Trick or treat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No trick or treaters ever call to my door, the neighbours must be afraid of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Dress up in Bio-hazard suit (with a 'Darth Vader' ventilation sound) & hand out 'treats' with a tongs, in silence (apart from the 'Darth Vader' artificial breathing).

Record reactions using micro-camera, post on youtube... profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

When I was a young child trick or treating, one of the parents always chaperoned. As we hit 10 and older, we went by ourselves.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

No trick or treaters ever call to my door, the neighbours must be afraid of me.

Same here, it makes me very happy that I don't have to interact with small children grinning inanely at me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

A few months ago I saw a woman at the self service machine in Tesco who seemed to be having a problem with the machine. A staff member came over and said "is everything okay?". The woman said "I didn't have enough money". The staff member said "do you want to cancel something?". The woman replied "no, I took the money out of the deposit box". What she meant was that she had stolen money from a charity collection box and used it to pay for her shopping. The staff member told her she would have to pay the money back and asked for her details. The woman complained "I have bills to pay you know".

Earlier today someone rang my doorbell and started pounding on the door as if there was a fire. I answered and it was the charity box thief with a baby dressed in a pumpkin babygrow with her. She shouted "trick or treat" and I replied "sorry, no" and closed the door. I was tempted to tell her to go back to robbing from Tesco and to stop bothering me with her trick or treat nonsense.

The baby was far too young to enjoy Halloween so it was really just the woman using it as an excuse to beg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

I am pie wrote: »
    we had to sing, "halloween is coming and the goose is getting fat, have you please got a penny for the old man's hat, if you haven't got a penny then a ha'penny will do.."

Cue sweets handed over.

"and if you haven't git a ha'penny then god bless you"

Feckin catholic upbringing!!
    I am pie wrote: »
    No sweets = smokebomb under car and doorbell rang later on that night.

Or egged windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

D1stant wrote: »
    Since when did the term 'trick or treat' come into Ireland?
    And what was it called before hen?

I always knew it as mummering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

Chicken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Running out of treats here and it is not even seven pm. Time to turn on the cctv and turn off the lights. Hopefully that will stop the door knockers.

Generally most of the trick or treaters around here are young kids with parents lurking but we had a couple of 16 year old lasses around earlier. I was not sure to give them sweets or a box of smokes as their treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭mad m

Lights off, blinds pulled.....no one at home.....

Ding dong!

Hide! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,302 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Not a child in sight tonight, no fireworks, no bonfire, Nothing...

Over protective Parents have ruined halloween :mad:

Its gone to the dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

In my day it was............. "Any apples or nuts?"

Used to get windfall, peanuts, lollipops, chewies and a few bob :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Only got 1 knock on the door so far. Odd because it is usually much more busier than this. But watch as if 50 kids knocked i'd be like "feckin' kids" :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

lukesmom wrote: »
    I have witnessed parents dropping their offspring off in cars and driving off.

I can just imagine the children looking at each other - "They're coming back, right? Right??" :D

Just took my own young lad around the estate there, I'm lucky it's only a forty house estate, I wasn't sure how much more I could take! One neighbour quipped -

"Don't give your father any of them sweets now, he's fat enough already!"... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭cookiexx

i used to HATE the parental escorting, most of the fun was in wandering around in the dark and bumping into other kids dressed up as ghosts and zombies and princesses and whatever else!

cOUDn't you just drop them off at the end of the estate and sit in the car or something as they do the rounds to each house, pick them up at the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Wayyyyyy back in my day, it was Puca Puca Halloween, nuts and apples for the queen.
    The Queen being the queen of the harvest I think?

Trick or Treat! Bah.

ETA: Sorry I answered on hens behalf :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

None yet, which is good cause if they caught me out I'd have to dig into my supply of Beamish for treats. Considering how PC things have gone I'd probably get into trouble for my generosity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

We used to meet up with other kids from neighbouring houses-there were older kids as well so we were all ok.We were all in the countryside which made it spookier,i.e. no head lamps on the road,the old graveyard,the old gibbet,places which were apparently ring forts and "fairy rings" and other scary places...we never stayed out too late but twas always good fun.
    I'll never forget a homemade mask that my big bro made for me from a cereal box one year(he was excellent at drawing)-twas the face of Eddie The Head,the mascot of Iron Maiden,and twas effin savage!!

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

None yet, which is good cause if they caught me out I'd have to dig into my supply of Beamish for treats. Considering how PC things have gone I'd probably get into trouble for my generosity

Beamish? Generosity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

oldyouth wrote: »

Any apples or nuts, we'll give the monkeys the butts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Hah, my 40 year old neighbour arrived last night in full Batman mode! His kids costumes looks positively **** in comparison. He was delighted with himself. Some people arent born with the self consciousness gene!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    Not a child in sight tonight, no fireworks, no bonfire, Nothing...

Over protective Parents have ruined halloween :mad:

Its gone to the dogs.
    Even the dogs aren't let out!
    oldyouth wrote: »

Same here "any nuts or apples", as if you wanted that healthy crap. Word would get out that some house was giving out bars and people would flock to it, we always planned on having a set of second masks so we could go up again as a different group, never did though.

Back then bars were more expensive than today, so it was more likely you got apples & nuts. Small bars are probably a lot cheaper to be giving out than fruit & nuts these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

My aunt abs uncle only had 3 trick or treaters and they gave them a banana each haha poor fkrs :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

scared all the children, ate all the sweets :) roll on Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I live in an apartment block and didn't have any trick or treaters. Was over in my friend's house and they had two lots, maybe 10 kids all together?