Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Richk2012 wrote: »
    I thought i heard that there only testing 25% of the national herd each year ..
    Could be wrong but that figure is in my head anyways .

That might explain it!
    bbam wrote: »

Nope, this one wasn't advertised in the last 6 weeks or so. Manager rang me up and asked to meet direct!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lefthooker

Scanned this morning, 91% in calf. Deeeeeeeeeeeeelighted:D:D:D
    So much better than last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Can you use imageshack or something? Skydrive appears to be private.

Tried that said my username was allready in use. let me try again

edit?usp=sharing

Thats the Tym

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-GG7ZD_BCqWcFNIYm5HYW5NV3M/edit?usp=sharing

and heres the one you'll all be willing to give your eye teeth for

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-GG7ZD_BCqWbmtBZ1RWVG43X2M/edit?usp=sharing

edit?usp=sharing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

I thought i heard that there only testing 25% of the national herd each year ..
    Could be wrong but that figure is in my head anyways .

Yea vet here testing a few weeks ago said 1 in 5 are being tested and that's just to keep monitoring things, will soon be 1/8 and so on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

whelan1 wrote: »
    i know what it is:P:P:P

Well ?? We are all friends here there should be no secrets , except mine of course !

whelan1 wrote: »
    i know what it is:P:P:P

Hush you or I'll let your cows out at 2am:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Hush you or I'll let your cows out at 2am:D
    put the handbags away ladies :D:D

Handbags at dawn whelan? :P

Id pay to see that, matter of fact ill print the tickets.....who wants one lads ;);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Lads ye watching the secret millionaire , Cavan woman, hen farming, turnover last year 6 million,

hugo29 wrote: »
    Lads ye watching the secret millionaire , Cavan woman, hen farming, turnover last year 6 million,
    Is she single?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Anyone know much about this? Sounds right up my street, I'm more than qualified, apart from the third level bit, knew I should have stayed in uni.

C0N0R wrote: »
    Anyone know much about this? Sounds right up my street, I'm more than qualified, apart from the third level bit, knew I should have stayed in uni.

Not a clue, I wasn't even looking for a job! bbam may know as he found it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Not a clue, I wasn't even looking for a job! bbam may know as he found it.

Nope.. I had 3 calls in the last two weeks offering me interviews for a few positions so I started to have a nosey around to see what else was out there, thats how I saw it..

Actually in one day one lady rang me 9 times and sent two emails to get in contact with me about a position she has open...

The market seems to be picking up quite a bit..

Nope.. I had 3 calls in the last two weeks offering me interviews for a few positions so I started to have a nosey around to see what else was out there, thats how I saw it..

Actually in one day one lady rang me 9 times and sent two emails to get in contact with me about a position she has open...

Lucky you

Lucky you

Well maybe if you stopped spying on people from the bushes:P

It's a pastime, you d be amazed what you witness

Reminds me of Willie from The Simpsons :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Anyone at the talk in cillin hill tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Are there many agri related jobs available that aren't farming? Could be time to come home yet!

C0N0R wrote: »
    Are there many agri related jobs available that aren't farming? Could be time to come home yet!

Nope

Lucky you

Im not looking for a change at the moment. Sods law will dictate that when I do fancy a
    Change there'll be nothing that grabs me.

Reminds me of Willie from The Simpsons :D

Ah I've been called worse

ooooh it's chilly out there this morning.
    Anyone else notice a lot of holly berries appearing this year or is it just around here that there's a plethora of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

simx wrote: »
    Anyone at the talk in cillin hill tonight

I was, same ould stuff from teagasc, by 9pm when you looked around there were more lads asleep than awake!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Have to get the calving camera up this evening. One of the cat5 wires and the POE box burned out due to dampness (my own fault). Got the replacements on Friday but just didn't get around to putting it all up again. Away today and springer in shed. She's being watched but it doesn't take long to being hooked on the camera. At least I won't be checking my phone during today's meeting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

just do it wrote: »
    Have to get the calving camera up this evening. One of the cat5 wires and the POE box burned out due to dampness (my own fault). Got the replacements on Friday but just didn't get around to putting it all up again. Away today and springer in shed. She's being watched but it doesn't take long to being hooked on the camera. At least I won't be checking my phone during today's meeting!

Have you someone to call on if she gets into trouble and your in a meeting or unavailable to get home ???
    What bull is she in calf to ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Have you someone to call on if she gets into trouble and your in a meeting or unavailable to get home ???
    What bull is she in calf to ??

Yes I've someone to check progress and if there is any difficult there is always the vet.

In calf to HCA.

In reality they're bred and managed so as it give no issue. At worst I'm only away 30% of the week and they generally don't calf during those hours anyway. (I hope I haven't just jinxed myself!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

just do it wrote: »
    Yes I've someone to check progress and if there is any difficult there is always the vet.

In calf to HCA.

In reality they're bred and managed so as it give no issue. At worst I'm only away 30% of the week and they generally don't calf during those hours anyway. (I hope I haven't just jinxed myself!)

Looked at a springer last Saturday around noon. Decided, definitely will not calf for a day or two. Fecked off to the u21 match in Thurles. Got stuck in traffic. Missed first half. Match over, decided to check calfing shed on my phone. Calf standing, and sucking:D Copuldn't believe it. She hadn't even slightest slack in the bones few hours previously:confused: