Google revenue diverted through Ireland 'to make amends for Black & Tans' - Brit MP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,304 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Anyone who supplied arms to Nationalists in the north at the time should be revered for their efforts to prevent ethnic cleansing.

I don't really know what that has to do with Google.

Jaysus fcuking Christ, there should be a debating chamber set up for those like Carlos Roca and your opponents, to see how quickly they can turn anything, into whatever it is the fcuking lot of ye want to turn it into. Fecking plague on all their houses!

Our tax laws are often immoral, the Government admitted the same in the Budget, Apple can no longer say it is not tax resident anywhere, and still register as a company here. I've no problem with that.

Probably get attacked as a Provo or West Brit because of that.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Site Banned Posts: 257 ✭✭Driveby Dogboy

K-9 wrote: »
    Jaysus fcuking Christ, there should be a debating chamber set up for those like Carlos Roca and your opponents, to see how quickly they can turn anything, into whatever it is the fcuking lot of ye want to turn it into. Fecking plague on all their houses!.
    I propose a new forum, two men enter, one man leaves...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I don't really know what that has to do with Google.

How convenient that you quoted me totally out of context.

I challenged what I saw as forelock tugging and, as you can see, quite a few people agree with me. I didn't bring up gun running and the IRA.

Go back and check yourself. It was first mentioned here by the very poster I challenged.

Why are you focussing on me while ignoring the above?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,304 ✭✭✭✭K-9

How convenient that you quoted me totally out of context.

I challenged what I saw as forelock tugging and, as you can see, quite a few people agree with me. I didn't bring up gun running and the IRA.

Go back and check yourself. It was first mentioned here by the very poster I challenged.

Why are you focussing on me while ignoring the above?

Because you entertain him rather than ignore him. You already know the answer so why ask?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

You would swear i came on here swearing allegiance to the queen the way poor auld chucky stone is going on. Was my point THAT bad? Or even incorrect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭mackerski

Ugh.. how sickening. You'd nearly think, by your fawning, we were the ones who colonised Britain, threw people off their land, suppressed their culture/language, presided over a devastating famine etc.

Not all of Britain, just enough of Scotland that they named it after us. And kidnapping St. Patrick was a bit cheeky too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Because you entertain him rather than ignore him. You already know the answer so why ask?

Half truths and falsehoods should always be challenged.

moxin wrote: »
    Half truths and falsehoods should always be challenged.

...with accusations of west-brit-ary? Are you republicans really that incapable of viewing the Irish and British relationship through any other eyes than your own?

Anyway, I think that's enough of replying to you shinnerbots. Might aswell be talking to a brick wall (With a Mural of Bobby Sands on it).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Austin Vernon Mitchel, degenerate low-life filth.
    • Wrongly claimed £10,549 for mortgage repayments
    • On 29 October 2012, Mitchell directed a tweet at Louise Mensch, saying 'A good wife doesn’t disagree with her master in public and a good little girl doesn’t lie about why she quit politics.' He also referred to Mensch as 'Menschkin.' The comments were widely condemned as being sexist, with Mensch demanding an apology from both Mitchell and Ed Miliband. Mitchell claimed he was being 'ironic'.

If the UK wiped away Ireland's debt in the morning, it wouldn't make up for one murder the black and tans carried out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

Jaysus. Are the Brits not allowed have a bit of banter in their own forum? Hate print media now. Like the screching of a dieing cat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

[QUOTE=[-0-]]Wrongly claimed £10,549 for mortgage repayments
    On 29 October 2012, Mitchell directed a tweet at Louise Mensch, saying 'A good wife doesn’t disagree with her master in public and a good little girl doesn’t lie about why she quit politics.' He also referred to Mensch as 'Menschkin.' The comments were widely condemned as being sexist, with Mensch demanding an apology from both Mitchell and Ed Miliband. Mitchell claimed he was being 'ironic'.[/QUOTE]
    Surprising IMO that he's Labour. This Google comment was either a joke or an auld fella losing his marbles though - not something to get offended by in fairness.
    Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    You would swear i came on here swearing allegiance to the queen the way poor auld chucky stone is going on. Was my point THAT bad? Or even incorrect?
    Well I agree with you in that I don't believe the British government should be extra nice to Ireland or that people in Britain today should feel guilty/accountable for past wrongs. And it's true - the British government is ever so nice to Ireland; a lot of British people have this apologetic thing going on towards us, for which they should not feel any such obligation.

However, I disagree with the "Despite acts of terrorism by the IRA on British soil" stuff. That shouldn't have anything to do with it - those acts were carried out by a fringe group, not Irish people in general/the Irish government.

...with accusations of west-brit-ary? Are you republicans really that incapable of viewing the Irish and British relationship through any other eyes than your own?

Anyway, I think that's enough of replying to you shinnerbots. Might aswell be talking to a brick wall (With a Mural of Bobby Sands on it).

Hello Mr. Generalisations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

3. Stop polluting the Irish Sea.

Apparently my late father in law's early demise was due to his swimming in the Irish sea every summer throughout his sixty five year life.

It was the radiation from sellafield that gave him lung cancer, nothing at all to do with the 40 major he smoked every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

Google in cahoots with the Black and Tans - I feckin knew it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

stoneill wrote: »
    Google in cahoots with the Black and Tans - I feckin knew it!

Those secret barges they are building are internment camps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Grandeeod wrote: »
    I found it offensive.

Are you a black n tan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

anncoates wrote: »
    I'm asking why would we expect English people to be especially interested in Irish history as opposed to any other European neighbour?

Because of colonialism?

Do you go around feeling personally responsible for the acts of past Irish governments?

Of course we do. Most people here would know about the Magdelene laundries. We talk about the past more than the British. The British should know as much about their colonial past as the Germans do about 1939-1945. Germans don't get to pass that off as stuff that happened in Poland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

In any case google don't owe the British money for sales made in the uk if headquartered here. Similarly Britains impressive software service doesn't owe the Irish treasury tax for the sales of ads on the 4od service ( where you get Irish ads here) even if they have a sales rep based in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

In any case google don't owe the British money for sales made in the uk if headquartered here. Similarly Britains impressive software service doesn't owe the Irish treasury tax for the sales of ads on the 4od service ( where you get Irish ads here) even if they have a sales rep based in Dublin.

If they want the tax take make them pay the tax in the UK. Its no ones bussiness what are tax rates are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

This is terrific news. So we only have to wait a hundred years for some sort of economic boost from England to the north in recompense for what the modern day version of their Tans did here? Sweet. I'm going to buy a car and one of those six-foot long subway sandwiches.

The English tax payer is already subsidising your social welfare, free prescriptions and glorified talking Shop of a parliament. Isn't it about time you gave something back?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

keith16 wrote: »
    How fucking wrong is it that Google can sell their products "through" Ireland, but they don't physically sell any of their products to the Irish market?

they do

The English tax payer is already subsidising your social welfare, free prescriptions and glorified talking Shop of a parliament. Isn't it about time you gave something back?

Stump up the compensation for 800 odd years of colonialism first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Well that's a gross over simplification but I'll play along.
    If they aren't willing to pay for the land they stole they can feel free to wash their hands of it any time.

Well that's a gross over simplification but I'll play along.
    If they aren't willing to pay for the land they stole they can feel free to wash their hands of it any time.

What, you actually believe that English tax payers want to continue subsidising the Celtic cling ons?

moxin wrote: »
    Stump up the compensation for 800 odd years of colonialism first.

I had a quick phone round my mates, we raised £1.23 does that cover it?

Can I have a receipt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,901 ✭✭✭✭listermint

He has a point, though, to an extent. An extremely uncomfortable phase between us and the Brits, after British (Central) rule, has morphed into a case where Britain treats Ireland quite favourably both economically and politically, in the grand scheme of things. Considering the history between our two countries, and with Irish bombs going off on the mainland UK not so long ago, they take an extremely conciliatory tone with us. Quite different to Argentina, for example, whom they've also had issues with during a similar timeframe.

Thats complete horsecrap.

They treat us favourably because we are such a large trading partner and buy all of their wares. Its got nothing to do with your delusions of some sort of 'paddy guilt' so to speak.

you obviously dont have a clue to the extent of our input to the british economy as a trading partner.

listermint wrote: »
    Thats complete horsecrap.

They treat us favourably because we are such a large trading partner and buy all of their wares. Its got nothing to do with your delusions of some sort of 'paddy guilt' so to speak.

you obviously dont have a clue to the extent of our input to the british economy as a trading partner.

Tbh, the truth is probably a bit of both.

A lot of the trade is because of the relationship. It is easy for a British company to set up in Ireland because the brand names are generally well known before the company starts trading here. Take Vodafone for example, thousands of people were walking around with the name plastered across their man united jersey two years before they bought eircell.

But, without the level of trade, would the relationship be as strong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I'm surprised he even knows what the Black and Tans are. Most people i've met in Britain know next to nothing about Irish history.

different countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,901 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Tbh, the truth is probably a bit of both.

A lot of the trade is because of the relationship. It is easy for a British company to set up in Ireland because the brand names are generally well known before the company starts trading here. Take Vodafone for example, thousands of people were walking around with the name plastered across their man united jersey two years before they bought eircell.

But, without the level of trade, would the relationship be as strong?

How is the truth a bit of both? The truth is more, we speak the same language, we are close regionally and we know their products and brands and have parallel cultures.

We are a trading partner as such and a extremely large and valuable one at that.

nothing to do with sadness or guilt over some past discretion's, thats just ridiculous.