If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Pai Mei

Okay so I just got an email about Acc labs (I already posted my disgust at being appointed the Friday 5-6 one like two pages back :P ) and it said that this is just a time in front of a computer that there wont even be a lecturer/tutor there and that skipping it is fine. So does this mean that I can basically not go to it tomorrow as its basically pointless seeing as I have my own laptop??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭garv123

Pai Mei wrote: »
    Okay so I just got an email about Acc labs (I already posted my disgust at being appointed the Friday 5-6 one like two pages back :P ) and it said that this is just a time in front of a computer that there wont even be a lecturer/tutor there and that skipping it is fine. So does this mean that I can basically not go to it tomorrow as its basically pointless seeing as I have my own laptop??

Its a tutorial 5-6 tomorrow, not a lab.. the lab is a hour on thursday, which is only there incase you dont have access to a computer to do your homework on myacclab, so basically she has that slot there so you cant use that as an excuse.

enjoy 5-6:P

Assuming you're on about financial accounting?

garv123 wrote: »
    Its a tutorial 5-6 tomorrow, not a lab.. the lab is a hour on thursday, which is only there incase you dont have access to a computer to do your homework on myacclab, so basically she has that slot there so you cant use that as an excuse.

enjoy 5-6:P

Assuming you're on about financial accounting?

No lol I'm a first year and it's defo a lab :P Its the principle of Accounting lab and I did Acc for the LC so can I miss it?? My lecturer was the one who emailed and told us it's fine to miss it. So can I catch my bus now then????? :D:D:D

ahh we've an accounting one too, shared with first years, 5-6 on a friday that everyone is going nuts over :D

What is the point of it like?? If there is no tutor or lecturer there then they're basically saying that you should only come here if you don't have access to a computer... which I would think everybody has.

Will ye have an midterm computer exam?

Ours is mainly book to reserve the slot for the exam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

I'm supposed to be in that lab too, (friday 4-5) dont think i'll bother going in now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

If your going to walk slow don't take up the footpath and not allow other to pass you. You're just asking for a punch to the back of the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Zombie season again :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

Jester252 wrote: »
    If your going to walk slow don't take up the footpath and not allow other to pass you. You're just asking for a punch to the back of the head.
    Or when you're walking against two people taking up the full footpath and one person doesn't have the manners to fall behind their friend to let you pass so you're not walking on the road!

I just drop the shoulder and walk through them. I'm not getting my shoes dirty/ feet wet because you don't have any manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Or when you're walking five abreast on the living bridge it wouldn't kill ye to bunch up every now and again...

I'm going to get a can of spray paint and climb up to the new arena sign and spray and S onto the end of sport.

UL SPORT ARENA is annoying!!

Argh! People not knowing when the library opens kills me in the morning! But worse is when it's close to half 8, everyone is standing outside and people still come up to the doors and wonder why they don't open! We're hardly standing outside for a laugh and it is enough of a group to figure out people aren't just standing around! People!:pac: Feel a bit like Bernard Black today! 'Well the little man in my hair is getting very, very angry'

Had to include this one too, for all the annoying people who talk in the library! Everywhere should be a silent zone! :P

And in case you hadn't guessed I'm obsessed with Black Books and Dylan Moran! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Once you start trusting strangers it's a slippery slope downwards... :P

Ugh, this linguistics project is hurting my brain! Anyone else do this bloody module? It's a first year module and I'm only doing it because I'm doing alternative modules! Mistake! *Sigh*

Have to spend all afternoon making sample. GTA:O has to wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭VanishingActs

Ugh, this linguistics project is hurting my brain! Anyone else do this bloody module? It's a first year module and I'm only doing it because I'm doing alternative modules! Mistake! *Sigh*

I did Linguistics 1 last year. Hated every second of it! Linguistics 2 wasn't so bad though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Anyone know the best place to report taxi drivers for trying to take advantage of peoples drunkenness to get more money?

sup_dude wrote: »
    Anyone know the best place to report taxi drivers for trying to take advantage of peoples drunkenness to get more money?

Well the SU would be a good place to start. You could try the guards. I say that the National Transport Authority would also be a good place as they deal with taxi licences and regulations.

If it was a guy from one of the firms around the place then making a complaint to them would be a good place to go as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    If it was a guy from one of the firms around the place then making a complaint to them would be a good place to go as well.

I would if I knew. He drove off before I could get much detail from him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Got an email from Groody saying internet will be down about 10 minutes to carry out some updates... AS IF IT'S SOMETHING NEW!
    Sorry for any inconvenience caused, fingers crossed it might improve it, but I shan't be holding my breath...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Oh ffs. People who don't bother doing the requisite reading for a class and then dominate the lecture by shouting their opinion on something they have already admitted to not reading :confused:

G. T. F. O.

Emailed and lecturer nearly two days ago and he hasn't replied back yet. I've no module outline and the module isn't even on Sulis so I've no idea about assignments or anything and we haven't been emailed by him yet about anything either! Is anyone doing European Cinema who can shed any light on this? The lecturer is Joachim Fischer. Blah! I do not need this!

Love how UL footpaths turn into rivers if theres a shower of rain. The one on the from the arena to the east gate is brutal. The new one outside the bus stop isnt much better either.

Try the river walk thing that goes along the river bank. Legend has it that several people have gotten lost in those puddles and haven't been seen since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭21 Schump Street

any idea how to connect to the wired internet in the library? i've plugged in the cable but nothings happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

any idea how to connect to the wired internet in the library? i've plugged in the cable but nothings happening

Not being smart but make sure the wire is connected at the other end, some of the wires are very loose and easy to knock out. Should connect automatically otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 819 ✭✭✭ricimaki

It connects automatically. Some of the cables are crap. Check both ends are in fully, and try and get one with a latch that works.