Greedy Mary McAleese keeps €141k pension

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

ZeroThreat wrote: »
    quite a few bitter working class doleheads on this thread :)

No there out numbered by the Lets protect the political elite sure did they not work really hard for there money (sneaking suspicions these people are in politics/related as they defend far to much to be felling any pain a normal person is). It's amazing that we have learnt nothing this government is still chanting were clearing up the last governments mess .. common lads your well over half way into your government and still don't take any responsibility for the mess. Wonder what's going to happen when they cant use the were doing what the troika is telling us and have to make decisions on there own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

mrbrown69 wrote: »
    While old age pensioners go to Mountjoy for a fking tv license politicians and bankers who banjaxxed this country for decades sit in their retirement ivory towers...sums up this country...FUBAR

but why would any OAP go to mountjoy for not having a TV licence when they get them for free regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

unkel wrote: »
    Because she gets more state pension than anybody else in this country.

Does the ex head of finance get something like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Can we not call for a reduction in state pensions, rather than point the finger at those who dont return it? McAleese doesn't set her own wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,991 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I've an idea.

How about we stop giving any pensions to politicians when they leave office?

I mean it's not like they'd use their time in office to do favours for people who might give them a cushy job when they leave politics. Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Quazzie wrote: »
    See the thing is, a former president can't really go back to work. They can't go back to teaching, selling cars, building houses, whatever it is they used to do, so they need a pension. They can't be expected to live in a bedsit either so a tiny pension wouldn't be enough. They need adequate income because they can't work, have to live in above normal accommodation, and also need to live a somewhat prosperous life. €141k might be excessive, but reallistically it probably isn't too far off what a former president should be getting for their standing in out society.

The idea of needing to maintain a certain standing in society is really backwards sounding to me. They don't 'have' to have anything. The president does a job, they get paid for it and they know it's a limited term from the beginning.

That said, I don't think anyone should be expected to give up something that was agreed on when they started the job nor do I think anyone should be singled out over the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Aka Ishur

Bannasidhe wrote: »

MaAleese - and Robinson - were elected as President. A non-political (ha!) office which is based on the role played by the British monarch i.e. as 'figurehead' or embodiment of the State itself - and here we have the perfect examples of why Ireland is a failed State imho. Our figureheads are perfectly content to claim every cent as they are 'entitled' while also working in highly paid jobs outside the State with no thought of 'sharing the pain' whatsoever.

Well i do think it should be pointed out that we are far from the only country in the eu to have a 'figurehead' who doesn't seem to do much. I doubt your average joe could name the German president, or Italian or French prime ministers. And of course there are a lot of EU countries with royal heads of state, who again don't seem to serve much purpose. They do serve legally however as a constitutional backstop, an element, which is important to preserve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

MMcA worth every cent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Aka Ishur wrote: »
    Well i do think it should be pointed out that we are far from the only country in the eu to have a 'figurehead' who doesn't seem to do much. I doubt your average joe could name the German president, or Italian or French prime ministers. And of course there are a lot of EU countries with royal heads of state, who again don't seem to serve much purpose. They do serve legally however as a constitutional backstop, an element, which is important to preserve.
    Yes. It is an important position and essential as part of our political system.
    McAleese took the job with certain Pay & Conditions and she is entitled to the fulfilment of those conditions just like anyone else in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭GSF

See the thing is, a former president can't really go back to work. They can't go back to teaching, selling cars, building houses, whatever it is they used to do, so they need a pension. They can't be expected to live in a bedsit either so a tiny pension wouldn't be enough. They need adequate income because they can't work, have to live in above normal accommodation, and also need to live a somewhat prosperous life. €141k might be excessive, but reallistically it probably isn't too far off what a former president should be getting for their standing in out society.

Where I would look for changes is that any more earned in "retirement" comes off their pension. So if she earns €10k from giving after dinner speeches etc, then the government only gives her a pension of €131k. Basically the Government should be subsidizing the income of these people, not boosting it to ridiculous figures.

She can come round my house and Hoover or iron shirts no problem. I won't hold it against her that she used to be President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭MuchoLoco

Be honest is there anyone in this day and age not money hungry greedy dogs Mary is just another !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 reach for the stars

I think she should not be getting such a huge pension in the first place but expecting anybody is this country to give up anything for the greater good is a laugh.People are good at coming up with ideas for spending and donating other peoples money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭Glenbhoy

unkel wrote: »
    I don't begrudge her the pension she is by all means legally (if not morally) entitled too, but if she had any grace, she'd give (most of) it up.

And in the meantime we need to change the program

Retired president of Ireland - pension €141k
    Retired president of the United States of America - pension €141k

That's just ridiculous. And we can not afford it.

The yanks really should sort that out, they're being a bit too generous imo, after all the irish term is 7 years and the US term only 4 years.

Re Mary's pension, she most likely will throw a few quid back before finalising her tax return etc. We should also remember that she will be paying a pretty substantial whack of tax on that pension, presumably no public sector pension levy, and I'm not sure about USC and PRSI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Candie wrote: »
    She earned her pension

Really? :eek:

Explain to me all the great work she did to entitle herself to that pension that we have to pay for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

I think she should not be getting such a huge pension in the first place but expecting anybody is this country to give up anything for the greater good is a laugh.People are good at coming up with ideas for spending and donating other peoples money

Well ... this is YOUR chance to set an example !! and set the ball rolling !! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 reach for the stars

Piliger wrote: »
    Well ... this is YOUR chance to set an example !! and set the ball rolling !! :D
    Ya right !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Under your theory anyone that has money or worth over a million should work for no wages and instead give it to the Government. There's a word for that kind of system ;)

Word? It's the main principle of the shinners economic policy. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭dpp v mcgee

I love the way the recession is turning everyone against politicians

Soon enough we're going to be living in a one party state when the presidency and senate are abolished.

Its only a matter of time before former politicians are arrested on treason charges and executed. (What a great day that will be.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

guillespe wrote: »
    Im not bullying any politician,im just asking them to hand back the pension payout,as this woman mcalesse doesn't need this payout her life doesn't depend on it,she is worth millions without it anyway..

If this was anybody else doing the same thing there could be uproar but politicians seem to be the protected species..

All you need to walk away with a pension in this country as a politician is to work 2 years how the fvck is that fair??

Ah good 'ol Irish begrudgery, it can always be counted on to completely miss the point. You can whitter all you like about McAlese but her entitlement is not different to any other president. Complain about the system that permits the enrichment of the few by the many and demand that the system be changed by all means, but singling out one former president and ignoring they system that enables the entire horse and pony show just underlines how depressingly small minded an incapable of demanding change the Irish electorate really are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    I bet her house is bigger than ours too - she should give that back! Bedsit should be good enough for her! :mad:

And is that M&S I Saw her shopping in?? :mad:

sorry to be a grammar nazi but 'I seen' is a pet peeve of mine:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭GSF

deadybai wrote: »
    Shes the bloody former president of the country. Of course she will have a huge pension. I hate the way the people of Ireland have become so cynical and negative. Its almost like its the new trend to hate any political person. Its a rotten what we have become.

She's not 65 yet. Most pensions only kick in at retirement age unless you are a politico.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

She shouldn't be blamed for the amount of her pension, but it should be reduced.
    ZeroThreat wrote: »
    quite a few bitter working class doleheads on this thread :)
    There are? Who has identified themselves as same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Fianna Fail saved us the trouble of getting a chance to vote for her re-election that second time
    So nice of them, everyone knows we love Mary, sure no need for elections or tha sort of thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

It's a bit much to expect her to gift money to the state. She has no obligation to do so, so singling her out for not doing it is ridiculous! What about people receiving the state pension? I bet none of them give money back to the state as a present...

Her pension is very high though - but it's up to the budgetmakers to adjust it.

I'm more annoyed by the idea that Ahern and Cowen are earning €150,000+ a year. They're not even pension age yet!! And Cowen was only Taoiseach for 3 years... Can former ministers still claim the ministerial pension while still serving as a TD? They should be made wait til 65 (or 67 as it's gonna be soon) like everybody else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Mary mary quite contrary how does your garder grow?

"On a state pension,"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

As if any of ye would give up a massive pension

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Why single her out? There's dozens of 'millionaire' former politicians still receiving sky-high pensions

You see she was never popular with a lot of boards.ie posters, say unlike the Saint Mary before her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭waster81

Why should she give it back? She served her time for this country and that's the figure that our government has given her for her service.

Under your theory anyone that has money or worth over a million should work for no wages and instead give it to the Government. There's a word for that kind of system ;)

For 14 years she achieved very little when compared to others like mary robinson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Painted Pony

You see she was never popular with a lot of boards.ie posters, say unlike the Saint Mary before her.
    Is the first Mary not currently drawing down her full pension too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

waster81 wrote: »
    For 14 years she achieved very little when compared to others like mary robinson

What did Robinson achieve while in office exactly...