If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Not Quite Four Laps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

smmoore79 wrote: »
    Savage 3k time KU. Its nice to go sub 9 30 isnt it?!?! I take it thats a pb for you?

Cheers S. Yea, I was delighted with it. I was surprised with the time because I didn't think I ran as well as in the 3k time trial down the club when I ran 9.30. I probably just kept a better pace for the first half of the race in this one. It's a pity there weren't more runners around the same mark on the night. Karl was trying to convince me to run in the A grade beforehand but the last finisher in that came in at 9.13 so I think I chose the right race in the end. It was very impressive seeing the relentless pace of John Coughlan from the sidelines in any case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

On paper, that looks like one of your best performances ever (apart of course from your epic marathon ;)). Looks like you could really do some damage at middle-long distance (3k-10k).

I stuck it into McMillan yesterday evening and it's the first race in a while that has come close to predicting the London marathon time. We must have been on some form that day:D. I still reckon I'm more suited to the longer stuff (it's all I've ever trained for) but I'm enjoying the regular middle distance racing with no marathon on the agenda. My main focus this summer was meant to be on the 10 mile at the end of the month but I've gotten a little side tracked. Will you be running the rest of the Race Series this year?

You should check out JD's VDOT instead. No plans to do the race series. I toyed with giving the 400m another shot in the Masters in Tullamore in a couple of weeks time, but I'm in worse 400m shape now, than I was when I ran that 62 a while back. I'm back on the marathon track for DCM, so have lined up a few build-up races, including Longford marathon, Athlone Half, Lakes 10k and possibly a Kilomarathon. Still not sure what I'm targeting for Dublin, as I seem to be in pretty consistent form with my build-up for London (but no better), but still have 11.5 weeks to go. Would like to repeat that result (or improve it marginally), with a view to an all-out assault on Rotterdam next April. Best paid plans and all that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Brilliant 3k race there KU. Speed and endurance all lining up nicely. I can't remember if you said if you're doing a marathon this year? Looks like a pretty serious 10 mile time coming up.. you got a number in mind?

You should check out JD's VDOT instead. No plans to do the race series. I toyed with giving the 400m another shot in the Masters in Tullamore in a couple of weeks time, but I'm in worse 400m shape now, than I was when I ran that 62 a while back. I'm back on the marathon track for DCM, so have lined up a few build-up races, including Longford marathon, Athlone Half, Lakes 10k and possibly a Kilomarathon. Still not sure what I'm targeting for Dublin, as I seem to be in pretty consistent form with my build-up for London (but no better), but still have 11.5 weeks to go. Would like to repeat that result (or improve it marginally), with a view to an all-out assault on Rotterdam next April. Best paid plans and all that!

It's early days yet. You've got a great base there from London so you'll be flying it once you get a few weeks in to the program.

With regard to the 400m. I think we both learned that the specific training is definitely needed. Probably not worth running it in the middle of a marathon program. Secretly, I'm just worried that you'll beat 60 seconds. You were a lot closer to it when we raced it the last time and we were both suffering from the recent marathon in our legs, I reckon.
    Brilliant 3k race there KU. Speed and endurance all lining up nicely. I can't remember if you said if you're doing a marathon this year? Looks like a pretty serious 10 mile time coming up.. you got a number in mind?

Thanks RFR. I was delighted with it. Genuinely shocked when the results came out online. I don't think the 10 mile is going to be a great race for me. I haven't done any specific training for this like longer 5-6 mile tempo runs, which was going to be the bread and butter of my training when I orignially thought about it. I was initially hoping for the ambitious target of getting under 56 minutes but if I get 56:xx now, I would be delighted with it. Serious 5 mile race from yourself recently as well. You're well inside my 5 mile PB now. You must be pretty confident getting down to the specific marathon stuff now?

Yeah, its going well for me at the minute. Much more specific work planned over the next while. Thinking of dropping the plan to do the 10 mile race this weekend in Monaghan, as I really should be in proper marathon training now. Hitting the faster times in the shorter races has given me plenty of confidence, the 6:30 planned marathon pace doesn't seem quite so intimidating anymore. Hopefully starting a new job in a couple of weeks, so there's a good chance I'll have a very busy September. Training won't be as consistent then, so need to make hay over the next couple of weeks I'd say

No reason why you can't push for under 56, even if you're running 56:30 pace for the first 7 or 8, you seem to have excellent speed at shorter stuff, so could push on in the last couple of miles maybe?

Friday to Sunday

No running

Monday

6 miles @ 6.23/mi

A progressive run to get back in to the running again

Tuesday

300, 400, 400, easy run

Down to the club after work and a few repeats to practice my pacing ahead of a planned mile race the day after. Didn't time the 300 but the 400s were 71 and 67. 71 was exactly what I was going for. This felt not so bad so I banked this effort level for the first lap the following day. Don't know what I was doing on the second one. Meant to hit the same pace but went much too quick and it felt it too. Finished up with an easy run in the Irishtown Reserve.

Wednesday

BHAA Mile Race in never to be confirmed 4.46

It was 'fierce close' weather for this as they say down in Tipp. I did a short warm up in Sean Moore Park beforehand and even at that I was sweating quite a bit. For most races this would have been a disaster but it was ideal for the mile race. Warm and not a breath of wind.

After watching some good races from none other than Meno and a few of the clubmates, I was feeling good and raring to go. I was down in category 2 but was bumped up to category 1 after we consulted with a coach from the club. There was three of us in this group. Me, another runner from the club and a lad with a 4.27 1500m PB. All of a similar ability on paper.

The last race was categories 1-6 with a staggered start. We were started 30 seconds after category 3 & 4 :eek:, so any chance of a cash prize was out the window:(. I got a good start (making a habit of this) and lead in to the corner. I was holding back on the first lap a little bit, trying to replicate the 71 seconds from the day before but might have gone a little too slow. Not too sure of the split but I reckon it was close to a 75 second first lap. Going across the line, the clubmate went round and took the lead. He pushed the pace a little bit and I was glad of this. I was working a little harder but keeping tight on his heels. Coming towards the end of the straight, I accelerated, went by and tried to open up a bit of a gap.

I thought I might have been pushing it a bit too hard and was worried I might fade badly on the last lap but I kept the lead and I think I was opening up a bit of a gap. I don't have the greatest finishing speed so I tried to really push it and have a bit of a gap going in to the last lap. At the bell, I wasn't feeling too bad so I kicked on again and kept a decent gap to second place. I didn't look back and just went all out once I hit the final bend. I was tying up in the final straight but the finish line was too close to slow down now. I ran straight through the line, genuinely shocked that I had that last lap in me.

Meno and Mithril had me clocked at 4.45/4.46 but no official result yet. Regardless of the time, I'm really happy with the race and the track races will be sorely missed as we head in to the hard winter ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Great race KU, if you are looking for some track races over the winter keep an eye out for the ALSAA winter track league. They do a race on ALSAA track once a month, normally alternating between a mile/300m. They usually start in October.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

They have you down as 5:26 http://bhaa.ie/events/bhaa-mile-2013/
    But given that your group started 40 seconds after the first group; you can take that as 4:46

pconn062 wrote: »
    Great race KU, if you are looking for some track races over the winter keep an eye out for the ALSAA winter track league. They do a race on ALSAA track once a month, normally alternating between a mile/300m. They usually start in October.

Cheers P. I had forgotten about those. I remember looking them up last year and they didn't look the most well attended. Might try one out and see how it goes. It will be all about the cross country come winter time.
    menoscemo wrote: »
    They have you down as 5:26 http://bhaa.ie/events/bhaa-mile-2013/
    But given that your group started 40 seconds after the first group; you can take that as 4:46

I had a feeling they might do something like that. It was a bit of a weird set up. If I'd known beforehand they were going to run it that way, I might have had second thoughts but definitely glad I ran it in the end.

Thursday

5 miles @ 6.57/mi

Felt surprisingly sprightly after the race yesterday. Enjoyable lunch time run in the park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Well done on the mile race!
    I see you're using Strava now - hope you got copyright clearance on your profile pic ;)

Well done on the mile race!
    I see you're using Strava now - hope you got copyright clearance on your profile pic ;)

Can I have copyright clearance? I can? Thanks very much Paul.

Next thing Pat will be looking for his image rights:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

great time in the mile. I love the randomness of your distances, anywhere between 400m and the marathon :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Itziger

Kiely, a quick couple of questions if you don't mind. I did 6x1 mile reps this morning and I know you felt they were a good workout in your marathon build up. Questions: How many did you do, usually 6 or did you push on to 8/9? Did you do them at 10k pace?

Itziger wrote: »
    Kiely, a quick couple of questions if you don't mind. I did 6x1 mile reps this morning and I know you felt they were a good workout in your marathon build up. Questions: How many did you do, usually 6 or did you push on to 8/9? Did you do them at 10k pace?

The most I built up to on these was the 6 X 1 mile and I only did this once. It was a very tough session. I generally did 4 but I did them at a decent pace. Probably in or around 5k pace, if I were to put a figure on it.

I wouldn't like to give any advice on these because there wasn't too much logic behind what I did. It's just good practice to do something shorter and faster as part of your schedule. These days, I just do whatever speed session the club are doing on a Tuesday and I find this just as good.

Best of luck with the training.

Friday

Off

Saturday

21 miles @ 8.14/mi

Long run with a friend who is running his first marathon. Good training for DCM pacing.

Sunday to Sunday:eek:

Off

No injuries, just pretty busy. Probably should have squeezed in a few runs though.

Monday

10 miles @ Steady pace

The watch was acting up after it's long break and stopped working after half a mile. Felt surprisingly good on this after the long break. I've missed the old Bull Island route. Very lucky to have it on my doorstep.

Tuesday

Dynamic w/u, 3k(9.29), w/d

After the long break, I wasn't too sure how to approach this. Toyed with the idea of joining the marathon group but I enjoy the time trial too much to miss one. Eventually, I decided on going out easy and then upping the pace gradually if I felt okay.

Started a row back, went out easy and settled in to a group of about ten behind the lead group. I made my way towards the front of this group over the first lap and eventually found a bit of space. I was feeling relatively comfortable so I upped the pace a little and worked my way forward. By the third lap, I was behind the lead group with one runner stretching away. With only one mile to go, I went all out and eventually caught the lead runner with two laps to go. I gave the customary burst of speed and head upright as I went by. The last two laps were tough enough but I kept a decent pace going and was a delighted to beat my 3k time trial PB.

Wednesday

14.6 miles @ 6.58/mi

Since I've switched to running home via Killiney/Dalkey, this run has been very enjoyable. Started off feeling good and this normally spells disaster and means I'm going to be dead on my feet after 5 miles. Maybe it's the low mileage lately but I never really tired and these were some really enjoyable miles.

Thursday

5 miles @ 7.01/mi

The usual lunchtime run around Shanganagh. Going to get a few more of these in during the week. I've joined a hurling team so a few evenings will be taken up with this over the next month or two. Had intended on going back in January for a year but myself and a friend were asked to join a local team when pucking about down in the park so we went for it.

Friday

6 miles @ 6.39/mi

Squeezed this one in after work because I sort of knew I wouldn't be getting a run in on the Saturday. Usual route down by Clontarf. Had forgotten how you really feel the brunt of the wind down there. It was a bit of a slog on the return section.

Saturday

Off

Sunday

21 miles @ 6.49/mi

A double purpose run with the DCM pacing coming up and wanting to be in good shape for the XC season too. Came across a few Boardsies (Killerz and wideball) en route and in general there was a lot of people out and about. You'd definitely know it's peak DCM training time.

How'd you find the 21? I know marathon pace is 45 seconds faster, but still a bear of a run.. How long is it since you played competitive hurling? Could be a few conflicting days ahead.. Don't know what sort of hurler you are but hopefully you can manage both without running results suffering. Best of luck with it.

The hurling isn't too serious. I haven't played competitively in about 10 years but I do have a puck about quite regularly. The team is in the lowest division in Dublin so it should be a nice gentle re-introduction to the game. It's been good craic so I'll probably give it a proper go next season. Only a few games left for this year. Next one is a county semi, so I feel sort of bad entering in to the fray at this stage.

I didn't find the run too bad at all yesterday. I was tiring a little after 15-16 miles with the headwind down the North Road but I finished quite strong with the wind at my back on the return section along the Royal Canal. I was genuinely shocked at how much I enjoyed it. Running in the Phoenix Park at this time of year is always good but I felt strong too.

You've got some streak of running going there now RFR. You'll have to stick in a rest day before the obsession takes over:P. You're hitting all your sessions spot on though, which is the main thing.

I hate you feckin "master of all trade" type of athletes! You're probably a bloody scratch golfer and a champion pool player in into the mix!!

Maybe, but he can't drink for sh1t. ;)

I think 'jack of all trades, master of none' is the saying you are looking for.

..... And I can't even knock back 4 beers and run a mile in under 8 minutes, which is the true test of any man as KC well knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

.....The team is in the lowest division in Dublin so it should be a nice gentle re-introduction to the game.....

The expression "Give it the timber" comes to mind.
    "That lad's a bit quick - I'll slow him down".

What team did you join?

Monday

5.7 miles @ 6.41/mi

A long time since I ran this so I can't remember too much about it. Usual lunch time run around Shanganagh.

Tuesday

w/u, 12 X 400 w/45s rec (Avg. 71s), w/d

It was my favourite track session down the club and just the 4 of us doing it. I thought I had the watch set up for the session but it just didn't work out. Must do a trial run before the next one. I started off a bit easier at 74s but got progressively quicker.

Wednesday

Off

Thursday

15 miles @ 7.02/mi

I forgot the Garmin so it was back to the trusty stopwatch for this one. This has turned from a run I dreaded during London training to my favourite run of the week.

Friday & Saturday

Off

Sunday

6 miles @ 6.27/mi

Back up from a christening at home over the weekend and snuck in this one before bed.

Monday

Off

Tuesday

5 miles

Lunch time run in Bray. Probably at a similar pace to all my runs these days (6.30-7.00/mi)

Wednesday

Off

Thursday

14.5 miles @ 6.59/mi

It looked a bit cloudy when leaving the office so I stuck on the jacket but was regretting it after a few miles. After getting up the hill at Killiney, I had to take it off and strap it round the waist. The difference was huge and I really enjoyed the rest of the run home.

Overall, not much going on running wise these days. Just keeping things ticking over for the time being. I have been feeling really good on my runs and was eager to get a race in over the last few weekends but couldn't squeeze one in. Hopefully will get a race in before pacing the half in the Phoenix Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Great session of 400's Kiely, 71 second reps is great moving. What's the plan for the winter? Are you doing a spring marathon or are you going to run some cross country?

pconn062 wrote: »
    Great session of 400's Kiely, 71 second reps is great moving. What's the plan for the winter? Are you doing a spring marathon or are you going to run some cross country?

Thanks pconn, it's much faster than I normally do them but I decided to really push it out on these ones as the mileage is pretty low at the moment.
    Like yourself, I'm going with running as many cross country races as I can over the winter. I won't be running a spring marathon next year, I don't think but never say never. I really want to run Ballycotton but beyond that I've no great plans. The 10 round numbers will have to be tackled as well of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭Peckham

Did I pass you along North Road in Phoenix Park at around 12.30 today? Thought it was you, but had the head down battling into that wind!

Friday

6 miles @ 6.42/mi

After work run down by Clontarf. Thought I'd be a bit stiffer after from the run on the day before but felt surprisingly loose.

Saturday

Off

Sunday

21 miles @ 6.55/mi

I timed this pretty badly in that I managed to pick the 2 and a half hours in the day where it was incessantly raining. The wind was really bad on some of the exposed parts of the Park but I was surprised looking back at the Garmin data, that my pacing was really even for the whole run. Nice sunshine for the last few miles and the wind at my back left me feeling surprisingly fresh at the end.