Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rate My Team thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭j timber

My team is

Mignolet

Zabaleta
    Vidic
    Coleman
    Jose enrique

Ozil
    Eriksen
    Shelvey

Giroud
    Rooney
    Sturridge

Subs..brady
    Wilson
    Cowie

What does everyone think of enrique?? Didn't start at weekend and very expensive bench fodder. Would prob swap for dawson but chelsea are looking good. Is this my best starting team or would brady b worth a start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭Sooner or Later

Enrique was being rested because he had a slight knock.

Given that the frankly insane Liverpool backline against Southampton of four centre backs backfired so spectacularly it is unlikely to be repeated.

Since his only challenger for left back, Cissokho, is out for about four weeks, Enrique, if fit, is a safe enough risk in the short term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

roryc wrote: »
    Thoughts on this team? I'm tempted to double up on United defenders for the next month, they have some cracking fixtures:

West Brom (H)
    Sunderland (A)
    Southampton (H)
    Stoke (H)

I would be bringing in Ferdinand at the expense of Coleman though, and unsure if this makes my team too top heavy with the big clubs. I'll have 3 United, 3 Arsenal, 2 Liverpool, 1 City and 1 Chelsea. All of who would likely start most weeks. None of the top 4 or Liverpool play each other until GW9 though. My bench would usually be Morrison, Fonte and either Brady or Ramsey. Which again makes me question whether it's worth spending £4.7m on Fonte when I could as easily buy someone like Whittaker for £4.2m and bump my sub keeper up to McGregor who rotates perfectly with Mig.

I think Ferdinand might be overkill and unsure he's worth £5.5, but Uniteds next 4 games are VERY tempting in terms of clean sheet potential. All goes out the window if I get Suarez in.
    Presuming vidic and ferdinand both play in donetsk I think its highly unlikely ferdinand in particular will play in both league games either side of that game. DDG and evra are the two most likely defenders to play in those 2 games if you wanted to double up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Yeah I figured that with Ferdinand, but I think Vidic will play all games. With a strong bench I wouldn't mind anyway, either they start or don't feature. Defenders rarely come on for a cameo.

One thing I just noticed - Southampton have conceded 2 goals in 5 games. Their defence is clearly gelling together well, strongest in the league so far. Lovren and Fonte are the 2nd and 3rd highest scoring defenders behind Baines. With Palace (H) and Swansea (H) up next it wouldn;t be a terrible idea to double up on a Boruc + Fonte/Lovren pairing over the next two games. They also picked up a clean sheet in the league cup last night.

Yeah I figured that with Ferdinand, but I think Vidic will play all games. With a strong bench I wouldn't mind anyway, either they start or don't feature. Defenders rarely come on for a cameo.

One thing I just noticed - Southampton have conceded 2 goals in 5 games. Their defence is clearly gelling together well, strongest in the league so far. Lovren and Fonte are the 2nd and 3rd highest scoring defenders behind Baines. With Palace (H) and Swansea (H) up next it wouldn;t be a terrible idea to double up on a Boruc + Fonte/Lovren pairing over the next two games. They also picked up a clean sheet in the league cup last night.

I have gone with boruc since gw3 plan is to keep him for the next 2 gws then I'll be getting in ddg. Will probably double up on ddg and vidic for a few weeks. If wildcarding now 2 southampton defensive players isnt a bad option not sure id play both of them depends what formation your playing. Worst case scenario you should get a few price rises over the next couple of weeks.
    Vidic should play most games the fact he has retired from international football will help but I think he has only played more than 25 league games once in the last 4 years. Moyes doesnt seem to rotate his defenders like fergie did.

Think I've pretty much settled on a team - after Sturridge's performance last night and the chance that Sturridge will be rested (if not this weekend, then next), I'm pretty sure I'll be going with Suarez. The main thing this means is not having Ramsey or Coleman, but I think my team is a hell of a lot more balanced now. I don't have two players from the same team in DF, MF or FW, and no more than two players from the same club in general. I have representatives from 12 different clubs in my 15. This wasn't intentional either.

2u5chgp.jpg

MIGNOLET - Top keeper in the game so far and good run of fixtures until end of the year.
    MCGREGOR - Happy to splash out £0.5 to have a sub keeper and he rotates perfectly with Mignolet over most tough weeks (10, 12, 16, 18, 19).

VIDIC - United have a good run coming up for clean sheets, and he has great goal/BP potential.
    ZABALETA - City should top the clean sheet table again this season and Zab is one of the best options. 2 assists already.
    TERRY - This was my main pick pre-season, barring injury I think he will be one of the top scoring defenders this season and is a bargain at £6m. Amazing he hasn't risen yet.
    FONTE - Southampton have the best defensive record this year and Fonte is a good way in, slightly cheaper than Lovren.
    TURNER - Need a cheap defender as third sub. Unsure as to why Whittaker was rested last week, have £0.2 in the bank so can upgrade if needed. But for third sub, a £4m player that plays is probably sufficient.

I'll alternate between 3-4-3 and 4-3-3, depending on Fonte's fixtures. Will likely play him this weekend. I currently have Coleman in the team, but feel Fonte + McGregor are a better bet.

MICHU - was an unused sub last night, and now Swansea are out of the league cup it gives him a slight advantage. Bony hasn't hit the ground running so hopefully Michu scoops up some points.
    OZIL - has shown his potential and with Walcott out he becomes the main man.
    BARKLEY - I'm late joining the party on this one but he has the potential to be a big points scorer. 2 assists last week and gets forward a lot.
    BRADY - takes pens, free kicks, corners and can score from open play, as shown last week. Will play when Hull have a good fixture.
    MORRISON - Will likely not see a lot of gametime behind Brady and Barkley but I'm more than happy he's now starting for WH and as shown last week can score.

I'll play Michu and Ozil every week and alternate playing either one or two from the other three, depending on formation. Would have been nice to have Ramsey but he's a slight injury worry and I'm not too happy having 2 Arsenal MF and Giroud.

ROONEY - United have good fixtures and RVP is a doubt. Probably captain this week.
    SUAREZ - Looked good last night and seems worth the extra cash. Playing alongside Sturridge rather than supporting him. Also the risk that Sturridge will get a rest now the main man is back. Cracking differential.
    GIROUD - I don't like him, but he's scoring points. Hopefully that won't stop now just because I have him. Will be easy enough to swap for Benteke once he's back though.

I think on current form this is the strongest strikeforce atm although I definitely have my eye on Aguero. All three will play every week.

Heading up the coast to Banus for the weekend so will probably have to decide on my team tomorrow morning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 407 ✭✭Forever And Ever

Think I've pretty much settled on a team - after Sturridge's performance last night and the chance that Sturridge will be rested (if not this weekend, then next), I'm pretty sure I'll be going with Suarez. The main thing this means is not having Ramsey or Coleman, but I think my team is a hell of a lot more balanced now. I don't have two players from the same team in DF, MF or FW, and no more than two players from the same club in general. I have representatives from 12 different clubs in my 15. This wasn't intentional either.

MIGNOLET - Top keeper in the game so far and good run of fixtures until end of the year.
    MCGREGOR - Happy to splash out £0.5 to have a sub keeper and he rotates perfectly with Mignolet over most tough weeks (10, 12, 16, 18, 19).

VIDIC - United have a good run coming up for clean sheets, and he has great goal/BP potential.
    ZABALETA - City should top the clean sheet table again this season and Zab is one of the best options. 2 assists already.
    TERRY - This was my main pick pre-season, barring injury I think he will be one of the top scoring defenders this season and is a bargain at £6m. Amazing he hasn't risen yet.
    FONTE - Southampton have the best defensive record this year and Fonte is a good way in, slightly cheaper than Lovren.
    TURNER - Need a cheap defender as third sub. Unsure as to why Whittaker was rested last week, have £0.2 in the bank so can upgrade if needed. But for third sub, a £4m player that plays is probably sufficient.

I'll alternate between 3-4-3 and 4-3-3, depending on Fonte's fixtures. Will likely play him this weekend. I currently have Coleman in the team, but feel Fonte + McGregor are a better bet.

MICHU - was an unused sub last night, and now Swansea are out of the league cup it gives him a slight advantage. Bony hasn't hit the ground running so hopefully Michu scoops up some points.
    BARKLEY - I'm late joining the party on this one but he has the potential to be a big points scorer. 2 assists last week and gets forward a lot.
    BRADY - takes pens, free kicks, corners and can score from open play, as shown last week. Will play when Hull have a good fixture.
    MORRISON - Will likely not see a lot of gametime behind Brady and Barkley but I'm more than happy he's now starting for WH and as shown last week can score.

I'll play Michu and Ozil every week and alternate playing either one or two from the other three, depending on formation. Would have been nice to have Ramsey but he's a slight injury worry and I'm not too happy having 2 Arsenal MF and Giroud.

ROONEY - United have good fixtures and RVP is a doubt. Probably captain this week.
    SUAREZ - Looked good last night and seems worth the extra cash. Playing alongside Sturridge rather than supporting him. Also the risk that Sturridge will get a rest now the main man is back. Cracking differential.
    GIROUD - I don't like him, but he's scoring points. Hopefully that won't stop now just because I have him. Will be easy enough to swap for Benteke once he's back though.

I think on current form this is the strongest strikeforce atm although I definitely have my eye on Aguero. All three will play every week.

Heading up the coast to Banus for the weekend so will probably have to decide on my team tomorrow morning.

I've just saved that print screen, as when i play my wildcard in 2 weeks, im gonna use the majority of that team.

Looks fantastic!

Cheers - do me a favour though and edit your post and delete the image. Try not to quote the screenshots!

not sold on Barkley.

Assists were from being fouled twice, not from being creative.

I'm sitting back from him and trying to find the next 3-> 4 week surprise act. Morrison might be one though.

Cheers - do me a favour though and edit your post and delete the image. Try not to quote the screenshots!

There ya go :)

Think I've pretty much settled on a team - after Sturridge's performance last night and the chance that Sturridge will be rested (if not this weekend, then next),

I love a rotation theory more than most but I don't get the logic behind this. Since the international break rooney has played 90 more minutes than sturridge and before the next international break rooney has an extra 90 minutes to fit in over sturridge. Liverpool have poor striking options bar suarez and sturridge. Utd could play any combination of rvp rooney kagawa wellbeck hernandez as there two up front. Liverpool have 2 competitions left to play in Utd have 4. Rooney will play for England over sturridge. Injury permitting sturridge has far less reason to be rotated than rooney.

not sold on Barkley.

Assists were from being fouled twice, not from being creative.

I'm sitting back from him and trying to find the next 3-> 4 week surprise act. Morrison might be one though.

I'm the same. Not sure who to bench between barkley, brady and ivanovic. I've a feeling chelsea will concede, but if I bench ivanovic and he scores, I'll go apesh!t. So barkley is most likely to be benched.

Team in full....

Mig
    Vidic ivanovic zabaleta coleman
    Brady ozil michu
    Suarez giroud lambert

Subs: harper, chambers, ward-prowse, barkley.

Thoughts?

I'm not just going on fixtures though. Sturridge isn't 100% fit and needs a rest. This was clearly visible last night, he was a shambles.

He will want to play for England to assure himself a spot for Brazil, and Liverpool should be able to beat Sunderland and Palace, arguably the 2 weakest teams in the league atm, with Suarez and Aspas. I'm not saying it's definite, but that article posted in another thread has turned my niggling fear into a proper worry. I reckon it's 50/50 whether he plays both games. And even if he does, if he plays like last night he won't score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

Lukaku in for me this week for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

2u5chgp.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Slattsy wrote: »

Ah here....:rolleyes: you're taking the pistachio!!!

I'm not just going on fixtures though. Sturridge isn't 100% fit and needs a rest. This was clearly visible last night, he was a shambles.

He will want to play for England to assure himself a spot for Brazil, and Liverpool should be able to beat Sunderland and Palace, arguably the 2 weakest teams in the league atm, with Suarez and Aspas. I'm not saying it's definite, but that article posted in another thread has turned my niggling fear into a proper worry. I reckon it's 50/50 whether he plays both games. And even if he does, if he plays like last night he won't score.

I wouldnt pay the slightest bit of attention to that article. Its just one persons opinion there is no fact whatsoever its much the same as me or you writing an article and people taking it serious. Rodgers job is to manage liverpool he is not going to care about getting sturridge in prime condition for the internationals as seen over the last international break. If liverpool had an important midweek game Id be worried but they dont. On paper the games arent bad but the last 2 against swansea and southampton werent bad either and liverpool only got 1 pt out of 6. As a liverpool fan knowing the squad Id be very dissapointed if sturridge was rested.
    Your situation is different as you are on wildcard and I can see the logic in picking suarez over sturridge( would probably do the same if I was in your situation) but for the rest of us barring injury I think we have nothing to fear in regard to sturridge over the next 2 games.
    Im seeing people taking pt hits to change sturridge to rooney when I feel if rvp is fit Rooney over the next 2 wks has to be a bigger rotation fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

If anything, Rodgers has held Sturridge back from international duty. I certainly feel he did at the last international break.

I can't find the comments now but I do remember he made comments early this year when Sturridge was playing well that he needed to get fit fully and playing regularly for Liverpool before he should be worrying about international games.

Yeah if I wasn't on a wildcard obviously I wouldn't be getting rid of him! I do think it's 50/50 though whether he plays both, whereas Suarez is 100%, is a better player, and is on better form based on last nights games.

Sturridge looked wrecked last night, he's definitely not fully fit. Rogers doesn't care if he's fit for internationals but he knows Sturridge is in need of a rest and now looks like the best time. Obviously if he could play him the next 2 games and somehow avoid him playing the internationals again he will, but he risks a lot of unneeded backlash from fans and media over this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

Well lads, any advice?

Mignolet Cole---Agger---Baines---Coleman

Ramsey---Özil(vc)---Brady

Lukaku---Rooney(c)---Giroud

Boruc Nolan Whittingham Garrido
    0.4M in the bank

Have rooney over Ozil due to home/away of the 2 games.

Well lads, any advice

Two everton defenders and two arsenal mids. If either of those teams have a bad week, so will you. If both teams do, it'll be disastrous.

Yep, Baines and Coleman is overkill. Ozil and Ramsey isn't so bad though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭beaver111

my wildcard team

marshall borac

dawson clyne vidic zab turner
    michu eriksen ozil barkley brady
    giroud ageuro lukaku

any advice :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

beaver111 wrote: »
    my wildcard team

marshall borac

dawson clyne vidic zab turner
    michu eriksen ozil barkley brady
    giroud ageuro lukaku

any advice :D

I like it very much but(Swiper goes into broken record mode) Dawson's place is under serious threat, and which Turner? If it's the more expensive Norwich version(I suspect it isn't) you may be able to downgrade him and either Barkley or Brady to afford Walker instead of Dawson. Nice team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

Two everton defenders and two arsenal mids. If either of those teams have a bad week, so will you. If both teams do, it'll be disastrous.

Baines though is an attacking threat so it would need to be a poor showing at both ends of the pitch. anyway my main league isnt head to head so average output is my main consideration.

why not mention lukaku and giroud though, i dont get the focus on same teams in the same lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Want2know

Played my Wildcard this week. Any opinions on this team?

I will have 1.9M in the bank still to play with also

Mingolet Borac

Vidic Zabaleta Lovern Coleman Wilson

Ozil Michu Ramsey Brady Arnautovic

Rooney Giroud Lukaka

Want2know wrote: »
    Played my Wildcard this week. Any opinions on this team?

I will have 1.9M in the bank still to play with also

Mingolet Borac

Vidic Zabaleta Lovern Coleman Wilson

Ozil Michu Ramsey Brady Arnautovic

Rooney Giroud Lukaka

3 Arsenal?

They have an off day and you're ****ed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Hey lads, quick starting line up advice for this weekend.

Collins (hull a) or Merts (Swansea a)....feeling Swansea will score v arsenal, but hull on form too.

Which 2 from Moses, Ben Arfa, Ramsey? Ozil and Erikson the certs.

Have Aguero, Sturridge and Lukaku up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Want2know

3 Arsenal?

They have an off day and you're ****ed

Yeah dont want to keep Giroud or Ramsey but while there still rising in price and in good form Im happy to keep although it might bite me in the ass :rolleyes:

I'd be looking to move them on for Walcott and Benteke when there back from injury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭tom_k

I've got a dilemma with my midfield. It consists of Ben Arfa, Erikson, Brady, Whittingham and Ravel Morrison. Right now I've got it set up as a three man with Whittingham and Morrison on the bench.

I'd appreciate your thoughts on this...

I have no option but to play 4-3-3 this week realistically or I'll have to leave high priced backs and forwards on the bench.

My head is melted as I think any of these three could perform well this GW.

Thanks in advance.