Adios Arthurs Day

• 14-10-2013 04:02PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭

Well, according to the news, Diageo is to call time on Arthur's Day.

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/10/14/no-moore-arthur-just-waterboy-from-now-on/

Will anyone really miss it? I think it was OK for the first year to mark Guinness's 250th anniversary but having it as an annual event was really taking the proverbial...
    As if us Irish needed an excuse to go and get hammered. :rolleyes:

Good riddance to Arthurs Day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

this will solve Ireland's drinking problem

Everyone knows we only drink on designated drinking days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

A lot can happen in 11 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

What about Martha?

Thank the sweet Lord I never have to hear (hopefully) drunken fools shouting that out every 5 fooking minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭nelly17

wprathead wrote: »

Monday,Tuesday,Wednesday,Thursday,Friday, Saturday & Sunday

I met my now Wife on Arthurs day.
    So it was good for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

I don't get the backlash over this. If you don't like it, then don't go to any of the places participating in it. That simple. I've never "celebrated" Arthur's Day but I wouldn't say no to a free gig and a free pint on a Thursday if the mood took me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Agreed with the OP. Any company or brand that reached 250 years deserves to pat itself on the back. But bringing it back year on year was unnecessary. I remember the scramble for tickets in 2009 for some venues. Girls were desperate to be involved having never drank the black stuff ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I avoided town on it to be honest - too messy for an auld fogey like me.

I won't miss it.

Although the source for that is The Sun - hardly reliable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

wprathead wrote: »

Yeah, Saturdays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Fingers crossed this is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

nelly17 wrote: »
    Monday,Tuesday,Wednesday,Thursday,Friday, Saturday & Sunday

Yeah, only the days that end in day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Well done Christy Moore...I suggest we all buy his new CD as a way of saying thanks. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Hopefully we can get the Heineken Cup cancelled next. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

lets kill paddys day too while we're at...

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Mr.McLovin wrote: »

We'll keep that but Valentines Day can fcuk right off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I'm pretty pissed off about this tbh- I went out the last 2 Arthur's Days and had a great time. There was a good atmosphere, some great live music and general craic.

I stayed for 3 drinks and then headed off home. Was in work the next day as normal and no hangover to be had.

What's the effin problem?

Master of the Universe

What's the effin problem?

Not you, but the rest of the drunk eejits puking all over the streets midday, fighting and clogging up A&E :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

o1s1n wrote: »
    Fingers crossed this is true.

Why? I never paid any notice of it myself, but I don't understand why people seem to hate it so much. It's a clever marketing ploy but nobody was holding a gun to your head and forcing you to go to the pub on the day.

I'd hardly call the success of a few Helen Lovejoy types a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Am I the only one who has never seen a problem on Arthurs, never seen a fight, never seen a scuffle never seen a thing.

I have been out every year from 5-? and its always been good craic with mates.

There are worse on student nights or wednesdays or weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Yippee, but what will all these sober people do, if there was some kind of project or idea to grow would be great just to keep peoples mind off the gargle....
    Google's : giving up Guinness starting a project

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Did the guy from Diageo go to the A&E ward after like he said to see all of the drink related admissions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

i for one will miss this and for those who complain about it, well some people simply have to complain about something

Master of the Universe

Why? I never paid any notice of it myself, but I don't understand why people seem to hate it so much. It's a clever marketing ploy but nobody was holding a gun to your head and forcing you to go to the pub on the day.

I'd hardly call the success of a few Helen Lovejoy types a good thing.

Because I absolutely hate it. Hate everything about it. Hate having to commute home that day through the city centre every year, pushing my way through all the drunken fools, shouting inane phrases given to them by the marketing team of Diageo.

Hate the stupid bands that play at it. Hate the stupid TV ads that go with it. It just really feckin' winds me up. :pac:

Always had a great night Arthur's day and got a few free pints so it will be missed. Hopefully something will get organised around that time anyway just to to give two fingers to the begrudgers if nothing else.

Some awful dry sh*tes around lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

o1s1n wrote: »
    Because I absolutely hate it. Hate everything about it. Hate having to commute home that day through the city centre every year, pushing my way through all the drunken fools, shouting inane phrases given to them by the marketing team of Diageo.

Hate the stupid bands that play at it. Hate the stupid TV ads that go with it. It just really feckin' winds me up. :pac:

You could say that about any celebration.

All this means is one less special event per year for Ireland. Cities all around Europe have countless festivals and celebrations throughout the year and shock-horror, yes, they involve alcohol.

I actually can't believe it's being scrapped. The anti-fun brigade has won again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

danniemcq wrote: »
    Am I the only one who has never seen a problem on Arthurs, never seen a fight, never seen a scuffle never seen a thing.

I have been out every year from 5-? and its always been good craic with mates.

There are worse on student nights or wednesdays or weekends.

Exactly-I was out the Saturday night before Arthur's Day this year and saw way worse behaviour. Idiots are idiots, some people are too thick to learn how to handle their drink. Don't see why the rest of us have to suffer.

Typical pandering to the lowest denominator of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,598 ✭✭✭Duff

Hope it's not true. Always had good craic on Arthur's Day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Mr.McLovin wrote: »

Or at least move it to the middle of July so we can celebrate in summer instead of the typical raining dreary march days which sees everyone go on the beer instead. St. Patrick's day could be a family day like the 4th of July instead of an alcoholics day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

You could say that about any celebration.

All this means is one less special event per year for Ireland. Cities all around Europe have countless festivals and celebrations throughout the year and shock-horror, yes, they involve alcohol.

I actually can't believe it's being scrapped. The anti-fun brigade has won again.

Are they any relation to the PC brigade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

If it is true but then nothing else happens, it's a farce.

If it is true and more is done to try and combat the negatives involved with having such a heavy drink culture, that's good. But I think it's more likely to be the former.

Who knows, maybe Diageo are pulling it because it's not worth the return, maybe they were hoping to turn non-consumers into new ongoing consumers and this isn't happening. They drink it the one night but go back to their regular poison afterwards. That would be more likely, money talks, bullsh1t walks...