Missing Person - Peggy Mangan (Dinneen)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭username_x

Can't find a link but apparently Peggy was last seen yesterday in the Maple Centre between 3pm and 5pm and this sighting has been confirmed by Garda.

Again, do not know how credible this information is but it makes sense considering where she was! Will post a link asap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

That's the one off the Navan Rd with McDonalds and Iceland right?? Still a fair bit of a trek from Finglas for a walk without anyone seeing her, especially with the media interest now.

No official word on the dog being found.

Yeah the Maple Centre off the Navan Road. Apparently the guards have checked CCTV and confirmed it, it was up on the official Facebook page for the search for her!

I'm really hoping they find her soon. There is a housing estate just behind the maple centre and it's accessible through the back near the Tesco. I'm hoping that's where she went, and maybe hopefully she'll find her way towards the barracks and someone will recognise her, that area is also close to the Phoenix park, but the gate she'd walk through is close the Garda HQ. My own grandmother lives in that estate and I've sent her the information poster, got in contact with a few I know from the area to let them know to keep their eyes peeled.

Hoping she is found soon, cannot imagine anyone going missing from my own family, but with a condition like Alzeimers it must make it all the more difficult knowing that it's quite unlikely she'll find her way home or even possibly realise she's lost!

Can you link to the official facebook page for the search, can't seem to find it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Any links to the facebook page?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Justask

Dont know how to put up Facebook link but its
    D.I.D electrical and the report about the Maple Centre is on the Garda Facebook page.

https://m.facebook.com/didelectrical?ref=m_notif&notif_t=like&__user=100000340738388

Apparently the official search page is gone, for some bizarre reason, and the DID electrical page is the place to keep most up to date. I suppose because the staff there can update as often as needed whereas if family are out searching they cannot!

Justask wrote: »
    Dont know how to put up Facebook link but its
    D.I.D electrical and the report about the Maple Centre is on the Garda Facebook page.

Can't see report about Maple centre on Garda fb page?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I'm delighted to hear she was spotted yesterday. Was beginning to lose hope for her a little.

January wrote: »
    Can't see report about Maple centre on Garda fb page?
    Its a message under the appeal. And on DID they said they are waiting for confirmation

Justask wrote: »
    Its a message under the appeal. And on DID they said they are waiting for confirmation
    And the text message recently was we would be updated shortly

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

The poor lady, must be so confused and frightened. Hope they find her soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Duvetdays

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/plea-for-more-volunteers-to-find-missing-peggy-29616994.html

Her son has said that the dog hasn't been found. I really thought the key to finding this lady was her dog. If he's no longer with her surely somebody would've spotted him wandering around with his lead still on him. I know not everybody is a dog lover and a lot wouldn't pay attention to a wandering dog but this story is getting a lot of attention so surely if he was straying on his own somebody would've found him by now. hopefully that's a good sign, maybe they're sitting in a shed or outhouse somewhere and will soon be found.

Some complete moran from the Sunday World tweeted she had been found.
    She IS NOT found. Unless DID or Garda confirm she has been found its false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

I cant understand if people are spotting this poor lady, why arent they approaching her or calling the guards while following her.

The poor lady, really hope she is found safe.

Everytime im out in my car im keeping an eye out for her as I dont live too far from where she has been spotted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Does anyone know if it is on cctv that she is being spotted or by someone?
    FB has gone a bit quiet with updates atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

cruais wrote: »
    I cant understand if people are spotting this poor lady, why arent they approaching her or calling the guards while following her.

The poor lady, really hope she is found safe.

Everytime im out in my car im keeping an eye out for her as I dont live too far from where she has been spotted.

Because not everyone knows she's a missing person when they see her. Then read the story and realize who she was. I would have thought that was fairly obvious.

Hope she's found soon. Heart really goes out to her and the family :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I keep checking RTE to see if they've found her.

I live far away from where she's been spotted/lives so there's not much I can do. :(

I think if everyone keeps her image up on social media sites then eventually she'll be found if she's walking around in public.

EDIT: Just spotted those updates. I really hope she's okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Knine

There is news on the DID FB page. Gardai rushing to Ikea. It is not good news. :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

Knine wrote: »
    There is news on the DID FB page. Gardai rushing to Ikea

Yeah I just passed ikea and it's all taped up. Hopefully just a precaution :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

Just read that 2 men found her remains behind ikea, her dog by her side. if this is true, may she rest in peace.

People are now saying that they have gotten texts from DID and they are handing the search over to Gardai and are standing down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭nikpmup

Ah god, that's terrible if its true. Poor lady, and her poor family.

Search is now over.
    Very sad to hear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I really hoped it would be a happy ending here, so sad to read that. Poor lady.

Unconfirmed reports that the dog, Casper, is there too.
    He has been reported to be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Knine

Smidge wrote: »
    Unconfirmed reports that the dog, Casper, is there too.

He stayed by her side. So very sad. RIP Peggy.

Knine wrote: »
    He stayed by her side. So very sad. RIP Peggy.

Heartbreaking situation.
    Thoughts are with her loved one's at this sad time.

All the volunteers did Dublin proud. It was heartwarming to see.
    Not the out come any of us wanted but we put in a huge amount of hours and her family hopefully will find some comfort in this.
    D.I.D. were outstanding. Thank u

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Condolences to her family and friends.. Terribly sad :(

Fair play to those who went searching.. so many good hearted people out there.