Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Open the selection box- Christmas Forum Chat Thread

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 26,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

washiskin wrote: »
    Hey lads, what ever became of Lockie's idea of a Christmas Forum get together?

Nothing :(:o

There was an idea floating around about meeting up for the turning on of the Christmas lights in Dublin, then to the BT Christmas area for some shopping and stop off in a coffee shop for a hot chocolate somewhere.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 26,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

2nknmvr.jpg

I'm looking forward to having a nose around the Docklands experience this year. The food and wine expose is tempting me too! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

I love the Docklands Xmas Market!! It's no Stuttgart but I love to soak up the atmostsphere!!

3 months to Christmas Eve!!! Woohoo!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Well according to Sky news Amazon.uk has just employed 15,000 extra staff for Christmas, so I'm guessing they're expecting to be busy:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Booked tickets for this yesterday.

3 months to go!!!!! Ahhhhhhhhh!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Can't sleep, watching terrible Christmas stuff on QVC :pac:

I remember doing that as a child. The presenters on QVC were so perky it used to make me wanna smash the tv. Haha but I loved the Christmas decorations they use to sell :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Loughc wrote: »
    3 months to go!!!!! Ahhhhhhhhh!!!!!

Ha ha I just came on here to post that!

Love seeing the 25th on the calendar :)

Roll on December 25th!

Hope youse are all well today. I'm hoping to start my Christmas shopping next week. Am so stretched this year as I'm doing a postgrad but am happy doing it so will cope with the no-money thing.

Aaaaargh I just want to watch Elf today!

mud wrote: »

Hope youse are all well today. I'm hoping to start my Christmas shopping next week. Am so stretched this year as I'm doing a postgrad but am happy doing it so will cope with the no-money thing.

Just remember sometimes it's personal sentimental presents mean more than anything expensive and even a home-made hamper or gift can help reduce costs and add more meaning to anything that can be store bought.

Oh Elf, how I love thee. I think I will wait until after Halloween before I break out my Christmas film collection, well except for Die Hard haha.

Ha ha I just came on here to post that!

Love seeing the 25th on the calendar :)

Roll on December 25th!

Every time I see a post by yourself on this forum, I'm singing "lonely this Christmas" by Mud for the entire day :D:D

Not that I mind in the slightest!!! :D

Love2love wrote: »
    Every time I see a post by yourself on this forum, I'm singing "lonely this Christmas" by Mud for the entire day :D:D

Not that I mind in the slightest!!! :D

And now I am too! haha, never drew the link until now!

Question for any of our longer serving baords members and maybe the MODS can help answer it, back in the olde days when the Christmas Forum wasn't a full time forum, when did it open and when did the mods close it again? As in what dates? I've a feeling it was November-Jan but I can't fully remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Loughc wrote: »
    And now I am too! haha, never drew the link until now!

Question for any of our longer serving baords members and maybe the MODS can help answer it, back in the olde days when the Christmas Forum wasn't a full time forum, when did it open and when did the mods close it again? As in what dates? I've a feeling it was November-Jan but I can't fully remember.

*puts on "in my day all this was fields" voice* :p

It was closed in late Jan I think and this past year was the first year it was opened all round but I may be wrong on that.

It opened in '09. Prior to that it was something of a banned subject before December throughout most of Boards if I remember correctly.

That's correct! And you're right about the banned subject. To this day you still can't mention Christmas in AH until December as it usually stirs up the Christmas haters and ah it's too early and it tends to get nasty, not the true Christmas spirit at all!

Go glad the decision was made to open a Christmas forum, it's nice knowing you're not the only one! haha!

Just think, next Tuesday we will be able to say "Its the month after next!". :D

If anyone is interested Argos is doing 3 for 2 on selected toys. Tis grand for the nieces and nephews or even stocking fillers.....

EDIT: Just realised that this extends to the more expensive toys too. I got Baby born doll - €49, baby born bath €40 and then the potty for free which normally is €37.... I was ordering these online from Smyths the other night when my iPad ran out of power. It would have cost me the full whack!!

Also, a Go Kart that was €250 is now half price and also on 3 for 2. There is also bikes on this so great if you've more than 1 to buy. Happy shopping Christmas forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭thumper10

saw the christmas cake mix in Supervalue yesterday...and all the choc boxes on offer...yippeeeeee holidays are coming..its the season..

I've had a couple of Christmas ads stuck in my head all morning for some reason - not that I'm complaining.

Am just married so will be spending Christmas with my in-laws in a remote part of the country.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Started my Christmas shopping today. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,430 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

I've had a couple of Christmas ads stuck in my head all morning for some reason - not that I'm complaining.

Am just married so will be spending Christmas with my in-laws in a remote part of the country.

Like these:

Some of my favourite ads right there!!!

OH BOY OH BOY OH BOY getting so excited for it!!!

Woop 2,000th post! Marked both my first and second thousand post here in the Christmas Forum, my home away from home! haha!! <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,430 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

I'll just leave this here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭washiskin

Elves ahoy! Check this out...... :eek: http://www.ouririshheritage.org/category_id__54_path__.aspx

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

leahyl wrote: »
    I'll just leave this here...

cuteness-overload-l.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭eskimocat

Getting more and more excited, even the gang at work have been talking about the count down to Christmas and one of the students with us showed us a Christmas countdown app on her phone. While the rest were moaning and groaning I was grinning ear to ear and having a swift 'I love Christmas too' conversation with her. There are a lot of 'Christmas talk only in Dec' members in at work. lol I am definitely not one of them.

Love the little dog ad Leahyl, its so cute. Bought my first items for my Christmas goodie box today, as there was some Shloer on sale in Lidl, I love the white grape one. Happy days :)

Well, had such a wonderful Christmas shopping day...... 3 for 2 on toys in Argos and I got lots :)

Then over to Next and Zara to for the kids Christmas clothes. I'm on fire this week :P Even got over to Penneys for the underwear! :)

Realising I'm starting to sound a bit smug but I just can't help it. It just means that all my Oct / Nov purchases can be dedicated decoration purchases. Woohoo!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,021 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

I ordered my 4 year olds Christmas dress and have 2 presents each for them and one for the baby:)
    I am so excited we are staying at home Christmas eve this year and not travelling until to the in laws until Christmas day so Santa is coming here \o/

I have my christmas spreadsheets made and now just the decisions about what to get the kids and that is my favourite bit:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

If anyone is signed up to Brand Alley, they have a great 50% sale on Scandinavian Christmas decorations, lighting and gifts.

Some really cute bits!

Just back from the shops. P*nneys have yuk Christmas jumpers for ladies and men @ €15, nothing to be seen for children yet. Also in the ladies section they have thick plush hoodies - an elf, a snowman and a reindeer @ €16, I tried on the reindeer in a 10 and it was a lovely fit, but the weight of the hood nearly made me fall backwards. I didn't purchase, as I have a Rudolph dressing gown I bought last year :) In N*xt, I saw little red jumpers in the boys section (only) with rows of tiny snowmen on them, they were only OK, the offering from N*xt last year was a lot cuter. B*ots had a little knitted red dress or bodysuit with a white nordic birds design, sorry I can't remember how much. He*atons normally have decent Christmas jumpers, but none to be seen instore today. Thats all I have to report at the mo!