Scumbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

If you're a wheelchair user you will need a wider space to get out.
    any car I have seen that has been wheel chair enabled,the exit point on the car has been at the back.
    If you have a condition affecting circulatory or respiratory system or even musculoskeletal system then you coukd be well able to drive but not able to walk far.
    Cant be that bad if they can walk from a parking spot that is X amount of metres from a shop and then spend some time walking X amount of metres doing the shopping.
    Not to mention of course those who aren't the drivers, but the passengers, but who will need the extra space to get out or who won't be able to walk far.

Already answered.
    Tbh, it just seems like your looking for attention with such a nonsense claim.

Again my point is if your able to get to a parking spot your able to go shopping/to the pub or theatre.A couple of metres aint gonna make a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

dj jarvis wrote: »

he sounds like a chav , civic driving , living with his mom ass hat !!!

I suspect he lives under a bridge, waiting impatiently for the clip-clop of goat-hooves and a gruff bleating sound.

Dubl07 wrote: »
    I suspect he lives under a bridge, waiting impatiently for the clip-clop of goat-hooves and a gruff bleating sound.

na just the whirrrr of a battery powered wheelchair....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

returnNull wrote: »
    any car I have seen that has been wheel chair enabled,the exit point on the car has been at the back.

Cant be that bad if they can walk from a parking spot that is X amount of metres from a shop and then spend some time walking X amount of metres doing the shopping.

Already answered.

Again my point is if your able to get to a parking spot your able to go shopping/to the pub or theatre.A couple of metres aint gonna make a difference.

But it's often not a couple of metres. And the simple fact you think the extra distance won't make a difference shows just how little you know. It's laughable really.

As for doing the shopping - ever hear of shop mobility? Or sitting in the cinema? Or a restaurant?

And drivers carrying the disabled passenger as a workable alternative? Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    What kind of scumbags that aren't handicapped park in disabled spaces?? I'm sick of seeing it to be honest
    My old boy is a disabled driver. It's people who mislabel him that are handicapped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

with an attitude like that return null , come your judgement day , i hope you are run over by and invalided elderly person , on their way to mass , in their 1 ton electric chair , because they had to park far away from the lords house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

They're abused wholesale. Not sure what the criteria for getting the badge are but I thought it would be like the Primary Medical Cert i.e. Applicant must be wholly or almost wholly without use of one or both legs.

Very, very rarely see this person exiting or entering the car. If you're hearing impaired or whatever you don't need specific parking spots.

The idea is they're wide enough to open the door fully to get a chair out.
    Also to make the trip into and out of the shop/premises as short as possible

Banned.
    And drivers carrying the disabled passenger as a workable alternative? Lol.
    yep that was meant to be as ridiculus as it sounded.At least it made you laugh.

As for the distance,parking spots(of any kind) are normally a good distance away from the shops.If your good for a 150 metre walk,youre good for a 250 metre walk.

If the random availability of a parking spot could be a deal breaker for going shopping then yes I would be of the opinion that maybe you shouldnt be out and about if +/- 500 metres makes it impossible to be mobile

As for the distance,parking spots(of any kind) are normally a good distance away from the shops.If your good for a 150 metre walk,youre good for a 250 metre walk.

If the random availability of a parking spot could be a deal breaker for going shopping then yes I would be of the opinion that maybe you shouldnt be out and about if +/- 500 metres makes it impossible to be mobile

WHAT ????
    i have a uncle , that has a false leg , and a replacement knee , and walking is very difficult for him , he has to drag himself from the car to the tesco , puffing and wheezing , looking at lot like a zombie if i am TBH , and you want him to park FURTHER away ???

spend a day in his shoe :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Knine

I read your replies & am astonished at your ignorance. I think your attitude & ignorance is probably far more of a disability then the people needing these spaces have.

Remember anyone can end up disabled.

with an attitude like that return null , come your judgement day , i hope you are run over by and invalided elderly person , on their way to mass , in their 1 ton electric chair , because they had to park far away from the lords house.

Now that would be karma.But your forgetting those wheelchairs only travel at 10mph and the bang of granny would have me well aware of my surroundings minutes before the geriactric got anywhere near me.So its not gonna happen.

Is there some reason you are against making such minor accommodations for disabled people?

Now that would be karma.But your forgetting those wheelchairs only travel at 10mph and the bang of granny would have me well aware of my surroundings minutes before the geriactric got anywhere near me.So its not gonna happen.

you are just sick :mad:

i would say you would know the bang of a granny - you sound depraved :(

Knine wrote: »
    I read your replies & am astonished at your ignorance. I think your attitude & ignorance is probably far more of a disability then the people needing these spaces have.

So i am entitled to that spot?
    Remember anyone can end up disabled.
    True but...
    you cant be that disabled if you have the ability to get into a car(doesnt matter if your the driver or the passenger),go shopping or where ever and the deal braker is being 100,150 or half a km away from where you want to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭BabyGorilla

I have a disabled Parking Permit for a child with a life limiting condition. She regularly goes on a trolley - of the hospital bed type. Thankfully ignorance is not part of her disability.

How many times have you been the second or third disabled parking space user.

If theres 1 only space I'll likely leave it.
    Chances are if theres 2 or more and its on private ground with no enforcement signs I will take it.
    Odds are there won't be 2 disabled drivers in the same place at the same time.

Its normally just when stopping in for 1 or 2 things, then I go to the 4 items of less line where I'll find women taking half an hour to pay for 10 things with a credit card and coupons.
    Then bringing their screaming darlings to their discrimination based, designated no-men, mother and child spot.

Tough world full of law breakers I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,953 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Is there some reason you are against making such minor accommodations for disabled people?

Pure ignorance. So ignorant it's frustrating.

How many times have you been the second or third disabled parking space user.

If theres 1 only space I'll likely leave it.
    Chances are if theres 2 or more and its on private ground with no enforcement signs I will take it.
    Odds are there won't be 2 disabled drivers in the same place at the same time.

Its normally just when stopping in for 1 or 2 things, then I go to the 4 items of less line where I'll find women taking half an hour to pay for 10 things with a credit card and coupons.
    Then bringing their screaming darlings to their discrimination based, designated no-men, mother and child spot.

Tough world full of law breakers I guess.

Most often there is no space when I get there. Usually at least one car has no permit. I generally have the issue sorted very quickly. Many an ignorant person has come back to a clamped car or I just park right behind them.

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Pure ignorance. So ignorant it's frustrating.

I don't even think it is ignorance tbh. It's just internet big-man bluster for a bit of attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,203 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

I've seen some very one sided mined people in after hours in the last few weeks - dj Jarvis, MadsL, Frank Black come to mind in certain threads, but returnNull you really doe bring it to another level.

Most often there is no space when I get there. Usually at least one car has no permit. I generally have the issue sorted very quickly. Many an ignorant person has come back to a clamped car or I just park right behind them.

Well thankfully I've never been clamped as I choose very carefully, and make sure theres no clamping notices. If you park behind me your tires will have no air in them, and Ill be filming you on my phone when you arrive. I've got the time if you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

Ace2007 wrote: »
    I've seen some very one sided mined people in after hours in the last few weeks - dj Jarvis, MadsL, Frank Black come to mind in certain threads, but returnNull you really doe bring it to another level.

see post #123

keep your un qualified opinion to yourself - you have a problem with me , report it and let the mods take action - otherwise zip it , who the **** are you ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭Ramza

you cant be that disabled if you have the ability to get into a car

wow. just wow

Well thankfully I've never been clamped as I choose very carefully, and make sure theres no clamping notices. If you park behind me your tires will have no air in them, and Ill be filming you on my phone when you arrive. I've got the time if you do.

I wonder who the Garda will side with? You see I have already been in a similar situation.

No air in the tyres of my car blocking you in? Grand you will be staying in that disabled bay a long time. A very long time.

keep your un qualified opinion to yourself - you have a problem with me , report it and let the mods take action - otherwise zip it , who the **** are you ???

when did I say I had a problem with you - I just said I've seen some one sided people in threads, it's a factual statement if you look at the thread in questions, - maybe take your own advice and if you have a problem report me.

I wonder who the Garda will side with? You see I have already been in a similar situation. No air in the tyres of my car blocking you in? Grand you will be staying in that disabled bay a long time. A very long time.

I wonder will it be on private ground. :)

As will you. You'll have to decide if its worth it.

Busy ??

when did I say I had a problem with you - I just said I've seen some one sided people in threads, it's a factual statement if you look at the thread in questions, - maybe take your own advice and if you have a problem report me.

i did - you cant be mentioning people from other threads just becasue they don't agree with your stance ???
    mentioning my tag implies you have a problem , otherwise why mention it ?

kindly don't mention me again in a thread - ignore me if you don't like my posting style or opinion

i did - you cant be mentioning people from other threads just becasue they don't agree with your stance ???
    mentioning my tag implies you have a problem , otherwise why mention it ?

kindly don't mention me again in a thread - ignore me if you don't like my posting style or opinion

Unlike you I don't get abusive when a poster has a different view to me.
    Anybody can view the thread in question and shows you have a one side view on it - it's kinda ironic how in one thread you can be so one sided view - but then in here when returnNull has an equally one sided view on a topic you get abusive:
    100%

this guy should have his legs broken , and be made crawl from a further parking spot to his destination , people like that just make me want to commit murder !!!
    i once had a discussion with a disabled person , and they told me of the hardship they endured - i was shocked :eek:
    and to then come across this blithering idiot make me so angry :mad:

he sounds like a chav , civic driving , living with his mom ass hat !!!

Unlike you I don't get abusive when a poster has a different view to me.
    Anybody can view the thread in question and shows you have a one side view on it - it's kinda ironic how in one thread you can be so one sided view - but then in here when returnNull has an equally one sided view on a topic you get abusive:

that is up to him/her to report it and mention it to the mods , what i say to another poster is none of your business, you are bringing my opinion from another thread into this one , and who says your opinion is more valid or one sided than mine??

hit the ignore button - and dont mention me or my posts again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

'cuse me? What the fuck have I done now??