Scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭Dartz

I did it.

I might not have been handicapped, but my car sure as fook was when I pushed it in there....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭visual

Well thankfully I've never been clamped as I choose very carefully, and make sure theres no clamping notices. If you park behind me your tires will have no air in them, and Ill be filming you on my phone when you arrive. I've got the time if you do.

Camera won't save you or your car from a casual passerby who cops on to you and decides your the problem that needs addressing.

Mod

returnNull banned for trolling.

Jesus lads will ye cop on and stop the petty bickering, it's pathetic. Learn to use the report button instead of whinging on thread. If you report a post, ignore it and move on.

/crankypants

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

returnNull wrote: »
    how so?

If your able enough to get into a car,change gears(has to be done even on an automatic),use a break and a throttle youre well able to get out of the car and get to where youre going irrespctive of where the car is parked.

Of course you mean in a specially designed car which does not operate in the manner which you have just described. The idiotic lengths people are going to here to excuse their pig ignorance is amusing.

Knine wrote: »
    I have a disabled Parking Permit for a child with a life limiting condition. She regularly goes on a trolley - of the hospital bed type. Thankfully ignorance is not part of her disability.
    returnNull wrote: »
    The person still needs a way to get from a to b.Use that to get from the car to the shop.Doesnt matter whether its a wheel chair,a walking stick or the driver is carrying the passenger.

If you cant do that,the person really shouldnt be out and about.

So. Are you a nice person?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    What kind of scumbags that aren't handicapped park in disabled spaces?? I'm sick of seeing it to be honest

Would you call a pensioner with a bad hip or arthritis handicapped or a scumbag?

Your a total idiot.

How many times have you been the second or third disabled parking space user.

If theres 1 only space I'll likely leave it.
    Chances are if theres 2 or more and its on private ground with no enforcement signs I will take it.
    Odds are there won't be 2 disabled drivers in the same place at the same time.

Its normally just when stopping in for 1 or 2 things, then I go to the 4 items of less line where I'll find women taking half an hour to pay for 10 things with a credit card and coupons.
    Then bringing their screaming darlings to their discrimination based, designated no-men, mother and child spot.

Tough world full of law breakers I guess.

'sigh' Parent and child spots...... There is some serious grasping at straws here by people defending the indefensible. I would respect you more if you just admitted that you are a selfish **** with no regard for the society you live in than this stupid attempt to rationalise your actions.

Banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Would you call a pensioner with a bad hip or arthritis handicapped or a scumbag?

Your a total idiot.

I'm sorry. I should not have called you an idiot. I can see the point you are trying to make though. Perhaps think out the wording a bit better next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭samina

Personally would never park in one, but it really pees me off when people who have one for members of their family just use it willy nilly.
    They really should have more respect for the importance if the spaces then anyone else. A woman justified herself doing it once with the fact that her grand daughter was really sick. She wasn't with her but in her mind she could park there once she had the pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

samina wrote: »
    but in her mind she could park there once she had the pass

Touchy subject, she was getting medicine for her disabled care, valid imo. However, a notorious racket was uncovered whereby disks were sold, copied and passed around by thousands of able bodied people who went to work and parked in disabled spaces all day, every day.

It led to the overhaul of the disk system as you will know. In this post I am referring to the council spaces where law applies and not private shopping spaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,087 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Red Nissan wrote: »
    Touchy subject, she was getting medicine for her disabled care, valid imo. However, a notorious racket was uncovered whereby disks were sold, copied and passed around by thousands of able bodied people who went to work and parked in disabled spaces all day, every day.

It led to the overhaul of the disk system as you will know. In this post I am referring to the council spaces where law applies and not private shopping spaces.

I dont know about that. Why does she have to use the space in that situation? I would imagine with the child sure but without can you justify it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

There a clearly marked disabled parking space beside the Spar on Barrow St D2. (beside Google HQ) and this very abled bodied chilled food delivery person has parked their transit van in the space for at least 15 minutes.
    Oh.. hang on... ah, its ok HE HAS HIS HAZZARDS ON.

K.Flyer wrote: »
    There a clearly marked disabled parking space beside the Spar on Barrow St D2. (beside Google HQ) and this very abled bodied chilled food delivery person has parked their transit van in the space for at least 15 minutes.
    Oh.. hang on... ah, its ok HE HAS HIS HAZZARDS ON.

Active deliveries can deliver even on double yellow lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Knine

Eh no they can't. I seen an an active delivery van clamped in the local shopping centre for parking in a disabled bay a couple of weeks ago.

Rubbish!! Show where it states that in the rules of the road.
    You can be fined / clamped for parking on double yellows no matter your reason. Still does not justify parking in a disabled place.

Eh no they can't. I seen an an active delivery van clamped in the local shopping centre for parking in a disabled bay a couple of weeks ago.

In a pirvate carpark? They are clamping their suppliers. Can't imagine that causing a problem. ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Knine

Potatoeman wrote: »

It was causing a problem for the man in a wheelchair with nowhere suitable to park. Shops tend to worry more about customers then suppliers who are paid to supply them.

From Dublin City Council's website:
    Double Yellow Lines
    No parking on a double-yellow line at any time.

Exceptions
    You can park on a double yellow line for a maximum of 30 minutes while actively loading or unloading a vehicle.

From Dublin City Council's website:

If that information is current then I stand corrected, but it did cost me.
    A couple of years ago I was clamped on a double yellow loading our equipment into a building, I came out to bring more in to find I had been clamped. I rang to explain we were only unloading and we were going to move the van to a parking area further away, but they were having none if it citing that it was illegal to park on a double yellow line no matter what reason and how would I like to pay. I left the van there for the rest of the day with the clamp on it and paid when we were finished.
    But it does not cite the exceptions in the rules of the road and its still not acceotable for able bodied persons to use disabled parking spaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭BabyGorilla

visual wrote: »
    Camera won't save you or your car from a casual passerby who cops on to you and decides your the problem that needs addressing.

Who is this caped avenger, how does he remain invisible to the common camera, where did he come from, why is he risking bodily harm and a court case... and can he overcome my evil pimp-hand.
    'sigh' Parent and child spots...... There is some serious grasping at straws here by people defending the indefensible. I would respect you more if you just admitted that you are a selfish **** with no regard for the society you live in than this stupid attempt to rationalise your actions.

Banned

Did you just get banned ? Im not grasping at straws, I don't give a quick one about your respect, yes Padre Pio Im selfish on occasion so sue me. Ive never come out to a waiting car. In the places Ive been known to park the odds are tiny for 2 disabled drivers, in places where theres 3 or more I really dont know what they're expecting.

As I said - only when theres two or more spots and no clamping signs and on private ground. Whos heart bleeds when Im paying more insurance based on me having a penis.

K.Flyer wrote: »
    If that information is current then I stand corrected, but it did cost me.
    but they were having none if it citing that it was illegal to park on a double yellow line no matter what reason and how would I like to pay.

This was the work of a private clamping company working for the council. Total cowboys, they've been thrown out of Galway and more recently in Cork City too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Who is this caped avenger, how does he remain invisible to the common camera, where did he come from, why is he risking bodily harm and a court case... and can he overcome my evil pimp-hand.

Did you just get banned ? Im not grasping at straws, I don't give a quick one about your respect, yes Padre Pio Im selfish on occasion so sue me. Ive never come out to a waiting car. In the places Ive been known to park the odds are tiny for 2 disabled drivers, in places where theres 3 or more I really dont know what they're expecting.

As I said - only when theres two or more spots and no clamping signs and on private ground. Whos heart bleeds when Im paying more insurance based on me having a penis.

You've put up some frankly lame excuses for parking as you do. Dictating "the odds" as relatively slim in your own mind just doesn't suffice.

I was born with a birth defect in my right leg, that has thankfully given me minimal trouble thus far in my life. Good days and bad days. By technicality, I can use these spaces but do I? No I don't because I consider those who may need the space more than I do, those inflicted with substantially worse conditions/wheelchair users. You should really re-think what your doing and how it might actually affect other people, it's common decency really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,953 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Your a total idiot.

I would if they had no blue sticker shown

EazyD wrote: »
    You've put up some frankly lame excuses for parking as you do. Dictating "the odds" as relatively slim in your own mind just doesn't suffice.

I was born with a birth defect in my right leg, that has thankfully given me minimal trouble thus far in my life. Good days and bad days. By technicality, I can use these spaces but do I? No I don't because I consider those who may need the space more than I do, those inflicted with substantially worse conditions/wheelchair users. You should really re-think what your doing and how it might actually affect other people, it's common decency really

I dont put forward any excuses.

Suffice? - Well ... it does to me.

A lot of things are common decency, not taking an hour at the checkout searching in your bag for 10 cent coupons is common decency, not sending me bs in the post is common decency, not having your screaming kids in the "library" is common decency, not walking 3 abreast on the pavement and expecting me to move is common decency, not having your dog sht on the local paths is common decency, not having your dog sht outside my house is common decency, not having your dog bark constantly is common decency, not partying til 5 is common decency, not spamming me is common decency, not sitting beside me and shouting down your bluetooth phone is common decency, knowing how to take a roundabout is common decency, not trying (and failing) to jump me at the lights is common decency, I could go on.

When the world is perfectly decent to me Ill be happy to return the favor.
    I myself have been ill, just in ways that didn't relate to parking, were there buttons in buildings I could press, were there facilities made available for my particular condition - were there fck.
    Do I get a spot if I pick up an injury ?

If you can make it round the shelves and stand at the checkout for an hour then you can manage the 20 or so meters. If you can't then you're in no condition to shop.
    Besides, theres always those gender specific anti-male mother and child places if you need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

I dont put forward any excuses.
    (Ill refer you to the paragraph below, that's an excuse for your own behaviour)
    Suffice? - Well ... it does to me.

A lot of things are common decency, not taking an hour at the checkout searching in your bag for 10 cent coupons is common decency, not sending me bs in the post is common decency, not having your screaming kids in the "library" is common decency, not walking 3 abreast on the pavement and expecting me to move is common decency, not having your dog sht on the local paths is common decency, not having your dog sht outside my house is common decency, not having your dog bark constantly is common decency, not partying til 5 is common decency, not spamming me is common decency, not sitting beside me and shouting down your bluetooth phone is common decency, knowing how to take a roundabout is common decency, not trying (and failing) to jump me at the lights is common decency, I could go on.

When the world is perfectly decent to me Ill be happy to return the favor.
    I myself have been ill, just in ways that didn't relate to parking, were there buttons in buildings I could press, were there facilities made available for my particular condition - were there fck.
    Do I get a spot if I pick up an injury ?
    (If you fulfilled the relevant procedures/criteria you sure could. It's a genuine pity you weren't accommodated with the necessary facilities however you can't use it to justify your ignorance towards disabled spaces).
    If you can make it round the shelves and stand at the checkout for an hour then you can manage the 20 or so meters. If you can't then you're in no condition to shop.
    Besides, theres always those gender specific anti-male mother and child places if you need.
    (The only conclusion I can draw from this is your clearly very ignorant, whether you are oblivious to it or it is intended)

EazyD wrote: »
    (The only conclusion I can draw from this is your clearly very ignorant, whether you are oblivious to it or it is intended)

Mod

BabyGorilla, you can take your trolling elsewhere. You won't last long in this forum if you continue the way you are.

I represent that remark.

Indeed.