Got arrested last night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

a good rule of thumb is what ever the guard says the oppisite is the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Better come clean or i will unfollow this thread as my email inbox is filling up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

It's the big house for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

It's the big house for you

i shall keep my soap firmly on my rope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

robertxxx wrote: »
    There before, but with new baby now the next trip won't be for a good few years.

A real model father.

Given you didn't tell us why you were arrested but still posted a thread about it leads me to believe you're actually proud of it and wanted to tell everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭dmc17

A better rule of thumb is - 'If you can't tell the good folk of After Hours what you've done then you're going to prison'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭jimmy180sx

The first and only time i got arrested, i ended up running away from the fattest guard I've ever seen only to realise i was running towards the garda station with two of his buddies waiting outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

jimmy180sx wrote: »
    The first and only time i got arrested, i ended up running away from the fattest guard I've ever seen only to realise i was running towards the garda station with two of his buddies waiting outside.

You should have offered to buy him a Triple Whopper meal as all morbidly obese people will choose that over exercise.

And just like the OP, can you furnish the reasons why you got arrested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

Nothing will come of this from taking your name...unless you pissed on that girl in Supermacs because we told her to push for a charge...you should have told us earlier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 onthebrink

I say this as the mother of a few lads now grown up. Go easy on the lad, he has learnt his lesson, does it matter what he did, he came to the notice of the Gardaí after having too much drink on board. He is embarrassed enough now so hopefully that is the end of it.
    Id say to him: Move on and behave yourself when you're out in future. You did not commit a serious crime, be grateful you were not involved in a fight where someone got badly injured, it was just high jinks. The guards know the score too, probably decided to let you cool off a bit!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭somuj

onthebrink wrote: »
    I say this as the mother of a few lads now grown up. Go easy on the lad, he has learnt his lesson, does it matter what he did, he came to the notice of the Gardaí after having too much drink on board. He is embarrassed enough now so hopefully that is the end of it.
    Id say to him: Move on and behave yourself when you're out in future. You did not commit a serious crime, be grateful you were not involved in a fight where someone got badly injured, it was just high jinks. The guards know the score too, probably decided to let you cool off a bit!!!!

Aw bless . . . You got your mommy to come up and speak up for you :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Facts or GTFO

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 175 ✭✭sonny jim bob jones

... so the cops knew internal affairs were setting them up?

Maybe it was a sting operation against internal affairs and the cops were in on it? Setup by the Ombudsman...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

onthebrink wrote: »
    , does it matter what he did

It is of crucial importance, Madam.

[/bangs gavel/]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

T-Maxx wrote: »
    Facts or GTFO

You can say that again. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sparesandwich

Fax r gout, spill it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

There before, but with new baby now the next trip won't be for a good few years.

This grieves my f*cking tits. With new baby.....with THE new baby!!! Ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭somuj

Mint Aero wrote: »
    This grieves my f*cking tits. With new baby.....with THE new baby!!! Ffs.

I once ate a new baby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

I suggest you write this down in your big book of cool stories OP and save everyone a lot of time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sparesandwich

I suggest you write this down in your big book of cool stories OP and save everyone a lot of time...

...The sun it was bright and the day was warm. To myself I pondered that a quiet pint wouldn't do me no harm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

So i was out for a few drinks last night and to cut a long story short I got cuffed and locked up for an hour or three.

I wasn't charged and the Garda dealing with me was sound for a Guard.
    He told me I will not have a conviction, but I asked him will my name be in the Garda system and he said yes but dont worry as he said nearly everybody's names are in it even his when he was stopped while driving.

I feel like crap, I feel dirty, I feel like I really let myself down as I've never had any dealings like this with the Garda ever before.

I asked will this affect me going to the USA in the future and he said no.

Has anybody ever gone through something like this and what were your feelings about it.

Nobody was hurt bar me in this incident and no property was taken or damaged.

Op don't worry your head about it. You are going through "the fear" from the drink or whatever you were doing. Add a police incident in to that and it can be a very unsettling experience. The "fear" is bad enough on its own.

You will be flying again with all forgotten within the week. If you were only in a cell for a few hrs you aren't John Dillinger. Being on the police system doesn't mean much tbh as long as you don't habitually reoffend. I'm from Northern Ireland but if the system is similar a caution would stay on your record for 5 years. You sound as if you haven't even got that.

Take a lesson from it Op. It may even be a good thing in the long run. The cells aren't a nice place, even for a couple of hours are they? Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭Liam90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

T-Maxx wrote: »
    Facts or GTFO

T-Maxx really makes you rattled ey.

First time I got arrested I had to go to the station and while waiting for my parnets and demanding to hear my rights in situ, I took my own interpretation of what an identity parade consisted of, picturing a scene of me parading down the street with the gardai in tow, until somebody recognized me, thus granting me my freedom.

That and being in the possession of some girls handbags as I had been minding them earlier and the Guards probably thinking I nicked them.. fun times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

whatever for op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

lads the guy got arrested and was released without charge. He probably just fell asleep in the wrong place or got confused in a state of drunkenness. I'm sure plenty of us have been arrested at some point, for silly stuff, it's no big deal at all, in the long run.

In fact, given that he started a thread about it suggests the OP is a less likely offender than many other night-guests of the criminal justice system!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I went to the US while I had a JLO, I wouldn't worry yourself OP.
    I'd say the Gards were looking out for your safety more than anything else to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

I think we should boycott all Robertxxx's new threads in future until he discloses what he damage he did to society to warrant his incarceration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Sick for ya man, bet loads had their mobiles out, was there any Town CCTV in operation, the main thing is don't worry.... eh about you tube and all that.