Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

YbFocus wrote: »
    Brilliant, I love a good sleeper :)
    Not a rare car but one with a transplant, kudos to them boys!

I missed all this talk on sleepers! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

Well last night was a poxy evening. Drove to football with my mate, parked up and played and an hour or so later I tried to start the C5 and it would not start at all.

Plenty of power in the battery, plenty of fuel too but it would not start (it does turn over) even from multiple jump start attempts. To me it sounds like no diesel is getting to the engine because a few weeks ago it turned over, started and stopped quickly but I was on a hilly path / driveway so I rolled back and she was grand. This time, no hills though.

Raging now, cars just sitting at the astroturf. Lads if there any common problems with the 2007 Citroen 1.6HDI 110 not starting? I haven't tried the manual priming pump because I didn't know where it was until now and a few online reads suggest it could be an air leak.

PS I filled up in a non brand station on the old Navan road heading towards Navan, have done 450 miles with that tank and I'm not on the reserve yet so I'm not sure if it could of been the supplier - first time using them.

PPS: Dealer getting a call about this pronto!

OSI wrote: »
    Did you try opening and closing the drivers door a few times to prime the pump? Could you hear it prime at all?
    That I didn't even know I could do, I will try it and report back. My mechanics coming over with me in a little while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Did you try opening and closing the drivers door a few times to prime the pump? Could you hear it prime at all?

Seriously?
    Jaysus you can not be serious :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Hey Fox, you say she's not turning over?

Then fuel isn't your problem, she'd turn over without starting otherwise.

If she was fine and all of a sudden wouldn't start without warning, check all fuses etc.

That's all I have for you as I don't know anything of C5's :o

Hey Fox, you say she's not turning over?

Then fuel isn't your problem, she'd turn over without starting otherwise.

If she was fine and all of a sudden wouldn't start without warning, check all fuses etc.

That's all I have for you as I don't know anything of C5's :o
    Hey man, no she is turning over no problem at all but just not actually kicking in and starting (fixed my mixed up words in my original post, thanks).

Ah right man I took you up wrong then :o

@OSI - Is that honestly how the pump knows to prime in a C5? That's brilliant :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

diesel pump primes when drivers door opens?

I've never once heard that man :) Only heard of on the key for petrols and on the chain etc for diesels aswell obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Perhaps diesels are different, but I know plenty of petrols do. I've never dirtied my hands with the fuel of the devil, so feel free for someone to enlighten me.

Only ever noticed that on VAGs myself but others could do it too. Mostly it happenes when the key is turned on so that is something else to try. Has the fuel filter been changed?

Thats mad well I learned my thing for today :)

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Only ever noticed that on VAGs myself but others could do it too. Mostly it happenes when the key is turned on so that is something else to try. Has the fuel filter been changed?
    Just got a full service 800 miles ago so it has indeed.

Hasn't been great at starting since I got it now that I think about it, sometimes 2-4 seconds of turn over to start. Could it point to an injector issue?

Perhaps diesels are different, but I know plenty of petrols do. I've never dirtied my hands with the fuel of the devil, so feel free for someone to enlighten me.

well many diesel pump belt driven off engine, in tank not so obviously

i not recommend the door strategy to someone unless i know that specific car operates like that, i be thinkiing c5 does not

I've a hand pump in the engine bay. Handy on cold mornings.

We'll see a load of boardsies flapping doors at this meet :pac:

dgt wrote: »

Or any morning the car gives even a little murmer of not starting, swing the door for 5-10 minutes :D

Leaving work in the evenings "what are you doing?" "ahh I'm just priming her"

Yesterday was the first cold ass day since I got it but it only sat up for an hour which is what surprises me.

Or any morning the car gives even a little murmer of not starting, swing the door for 5-10 minutes :D

Leaving work in the evenings "what are you doing?" "ahh I'm just priming her"

A boardsie that shall remain nameless did that with one of my cars and actually smashed the door off the hinges..... I wasn't impressed to say the least!

I said try it, I didn't say it was a definitive, "if it doesn't prime when the door opens your car is scrap".

might as well do the Fran dance
    http://collegetimes.ie/2013/09/20/lovehates-season-4-teaser-trailer-fran-tastic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

A boardsie that shall remain nameless did that with one of my cars and actually smashed the door off the hinges..... I wasn't impressed to say the least!

Ah now in fairness he left it hanging slightly on. :P

Scortho wrote: »
    Ah now in fairness he left it hanging slightly on. :P

Hinges completely destroyed, couldn't put it on.... I wouldn't mind too much only the f*ckin lock mechanism was broke too!!!

How did he/she do so much bloody harm :) how was it achieved?

He was annoyed with the mods!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I said try it, I didn't say it was a definitive, "if it doesn't prime when the door opens your car is scrap".

You are right, when you open the drivers door on a c5 it levels itself and primes the diesel pump.

@advertsfox, did you have any message on the dash? Mine did this a couple of times and it was an immobiliser fault. To reset the immobiliser take both terminals off the battery and hold them together for 15-20 secs.

Edit: the fuel system is supposed to be self bleeding, I dont know if there is a manual pump.

pred racer wrote: »
    You are right, when you open the drivers door on a c5 it levels itself and primes the diesel pump.

@advertsfox, did you have any message on the dash? Mine did this a couple of times and it was an immobiliser fault. To reset the immobiliser take both terminals off the battery and hold them together for 15-20 secs.

Edit: the fuel system is supposed to be self bleeding, I dont know if there is a manual pump.
    Good to know!

No messages on the dash at all, I did at one point suspect the immobiliser so I will do that too. Going over in an hour with the mechanic to have a look see. Cheers man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

advertsfox wrote: »
    Good to know!

No messages on the dash at all, I did at one point suspect the immobiliser so I will do that too. Going over in an hour with the mechanic to have a look see. Cheers man.

Disconnect the air sensor (map/maf?)between the airbox and the engine too, when mine went it would start my car(barely) but we tried it on another c5 in the garage and it wouldnt start atall, just turn over.

Problem discovered lads, the fuel priming pump was empty / dry because the electronic fuel pump under the back seat is dead (no noise at all). Once we primed the fuel back in, she started just find. No error codes on the ODB as well so glad its not something major.

Now to ring this chap who sold us the car because he randomly told us when looking over the car that it had a manual fuel pump in the engine bay - why even say that unless he knew something was wrong.

As usual, thanks very much lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

advertsfox wrote: »
    Well last night was a poxy evening. Drove to football with my mate, parked up and played and an hour or so later I tried to start the C5 and it would not start at all.

Noooo it's happening again. You've effectively just described what happened to my 1.6tdci a few months ago. If you remember I was on the m8 one evening and the car just decided to stop doing 120kmh. No warning nothing. Pulled over into hard shoulder. Turning over wouldn't start. Then started for a second cut out and that was it wouldn't start at all. Had to get a tow truck from Kilkenny to me in cork to recover the car back to kilkenny it was an expensive night :( no breakdown cover in the insurance I thought there was.

Anyway filled it with diesel put on new fuel filter tried literally everything I could (there was a thread) still wouldn't start for love not money. Local main dealer Opel garage they are ford main dealer in other counties ( I know lads well in there so they were fair enough price wise) sent out a truck done diagnostics and after a day they got it restarted somehow. When I was talking to service manager when I went to collect it they said when it first started up it was running as rough as fcuk for ages but they eventually got it perfect.

If I was you the first thing I'd do is unplug the egr valve as I've heard stories from my own mechanic of focus 1.6tdci not starting after being parked up unplug egr start first turn this just shows the egr is gone. Very high failure rate on egr valves on this engine they go any where between 100-200k km according him he maintains 10 plus focus 1.6tdci alone so he know about them.

But if it's under warranty I'd just let the garage worry about it. Unfortunately in my case it was all out of my own pocket.

Edit was abit slow typing. Glad you know the cause. At least yours have a manual primer ford decided that wasn't necessary on the focus which Is a major pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

^ this is why diesels are more expensive to run that petrols :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭imtdub

Folks, is the Mileage on NCT cert genuine, even if the odometer has been clocked?

imtdub wrote: »
    Folks, is the Mileage on NCT cert genuine, even if the odometer has been clocked?

The mileage on the nct cert is the mileage that was showing on the car when it was tested.