Mid Week Pints at the Local Pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Now quizzes are something I'd go to! Wouldn't drink though.

Used to have great craic at the pub quiz,and always had a few pints.Alas,it has been ruined of late.The last one I went to had people goin out for a "smoke" and coming back in with the answers to their unanswered questions.The cheating was so blatant that even those organizing the events thought "what's the point".
    The publicans just have to be a bit more creative if they want to keep the mid-week trade going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Some clever pub owner should insitute a no mobiles policy. Lock up the mobiles and tag them on the way in.

Amongst other things it'd be nice to enjoy a pint without having to stop for some dimwit to take a photo every other minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,355 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

I am pie wrote: »
    Some clever pub owner should insitute a no mobiles policy. Lock up the mobiles and tag them on the way in.

Amongst other things it'd be nice to enjoy a pint without having to stop for some dimwit to take a photo every other minute.

I was talking to someone about this a week or two ago when he said he was at a pub quiz recently.
    The "house rule" was that everyone had to out their phones in the middle of the table for the quiz. Surprisingly everyone obliged and there appeared to be no cheating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

One of my locals has that, and it is much better for it, suits me down to the ground.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

crockholm wrote: »
    Used to have great craic at the pub quiz,and always had a few pints.Alas,it has been ruined of late.The last one I went to had people goin out for a "smoke" and coming back in with the answers to their unanswered questions.The cheating was so blatant that even those organizing the events thought "what's the point".

Yeah, quizzes are utterly ruined now. :( Can people not prize themselves from their smartphones? What's the point in winning if you know it was just by looking up stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Because it's fun and I really enjoy it. There isn't many nights out id spend less than 60 euro never mind 40 euro.

Really starting to sound like a childish dick measuring contest at this stage. I can drink at least X and have little or no problems with a hangover. I never spend less than Y on a night out. Jaysus

Funny, I remember being able to go out and drink 8 or 9 pints on a Wednesday or Thursday night and roll into work the following morning. I'd do that at least once a week and then destroy myself on both the Friday and Saturday night.
    I'm in my late 30s now and haven't been able to do that for the last few years. The old body just can't break down alcohol as well as it used to. :o
    Occasionally I'll meet the lads on a Thursday night but 4 or 5 pints is all I can have. Anything more and I'm a mess the following morning.

Gotta love being middle aged. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Heroditas wrote: »
    I was talking to someone about this a week or two ago when he said he was at a pub quiz recently.
    The "house rule" was that everyone had to out their phones in the middle of the table for the quiz. Surprisingly everyone obliged and there appeared to be no cheating.

Into Ziploc plastic bags in the middle of the table. It's the only way to enjoy a quiz anymore.

K-9 wrote: »
    One of my locals has that, and it is much better for it, suits me down to the ground.

For a table quiz a phone should be in the middle of the table but in general I can't understand peoples problem with phones in pubs. I'd refuse to drink in a pub that wanted to take my phone. Its far too important in this day and age and its totally impractical to be away from it for any length of time. How are you supposed to keep in contact with people who aren't there, where will they meet you, someone at home needing to ask you something, following sporting events etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,535 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Funny, I remember being able to go out and drink 8 or 9 pints on a Wednesday or Thursday night and roll into work the following morning. I'd do that at least once a week and then destroy myself on both the Friday and Saturday night.
    I'm in my late 30s now and haven't been able to do that for the last few years. The old body just can't break down alcohol as well as it used to. :o
    Occasionally I'll meet the lads on a Thursday night but 4 or 5 pints is all I can have. Anything more and I'm a mess the following morning.

Gotta love being middle aged. :pac:

Your gonna love your late 40's so! :)

How are you supposed to keep in contact with people who aren't there, where will they meet you, someone at home needing to ask you something, following sporting events etc etc.

Welcome to the 90s/80s/70s etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

For a table quiz a phone should be in the middle of the table but in general I can't understand peoples problem with phones in pubs. I'd refuse to drink in a pub that wanted to take my phone. Its far too important in this day and age and its totally impractical to be away from it for any length of time. How are you supposed to keep in contact with people who aren't there, where will they meet you, someone at home needing to ask you something, following sporting events etc etc.

Because they often ruin the dynamic of certain pubs. If you're in an anonymous sports bar in town then that's something else, but in general they can be a pain in the ass. I went to a pub with my old doll a couple of weeks ago and these two women came in and sat across from us and were glued to their iPhones for five minutes at a time. They then proceeded to take photos of themselves for Facebook, and went back to not talking. It's bloody annoying when you're in the middle of a conversation and someone decides to start staring at a phone, like Facebook or Messenger is a drug they've to get a regular hit from or something.

There's a pub in Cork City called the HiB that will throw you out the door if you're on the blower. It isn't a coincidence that it's one of the best pubs in town for the craic.

Welcome to the 90s/80s/70s etc!

I hate this reasoning. We have it now, we are used to it so why not use it. If we had it then we would have been using them too.

Its like telling someone to get a boat to america today because they didn't have planes two hundred years ago.
    FTA69 wrote: »
    Because they often ruin the dynamic of certain pubs. If you're in an anonymous sports bar in town then that's something else, but in general they can be a pain in the ass. I went to a pub with my old doll a couple of weeks ago and these two women came in and sat across from us and were glued to their iPhones for five minutes at a time. They then proceeded to take photos of themselves for Facebook, and went back to not talking. It's bloody annoying when you're in the middle of a conversation and someone decides to start staring at a phone, like Facebook or Messenger is a drug they've to get a regular hit from or something.

None of that really bothers me to be honest including taking photos once they are not taking them constantly. Sometimes its nice to have a couple of photos from a night out, once they aren't taken too late when everyone is pi*sed.
    There's a pub in Cork City called the HiB that will throw you out the door if you're on the blower. It isn't a coincidence that it's one of the best pubs in town for the craic.

I've been there a few times, its a grand pub to have a drink in now and again but its usually too packed and yes they discourage phone use but I've yet to be thrown out for texting someone or checking a sports result etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

It's bloody annoying when you're in the middle of a conversation and someone decides to start staring at a phone, like Facebook or Messenger is a drug they've to get a regular hit from or something.

If someone is doing this all the time it probably means that they find you boring, and you certainly find them boring. I'd stop going to the pub with that person, it's hardly the phone's fault.

You go outside to use it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

There's a lovely little pub in the heart of Knightsbridge where if your mobile rings, you're told to take it outside. Quite refreshing.

You go outside to use it.

For talking on the phone its not too bad to have to go outside (though I still disagree with it) but its nazi stuff if you cant send a text or check the leaderboard in the golf or something like that.

A night out is about relaxing and enjoying yourself not having rules forced on you. As I said other people on the phone or texting etc doesn't bother me in the least on a night out or if its just down local for a few.

For talking on the phone its not too bad to have to go outside (though I still disagree with it) but its nazi stuff if you cant send a text or check the leaderboard in the golf or something like that.

Go outside to send a text, Jaysus are you that important a person that a text can't wait a few minutes?

If its a decent bar the barman will stick on Sky Sports or whatever to check the score, or else teletext it.

Go outside to send a text, Jaysus are you that important a person that a text can't wait a few minutes?

If its a decent bar the barman will stick on Sky Sports or whatever to check the score, or else teletext it.

What if I'm having a conversation with someone over text, do you expect me to keep getting up and going outside? Just because you are happy to stop communicating with the outside world when you are in the pub doesn't mean everyone is.

Its a nonsense rule, what's the problem with sending a few texts or checking something on the net?

If it's a decent bar, it won't have a TV at all. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

If someone is doing this all the time it probably means that they find you boring, and you certainly find them boring. I'd stop going to the pub with that person, it's hardly the phone's fault.

Ha I considered the possibility that I'm a boring bastard but the fact is that some people carry on with this behaviour all of the time. Whether they be in work, on a train, in a group or with another individual. I wasn't singling out one person in particular, I know a few people like that and used to see it all the time when I worked in a pub.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Ha I considered the possibility that I'm a boring bastard but the fact is that some people carry on with this behaviour all of the time. Whether they be in work, on a train, in a group or with another individual. I wasn't singling out one person in particular, I know a few people like that and used to see it all the time when I worked in a pub.

Last time I worked in a pub, the only annoying thing would be some of the clubbers on their way to hear Mark Moore at The Fridge :D

What if I'm having a conversation with someone over text, do you expect me to keep getting up and going outside?

I'm sure it could wait til the next morning, if not go outside.
    Just because you are happy to stop communicating with the outside world when you are in the pub doesn't mean everyone is.

Go to another bar then.
    Its a nonsense rule, what's the problem with sending a few texts or checking something on the net?

Nothing really, just like there shouldn't be a problem checking them outside. In fairness the rule is no phone calls, not texts or checking results!

old hippy wrote: »
    There's a lovely little pub in the heart of Knightsbridge where if your mobile rings, you're told to take it outside. Quite refreshing.

Knightsbridge...urghhh

Personal taste, I don't need to know what every is doing every other 10 seconds and if I am in a pub I would hope that I would not be so rude as to being having a conversation with someone else rather than the person I am with.

Step up out of the swamp of useless information for a few momemts and try talking to the people who are in the same pub as you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Quite frankly I'd prefer people having a quick check on their phone than the entire put being subjected to Sky Sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I'm not even saying you're boring, not at all. Just that some people aren't compatible.

Usually if you're chatting to someone in a bar one of you will start talking about something, the other will shift it a bit, you'll shift it again, and eventually you're talking about something you're both interested in. If this doesn't happen and someone is turning to their phone for entertainment, you should both be talking to other people instead. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Quite frankly I'd prefer people having a quick check on their phone than the entire put being subjected to Sky Sports.

Not everyone has a smartphone. Not yet anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Not everyone has a smartphone. Not yet anyway.

I have, but I am seriously considering chucking the thing in the bin and using my old 6310i only.

jimgoose wrote: »
    I have, but I am seriously considering chucking the thing in the bin and using my old 6310i only.

Stop I'd crack up without my iPhone. I had to wait a week to get a new one when I lost my last one. I lasted one day with an old phone before I managed to find someone willing to loan me a smartphone to tide me over for the rest of the week.