Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

7k € or $?
    If it is €7k that would be the upper limit of what I would be prepared to pay (even resulting in me not driving it for a while) but certainly do-able.

Ill wait till the shipping company come back to me. The taxes are the killer :mad:

Thanks for the feedback btw, interesting to hear from someone who has gone through it before (albeit from the east and not the west :P )

You would get a clean one in the UK for half that. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Big Nasty wrote: »
    You would get a clean one in the UK for half that. ;)

Please show me one. Not being obnoxious but I have not seen one.
    Would obviously prefer to import from inside the EU as it would make it a hell of a lot easier.
    I was looking on Autotrader UK and the likes of carandclassic but couldnt find any F350 that was the IDI diesel. There were other f350s but they were north of 10 grand and ideally I would like the landed cost to be sub 6k.

There is a minter GMC truck on cars and classic for €6k. It's V8 petrol too, none of your diesel crap. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭guttenberg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Driving into work this morning seen two cars belonging to friends of mine parked outside the church (they went out last night on a big one and left the cars there till later this evening) so i couldn't let the chance pass....

untitled.jpg

There is a minter GMC truck on cars and classic for €6k. It's V8 petrol too, none of your diesel crap. ;)

But it isn't a ford, it isnt a straight idi v8 diesel and it isnt an f350!

So where are the f350s for sub 7k? Or a cummins dodge, or any sort of non turbo v8 diesel truck.

Ill go have a look at the GMC truck now but I don't think it's for me.

Wouldnt mind this one but it is a bit over budget http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C378236

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

Have been looking at F350s on the continent. Wow.. rare and pricey!

pajor wrote: »
    Have been looking at F350s on the continent. Wow.. rare and pricey!

Even that GMC/chevy I linked to above is €10k even before shipping it back. Expensive business this truck buying lark..

If the GMC diesel is still there in a month I will consider it as the budget might be upped a couple of K by then :P

But it isn't a ford, it isnt a straight idi v8 diesel

Exactly. :)

Have a look at the Rams too. ;)

Exactly. :)

Have a look at the Rams too. ;)

Arah but sure I don't want a petrol. Not for the first truck anyway. It would be an excellent addition to the fleet but for my first truck I want a straight diesel V8 that I can straightpipe.
    The chevy silverado that I linked would be perfect but it is about 2k stg too dear atm.

I dunno why you keep insisting on diesel, especially on what's gonna be a weekend motor. Petrol > Diesel in every way bar economy. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

Folks, quick question, if car is out of nct, for a good while, now i want to bring it to nct, til wich date will be issued nct cert? Till first date of registration in Ireland? Or til date of first licensing in Ireland? I have a car , which date of first licensing in ireland is 04-may-2001 , and date of registration in ireland is 19-feb-2001. Thanks.

I dunno why you keep insisting on diesel, especially on what's gonna be a weekend motor. Petrol > Diesel in every way bar economy. ;)

Sure I couldnt give a feck about economy. 8mpg versus 10-12mpg isnt exactly a huge difference. If I wanted mpg I would not be buying a truck in the first place!

I want the smoking exhausts, the shaking, the torque, the tractory startup noise, the short rev band etc. I want a diesel as I prefer diesels to petrol every day of the week.

The only petrol truck I would consider atm is a 8.0/8.3 v10 dodge ram.There was one down in wexford (And I went to see it) but it was rusted and rotten to the core.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭barura

Sure I couldnt give a feck about economy. 8mpg versus 10-12mpg isnt exactly a huge difference. If I wanted mpg I would not be buying a truck in the first place!

I want the smoking exhausts, the shaking, the torque, the tractory startup noise, the short rev band etc. I want a diesel as I prefer diesels to petrol every day of the week.

The only petrol truck I would consider atm is a 8.0/8.3 v10 dodge ram.There was one down in wexford (And I went to see it) but it was rusted and rotten to the core.
    Get a lorry?

barura wrote: »
    Get a lorry?

Haha plenty of them on the roads though and also I'm damned if Ill be paying the 4k+ per year motor tax :D

And also I don't have a C license

Actually you could get a classic rig. They can be driven on a B licence once the fifth wheel is removed. Classic tax too. ;)

Would say they would be well out of my budget and rare as hen's teeth. (the american versions anyway)

Get a Jeep Grand cherokee WJ (from 2001 and up ) with 4.7 , high output , v8 engine. I was driving it , awesome thing. when parked, rev engine, car leans one side, when press accelerator :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Buy a Kenworth! Jesus do it!

or that one - :pac: Ford F- series

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Just missing the redneck bullbars and rally lights.

Ok, found the ideal truck
    http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C396613

sent the guy an email. Only bad part I can see is that it is in Jersey meaning that coming back will be difficult (2 ferries) but other than that...

Perfect. It is the only petrol I would consider.

-in budget
    -8.0 V10
    -Already LPG'd (not needed, but good to have)
    -Body looks immaculate
    -lots of history

(Would be tempted to sell the bmw and keep this as a daily....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

sent the guy an email. Only bad part I can see is that it is in Jersey meaning that coming back will be difficult (2 ferries) but other than that...

-in budget
    -8.0 V10
    -Body looks immaculate
    -lots of history

Now that's more like it! :cool:

Dord wrote: »
    Now that's more like it! :cool:

Yeah, I would not consider a petrol normally (i wanted a diesel truck) but who could possibly say no to an 8.0 v10 :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I'm currently looking at W204 C-class Mercs... I should stop. Just found that they made a proper coupe from about 2 years ago. Of course, they're non-existent here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

-in budget
    -8.0 V10
    -Body looks immaculate
    -lots of history

Thàt's the Viper engine? My local Indy maintains one and told me it has one through a clutch every year as it can't deal with the power. I don't think he's trying it on as he's been fairly hesitant to push extra work on me even when I've wanted it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

That was some crash on the A1 outside Newry earlier.... Artic hit a tractor and trailer :eek:

Couple that with bank holiday eejits meant the entire city was gridlocked..... Thank goodness so few people know the backroads around the city though :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

@ Max Cleveland

Ring wilsons auctions in Mallusk. This yoke has been there for a while, you may get it for peanuts. It's a diesel yoke, I think it does about 6 mpg ;)

IMG_0069.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

That thing is a monster! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

Yeah, I would not consider a petrol normally (i wanted a diesel truck) but who could possibly say no to an 8.0 v10 :pac:

My motoring dream is to own something.. anything with a V10. :D