Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

dgt wrote: »
    I specifically told her to take it handy as the most powerful car she drove before that was a 1.2.... In hindsight though :pac:

LOL That discription for some reason reminds me of this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It says set of 4 though? I think it just alloys you to orðer more than one set.

Is that a mistake? Or the worst pun ever:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Hal1 wrote: »
    That's for one wheel and excluding vat and delivery.

Nope.

As per the link, set of 4 whiteys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

dgt wrote: »
    I specifically told her to take it handy as the most powerful car she drove before that was a 1.2.... In hindsight though :pac:

Where the feck did they get you from....:pac:

Garda gatso van was out in force at half 5 this evening....at liffey valley.
    What a waste of garda time. You can't even do 80 km/h at that time of the evening.
    I wonder if the dougal's on board were wondering why they werent flashing anyone.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Pothole 1 Tyre 0

2013-10-2401-03-57-780_zps802f7870.jpg
    2013-10-2401-03-57-780_zps87392a75.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭barura

Drive a civic!
    A car you can trust!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭barura

sean1141 wrote: »
    Pothole 1 Tyre 0

Pics
    Jesus man, where'd that happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

barura wrote: »
    Jesus man, where'd that happen?

Couple of mile from my house. Worst part is I knew the pot hole was there but if you kept over to the left hand ditch you would avoid it. Problem was I hadn't been on that road for a while and it was after getting bigger so I couldn't avoid it. If I had kept to the right hand side ditch I would have missed it:mad:

Lads whats up with Toyota Ireland. Two of their longest serving dealers in dublin are no longer main dealers (there may be more). Linders of Chapelizod is now Renault and Dacia and McCoys is now Seat. McCoys is still a toyota service provider but no longer a dealer?
    Anyone got any info to cure my qurious mind. Id have thought toyota would have been easier to sell in this country than Renault Dacia and Seat combined nearly so im guessing they lost the franchise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Gonzaga2.0ts

Not everyone wants a 132 D Corolla :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Scortho wrote: »
    Lads whats up with Toyota Ireland. Two of their longest serving dealers in dublin are no longer main dealers (there may be more). Linders of Chapelizod is now Renault and Dacia and McCoys is now Seat. McCoys is still a toyota service provider but no longer a dealer?
    Anyone got any info to cure my qurious mind. Id have thought toyota would have been easier to sell in this country than Renault Dacia and Seat combined nearly so im guessing they lost the franchise?
    WHen did this happen?

Not everyone wants a 132 D Corolla :pac:

Agreed but more want a corolla than a renault or a seat. Id understand seat if they were going vw and skoda as well

Stheno wrote: »
    WHen did this happen?

I noticed Mccoys on the bus this morning and Linders either this week or last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

sean1141 wrote: »
    Couple of mile from my house. Worst part is I knew the pot hole was there but if you kept over to the left hand ditch you would avoid it. Problem was I hadn't been on that road for a while and it was after getting bigger so I couldn't avoid it. If I had kept to the right hand side ditch I would have missed it:mad:

I feel your pain man, the list of roads around me that I wont drive on anymore is growing every day. (if my parents didnt live on one of them I wouldnt drive on that one either)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

Same has happened 'down country'.

Kearys in Midleton (and the city?) were a Toyota dealer for 12 of the 13 years I've been living in Cork and for a lot longer before that too afaik. Changed last year, Renault dealer now too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Toyota had too many dealers competing for the same business. When I sold them there were roughly 7 dealers within 40 minutes of me.

There's no money in toyotas now that the builders aren't buying land cruisers.

pajor wrote: »
    Same has happened 'down country'.

Kearys in Midleton (and the city?) were a Toyota dealer for 12 of the 13 years I've been living in Cork and for a lot longer before that too afaik. Changed last year, Renault dealer now too!

I think Linders were the oldest toyota dealer in dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

Linders is Dublin’s oldest Toyota dealer and we aim to use our wealth of experience to help you find the right new or used Toyota for you.

Yup.

Denis mahony wouldn't have been far behind them. Didn't linders start in Smithfield?

Yep. Have a large commercial property interest in smithfield as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

It will be a while until we see a serious dent in sales figures but (IMO) Kia & Hyundai are doing serious damage to Toyota. Both are putting out seriously good looking and decently built vehicles, and that's saying a whole lot from me as I'm no Asian car fan at all. The new Santa Fe is a stunning looking machine and seems excellently equipped.

Toyota really has become the boringmobile and not all that reliable anymore. Kia & Hyundai have what, 5 / 7 year warranties these days?

Big Nasty wrote: »
    It will be a while until we see a serious dent in sales figures but (IMO) Kia & Hyundai are doing serious damage to Toyota. Both are putting out seriously good looking and decently built vehicles, and that's saying a whole lot from me as I'm no Asian car fan at all. The new Santa Fe is a stunning looking machine and seems excellently equipped.

Toyota really has become the boringmobile and not all that reliable anymore. Kia & Hyundai have what, 5 / 7 year warranties these days?

Well you have former toyota dealer fitzpatricks with 3 Hyundai dealers, kearys with 2, Murphy and gunn, and hogans in Galway. These guys have a serious amount of repeat business and leads from when they were toyota dealers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Well you have former toyota dealer fitzpatricks with 3 Hyundai dealers, kearys with 2, Murphy and gunn, and hogans in Galway. These guys have a serious amount of repeat business and leads from when they were toyota dealers

I've a feeling bmw/audi are going to be the new toyota :o

I can see it happening in a few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I've a feeling bmw/audi are going to be the new toyota :o

I can see it happening in a few years

I can't believe you said that, car being sold if thats what people think of the marque :)
    I think since kia etc became more trusted, they have become the new car that everone gets.

Or astra's actually, yeah astra's :D

YbFocus wrote: »
    I can't believe you said that, car being sold if thats what people think of the marque :)
    I think since kia etc became more trusted, they have become the new car that everone gets.

Or astra's actually, yeah astra's :D

Silence you! :pac: if all goes to plan I should be out of this by december

Anywho, that's juts like, my opinion man :P

Of course there'll be no hinting as to what may be being looked at?

I presume a diesel is on the cards :)

Of course there'll be no hinting as to what may be being looked at?

I presume a diesel is on the cards :)

Well it's a diesel for sure, it's big, comfy, and german :D and they've been around for quite some time too ;)

it's not a bmw by the way :pac:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR2psCkEMKHVxzezDTCXGHoyONqGDmMJeFgdmgtS4C5As_scm8Rjg

:cool::cool::cool:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR2psCkEMKHVxzezDTCXGHoyONqGDmMJeFgdmgtS4C5As_scm8Rjg

:cool::cool::cool:

;) close but no cigar

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSD2vup9Se_IDhjA5dfcko3_6Pl_2KzEHvZbag2xqWbk6UyvmEeTg:confused: