What beer are we drinking this week ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Went down to Drinkstore at lunchtime and spolied myself.
    Picked up a bottle of the Franciscan Well stout, along with a 750ml bottle of the latest Brown Paper Bag project, an O'Haras DIPA and 4 bottles of Founders.
    Also, picked up an Amber Ella.
    I might put the stout and BPB away for a rainy day*

*judging by the weather forecast, that may be tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I didn't think Fat Tyre was anything special. Maybe if I'd started with it on the night I was drinking it, but I had had it after 2 incredible beers before it and felt a bit let down, so it's maybe not all it's fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Grayditch wrote: »
    I didn't think Fat Tyre was anything special. Maybe if I'd started with it on the night I was drinking it, but I had had it after 2 incredible beers before it and felt a bit let down, so it's maybe not all it's fault.
    It came out 14 years ago in fairness when even the US craft market was quite a bit different. A bit of context is required when judging some beers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Heroditas wrote: »
    a 750ml bottle of the latest Brown Paper Bag project, *

Doxie, or something else?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

Trinity is the newest one, a Belgian Tripel.

Doxie, or something else?

That will be Trinity

Is it high abv?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Arturo Bandini

I revisited Galway's bay Full Sail.
    Previously I really liked it but found it a little flat.
    It seems they've eliminated the carbonation problem and most of the interesting flavours and character at the same time.
    I thought this one was a pretty ordinary ale with quite a high bitterness but not much else. The first one I had had lovely complexity and that New World grapefruit hoppyness I like. Where'd it go?
    Anyone else?

I had two bottles last night, and they definitely didn't taste as good as I'd remembered. Last time I had some before that was 3-4 weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Knifey Spoony

Beer list of Oktoberfest in the Fran Well tonight:

https://scontent-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/1385512_511085598987137_580202693_n.jpg

The amount of high AVB beers there slightly scares me. I don't think I'll be getting around to trying all the beers at this fest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,038 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I had two bottles last night, and they definitely didn't taste as good as I'd remembered. Last time I had some before that was 3-4 weeks ago.

Not just me so.
    Anyone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

What's the double IPA of Proper Job like? I forget the name, super job or something. Spotted it in O'Briens but it's gone now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

RasTa wrote: »
    What's the double IPA of Proper Job like? I forget the name, super job or something. Spotted it in O'Briens but it's gone now.

Big Job. Ironically it's like a Little Job, in that it tastes lighter.

RasTa wrote: »

Big Job. Nice but a bit all over the place. The high alcohol content is nice but it's not really worth the extra outlay compared to Proper Job.

Regarding the BPB bottle, yes it's the Trinity one.

Currently sipping Amber Ella. First time having it since I sampled some at the Beer Festival.
    Nice but a bit meh. It it's more an amber ale thing than the actual beer. I'm really in a severe IPA phase at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Mountain man Hairy Goat - had it with an Indian meal and went well.
    Tasted it before the food and preferred it over the Green Bullet.
    Its a tough market out there at the moment with lots of good Irish IPA's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭bennyineire

Tonight I have been drinking for the first time

Blue Moon 5.something
    Brooklyn Black Chocolate Stout 10%

Porterhouse Celebration Stout 7%

enough to get me tipsy,

blue moon was a bit meh, just another wheat beer for me, not bad but nothing special

Brooklyn stout was quite strong in taste for obvious reasons but nicely balanced, a cross between a regular stout and a port for me

Porterhouse, nice head on this and a fine stout too, smoother than wrasslers and a higher strength, the winner of the night for me

Just back from the Franciscan Well, There was a LOT of strong Belgian beer available but I was on Shandon stout for the night. I'll be back in there over the weekend to sample a dew more beers.

Fran Well purgatory on cask in the Abbot's.
    A beautiful example of how a cask beer should be imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Jaysis lads, Double Posts and typos! Sounds like the Fran Well was the place to be last night! :D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

Founders range.

Is this the best value range take to be had? Has to be close anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,449 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

at 4 for 10 the Founders range are pretty excellent value to be fair. I hope they can get more of the other seasonals into the country maybe like their breakfast stout.

Cracked open the 2012 limited edition Schneider Weisse Tap X Mein Nelson Sauvin. It aged well even though it's still in date for another year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

Westvleteren 12, 8 and 4. Went to the abbey today and picked up a few packs. The blonde, 4, I found totally unremarkable. 8 and 12 are really quite good. I'm going to have one or two now and then leave the rest for a couple of years as most books recommend.

12 really masks the alcohol well. Quite sweet. I don't know how to describe it for those who haven't tried it. As mythic beers go I think I prefer Pliny the Elder, although that's a totally different bag of spiders. It is good, for sure, but much of the appeal surely comes from the rarity and when it has been aged, which serves only to escalate the rarity factor.

Nice to make the beer pilgrimage, though I imagine God prefers Bud Light.

Tucking into an O'Haras DIPA tonight. Very enjoyable.
    Not overly hoppy and nicely balanced.
    These guys really do make some very nice beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭eurokev

treated myself tonight with lion stout, one of the few beers endorsed by micheal jackson (the other one) its almost half way between lean follain and brooklyn black choc. Really nice and hides the 8.8% very well

Also had a schneidder weisse Tap X Nelson Sauvin, really interesting, hints of loads of things, citrus fruits and banana, its like the best of all the other taps mixed together and given a lash of hops and loaded up on steroids. Will defo get another and keep for over xmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Widmer Hefeweizen, I think they're based in Portland Oregon. Very nice but I thought it lacked "bite", although I'm not too familiar with the style.
    You could easily drink gallons of it. I was only out for a while so I had to get a Racer 5 IPA to finish with.

My first beer tonight was a Founders Porter - it's nice but I'm not getting what is earning it the plaudits it's getting around here.

I preferred the All Day IPA.

Next up was my last Paulaner Oktoberferst Bier, which is grand.

Now I'm on the Dirty Bastard, first mouthful all I'm getting is alcohol.

Second and third are ok, I can see the similarities with Williams 80 Shilling Scottish Ale, there is a distinct "pine" flavour in the finish, and it smells very sweet.

I think their All Day IPA is a cracking beer.

Now moved on to a Smithwicks Winter Spirit. Decided to try it for the craic. It's definitely nicer than the Pale Ale but it's nothing special.
    Reminds me a bit of Hobgoblin but not as carbonated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

I think ill be getting more all day ipa alright, very very nice and 4 for 10 is pretty good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Ravelleman wrote: »
    Went to the abbey today

Nice! I plan on doing the same some day. I do think W12 is hyped a lot, but I can't argue with the hype, it's the nicest beer I've ever tasted (and Pliney is in there at second). I've been given two six pack boxes for Christmas and Birthday the past year, so I've had time to let any hype wear off, I've even had one that tasted off from a box a friend got. I just love the stuff and the feeling in the cheeks at the end of the glass. Mental complexity.

The Westy blond is one of my favourite beers.

From the festival in Fran Well the standout beer from the few I tried was Duchess de Bourgogne - lovely sweet and sour balance.
    Rodenbach Grand Cru won't go on till D de B is gone so will have to return today.

Sierra Nevada Bigfoot was good - completely different to the bottled version - it's hoppy!

3 Monts was good but a bit unremarkable - nice a dry, though.

Wild raven would have been lovely if only the lines in the upstairs bar weren't stinking!! Hopefully fixed by today.

I'm looking forward to trying the Rodenbach today - never had it on draught before.

Oh, I had a taste of the Franwell Hopfenweiss - very nice indeed.