

7am comes and goes and no sign of the Spar opening. It's getting closer to the time of the bus and still no sign. I mentioned it to the guy also waiting for the airport bus, and say "I hope they take cards!".

When the bus arrives and they don't take cards, he paid for my bus, and just said "Sure, you can do the same for someone else sometime"

So...if anyone is in need of anything, up to the value of €7, just ask. No more, mind.

jimgoose wrote: »
    Bleh. I'm the total stranger who starts cars, finds phones, trundles up the road for a gallon of petrol, lends a few tenners, and feeds the dog. All for sod-all thanks, usually. People are cunts, and younger people are generally the worst. Next time I feel the urge to help a stranded soul I think I might just give him/her a wedgie and go Ha-Ha!! like the bully fella in the Simpsons. :mad:

I'm sorry you feel that way, my experiences thankfully have been very different.

Don't stop being you though, you are clearly someone who likes to help others, if you stop being that person, the world will be worse off for it and so will you. Your actions make the world a better place so keep doing what you always do :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭dipdip

I was in Whistler on holidays, north of Vancouver, one summer. I left my phone on the roof of my car and it flew off while we were driving.

A couple of days later my husband got a phone-call from my phone - a guy had found it smashed up, put it back together and rang my husband. By this stage we were in Vancouver. The guy asked us where we were staying and dropped it into our hotel! I actually couldn't believe it. He didn't leave a contact number so we had no way of thanking him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

These stories are really great. They make me want to do something nice for someone!

For me, I think, it's shyness/awkwardness that makes me not step up and offer help. If I'm asked, I'd be all over it..only too happy to help. But it takes a bit of confidence to say to some stranger (who might tell you to F-off) "do you need a hand there?"

Ye're inspiring me people!

These stories are really great. They make me want to do something nice for someone!

For me, I think, it's shyness/awkwardness that makes me not step up and offer help. If I'm asked, I'd be all over it..only too happy to help. But it takes a bit of confidence to say to some stranger (who might tell you to F-off) "do you need a hand there?"

You might not even have to talk to them!

One good one I stole from another boardsie was paying the toll of the person behind you! I like that one :D

Just tell the cashier to tell the person behind you to have a good day and drive off into the sunset!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

But it takes a bit of confidence to say to some stranger (who might tell you to F-off) "do you need a hand there?"

But even if they don't need a hand, mostly they're (indeed WE'RE) delighted you asked, and say "Thanks very much all the same."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 EamonnHolt

When I was travelling to Spain for a year's placement I sat beside a girl from Granada on the flight, we got talking and she soon realized that I hadn't got a clue what I was doing.

I was for arriving in Granada @ 23.30 and was then going to start looking for an hostel, all this with about 30kgs worth of luggage and about €300 in my pocket.

To cut a long story short, when we arrived in Granada she asked her family to take me into town to find a hostel, but her family did one better, they took me to their home and allowed me to stay with them and fed me until I had sorted an apartment out for myself!

I still can't quite believe it myself and will be eternally grateful to them for the kindness they showed me when I was in the mire!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

I really believe in being kind even though I can be a right arsehole sometimes. I always give my ticket to somebody else if there is time on it even though I was told by a warden that this is not allowed?!

On the rare occasions that I find myself out in Dublin and heading home, I get a few sambos and a coffee and give them to a few of the homeless chaps on Nassau street.

Recently was in the queue behind an old lady in Supervalu Portlaoise and she was struggling with her shopping. I took it outside for her and she was looking for a taxi and there was none nearby so I walked to the end of town with her shopping... ripped the arms off me, how she was thinking she would carry it is beyond me, must be supergran or something!

Last year in the bad snow I was just behind a big pile up, there was a young woman there with her baby and it was baltic and her car was stuck so I found out where she lived, collected her husband, drove back with him so he could take the baby and drove him home again.

What does piss me off is the amount of ignorant arseholes out there, my mother was getting onto a train recently with her grandkids and she slipped and fell trying to get a buggy onto the train and NONE of the men bothered to get up and help her. It doesn't take much to help sometimes and its always appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

A few of years ago when we had all the snow at Christmas, I had been working in London, with flight home booked for Dec 23.

On the 22nd, I got a call fromy wife, our friends mother had been due to fly over from stansted that day, but her flight was cancelled, with no chance of making it over until 27th due to the backlog of cancelled flights.

This made me worry about my flight the following day, so in a moment of uncharacteristic decisiveness, I booked the ferry for the next day. Got up at 5am, drove to Essex, picked the old dear up and then caught the 2pm ferry from Fishguard.

The reward of helping a 75 year old lady spend Christmas with her grand daughters is priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

A few years back during one of the big freezes myself, my parents and my brother were driving home from Galway. The roads were icy and my brother (14 at the time) had just had hip surgery so my dad was really nervous driving because if he swerved or hit the brakes and my brother braced himself on that leg he could undo the operation.

Anyways half way up a hill someone had got stuck in front of us, the only way to get around them was to keep up the speed but like I said my dad was really nervous so we got stuck too.

So it was freezing, had a sick and very sore teenager in the car, also it was the day before Xmas eve. My dad called the AA but it was going to be a couple of hours before they could get there. After a while there were four cars stuck,either one of them called a neighbour or he happened to be passing, anyways he arrives in a tractor and goes the whole way down the line of cars "Just giving herself a tow there and I'll be back for ye". It was almost ten pm at this stage and it must have taken him at least an hour and as far as I know he only knew the people in the first car. I ran out and shoved twenty quid at him after he'd towed us (had a feeling he wouldn't take it) and he chased me effing and blinding about it being Christmas til I took it back.

tl;dr: nice tractor Christmas man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

my dad and i found a young girl in a very distressed & drunken state crying in my dad's front garden. after a few minutes getting her to calm down she told us she was lost (not from town) and that her boyfriend worked in a pub in town we got her boyfriend's phone number and called it and then i drove her into town to that pub where her boyfriend worked. he turned up to meet her... didnt look too happy with the state she was in but at least he could look after her then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

I have 50 bloody euro to give away in RAK but no one has given me advice on how to do it. Help !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

RoboRat wrote: »

What does piss me off is the amount of ignorant arseholes out there, my mother was getting onto a train recently with her grandkids and she slipped and fell trying to get a buggy onto the train and NONE of the men bothered to get up and help her. It doesn't take much to help sometimes and its always appreciated.

I know! In Cork once I saw a homeless man sprawled out on the footpath, people were walking past him with their heads turned like they couldn't even see him, I shook him til he woke up, honestly didn't know if he was dead or what, looked like he'd gotten a box to the face as well. I had to laugh though coz I was shouting at him "Hey, are you ok? Are you alright?" and after he came to and managed to focus his eyes he went "Hi. Yeah. How are you doing yourself?"

I went off and got him some soup from a shop, poor man got pure emotional, started digging out religious medals from his pockets and trying to give them to me and saying he'd say prayers for me, always said hi to me any time I saw him again. The fcukers walking past though, I'm a fairly scrawny girl and it was a real effort to get him standing up and then sitting down in a doorway, loads of lads walking past as I was doing it and not a one of them stopped to help :mad: there but for the grace of god like. I know you'd expect that sort of thing in London or other big cities but I didn't think it'd happen here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Gadgie

A guy towed my car to a side street after I broke down in heavy traffic (my battery died). I was facing a wait of up to an hour for my insurance company's breakdown assistance. He wouldn't take any money from me.

In the same incident, a nearby tyre company (that also sells batteries) sent one of their employees out to my car to give me a jump start. This was after they'd told me they didn't have a battery for my car in stock, and they knew I needed a new one that day, so I'd be going somewhere else to get one when my car was started. They didn't charge me anything for this.

Another time, a stranger in the queue behind me paid for my lunch in a shop when I realised I didn't have any cash on me, the shop had a minimum spend amount for debit cards, and the nearest ATM was a bit of a trek away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Back in the dark ages I had a pregnancy scare when the condom me and my boyfriend used split and my boyfriend kinda pressured me into going to get the morning after pill. He started making comments about taking the boat to England and that being the end of things; that kind of stuff.

I was 17 or 18, and this was about 20 years ago.

The next morning was a Sunday and I had no idea what to do but I eventually went over to a large Dublin maternity hospital to see what I could do. The fella didn't come with me, so I was frightened and on my own.

I went in to see the dr and she gave me the morning after pill. She warned me that it wasn't 100% and that if I was pregnant I would end up with a deformed child.

She was very dismissive and heartless to me, I suppose that she's entitled to that opinion personally; it felt bad to get it professionally.

Anyway I was distraught and I was in a public area bawling. And this very kind woman, husband and daughter who were visiting asked me if I was okay and when I blurted it all out she gave me a big hug, said I wasn't an evil person, and gave me a cup of tea. They sat with me and reassured me. Particularly that I was still "a good girl" and it was okay.

There was loads of crap going on in my life at that stage and I couldn't tell anybody about it, and the one person who did know couldn't understand why it was a big deal for me.

That family were so nice and helped me more than they possibly know.

I think about them, I wonder if they remember me. Because sometimes you don't know how you're small gesture can mean the world to somebody else.

I always try and help a person if I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭RiseToMe

Last week I was doing my shopping in Lidl and an eldery man was in front in the queue. He began to look quite panicked and told the checkout girl that he forgot his wallet. He asked the girl to hold his shopping and he would rush home and get it. I paid for his shopping instead. It was a wet cold night there was no need to be going out in it twice over an easy mistake.
    It was only 13 quid. He was reluctant but thankful and I just told him to do the same someday. I didn't think much about it until my wife mentioned it a few days later when she noticed two transactions on the account for lidl. So I've kept the reciept in my wallet to remind me it's nice to do more nice things for others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭shuffles88

vicwatson wrote: »
    I have 50 bloody euro to give away in RAK but no one has given me advice on how to do it. Help !

Send it on to this guy http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057076045

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,476 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

I work on the ground-floor of a city-center office, a few yards from a window overlooking a few parking places. The clampers generally leave them alone, but on the odd occasion I see them stopping off to make sugar of some poor sap's day, I'm out as fast as I can to buy a parking ticket and stick it under the windscreen wiper, usually to the some clamper saying something like "You know, that could blow away" as they lug the clamp back into the van. Anyhow, I usually write a note on the back of the ticket asking the owner to sms me to say that they'll do it for somebody else, and most do.

Make somebody's day and annoy a clamper in one easy gesture -- it's the best way to spend 50 cents in Dublin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Peanut Butter Jelly

You might have seen these before, but if not, a youtuber called VitalyzdTV took a homeless man from the streets and made his day. Twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Two weekends ago I had just missed the bus and the next bus wasn't for an hour (hello rural Ireland!). I stood at the bus stop freezing for 15 minutes when a bus eireann bus from Dublin stopped to let people off.
    The bus driver motioned for me to get on. When I did and asked how much I owed him, he waved me on.
    Only a little thing but I was so glad to be on that dry, warm bus. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Musefan

My mum was out walking one evening when a really, really old lady stopped her when mum was walking passed her doorstep. The old lady was very distraught, and asked my mum if she had a match to light the fire. Mum walked across the road and borrowed a lighter from a pub. She went back to the lady's house, told her to sit down, put her feet up and she would get a fire going for her. The old lady was all alone, the house was very badly cared for and she had a little dog for company. She was so grateful towards my mother.

Anyway, I was really taken with the whole story, so the next time I was passing the lady's house, I went to the shop and bought a big box of matches and knocked on her door. She answered and I could hardly get a word in with the god bless yous.

About 3 weeks later, I had figured the matches were running out. She didn't answer her door. I filled a big brown envelope with three boxes of matches, a packet of biscuits and a card and popped them in the letterbox.

I hope to god that she didn't fall and break her neck trying to pick the envelope up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Gadgie

Ah lads, the question asked was "What kind things have total strangers done for you?", not "What kind things have you done for total strangers?"... Stop blowing your own trumpets! :p
    Larianne wrote: »
    Two weekends ago I had just missed the bus and the next bus wasn't for an hour (hello rural Ireland!). I stood at the bus stop freezing for 15 minutes when a bus eireann bus from Dublin stopped to let people off.
    The bus driver motioned for me to get on. When I did and asked how much I owed him, he waved me on.
    Only a little thing but I was so glad to be on that dry, warm bus. :)

My grandmother was visiting from England and we went to Dublin for the day. We had a walk along the Liffey and stopped in town for lunch. On the walk back to the car park my gran got tired, so we said we'd get the bus back. She asked the driver of a bus stopped at the bus stop which bus to get - turned out he didn't know since it was a tour bus, but he was going that way anyway so he let us all (four of us) on for free. And we got a nice little tour on the way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭DublinArnie

Reading this thread gives me hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭Paulie Gualtieri

was in a pub in Dublin years ago , and walked into the toilet. on the floor there was a wallet cards cash etc , picked it up to leave it behind the bar , just as I was sitting down I saw a distressed looking fella , run into the toilet , came out as quick , he looked on the floor as he came out , I walked up to him said did you lose something. he said yeah etc .... so gave him the wallet and said mines a Heineken , jokingly/sort of , :) , didn't get me a pint , he did say thanks. and something about lifesaver.

a few weeks ago was in a pub at the bar and it was 5 people deep and of course the barmen were serving all the hot chicks , so waited and waited. started talking to some lad behind me for jaysus sake etc we'll never get served. he said he was only getting a pint of tap water , so as I got to the bar I ordered my drinks and said pint of water. gave it to the lad , and he said you've restored my faith in humanity , which I thought was an o.t.t response , but it just showed he really appreciated it.

I think its hard for people to do nice things for strangers at times, because its sad to say but sometimes if you do something nice for someone, people think what's the catch ? why is this person being nice / decent to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

My wife's youngest sister died a few years ago at 38 yrs after a long time in hospital.

After a few day's off work , my wife returned to work in no fit state to interact with the public or her work colleagues.
    Her boss , whom she never really spoke too , met her at the door of the area she works , gave her a hug , paid her and said " take a week off " and not another a word .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭emo72

There are loads of people always looking out for people in need, always willing to lend a hand. Selfless. You know that warm glow when you help out somebody. We all gotta get back to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

emo72 wrote: »
    There are loads of people always looking out for people in need, always willing to lend a hand. Selfless. You know that warm glow when you help out somebody. We all gotta get back to that.

yeah but problem with society these days most people seem to be in a hurry or keeps to themselves and dont help out when they want to but fear the law suit culture if things go wrong.

i blame those ambulance chasers that call themselves solicitors