Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Child removed from Roma gypsies-This time in DUBLIN *Mod Warning Post #1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

blame the witchunt tabloid culture. If the guards didn't act, and harm did come to the child there would be war: "we warned them but they didn't listen"
    Also the parents couldn't prove they were really the childs parents. It's a touchy subject, should we put the childs safety first and take action until we know for sure, or should we give the adults the benefit of the doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭constance tench

I don't think anyone here is suggesting gasing/torturing members of the Roma community.

I think people need to calm the f**k down though; there's no actual solid evidence that they've been going around snatching people's babies to sell them into human trafficking. If this transpires to be the case, then we work out a strategy to deal with it and bring the perpetrators to justice.

A gang of Romanian gipsy child-snatchers stole almost 200 poor children from their families and brought them to Britain to pick pockets, a court heard...
    Twenty-six men went on trial at Harghita Criminal Court accused of trafficking offences.
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/romania/8027694/Romanian-gipsy-gang-snatched-200-children-from-homes-to-use-them-as-beggars.html

... an interesting list of Romany words to describe the 'culture' for all ...'Gaje' (GAH-zhe)

ftp://ftp.cirr.com/pub/SCRIBE/Stage/Romany.Txt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

EyeSight wrote: »
    blame the witchunt tabloid culture. If the guards didn't act, and harm did come to the child there would be war: "we warned them but they didn't listen"
    Also the parents couldn't prove they were really the childs parents. It's a touchy subject, should we put the childs safety first and take action until we know for sure, or should we give the adults the benefit of the doubt

Then maybe post a garda outside the house ? Traumatising children just to be sure seems just wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Is it considered rascism to tell the truth. the vast majority of the community are involved in crime

I assume when you say 'vast majority' you are referring to the Roma people?

If so, care to provide some evidence to your statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,245 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Threads merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

SpaceTime wrote: »
    You had no documentation in your own name at all??!!

Never needed it until moving to the UK.

petrolcan wrote: »
    I assume when you say 'vast majority' you are referring to the Roma people?

If so, care to provide some evidence to your statement?

Have a look at the ftp above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Then maybe post a garda outside the house ? Traumatising children just to be sure seems just wrong.
    The act doesn't give them the power to place anyone under house arrest. The option available to them is to take the child into temporary care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,575 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

They've had reps from the Roma community involved in the organisation for years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

No. They have worked with Roma for years

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

seamus wrote: »
    The act doesn't give them the power to place anyone under house arrest. The option available to them is to take the child into temporary care.

Fair enough. If both of these cases turn out to be biological parents then what. My other problem is with children in care of the state that have been left to die where were the garda then ?

Is this not worrying for anyone else? I dislike Roma gypsies as much as many people, but is it not pushing it to have their children removed? Sure, one family might have had someone else's child, but it doesn't mean they all do. It reminds me of after the Boston Bombing, pretty much any one with tanned skin became a suspect - wasn't a Saudi Arabian person who was out for a jog arrested?

Have a look at the ftp above.

That link doesnt answer petrolcans question at all

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Is this not worrying for anyone else? I dislike Roma gypsies as much as many people, but is it not pushing it to have their children removed? Sure, one family might have had someone else's child, but it doesn't mean they all do. It reminds me of after the Boston Bombing, pretty much any one with tanned skin became a suspect - wasn't a Saudi Arabian person who was out for a jog arrested?

Yes. It is worrying. Its called racism and racial profiling!

Terry Pratchet

Little do they know...apparently Travelers are considered...

'Mahrim' (MAH-ree-may) (also Mokadi (mo-KAH-dee)) -- 'Unclean and impure in a spiritual way.' because they don't have 'Romany blood'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,575 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You don't need to look any further than how Irish people were treated in the UK over a certain period of time, and all because of the actions of a tiny handful of people. Considering that, it always makes me roll my eyes to hear Irish people say that they've no problem with generalising and acting according to race etc.

It is even more frustrating when you see children of terrible terrible backgrounds who won't be taken away, despite the fact they really should and yet they're out there removing children of innocent people who could just be excellent parents.

Little do they know...apparently Travelers are considered...

'Mahrim' (MAH-ree-may) (also Mokadi (mo-KAH-dee)) -- 'Unclean and impure in a spiritual way.' because they don't have 'Romany blood'...

Pavee Point work with Roma. They represent Roma within European institutions. They do understand Roma history and culture. So frankly your suggestion that they don't know is absurd and groundless.

Terry Pratchet

Pavee Point work with Roma. They represent Roma within European institutions. They do understand Roma history and culture. So frankly your suggestion that they don't know is absurd and groundless.

No, it's not absurd and groundless.Anybody that does not have Romani blood are called

Gaje (GAH-zhe) (or Geyro, Giorgio)Gaje are viewed as foolish and honourless, and thus it is considered all right to trick, swindle and steal from them when it is necessary...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,467 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

It's just been confirmed that the 7 year old girl is the biological child of the Roma couple.

This has been a sad week for race relations in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,188 ✭✭✭✭listermint

It's just been confirmed that the 7 year old girl is the biological child of the Roma couple.

Any links on that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Absoluvely

listermint wrote: »
    Any links on that ?

Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,467 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

listermint wrote: »
    Any links on that ?

It's all over twitter, confirmed by the Irish Independent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Independent link here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Oh ****, I don't use the name on my birth cert. will I be lifted?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

I don't think anyone here is suggesting gasing/torturing members of the Roma community.

I think people need to calm the f**k down though; there's no actual solid evidence that they've been going around snatching people's babies to sell them into human trafficking. If this transpires to be the case, then we work out a strategy to deal with it and bring the perpetrators to justice.

so can you tell me about the garden shed in the video i posted , locked , with 15 children in it , kept for the once thing , stealing and robbery

they kept the kids worse than you would keep a dog

but - as we know - they are all squeaky clean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Massive embarrassment for the Gardaí and HSE. I call for resignations for this farcical episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Massive embarrassment for the Gardaí and HSE.
    Not to mention for a lot of posters and thankers on this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,188 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Massive embarrassment for the Gardaí and HSE. I call for resignations for this farcical episode.

Embarrassing how so? Taking child welfare into consideration. Following through with investigations due to poor/no initial proof of parentage.

Sure we'd all be giving out sh%t in here if it turned out the guards did nothing.

Swings and roundabouts.

Alls well that ends well. I despise people calling for heads stupidly.