Noisy dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Rosier

Many dog owners have no idea their dogs are barking all day as the dogs stop when they come home... some will be shocked when they learn this.

Tell them.

Nothing to do with dogs being unsettled. Lonely, separation anxiety..

Had trouble here, in a very rural area when the family across the fields chained their dogs up away from the house and left them out in all weathers. Howling, barking screaming hour after hour. Man is a drinker and would roil home in the small hours and set them off...

Tried the polite way, got the dog warden out etc and still it went on.

Called the dog warden and the gardai and the council ... Finally wrote a letter promising to take them to court and it has stopped. They seem to have moved the dogs a I occasionally hear a muffled whine

Worked for me this time and previously also.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    The vast majority of the population of the British Isles are quite delusional in that they see nothing wrong with the proposition that a modern densely populated urban estate is a suitable place to keep a dog.
    Depends on the estate, it may be a guard dog..... or a fighting dog!

Out here in the sticks, dogs usually roam free, their numbers kept in check by the traffic.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    The vast majority of the population of the British Isles are quite delusional in that they see nothing wrong with the proposition that a modern densely populated urban estate is a suitable place to keep a dog.

It can work but not if you leave the dog outside all the time. Our dogs are in at night ...NB rural but the same applies.

For many old ones a dog is their only companion and the only exercise they get. Many dogs need little exercise; grey hounds are couch potatoes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

Rosier wrote: »
    Many dogs need little exercise; grey hounds are couch potatoes
    Most large breeds will become couch potatoes if given the chance/opportunity of a nice settee :)

Rho b wrote: »
    Most large breeds will become couch potatoes if given the chance/opportunity of a nice settee :)
    So will the smaller ones as well, my jack russel cross will run for hours behind the bike when I exercise but given the chance, he'll slum it on the couch all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

So will the smaller ones as well, my jack russel cross will run for hours behind the bike when I exercise but given the chance, he'll slum it on the couch all day.
    I live in a rural situation and my JR cross always wants to be on the move whether be it hunting in the hedges etc. My rottie and lab xxxx prefer to chillax given the opportunity of the settee.
    Personally I think smaller breeds, particularly if they have terrier blood in them, have more of a hunting instinct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

naughto wrote: »
    if you havent being through it you do not no how f1ucking annoying it is.the little fu1cker is barking still about 4 houses down from me.hes at it all day.
    and will be tomorrow when the people go to work they f1uck the dog out in to the back garden and leave him there.

I've been putting up with it for 5 years! it's the price you pay for living in an estate. What can you do except go to war with everyone in your estate with a baking dog? Most dogs in estates bark! Most of your life would be spent fighting a battle you can never really win. Not worth it. Much easier to move to the country!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

Inbox wrote: »
    Get some hyena poo and let them sniff it through the fence. That'll scare them to silence.

Wow - what an amazing idea. And so many hyenas to choose from too! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Introduce yourself to the new neighbours and say about the dogs barking and ask if you can meet the dogs so they know at least you going in and out and might not bark. It probably won't work but it will serve to let them know that their dogs are causing a bit of a nuisance but that you're willing to be nice about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Last year one of my neighbours had a dog that barked non stop for an hour or more several times a day starting early in the morning. After about a month I had had enough so got up one morning at 6am and went out in the yard and shouted in their direction as loud as I could "shut that f@#king dog up" the dog was kept indoors when he barked from that morning.

It probably helped thatlall the houses form a semicircle so my shout would seem louder and most of the neighbours heard me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

Neighbours dog does the same, absolutely goes through your head after a couple of hours. Not just the barking, whining aswell, piercing on the ears after awhile because of how high a tone it is

Wish mine would! I have two high energy dogs who get ratty and tetchy and squabble if they don't get walked enough..sheeting rain here today..

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Last year one of my neighbours had a dog that barked non stop for an hour or more several times a day starting early in the morning. After about a month I had had enough so got up one morning at 6am and went out in the yard and shouted in their direction as loud as I could "shut that f@#king dog up" the dog was kept indoors when he barked from that morning.

It probably helped thatlall the houses form a semicircle so my shout would seem louder and most of the neighbours heard me.

Good for you! Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭padraig.od

Neighbours dog does the same, absolutely goes through your head after a couple of hours. Not just the barking, whining aswell, piercing on the ears after awhile because of how high a tone it is

call your local SPCA, or the dog warden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

This would not be a problem if everybody realised thats cats are a far more superior animal and a better choice of a pet. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Others have said it already but there really is a good chance the owners don't realize the dog is barking. That's not an excuse, IMHO, dog owners have a responsibility to make sure their dog isn't barking....but I digress.

The best thing to do is talk to them. If they are decent enough people, they'll apologize and take action to keep the dog quiet. If they are jerks, or if you don't feel comfortable bring it up - you can post them a note reminding them of their legal obligations (excessive barking is a crime).

That way, they have a chance to take care of the issue themselves, before you involve anyone else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

It can be rather annoying. My friend has a cocker spaniel. He has formed rather an attachment to the mutt, despite the fact that the dog is incapable of remaining quiet for more than 20 seconds (rather like his owner I once quipped). As a gun dog he is absolutely hopeless, and I hope I don't see him bounding out of the back of the Defender at any stage this winter.

lahalane wrote: »
    This would not be a problem if everybody realised thats cats are a far more superior animal and a better choice of a pet. :D

yeah, but that wont happen, because its simply not true tho :);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

UCDVet wrote: »
    Others have said it already but there really is a good chance the owners don't realize the dog is barking. That's not an excuse, IMHO, dog owners have a responsibility to make sure their dog isn't barking....but I digress.

The best thing to do is talk to them. If they are decent enough people, they'll apologize and take action to keep the dog quiet. If they are jerks, or if you don't feel comfortable bring it up - you can post them a note reminding them of their legal obligations (excessive barking is a crime).

That way, they have a chance to take care of the issue themselves, before you involve anyone else.

+1, have a chat and find out if they're reasonable first, before bringing on the big guns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Depends on the estate, it may be a guard dog..... or a fighting dog!

Out here in the sticks, dogs usually roam free, their numbers kept in check by the traffic.

I thought it was the opposite.

Out in the sticks I'd keep my dog on a lead as its quite common for farmers to shoot stray dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,568 ✭✭✭naughto

3rdDegree wrote: »
    I've been putting up with it for 5 years! it's the price you pay for living in an estate. What can you do except go to war with everyone in your estate with a baking dog? Most dogs in estates bark! Most of your life would be spent fighting a battle you can never really win. Not worth it. Much easier to move to the country!
    i will not put up with it nor will my neighbours one of my neighbours has cancer and has to rest a lot juring the day,so you can amagine what thats like with a little fuc1ker of a dog barking for hours.my wife also works nights every 6 weeks so she cant sleep either.
    i wounder if they are readind this thread cos the dogs not barking to day.if ye are reading this keep the little fu1cker inside or it will be taking off ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Howling in abject misery about moving to Atehnry?

Seems normal to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

wazky wrote: »
    Steak + Brake fluid = Job done.

sausages and laxatives are good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭wandererz

As others have said the owners may not realise the problem that's being caused as it may occur when they are away. I have one nearby which starts at 7.30am, when they head off to work.

From what i have read The Ultrasonic Bark Control Unit is a humane option for controlling dogs.

Your best bet is to maintain a "Noise Log" - a copy is attached.

Also, send in a letter to the owners explaining the problem and requesting that they take steps to remedy the problem. It doesn't have to include your name etc. Keep a copy of this.
    Also attach a copy of the Noise Log form.

Explain the next course of action to be followed: i.e Dog Warden, District Court etc.

If that fails, then follow through and go on to the next course of action.
    The more info you have and the longer the period, the better your chance of success.

Apparently it costs about 15euro to take an action in the District Court. That's according to the info leaflet i have been handed by Wicklow CC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    sausages and laxatives are good too.

Can we try it out on you first. just to see the effects

roflol!" You think the country is QUIET!!!!
    Farmers use diggers etc all the time, and apart from dogs, I have a wolf living loose nearby that howls in the night at full moon...

NB , earplugs are great and you can get them at 20 cents each. Life and sanity savers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Agree perhaps give it some time. People can be remarkably oblivious to how annoying their pets are to others. If they dont settle, talk to the neighbour. I have seen some threads here descend into arguments about poisoning and calling guards etc - without anyone having spoken to anyone else! Best bet to have a chat.

lahalane wrote: »

Waiting for the complaints to start re cats in neighbours gardens!

I have both cats and dogs...dogs are more work than cats but they deter intruders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

:D is that a low fat hot dog? :pac:

wandererz wrote: »
    As others have said the owners may not realise the problem that's being caused as it may occur when they are away. I have one nearby which starts at 7.30am, when they head off to work.

From what i have read The Ultrasonic Bark Control Unit is a humane option for controlling dogs.

Your best bet is to maintain a "Noise Log" - a copy is attached.

Also, send in a letter to the owners explaining the problem and requesting that they take steps to remedy the problem. It doesn't have to include your name etc. Keep a copy of this.
    Also attach a copy of the Noise Log form.

Explain the next course of action to be followed: i.e Dog Warden, District Court etc.

If that fails, then follow through and go on to the next course of action.
    The more info you have and the longer the period, the better your chance of success.

Apparently it costs about 15euro to take an action in the District Court. That's according to the info leaflet i have been handed by Wicklow CC.

I told the neighbours here that that is what I would do if they did not take better care of their dogs and ensure they were not left out barking and howling in all the bad weather.
    They were keeping them well away from the house so with double glazing it was fine for them

Made sure the relevant authorities visited them

It went very quiet after that. I very occasionally hear the dog who is the worst but it is muffled and short lived now.. the noise not the dog!