Garda recruitment 2014 info

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

carzony wrote: »
    A lot of sargeants and supers probably never have went to college so i'm not to sure it'd mean a whole lot to them.. I'm sure they'd be more impressed with work experience/ community work that kind of thing... That's my opinion anyway..

I would safely say that there is not a Superintendent in the country that has not got a degree, many of them have studied for degrees after joining the Garda.
    Many Sergeants would have only joined in the last 15 years and they would probably have third level education anyway.

You would want to be doing a bit of background research

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭carzony

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    I would safely say that there is not a Superintendent in the country that has not got a degree, many of them have studied for degrees after joining the Garda.
    Many Sergeants would have only joined in the last 15 years and they would probably have third level education anyway.

You would want to be doing a bit of background research

Plenty of detectives/guards I know have nothing. Maybe it's just the ones you know

You mentioned Sergeants and Supers and now its detectives and guards. Make your mind up.
    Maybe one of the reason they are still detectives and guards is their lack of degrees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭carzony

You mentioned Sergeants and Supers and now its detectives and guards. Make your mind up.
    Maybe one of the reason they are still detectives and guards is their lack of degrees.

I'd be happy with guard or detective..I think anyone of this forum would be more than happy with that atm..

Are you even a guard btw? I'd find it laughable if you weren't since you seem to like giving out all this ''advice''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Cd_doe

A lot of sargeants and supers probably never have went to college so i'm not to sure it'd mean a whole lot to them.. I'm sure they'd be more impressed with work experience/ community work that kind of thing... That's my opinion anyway..

I'll have to back santa cruz on this one. His advice is obviously a lot more accurate.

There are many members off all ranks with 3rd level education.

To go back on topic, an above poster asked if it would help him get in if he had a degree.
    In my opinion a degree would help you to get into any job. To think otherwise would be insane. Even if the subject is irrelevant, it shows commitment etc.

I'd be happy with guard or detective..I think anyone of this forum would be more than happy with that atm..

Are you even a guard btw? I'd find it laughable if you weren't since you seem to like giving out all this ''advice''

The Garda College is a recognised third level institution. On completion of training the Gardaí are awarded a Diploma in Policing Studies. This can be used as a foundation to study on for degrees etc.

The average age for recruitment to the Gardaí since 1995 has been 23. The majority of those had third level qualifications.
    Also for your information a detective is a Garda. It is the same rank. The person is allocated to Detective Units but retains the rank of Garda unless promoted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

The Garda College is a recognised third level institution. On completion of training the Gardaí are awarded a Diploma in Policing Studies. This can be used as a foundation to study on for degrees etc.

The average age for recruitment to the Gardaí since 1995 has been 23. The majority of those had third level qualifications.
    Also for your information a detective is a Garda. It is the same rank. The person is allocated to Detective Units but retains the rank of Garda unless promoted.

Would there be any degree that would be relevant to garda work? I was thinking about a law degree, is there any other relevant degree out there i could go for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Emer29

Will the upper age limit still remain 35? If some people have been to college and got a degree and will a freeze on recruitment for the past few years surely that will mean a lot of people in their late 20's/30 applying??

jamesr123 wrote: »
    Would there be any degree that would be relevant to garda work? I was thinking about a law degree, is there any other relevant degree out there i could go for?

Certainly a law degree would be relevant as it gives you the ability to read and understand what can at times be complicated criminal law acts.
    I would certainly say that if wishing to progress in any form of fraud investigation, criminal assets bureau etc. any qualification relating to accountancy, financial management would be very useful.
    Also any of the degrees containing, management, HR, social studies/psychology
    Overall any third level qualification will be an asset. Also fluency in foreign languages would be seen as a benefit to any applicant. I know one Garda proficient in continental languages who has been employed in Garda H.Q. Liaison and has had a number of allocations to the U.N. and other international secondments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Thekid2010

The aptitude are first and unless you score high in them it doesn't matter what degree you have or who you are

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

Certainly a law degree would be relevant as it gives you the ability to read and understand what can at times be complicated criminal law acts.
    I would certainly say that if wishing to progress in any form of fraud investigation, criminal assets bureau etc. any qualification relating to accountancy, financial management would be very useful.
    Also any of the degrees containing, management, HR, social studies/psychology
    Overall any third level qualification will be an asset. Also fluency in foreign languages would be seen as a benefit to any applicant. I know one Garda proficient in continental languages who has been employed in Garda H.Q. Liaison and has had a number of allocations to the U.N. and other international secondments

Funny, psychology was something I was looking at doing next year anyway:cool:.

Thekid2010 wrote: »
    The aptitude are first and unless you score high in them it doesn't matter what degree you have or who you are

Ye, I hear that aptitude test can be a bit of a nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭mycro89

Is this to be the week?? The week when it all starts??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

it said in the independent 6 weeks, a week ago, could be anytime.

I just fear that the 6 weeks will come and go with no announcement, like in the past, watch the time frame and see what happens in the coming weeks. Has it been even mentioned in the Dail since Budget Day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 jamezbarry

Willy odea my local td told me that he had made a few calls and found out that it will definitely be before Christmas , that there just organizing all the administration that occurs with a recruitment drive

jamezbarry wrote: »
    Willy odea my local td told me that he had made a few calls and found out that it will definitely be before Christmas , that there just organizing all the administration that occurs with a recruitment drive

Did he say how many will be recruited ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 jamezbarry

mycro89 wrote: »
    Did he say how many will be recruited ??

No but the independent wrote last week it's 150 for first drive and 3 months later a furthe 250

jamezbarry wrote: »

And Willy O Dea couldn't be wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Phoenix91

And Willy O Dea couldn't be wrong

It's the best we've gotten so far on the recruitment starting date. Beats the hell out of Shatters report which was beyond vague.

Can your pal willie o dea raise the topic in the dail? He is in opposition now, so would he know the specifics about the future campaign really ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭thestar

Maybe it wasn't a waste of time joining the reserve after all..

http://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2013-11-05a.1761&s=garda+recruitment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

Same answer that has been given since recruitment has been announced I wouldn't take anything too serious till they make proper official announcements about what is happening. Nothing mite become of all that talk.

First time I have seen anything in relation to reserves achievements being recognised, sorry I didnt join now. They are definitely going to have an advantage in the application process somewhere along the way

thestar wrote: »
    First time I have seen anything in relation to reserves achievements being recognised, sorry I didnt join now. They are definitely going to have an advantage in the application process somewhere along the way

Is there anyway that we can get a definate answer on the topic, or are we just going to have to wait until the day that they sit down and say yes today is the day?

No but the link I posted above is the biggest indication yet that there will be changes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Can't really argue with reserves having an advantage in the recruitment process, it's common sense really.

They will have an advantage when it comes to interview scenarios anyway but I didn't actually think that there application would be different. Its going to be interesting to see what the leeway they are given. I do hope that it is mainly reserves that are recruited because when most people and even the guards themselves criticized an organisation, they went and joined it. Could anybody get me figures on the amount of reserves in this country? I thought my law degree would set me apart from the crowd but it looks like they will be looking for people who have put themselves as close to the job as possible. :(

A law degree would be a major advantage I presume. I think once you can give a reason why you wouldn't / couldn't join the reserves you be ok.

I have a friend who is in the army for 9 years and is applying. He obviously couldn't join the reserves.

I may not even bother applying to be honest when I actually think about it. I have no reserve experience and know nobody for 'pull' either so I'm in bother. I actually don't think anyone can say they didn't have time, its four hours a week which is very little

Well if you don't apply you have no chance... apply, what's the worst that can happen?

It's mostly reserves saying you don't have a hope if you're not a reserve.

You can say you spent your time studying, you were doing a bit of travel (before you apply to get it out of the way etc.), you were already involved in other organisations...

I think apply if you want to do it. You may regret it otherwise. Good luck