Animal Rights group calls for a boycott of Love/Hate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Dancor wrote: »
    Complaining about the cat being shot but they don't care about Tommy chocking the chicken? Eijits

You have to chock them. If you don't they will roll away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

There's a huge problem with parents giving kids pellet guns, which the kids then go and use on animals, particularly cats, many of whom then end up losing an eye or a limb. I don't watch Love Hate, I had it living a few doors away from me and it's too close to the bone for my liking. But hey, the nation, scumbags included seem to enjoy watching scumbags.

I can't comment on the programme as I didn't watch it, but I'm assuming that people who did see it and complained are trying to highlight a culture of gun violence and other forms of violence towards animals by youngsters. A lot of cats and dogs will be tortured and killed in the run up to Halloween by junior scumbags so including gratuitous violence towards an animal, particularly at this time of year, is in really bad taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭PLUG71

Im loving some of the sense of humour on here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Baybay wrote: »
    They are absolutely not any more acceptable.

They were alternatives to how otherwise the lad could have been presented as a psycho.

Not really an option for him to go shooting a group of young lads though is it? First scene of a new season and a new character coming in and randomly killing a bunch of unknowns isn't really going to move the story forward. You can also assume that the cops would get involved pretty sharpish if that had happened which would then move the story away from the established characters or just make the whole thing pointless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Call for a boycott of show, a boycott that most people (who know the difference between fiction and reality) will ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭The Davestator

I've decided to boycott the Animal Rights Action Network. The fact that i didnt know they existed before this makes no difference to me.

I'm finished with them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭PLUG71

Maybe said scene could have showed the character shooting at animal rights protesters:P:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

I've decided to boycott the Animal Rights Action Network. The fact that i didnt know they existed before this makes no difference to me.

Can you forward contact details please, so I can let them know I will be ignoring them as well.

this gave me a giggle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

They should 'take out' a load of cats (pussy galore?) in next weeks episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

At the risk of being shot (:pac:) I am an animal rights activist. I attend peaceful demonstrations, lobby politicians for change etc but I have to be honest and say, this type of carry on actually annoys me. Yes a cat got shot (fictionally anyway) and it wasn't particularly pleasant for me as an animal lover to watch. Seeing people being (fictionally) killed doesn't knock a feather off me cause I dont really like people. I haaaaaaate when so called "activists" get hett up about the small stuff because it just gives all of us a bad name!

Like those loons who chained themselves to the trees in glen of the downs years ago - you have to know where to draw the line, otherwise you do your cause more harm than good. I would much rather spend my time and energy campaigning for the end of fur farms, vivisection, battery hens, live exports etc - the list is endless! Without wasting it by making a pleb of myself and whinging publicly about something that wasn't real in the first place.

We are not all crusty hippies wearing hand-woven clothes and feasting on soya bean juice (yack) and lentils...but the people who are parping on about this episode are certianly doing nothing to dispel that stereotype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Baybay

Dancor wrote: »
    Complaining about the cat being shot but they don't care about Tommy chocking the chicken? Eijits

You're right. There was no chicken disclaimer in the credits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    At the risk of being shot (:pac:) I am an animal rights activist. I attend peaceful demonstrations, lobby politicians for change etc but I have to be honest and say, this type of carry on actually annoys me. Yes a cat got shot (fictionally anyway) and it wasn't particularly pleasant for me as an animal lover to watch. Seeing people being (fictionally) killed doesn't knock a feather off me cause I dont really like people. I haaaaaaate when so called "activists" get hett up about the small stuff because it just gives all of us a bad name!

Like those loons who chained themselves to the trees in glen of the downs years ago - you have to know where to draw the line, otherwise you do your cause more harm than good. I would much rather spend my time and energy campaigning for the end of fur farms, vivisection, battery hens, live exports etc - the list is endless! Without wasting it by making a pleb of myself and whinging publicly about something that wasn't real in the first place.

We are not all crusty hippies wearing hand-woven clothes and feasting on soya bean juice (yack) and lentils...but the people who are parping on about this episode are certianly doing nothing to dispel that stereotype.

Did you see this, ONW? Nearly fell off me chair laughing:

http://www.fromthetrenchesworldreport.com/peta-crashes-biker-gathering-not-to-be-missed/27275

jimgoose wrote: »

May God forgive me but...

"Still others claimed they were forced to eat hamburgers and hot dogs under duress. Those who resisted were allegedly held down while several bikers “farted on their heads.”

May God forgive me but...

"Still others claimed they were forced to eat hamburgers and hot dogs under duress. Those who resisted were allegedly held down while several bikers “farted on their heads.”

Bloody good that, innit? I knew you'd like it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

I am an ARAN supporter and whilst I don't quite understand why they have got their knockers in a twist about this, I have to point out that they do an awful lot of good in other ways. They are not like PETA. They hold peaceful demonstrations and work to end things like vivsection, live animal exports and to stop animals being used in the circus.

I don't agree with calling for a boycott of the show. I do however think its unfortunate timing. This is the worst time of year for animal abuse. There are going to be cats out there that will meet their end in the next few weeks, in highly unpleasant ways.

Whether or not people are slating or praising ARAN, at least it has got people talking about animal abuse at a time when everybody needs to be more vigilant in and around their own communities.

I am an ARAN supporter and whilst I don't quite understand why they have got their knockers in a twist about this, I have to point out that they do an awful lot of good in other ways. They are not like PETA. They hold peaceful demonstrations and work to end things like vivsection, live animal exports and to stop animals being used in the circus.

I don't agree with calling for a boycott of the show. I do however think its unfortunate timing. This is the worst time of year for animal abuse. There are going to be cats out there that will meet their end in the next few weeks, in highly unpleasant ways.

Whether or not people are slating or praising ARAN, at least it has got people talking about animal abuse at a time when everybody needs to be more vigilant in and around their own communities.

Hear-hear. I have no time for cruelty to or abuse of our fellow-creatures. If you are a little psycho who hurts animals for fun, The Goose has a message for you: remember what happened to those PETA idiots who crashed the Hells Angels party, and cool it! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

What they really should have done, instead of calling for a boycott, was use it as an opportunity to raise awareness about what happens to animals around halloween.
    The boycott thing just put people off instantly. Its a shame cos they are usually on the ball and I would support them fully. They just missed the mark on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭LooksLikeRain

Baybay wrote: »
    You're right. There was no chicken disclaimer in the credits.

hope it wasnt a battery hen he choked, as this could cause renewed outrage over the series, not to mention a waste of batteries!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

What they really should have done, instead of calling for a boycott, was use it as an opportunity to raise awareness about what happens to animals around halloween.
    The boycott thing just put people off instantly. Its a shame cos they are usually on the ball and I would support them fully. They just missed the mark on this one.

Unfortunately for them, with this stunt they have portrayed themselves as loons to hundreds if not thousands of people. That damage will be hard to reverse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

There's a huge problem with parents giving kids pellet guns, which the kids then go and use on animals, particularly cats, many of whom then end up losing an eye or a limb.
    Is there? Are you talking about pellet guns (which require a license) or very underpowered airsoft pistols?

I can't comment on the programme as I didn't watch it, but I'm assuming that people who did see it and complained are trying to highlight a culture of gun violence and other forms of violence towards animals by youngsters.
    But their not doing that. The show does that by showing that violence and the people doing it are the bad guys. The show paints it all in a bad light. The activists are just jumping on the band wagon making moronic statements, complaining the show is doing the exact opposite from what it's actually doing.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Is there? Are you talking about pellet guns (which require a license) or very underpowered airsoft pistols?

But their not doing that. The show does that by showing that violence and the people doing it are the bad guys. The show paints it all in a bad light. The activists are just jumping on the band wagon making moronic statements, complaining the show is doing the exact opposite from what it's actually doing.

Do you not think the whole point of the show is that it kind of "glamourises" this kind of behavior? Lets be honest there's a little kid in all of us going, "oh wow, he's so coooooool" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭dealornodeal23

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    According to BreakingNews.ie the Animal Rights Action Network has their knickers in a right aul twist over the opening scene of the new series of Love/Hate, in which a cat has a bad day with a young skanger and a machine gun. They're calling for people to boycott the rest of the series.

What do ye think? Was the scene gratuitious or should the group realize it's drama, no animal was injured and cop on to themselves?

I'd be of the latter opinion myself - I absolutely abhore animal cruelty and the scene did give me a shock alright, but that's what it set out to do. It's the same crap that goes on every time a new series of the show comes out - same Joe Duffy style moaning about it glorifying gangland shenanigans etc. It doesn't, none of the characters in the show with the possible exception of Frano look like they are having a particularly good time doing what they do for a living - they're tragic figures.

The show is a cultural context, it's painting a dramatized picture of what goes on in a certain world - if the writers were to listen to every do-gooder civil society group whinging every time a gun came out we'd end up with Fair City 2.
    it would set a bad example

The Animal rights group with get their knickers in a twist if you fart beside a dog. They look for any excuse to complain.
    THANK GOD FOR ANIMAL RIGHTS GROUP !!!!

hfallada wrote: »
    I think its fu cking ridiculous that we live in a country that care more about animals than people. A lot of prisoners are kept in inhumane conditions, were every morning they have to empty their **** filled bucket. So their over crowded cell(that was built for 1 person, but has 3 in it) doesnt smell. Or they are staying in a prison full of drug users, but yet there is no detox units.I know some prisoners are "scumbags" but some are people who made the wrong decision and have to pay for their mistake in a modern day slum

But isnt dreadful in opening scene of a fiction tv show, that cat dies and there is up roar. We have some ****ed up priorities in this country.
    YOU ARE SICK !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

hfallada wrote: »
    I think its fu cking ridiculous that we live in a country that care more about animals than people.....

Really? Do you think we care about animals more...?

(note no machine guns were used)

http://www.ispca.ie/rescue_cases/view/cork_man_jailed_for_cruelty_to_a_horse

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/abandoned-horse-problem-astronomical-1.1463424

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/increase-in-number-of-dogs-being-abandoned-1.1513635

Er...how can a "country care about animals"? Its the people IN the country that care (or not) and I think you will find Ireland actually has a pretty bad reputation for animal abuse and general rights violations. But tbh...if someone cares more about animals, why do you care? Fuucking let them. Worry about your own issues and let other people worry about theirs. You cant bend people to your own will any more than animal lovers can bend you to theirs. I dont understand all this shouting at each other from opposite sides of the fence. Some people care about animals, not people. Some people care about people, not animals. Build a fuucking bridge and cross it for Gods sake.

I am completely unmoved by human suffering. It's just the way I am. So what? You want me to change who I am just so my heart can bleed for some toe rag junkie in a prison cell? Meh.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

There's a huge problem with parents giving kids pellet guns, which the kids then go and use on animals, particularly cats, many of whom then end up losing an eye or a limb.

Sorry but that just doesn't happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Mr Whirly

Gatling wrote: »
    Sorry but that just doesn't happen

The severity of the injuries caused may be exaggerated but you can be damn sure it happens and has been happening since I was a teenager 15 years ago. One particular scrote in my estate had a contraption that shot little darts which he liked to use on cats too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Do you not think the whole point of the show is that it kind of "glamourises" this kind of behavior? Lets be honest there's a little kid in all of us going, "oh wow, he's so coooooool" :pac:
    To me it's a story, thats what happened in the story. Trying to censor stories from reflecting on the real world is far more dangerous, it's as good as sticking your fingers in your ears, jumping up and down on the spot screaming "this isn't happening".