Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do Irish People stand on escalators in such an arsed-way manner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,931 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

links gehen, rechts stehen, simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,816 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Tokyo - stand on the left, pass on the right.

Osaka - stand on the right, pass on the left.

me - mind blown. At what point between the two cities does the change happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

Mint Aero wrote: »
    My local shop has a very long escalator. Ye know them ones without the steps, just a ramp. It's 4 times longer than your average escalator and twice as slow. I went on it yesterday and I'm still there that's how bad it is.

It's only women I've ever seen standing on it. Women love escalators I reckon. If you gave a woman an escalator and an atm for christmas she'd be happy out.

Basically what I'm trying to say is I like staring at arses on escalators and at the atms.

Before the banking crisis, I think anybody would have loved an atm for Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

It really bugs the shit out of me :(

People standing left and right and all over the place meaning I have to stand too, lest I just barge straight through the crowd of stupid ignorant fucks.

I regularly pop back over to The Netherlands to see friends having lived there for a while, and in Schiphol Airport and Dutch Train Stations etc, people stand one side and walk the other and to do otherwise will peg you as a stupid fool and an idiot.

I was travelling back home via Schiphol airport and was travelling on the travelator / compaveyor / escalator etc people will stand one side and walk the other and if people are standing on the wrong side they will promptly move aside to let people from behind through, a bit like Moses parting the Red Sea. Cue, arrive back in Dublin and the shower of idiots are standing all over the escalators like a bunch of morons.

ESCALATORS / COMPAVEYORS / TRAVELATORS ARE FOR HELPING YOU MOVE ...NOR FOR JUST STANDING THERE LIKE A TOOL :(

Rant Over :P

Why do people stand on escalators in such an arsed-way manner?

In my home-town, in a shopping centre their is one escalator, the only in the town. It really is amusing/bemussing to grab a coffee and just people-watch in there at the different etiquttes with people on this escalator.
    This is a small town, small town in the country, and it's just bemussing.

Over in Berlin earlier this year, at the U-Bahn, people were so strict/stringent and proper using them. I actually stood back in awe as the queues of people lined the right-hand side, never seen such perfect formation on an escalator anywhere in Europe, even in airports! Just prefect formation.

Why do people stand on escalators in such an arsed-way manner? It all depends on what people are accustomed to I would guess :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

kerry4sam wrote: »

In my home-town, in a shopping centre their is one escalator, the only in the town. It really is amusing/bemussing to grab a coffee and just people-watch in there at the different etiquttes with people on this escalator.

Over in Berlin earlier this year, at the U-Bahn, people were so strict/stringent and proper using them. I actually stood back in awe as the queues of people lined the right-hand side, never seen such perfect formation on an escalator anywhere in Europe, even in airports! Just prefect formation.

Why do people stand on escalators in such an arsed-way manner? It all depends on what people are accustomed to I would guess :)

Are we talking about the escalator in downtown Knocknagoshel now? People always stand on the right there to let the I'm in a hurry, get to fook outta my way commuters to Abbeyfeale clock in on time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

i think there is an inconsiderate streak in us as a nation. people standing on both sides of escalator or two people meet in supermarket and decide to have a chat ,where do they stand? middle of fcuking isle. people coming out of a building, take church for example, and decide to have a chat, even though there is a 500 space car park, where do they stop?. right in the fcuking doorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭kuntboy

Because we are not English or Dutch. Their arrogance about their way of doing things is insufferable. I will stand wherever I like on the escalator, and if dont like that Willem, just go back to Amsterdam with your hookers and seedy sex shops and congratulate yourself on how "progressive" you are, creep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

No, but I don't judge those who do
    kuntboy wrote: »
    Because we are not English or Dutch. Their arrogance about their way of doing things is insufferable. I will stand wherever I like on the escalator, and if dont like that Willem, just go back to Amsterdam with your hookers and seedy sex shops and congratulate yourself on how "progressive" you are, creep.

You call it arrogance, i call it consideration to others.

Some people in this country are so tunnel visioned &don't give a fcuk how their actions affect others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I lived in London for 2 years and I remember when I first moved there, someone poked me with an umbrella to get me to stand on the right. Nice.

Big cities have a need for this but I never had any problems in Dublin and if I asked someone could I get by them, they did. Hardly a big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Yeah and I explained that for you. Try reading it again...and again...
    Sorry teach :D You seem to get very worked up over small things maybe this is the reason of your anger towards people that block your path :)

I lived in London for 2 years and I remember when I first moved there, someone poked me with an umbrella to get me to stand on the right. Nice.

Big cities have a need for this but I never had any problems in Dublin and if I asked someone could I get by them, they did. Hardly a big deal.
    Exactly, you hit the nail on the head there people in a rush have forgotten to say excuse me, take note Harper Petite Fig common courtesy works both ways ;) try it next time you are held up ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Irish Musician

Yes, there's nothing wrong with it
    What business is it of yours or any of the other stupid fucking fools standing on the escalators where I have to be or the hurry I am in (or not in)?

The point is, when a normal person needs to get by, the other stupid fucking fools standing on the escalators should move aside to accommodate our superiors (ie, those who do not block up escalators).

To the user who said I can use the stairs, there aren't any regular stairs in the building I frequent, only lifts and escalators. You have to wait ages to use the lift and priority is given to disabled, buggies and shopping trollies in that order, so, as a normal person, I respect the etiquette and do things for the greater good of everyone else.
    Well theres a new one. Escalator rage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Are we talking about the escalator in downtown Knocknagoshel now? People always stand on the right there to let the I'm in a hurry, get to fook outta my way commuters to Abbeyfeale clock in on time :)

Didn't think knocknagoshel had a downtown;)
    It does have a rubbish tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭take everything

danniemcq wrote: »
    Come on people, try and keep it civil

I'd hate to see things escalate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Exactly, you hit the nail on the head there people in a rush have forgotten to say excuse me, take note Harper Petite Fig common courtesy works both ways ;) try it next time you are held up ;)

It took me a bit of time to adapt completely to the system there having never experienced it before (I'd sometimes forget) and people thought it was okay to shout at me, physically grab my sleeve and pull me...

It brought out the worst in Londoners tbh. If this is what's considered courtesy...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 175 ✭✭sonny jim bob jones

Didn't think knocknagoshel had a downtown;)
    It does have a rubbish tip.

I thought it was a rubbish tip?

kerry4sam wrote: »

Jaysus Sam are you in a rush up to the ladies lingerie department :D Trying to compare a shopping center in Kerry to Berlin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Hate this crap of oh x country does everything so much better then Ireland. Bloody stay there so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

At Dublin airport you see people trying to get past each other on the Escalators and Travelators.

I think 99% of people do this and then 1% only use the stairs/walk without the travelator.

On the other side though the Irish are better at queuing than the Dutch.

The Dutch will just ram in and chance their arm unless you point out to them that there's a queue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

He does that a lot. Drives by with a thinly veiled "The catholic Irish are so inferior" post and then pretends not to know what people are on about when they comment on it.

Honestly, what's this Unionist/Irish Catholic thing with Cody and you?

This thread is about escalators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭davetherave

I'm a firm believer in the stand on the right, walk on the left ideology.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 222 ✭✭harryr711

No, because it's a stupid thing to do and really annoys normal people
    Muise... wrote: »
    und in Berlin you can just slide down on your impatient arse.

That settles it. We need more slides! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭sportloto86

i think there is an inconsiderate streak in us as a nation. people standing on both sides of escalator or two people meet in supermarket and decide to have a chat ,where do they stand? middle of fcuking isle. people coming out of a building, take church for example, and decide to have a chat, even though there is a 500 space car park, where do they stop?. right in the fcuking doorway.

I would add few more to this list:
    People blocking isle with their trolleys while they looking for something on the shelf.
    People loading their shopping into the bags at the till in Lidl / Aldi.
    People hogging overtaking lane or not moving to the side to make it easier for overtakingdrivers on wide N roads.
    And what's with traffic lights at roundabouts? I think that whoever came up with this idea must have be the one who is doing all of the things listed above.

Because unless you're a transplant surgeon, there is nowhere in the world anybody needs to be so quickly that the negligible few seconds of time saved make it worth hurdling up a machine that's built to bring you there anyway.

In Ireland, an escalator is treated as a kind of conveyor belt queue. People do not stick to one side because it would seem rude to "skip", or attempt to skip, unless the person ahead of you is gracious enough to spontaneously offer.

Do you not get how arrogant that is? What gives you the right to decide who needs to be somewhere in a hurry?

As has been pointed out several times, that 'extra 10 seconds' might be the difference between catching a train/flight/bus and missing it. A concept many Irish people just don't seem to grasp. I nearly missed a funeral last year because a woman blocking the aisle for 5+ minutes to get her 3 bags down while she had a chat with her mate thought I should just wait. She even said 'ah what's another few minutes after the flight has been delayed for 2 hours?' Another few minutes would have meant missing the last bus which would get me there on time because as she said, the flight was already 2 hours late!

I think a lot of people are incredibly selfish without even realising it and it stems from not understanding that not circumstances are like theirs. You might be heading home to Ireland after a shopping break in London with all the time in the world on your hands, the person behind you might be rushing home to Ireland at short notice to see a dying relative or go to a funeral. You have no idea why people are in a hurry, so why make everyone go at your pace? It takes the tiniest bit of consideration just not to get in people's way.

Do you not get how arrogant that is? What gives you the right to decide who needs to be somewhere in a hurry?

As has been pointed out several times, that 'extra 10 seconds' might be the difference between catching a train/flight/bus and missing it. A concept many Irish people just don't seem to grasp. I nearly missed a funeral last year because a woman blocking the aisle for 5+ minutes to get her 3 bags down while she had a chat with her mate thought I should just wait. She even said 'ah what's another few minutes after the flight has been delayed for 2 hours?' Another few minutes would have meant missing the last bus which would get me there on time because as she said, the flight was already 2 hours late!

I think a lot of people are incredibly selfish without even realising it and it stems from not understanding that not circumstances are like theirs. You might be heading home to Ireland after a shopping break in London with all the time in the world on your hands, the person behind you might be rushing home to Ireland at short notice to see a dying relative or go to a funeral. You have no idea why people are in a hurry, so why make everyone go at your pace? It takes the tiniest bit of consideration just not to get in people's way.

Or a bit better time keeping!

If you are catching a bus or train or whatever, you leave in enough time to allow for unexpected things.

I see it all the time in work. People arriving in late and blaming this that and the other thing, when in reality if they left at the proper time they'd be fine.

jonny666 wrote: »

If you are catching a bus or train or whatever, you leave in enough time to allow for unexpected things.

I see it all the time in work. People arriving in late and blaming this that and the other thing, when in reality if they left at the proper time they'd be fine.

I have excellent time keeping. As I said earlier in the thread, stuff happens that's outside your control. I'm not talking about being late for work every day and blaming the traffic. If you get a phone call about an emergency, you just have to do your best to get there in time. Life isn't always pre-planned. There are accidents which close roads, people who need help, all sorts of things outside your control. You can't ask someone to hold up a funeral because your Ryanair flight is delayed. In my case, I made my bus and got to the funeral, but I wouldn't have if I'd waited for the selfish woman who thought the whole world should run on her schedule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,698 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

jonny666 wrote: »

Yes I think this is far more probable in Ireland - people try blame others for their lateness.

People are very rude in planes , trying to brush past as you get your bag out. They could be old, tired too, have illness.

It is nice to be nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

No, because it's a stupid thing to do and really annoys normal people
    I have excellent time keeping. As I said earlier in the thread, stuff happens that's outside your control. I'm not talking about being late for work every day and blaming the traffic. If you get a phone call about an emergency, you just have to do your best to get there in time. Life isn't always pre-planned. There are accidents which close roads, people who need help, all sorts of things outside your control. You can't ask someone to hold up a funeral because your Ryanair flight is delayed. In my case, I made my bus and got to the funeral, but I wouldn't have if I'd waited for the selfish woman who thought the whole world should run on her schedule.

but if you were late and you had to slip in the back of the church during the service, or show up at the reception, people would not hold it against you. If you made the effort to travel, surely you were close enough to the bereaved for them to be just pleased you made it at all?

I can see why bad news would make you impatient and stressed, but there's no point taking it out on someone in the aisle of a plane, which is not made for two people to pass each other, and anyway people always stand up ages before they are allowed to disembark.

Muise... wrote: »
    but if you were late and you had to slip in the back of the church during the service, or show up at the reception, people would not hold it against you. If you made the effort to travel, surely you were close enough to the bereaved for them to be just pleased you made it at all?

I can see why bad news would make you impatient and stressed, but there's no point taking it out on someone in the aisle of a plane, which is not made for two people to pass each other, and anyway people always stand up ages before they are allowed to disembark.

It wasn't really about what other people thought, I wanted to be there because the deceased was my grandmother who I lived with for years and I was supposed to be doing a reading in the church.

But the point is, there was no reason for me to have been late! All that woman had to do was stand aside for the 5 seconds it took me to pass. I didn't 'take' anything out on anyone, I just said 'excuse me' and then she did the old 'ah shure, what's your hurry' routine. I had waited there patiently already for over two minutes before I asked her to move and then it became clear that she knew I was waiting to pass and just didn't give a sh*t. Incredibly selfish.

But that woman didn't know your were headin for a funeral. Your saying she was inconsiderate for leaving her bags in your way. Maybe she wasn't able to carry them all and put them down to lighten the load. Maybe she has a bad back. My point is you can't know people circumstances and expect them to be considerate to yours.