bonfires

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Uaru

MadsL wrote: »
    Now this fire is lit, time to throw some petrol on it...;)

A custom stolen from the English in their celebration of foiling a Catholic plot to blow up Parliament on Nov 5th or an remnant of Samhain, a pagan custom and mirror to Beltane, celebrating the equinoxes.

If the latter, what's with the fupping fireworks? :D

No it's not. Loads of countries have bonfires to celebrate a multitude of occasions.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bonfire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Uaru wrote: »
    No it's not. Loads of countries have bonfires to celebrate a multitude of occasions.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bonfire

...and the fireworks ;)

MadsL wrote: »
    ...and the fireworks ;)

America I'd imagine. Considering its a tradition they stole off us and we stole back its a hybridised Irish/American affair at this stage.

I just looked there and apparently they're not used in America. Either way you can't claim the use of bonfires is stolen from the British because of Guy Fawkes as bonfires were prevalent long before Guy and the British parliament existed. Perhaps they stole bonfires from us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I'm looking for somewhere handy to burn my father on Endor. If anyone has a bonfire going around the area drop us a PM, Cheers!

-Luke Skywalker

Hello Luke
    I am your mother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,302 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

If it doesn't have a Car on it it's not a bonfire.

Ahhhh the good oul days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Puzzle35

Anyone see any bonfires yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Puzzle35 wrote: »
    Anyone see any bonfires yet?

I see a raging one in my fireplace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

It's tradition.
    And sure, it's also a great way to get rid of any unwanted things in your house ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

There's a certain irony about reincarnating a necrothread on Halloween :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Bonfires at Halloween is generally a Dublin/East part of the country tradition. We don't have them in Cork at halloween but we have a bonfire night during the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Medusa22 wrote: »
    Bonfires at Halloween is generally a Dublin/East part of the country tradition. We don't have them in Cork at halloween but we have a bonfire night during the summer.
    Yeah noticed that many summers ago in the Gaeltacht, why is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

There was a story on broadsheet.ie yesterday or today showing young Dublin lads with loads of pallets lined up ready to go. Fair play to them they stayed with them all night to make sure no one headed off with em!!

I'm yay for bonfires. Some of the best days of my youth revolved around a bonfire. It's kinda a rite of passage to be allowed to collect for it when I was younger!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

29yo

yup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Yeah noticed that many summers ago in the Gaeltacht, why is that?

I think it is to do with the summer solstice, which is on the 21st of June and the bonfire is on the 23rd, but I think it was a pagan tradition that was christianised so the bonfire night takes place on the 23rd because the 24th of June is St. John's day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Of course we should have them, the dead are walking around and the bonfires scare them away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Looking through my window I can see a small bonfire at the end of the road. The fireworks scare away the spirits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,055 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

moxin wrote: »
    Looking through my window I can see a small bonfire at the end of the road. The fireworks scare away the spirits!

Just dont blame the Brits :)

Zombiiiiiieeeee thread.

It's Halloween, night of the zombies soooo

I'll allow it.
    Carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Kids are too lazy these days. I saw one bonfire today and it was smaller than a house.
    Maybe all the pallets are going for firewood and no one changes their car tyres these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Garda helicopter is over Glasnevin now, heard there was some trouble at a bonfire by the local skangers there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

No. Excuse for scummers to cause trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭xXxkorixXx

the local kids decided to burn the full skip outside our house in Terenure last night. little bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Seen a load of wheelie bins been used, kids are lazy and have no imagination these days...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

I don't mind when it's just wood used, but not burning tires and toxic sh!te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

The bonfire in the field beside my house seems to be getting smaller and smaller every year. A couple of years ago, it was so big that people panicked and called the fire brigade. And when they arrived, a man dressed as Santa Claus threw bottles at them.