Expat Life: how weird are the locals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

British people fake laugh a lot, not sure why

Because they like you, but you just aren't funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

So, we have established that many of the posters here have emigrated. I myself have technically been an expat since I was 3. I am currently living with the Dutch, and they are far, far weirder than I ever could have imagined.

These people have no curtains, the kids beg their parents for raw herring rather than ice cream, I frequently see mopeds with dogs wearing flight goggles in the basket in the front, and going for a beer means arriving strictly on time and having ONE beer.

Madness. How weird are your locals?

Awwww…spent years there. Love the lifestyle….going for a few beers in the brown cafes, Queens Day, the Vondelpark and above all, I miss my bike!

I loved that there was no curtains and nobody cared - makes a change to the 'squinting windows' fairly prevalent in our aul sod!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Madrid and the locals are not weird at all or else I've just got used to them (over 4 years here). Fairly conformist nationality, the Spanish and people don't really go for individualism at all. If they do do anything a bit left field, they do it in ma-hoo-sive groups.

Dunno if it has anything to do with their fantastic healthcare but it's rare to meet mad people about (or "Characters" as we call them in Ireland). There are things that are done differently alright but very little that'd make me think, "Oooh that's weird!".

Rare to meet characters?? I live a few hours further up north and there's loads of head-the-balls around here. In fact they seem to concentrate in the bar where my missus works. It seems an unusually high proportion of their clientele (if that's the right word) are nutballs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

British people fake laugh a lot, not sure why

Yep, sure, every single last one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

jester77 wrote: »
    It's good :)Feodora would be my favourite.

Don't know if they have that brand here but if it is good chocolate then it is worth my time to find out. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Just back after three years in Canada: the lack of eye contact is the first thing I've noticed.

People are curious about other people in Canada. They'll hold your gaze as you walk down the street, through the subway tunnel, or when you're sat on a streetcar - not creepily, sometimes you'll get a nod or a smile, but they won't avert their gaze before you even catch them looking like an Irish person will.

The excessive politeness is almost like a piss-take - "please" and "thank you" all over the gaff, doors held, every sentence seems to be prefaced or concluded by "I'm sorry". It's a bit OTT in the service industry, "can I help you ma'am?" "you have a good day'.

And yet with this politeness, they tend to be cooler and less emotionally open with strangers. Less emotional than us in general I would say. The banter is less. You'd rarely initiate random conversation at a bus stop, you'd be sooner lumped in with the crazies than some sort of friendship emerging like in Ireland. There's sort of a twee reserve about them, a strong influence of the "Victorian gentleman" kind of feel, which I suppose makes sense given their history.

Oh, and there are rides EVERYWHERE. They are a beautiful people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

beks101 wrote: »
    Just back after three years in Canada: the lack of eye contact is the first thing I've noticed.

People are curious about other people in Canada. They'll hold your gaze as you walk down the street, through the subway tunnel, or when you're sat on a streetcar - not creepily, sometimes you'll get a nod or a smile, but they won't avert their gaze before you even catch them looking like an Irish person will.

Saying that, the banter is less. It's rare that someone will randomly strike up a conversation on the street or at a bus stop about the weather or whatever, you're likely to be looked at as one of the crazies if you attempt it.

I've noticed that in the US too...no-one breaks gaze with you. I've had to learn to nod or say "howdy" to strangers much more .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

And ex-pat moves country coz the company he works for offer him a job in the new place.
    And immigrant...well y'know what that is.

I think it has a lot to do with people trying to distinguish themselves from immigrants who they see as beneath them. I know a lot of people here who moved here to work by their own free will, are here long-term and who who call themselves "Ex pats". I find it very snobby tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

gramar wrote: »
    Rare to meet characters?? I live a few hours further up north and there's loads of head-the-balls around here. In fact they seem to concentrate in the bar where my missus works. It seems an unusually high proportion of their clientele (if that's the right word) are nutballs.

Specifically Madrid. A distinct lack of nutcases for a capital city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I think it has a lot to do with people trying to distinguish themselves from immigrants who they see as beneath them. I know a lot of people here who moved here to work by their own free will, are here long-term and who who call themselves "Ex pats". I find it very snobby tbh.

Speaking as someone who has spent 20 years as an immigrant, ex-pats are white, immigrants are brown/black.

Feckin immigrants..
    I'm an immigrant.
    Oh, not you...you are an ex-pat/new citizen..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Actually ex-pats are the English abroad. Irish people are fine with being emigrants. ( or immigrants where they are).

Specifically Madrid. A distinct lack of nutcases for a capital city.

Nobody locking people's gates, peeing on them in fast food restaurants, or uploading their girl friends to you porn this week then? Dry bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

osarusan wrote: »
    In Tokyo...nothing too weird. Reserved but polite (have to be in such crowded places), good sense of humour when you get to know them. 24 hour places, great trains and clean streets...easy to live here.

To veer into generalisations, they are quite a conservative people, and the fact that they are self-sufficient in many ways means that they aren't always that up to speed on the rest of the world.

Korea is very conservative too, even more so than Japan as far as I can tell. Koreans tend to hate the Japanese with a passion. It's a colonial thing.

The group mentality is strong with this one...

- everyone wears the same style/colour clothing, it's about fitting in rather than standing out.

- all cars are either silver, white or black. Rare to see anything else.:confused:

- middle aged women all have the exact same hair-style. Little variation in dress/fashion in their age group.

-it's considered rude to talk on the metro/bus... so it's always nice and quiet:)

-K-POP stars announce the Metro stops in multiple languages on some lines. Japanese always appears last on signs, even after English.

-due to a lack of pronouns, it is acceptable to point at people while you talk about them even if they're strangers.

-Many restaurants only serve group meals. Singles eat at home.

-plastic surgery is very common and is not judged. People talk casually about their new nose as if it was a new top.

-synchronized dancing is big, even in nightclubs. Everyone knows all the moves:pac:

-expect to date someone for 3months or more if you want sex. Westerners are popular here because we're "easy"...:p

-bus drivers are docked pay if their running late (regardless of traffic) so they drive like crazy and may run red lights

-it's considered safe for women to walk alone at night in many areas as crime is very low (rape is possibly under-reported though)

-many people have a high standard of English and are eager to practice. Koreans are not shy about starting conversations and are always willing to help you out if they see you looking at a map. You rarely have to ask, the English speakers will be over to you before you need too.

-Older Koreans have little or no English but that doesn't stop them trying to converse with you. I've had strangers pour drinks into paper cups and offer it to me (usually rice wine) in the local parks if I pass by a picnic.

-if a Westerner commits a crime it's literally all over the news, even if it's just a speeding ticket. Crimes are always worse when your a foreigner (so just like here really:rolleyes:)

-South East Asians are their equivalent of Eastern Europeans here, they are sadly looked down upon (taking jobs, women etc...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

When living amongst the British (English to be precise) I noticed that they would laugh at really odd, unfunny, rather predictable jokes/events. The people I worked with, certainly, would find even the most mundane of things hilarious.

That sounds a bit like reading through this thread at times.

Alun wrote: »
    Pretty weird, I'm English living here in Ireland :D

I know.

Their kitchens are full of presses and their shore is nowhere near the sea, it's on the side of a road!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

beks101 wrote: »
    You'd rarely initiate random conversation at a bus stop

No, but staring is fine! :P:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

My parents always refered to themselves as expats, or is that to simple a reason for you?

I know.

Their kitchens are full of presses and their shore is nowhere near the sea, it's on the side of a road!

Shut it and fix the immersion in the hot press, Brit boy. And get the messages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

This place is weird. The culture is entirely different and the people, when you actually end up dealing with a Saudi instead of an Indian or Filipino, can be extremely, rude especially to the infidel. Getting used to their operating hours can be a bit of a struggle as well, most things seem to happen only in the evening, around here things certainly only seem to open at night bar the larger shopping centres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

And while you're at it, pull up your pants!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

MadsL wrote: »
    I find this hard to believe. You've gone native.

The weirdos are weird, but the locals are normal, I suppose.

One thing I will say now is that the total lack of random violence means people can walk around wearing clothes that would result in them getting dog's abuse/the total sh!t kicked out of them in Ireland.

But I think that makes us the weird ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,557 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Not to mention their presses are all full of delph.

I thought that was English as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Funkfield

And their Queen is called Inda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Reindeer

In Tokyo...nothing too weird. Reserved but polite (have to be in such crowded places), good sense of humour when you get to know them. 24 hour places, great trains and clean streets...easy to live here.

To veer into generalisations, they are quite a conservative people, and the fact that they are self-sufficient in many ways means that they aren't always that up to speed on the rest of the world.
    MadsL wrote: »
    I find this hard to believe. You've gone native.

As do I - my mother was from Osaka, Japan. Even growing up with her in the States she would occasionally confuse me. The one that sticks in my mind the most is eating live octopus. Of all the things to eat alive, that has got to be the most creepy crawly thing to feast upon. It also looks at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Flaker

My friend lived there and thought it was pretty weird. Particularly the men who would stare at you, read porn mags on the train and grope you at every opportunity. But no-one really ever talked to each other. Also weirdly, despite this, she felt it was a very safe palce to live. Go figure...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I live in London and despite the moaners and haters, it's pretty acceptable. I'm blessed to have a wide circle of friends which helps. I don't find them weird but I have smiled at new Irish who confide in me that there's "lots of foreigners in London" :D

One parent is American, wifey is Japanese so could happily settle in Hawaii or Kagoshima, I reckons. The culture of the latter fascinates me (has done all my life) so that's where my future lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Yeah nothing weird about Tokyo at all....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Flaker wrote: »
    My friend lived there and thought it was pretty weird. Particularly the men who would stare at you, read porn mags on the train and grope you at every opportunity. But no-one really ever talked to each other. Also weirdly, despite this, she felt it was a very safe palce to live. Go figure...

That is such a gross misrepresentation of Japan :(

Ffs, don't leave the immersion heater on!