Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road work Blanch South/North roundabout over N3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,964 ✭✭✭jeffk

zef wrote: »
    Apologies for jumping into this thread with a question , but does anyone know of roadworks going on at night further up in Mulhuddart , past the village and near the two newish blocks of apts, and Mulhuddart wood?
    It's just started up again,just now It was unbearably loud to even sit in the back garden at 10pm and although it's quietened down a bit, it's still fairly audible. It woke me a few times last night, and my son who sleeps at the other side of the house heard it also, and he's a very sound sleeper!
    It sounds like roadworks. Last night for a while it sounded like a train; which I know is impossible in reality having lived here 15 years, right now there's beeping and the noise of some sort of machinery.
    Anyone any ideas of what's going on, or am I losing the plot, roadworks at 3am?

I was coming home last night around 9 and they where working away , looks like they where doing something with the grass between the roads, I said to myself I wonder are they going for three lanes either side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

I'd love to know what they're doing. And I wish they'd not do it when folk are trying to sleep.

zef wrote: »
    I'd love to know what they're doing. And I wish they'd not do it when folk are trying to sleep.

There was talk of apple green services going in that piece of land at the turn off for Damastown. I agree with the time, early say 7 more 8ish and in the good weather finish around the same time is fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

Is that even LEGAL to build applegreens in the middle of the night?
    I'm doubly raging now. That's disgraceful! Sorry didn't mean to OT the thread.

jeffk wrote: »
    There was talk of apple green services going in that piece of land at the turn off for Damastown. I agree with the time, early say 7 more 8ish and in the good weather finish around the same time is fair.
    There is a large service/petrol station being built there and a commercial vehicle sales place.

Commercial Sales: http://planning.fingalcoco.ie/swiftlg/apas/run/WPHAPPDETAIL.DisplayUrl?theApnID=FW12A/0030

Service Station: http://planning.fingalcoco.ie/swiftlg/apas/run/WPHAPPDETAIL.DisplayURL?theApnID=FW12A/0146

I assume it's one of them being built. If you click "View Map" down the bottom of the above links, you can see the locations ;)

Edit:
    100 apartments to be built? Of have these already been built? Or did developer go bust?
    http://planning.fingalcoco.ie/swiftlg/apas/run/WPHAPPDETAIL.DisplayURL?theApnID=F06A/1879

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nudger

There was a mention on Ireland AM this morning that the traffic on the Navan road was very heavy due to work that will be going on full tilt until Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Yeah I went onto the N3 this morning from Clonee then off again at the Mulhuddart exit. Seemed crazy think there was 2 lanes down to 1.

Wont be going to work that way tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I always thought it was farm machinery from just over the Meath border. At this time of year, in this weather, the farmers will be working all hours.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

nudger wrote: »
    There was a mention on Ireland AM this morning that the traffic on the Navan road was very heavy due to work that will be going on full tilt until Sunday.

Was very bad this morning around 7.30am, I come in on the M3/N3 from Meath and am never stopped in traffic there. Came off at the Mulhuddart slip just after Clonee and went Ballycoolin/Finglas and into work that way.

Is this round of works definitely finished by Sunday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nudger

PauloMN wrote: »
    Was very bad this morning around 7.30am, I come in on the M3/N3 from Meath and am never stopped in traffic there. Came off at the Mulhuddart slip just after Clonee and went Ballycoolin/Finglas and into work that way.

Is this round of works definitely finished by Sunday?

Was reading D15 thread when it came on so I think I got it right.

You know the usual report so was only half listening, "traffic from the Ashtown station to the roundabout is heavy" every morning ,when isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,578 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Who knows, they were 'definitely' supposed to be finished the night works there in advance of yesterdays mornings rush hour and they weren't

I despair at the amatuerish nature of some of these works. They've made a pig ears of the joint between the new surfacing and the old, and they should have known if they laid asphalt overnight with the ambient temperature at a certain level that it would not have cooled enough to allow traffic on it by rush hour - which it didnt and held everyone up for 25 minutes.......

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Who knows, they were 'definitely' supposed to be finished the night works there in advance of yesterdays mornings rush hour and they weren't

I despair at the amatuerish nature of some of these works. They've made a pig ears of the joint between the new surfacing and the old, and they should have known if they laid asphalt overnight with the ambient temperature at a certain level that it would not have cooled enough to allow traffic on it by rush hour - which it didnt and held everyone up for 25 minutes.......

I agree its like a patch work quilt , do a bit here , do another bit there , roads left uneven.

Came from the shopping center to Corduff and had to ask herself can you see the roundabout, once again it was moved and also made smaller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,902 ✭✭✭ozmo

T-Maxx wrote: »
    This scheme is due for completion within the next few months. Hopefully all the pessimists on here are pleasantly surprised!

Hopefully - but from their maps - I just cannot make it out...

but... How are you supposed to travel from point A to point B in this map...

It looks like to me they mean you to single file up to the traffic lights - then cut across a buslane and two lanes of traffic (the grey and the blue ones on the map) on a junction all within a very short space.

262617.jpg

surely I must be reading this wrong...?

also - I've not often seen a bus-lane go right up so close to the traffic lights before.. normally there is a gap to allow cars to get in lane.

“Roll it back”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

ozmo wrote: »
    Hopefully - but from their maps - I just cannot make it out...
    but... How are you supposed to travel from point A to point B in this map...
    It looks like to me they mean you to single file up to the traffic lights - then cut across a buslane and two lanes of traffic (the grey and the blue ones on the map) on a junction all within a very short space.
    surely I must be reading this wrong...?
    also - I've not often seen a bus-lane go right up so close to the traffic lights before.. normally there is a gap to allow cars to get in lane.

That lane on the right after point A is the only lane from that direction for going straight across the new bridge or left around the new loop to go down to the motorway ... so there will be no traffic near you or in your way to get across the lanes you have said except the odd bus which will be merge in turn I presume

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,405 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Is there going to be many traffic lights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,622 ✭✭✭daymobrew

ozmo wrote: »
    The grey/blue lane is a bike lane.
    Is there going to be many traffic lights?
    If you look at the map of the works you can see a set of traffic lights on each side of the bridge and another on the eastbound off ramp (people coming from Clonee direction).

They are taking shape now and not a moment too soon.

Driving to Clonee from Corduff today and seems people forgot it was a roundabout or the old if in doubt yield to the right.

The last roundabout before you turn right to go down onto the N3 a car just pulled out no indicator and half stopped,then when I got up the hill of the exit some woman in a jeep flew down the lane onto the slip-road, if it wasn't for the first car holding me up she would have went into the side of my car.

Its a miracle there hasn't been a crash(that I know of) or crashes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

They are taking shape now and not a moment too soon.

Driving to Clonee from Corduff today and seems people forgot it was a roundabout or the old if in doubt yield to the right.

The last roundabout before you turn right to go down onto the N3 a car just pulled out no indicator and half stopped,then when I got up the hill of the exit some woman in a jeep flew down the lane onto the slip-road, if it wasn't for the first car holding me up she would have went into the side of my car.

Its a miracle there hasn't been a crash(that I know of) or crashes!

It's funny how that roundabout has been getting smaller and smaller as the weeks go by. Soon it'll just be 1 cone in the centre of the junction with an arrow sign on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Traffic lights are now fully operational as from yesterday afternoon.

T-Maxx wrote: »
    Traffic lights are now fully operational as from yesterday afternoon.

Just used em twice,so far so good,as my brother says Christmas will be the real test.

The filter lights should make a difference as well.

I wonder if the work is nearly finished.

I wonder what it's like in the evenings ? Coming from the IT direction very often the traffic can be back almost to the IT itself so if there's a difference to be made that's the real test I think.

All depends on the lights,no point the lights at Castlecurragh being at green and then the next set are red or vice versa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,844 ✭✭✭Arciphel

I drove home this way yesterday evening, coming from Snugborough Rd direction going to Clonee. Normally I come down the Snugborough Rd and go right at the Liberty building and on the overpass that way onto the N3, but when the roadworks were on during the summer it was quicker to come down the Balycoolin Road and go straight over the flyover and turn right onto the N3.

It was a disaster last night, took me about 15 mins longer to get home. Coming onto the upgraded junction from the Ballycoolin Road, there wasn't much traffic using the left filter lane, most people drove down and then stuck on the right indicator and tried to squeeze in. At the lights, the sequence seemed to favour those coming from he right onto the flyover so a long wait. On the flyover itself, there are three lanes but only one turning right onto the outbound N3 so everyone was trying to squeeze in, including people pulling sideways into the junction on what I presume will be a yellow box once all the road markings are done. So yeah, bit of a disaster at the moment! I imagine they will observe it and tweak the lights etc over the coming weeks to try and get it working a bit better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

I bet its all done by Thursday, thats when the new Aldi opend and I bet the timing of both openeing were planed to coinside...

All depends on the lights,no point the lights at Castlecurragh being at green and then the next set are red or vice versa.

You'll often be sitting at the lights at Castlecurragh when they're green but you can't get through from the IT direction or out of Corduff or Castlecurragh because there's nowhere to go on the other side of the lights because the traffic is backed up from the N3.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    You'll often be sitting at the lights at Castlecurragh when they're green but you can't get through from the IT direction or out of Corduff or Castlecurragh because there's nowhere to go on the other side of the lights because the traffic is backed up from the N3.

the only good thing about that is you get more chances to turn right into corduff

hopefully the new lights will work better to keep the traffic moving , dare i say it cant be any worse than the old set up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

I just drove across from the Blanch side to the Mulhuddart side and while waiting at the lights on the far side, I saw two cars reversing back up the free flow onto the N3. I can only presume they thought they were in the lane to take the left up towards Mulhuddart village.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

I just drove across from the Blanch side to the Mulhuddart side and while waiting at the lights on the far side, I saw two cars reversing back up the free flow onto the N3. I can only presume they thought they were in the lane to take the left up towards Mulhuddart village.

Feckin eejits.

Travelling from Navan to Corduff today and I used the slip-road at Mulhuddart for the first time.
    The minute I seen they had a left/right land and a right only lane I knew there would be trouble.

I was in the right only lane like most of the other cars, then a few others used the left/right lane, as soon as I came out onto the road I put on my left indicator to filter towards Corduff. Two cars went past and wouldn’t let me in, the second one I ended up behind at the red light.

The red one then decided the bus lane was their personal overtaking lane and the black one went about 10Mph before breaking the red light to turn right into Corduff, so bad drives in the first place.

The next time ill use the right/left lane when im going into Corduff, its sad to see a new road/traffic management system is in place barely two days and drivers wont give each other a chance to learn how to use it properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,293 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Mad times ahead for this junction. Nothing surer. :(