What beer are we drinking this week ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Heroditas wrote: »
    Finally trying a bottle of Buried at Sea tonight. Haven't had stout or porter in a while so it'll take me a while to readjust from my hoppy IPAs.

Same as myself, must be the return of winter weather during the week so bought myself a selection of stouts and a porter this evening. Buried at Sea which I've had before, after the initial taste it's pretty good, a Galway Bay Stormy Port which I've had on draught before and a Dungarvan Black Rock

I've just finished a McGrath's Irish Black Stout and it's really good, Stormy Port is up next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Had a bottle of SN pale ale tonight for the first time in a while with elephant and castle wings!:D

I used to think this was too hoppy! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Heroditas

I'm no sure I like it. It seems a little bit too carbonated for my liking, for a stout anyway.
    I also have a Knockmealdown Porter - haven't had one of them in nearly two years! Definitely time for the heavier beers with the nights getting longer. :)

I'm no sure I like it. It seems a little bit too carbonated for my liking, for a stout anyway.
    I also have a Knockmealdown Porter - haven't had one of them in nearly two years! Definitely time for the heavier beers with the nights getting longer. :)

I wasn't impressed initially either, a little disappointed in fact, but it grew on me quickly and was one of the rare drinks for me in which the ending was nicer than the beginning.

Edit, just made a mess pouring the Stormy Port, the McGrath's poured fairly flat so just poured away expecting the same. It's now a mess of three quarters head and sudz.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Scortho wrote: »
    Had a bottle of SN pale ale tonight for the first time in a while with elephant and castle wings!:D

I used to think this was too hoppy! :pac:

Ha, I had one a few weeks back in a bar in Dublin (only craft option) and I was thinking to myself "hold on, this used to be bitter".
    Lovely, malty pale ale :P

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I wasn't impressed initially either, a little disappointed in fact, but it grew on me quickly and was one of the rare drinks for me in which the ending was nicer than the beginning.

Edit, just made a mess pouring the Stormy Port, the McGrath's poured fairly flat so just poured away expecting the same. It's now a mess of three quarters head and sudz.

Seems the under carbonation issue have been solved so :pac:

@ThisRegard, Buried at Sea is the sort of beer I wouldn't drink straight from the fridge. I'd always take out out and leave it for about 45 miniutes before drinking as it's a beer that needs to be about 10-14c to be properly tasted, when it's cold you won't taste it fully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Brewdog Nanny State. Very surprised at the colour of this, it's a reddish brown like 5am Saint. For some reason I was expecting it to be like a lager, probably because all low to zero alcohol beers tend to be like lagers.

The beer itself is in essence a 5am Saint in everything but body and abv. Nice enough for what it is.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

There's an off-licence in Limerick selling it. Something silly like €2.70 a bottle. I think it was marked "best before August 2013". :pac:

I went back to the same offie today and the remaining 5 or 6 bottles of the Black Sheep Imperial Russian Stout were gone. All the La Trappe Dubbel was gone too. Some stylish bastard must have gone on a serious beer run! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Just had a Flying Dog DoggieStyle classic pale ale, very nice

Can't decide if I want to go out and have a few beers tonight or stay in, watch **** tv and have a few bottles from McHughes...

hohum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭blueshed

Seaneh wrote: »
    Can't decide if I want to go out and have a few beers tonight or stay in, watch **** tv and have a few bottles from McHughes...

hohum...

it's a nice sunny mild afternoon so get out there and have a few pts, will be plenty of cold wet nights that you can sit in.

njoy whatever you do, im going to my local for a birthday party and its Bud or Guinness for me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Going to The Lighthouse cinema tonight, couple of bottles of O'Hara's Red or Pale

@ThisRegard, Buried at Sea is the sort of beer I wouldn't drink straight from the fridge. I'd always take out out and leave it for about 45 miniutes before drinking as it's a beer that needs to be about 10-14c to be properly tasted, when it's cold you won't taste it fully.

Cheers for the tip, I'll remember for the next one, I literally just opened a bottle right from the fridge before checking out this thread. I'll be nursing it for a bit so it'll probably be near room temperature by the time I finish!

And yeah, there's definitely no issue with carbonation, I poured slowly and gently before leaving the room, came back and it grew an icecream cone style head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

My wife picked me up a few beers, she doesn't drink herself & wouldn't know much about beer. She just knows not to buy "mainstream"!!

Drinking "McGrath's Red Ale" which apparently is "craft brewed in Ireland by Clanconnel Brewing". Saw a few of their beers in The Pav a while back when in for a college reunion but not seen it much in off licences/pubs

I usually find red ales bland enough vs craft stouts & IPAs but this is lovely. Far more distinctive taste than O'Haras red or Dungarvan Copper Coast IMO

Had their stout a few weeks back, really enjoyed that too.

My wife picked me up a few beers, she doesn't drink herself & wouldn't know much about beer.

:eek: Why did you marry her!! :pac:

This is my selection, from Drinkstore

1378704_10151690838103873_240334637_n.jpg

The Kinnegar Rye Ale is brilliant, love this stuff.

Wasn't pushed on other Kinnegar beers, but I like Ruthless Rye - it's not as hoppy as the Ruthless, but the Rye profile is much more forward, and I like it a lot.

Well done Kinnegar, this could become my go-to drink, I like it that much.

Ended up going out with mates, we are in a late bar just off Dame st. They have O'Hara's red, seirra Nevada pale and anchor steam so I'm on the red.

O'Hara's red might be one of the most under appreciated beers brewed in Ireland.

Its fecking lovely.

Ended up going out with mates, we are in a late bar just off Dame st. They have O'Hara's red, seirra Nevada pale and anchor steam so I'm on the red.

O'Hara's red might be one of the most under appreciated beers brewed in Ireland.

Its fecking lovely.

4 Dame Lane by any chance?

I ended up pouring some of it down the sink. Just couldn't warm to it at all. :(

4 Dame Lane by any chance?

Ha. Yeah.

P.s. **** Dublin in general.

Such a **** city beer wise.

One third of the population live here boy there are only a handful of decent bars.

I ended up pouring some of it down the sink. Just couldn't warm to it at all. :(

You're wrong, but thats ok, people are wrong all the time.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

My local GAA team just won the county hurling title, so I went looking for something nice to help me celebrate. Alas, my local offie was closed! So the plan to get a few Buried At Seas will have to wait.

I went into town for a few Dead Pony Clubs and ended up walking out with a bottle of Tokyo*. Now I'm half afraid to open it! :eek:

My local GAA team just won the county hurling title, so I went looking for something nice to help me celebrate. Alas, my local offie was closed! So the plan to get a few Buried At Seas will have to wait.

I went into town for a few Dead Pony Clubs and ended up walking out with a bottle of Tokyo*. Now I'm half afraid to open it! :eek:

My local gaa team just won the county hurling title as well today!
    Would your local gaa team be in a commuter town outside Dublin?:P

Scortho wrote: »
    My local gaa team just won the county hurling title as well today!
    Would your local gaa team be in a commuter town outside Dublin?:P

I'd hate to have to commute from the edge of Limerick city! :D I think there were 8 county finals played around the country today. Congrats to your crowd anyway!

Jesus I was way off the mark! Well done!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭ciaran76

I know some of you lads love this beer but I must be just not good with lambic beers.

Lindemans Cassis is on tap in LMulligans and it was just too sweet for me.
    I live blackcurrents but this was just too sweet and sour.
    Has a pink foamy head which makes it look unusual.

ciaran76 wrote: »
    I know some of you lads love this beer but I must be just not good with lambic beers.

Lindemans Cassis is on tap in LMulligans and it was just too sweet for me.
    I live blackcurrents but this was just too sweet and sour.
    Has a pink foamy head which makes it look unusual.

Lambics basically just taste like alcoholic, tart, fizzy drinks to me.

There is s reason Belgians call them girl beers. :-P

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

I wouldn't regard Lindemans Cassis as any way representative of good lambic. Their Cuvée René gueuze and kriek are pretty decent, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭H_Lime

Im the same, lambics are a step in the wrong direction for my gob.
    DSC_0299_zpscde79414.jpg
    This was my batch for the wknd.
    Best was la chouffe and the hardcore ipa (mega grapefruity yum). Double dog had an unplesant something in the background but raging bitch was ace.
    The frans jemmie stout is stellar. A good wknd so!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,921 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Heading to Maastricht, Dusseldorf and Cologne this week for the Ireland match.

Anyone any Maastricht recommendations? I've been to Dusseldorf and Cologne already, already have a few places in mind for there.