"Microsoft" Scam Calls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭jluv

channro wrote: »
    Friend of my mother gave them control of his pc and they also produced a map of his closest western union so he could pay for a few years subscription to software that would keep his laptop protected. I get farmed out to fix it up and he tells me the laptop has been running red hot for a full day. Reinstalled windows and got him to change all his passwords. You'd be surprised how many older people get robbed by these clowns.
    My 72 year old mother thankfully missed their call as she would be gullible enough to give them info. When she said it to me I immediatly googled the number and Boards.ie came up trumps by confirming it was a scam number. Have had a good chat about not answering no's she doesn't know and most def not giving out info. She will now ask for a call back no and that she will get a family member to call back. But for all the savvy folks they call, you know they have to catch some poor unsuspecting person:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

give them the bank details for the garda benevolent fund when they call

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27 janiceross

I share your sentiment. I get calls like that, too, and they're indeed persistent. But I think phone scams are obvious. Even if I get a scam call everyday, they'd never have a chance. I would still recognize one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27 janiceross

Besides, I get a lot of information and updates on phone scams at http://www.callercenter.com , along with the phone numbers reportedly used to perpetrate the scam. It keeps me informed.

This is why I encourage everyone to do the same. Be vigilant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I usually let the answering machine screen calls so my one and only foray into a conversation with an Indian sounding gentleman, I was determined to get as much out of it as possible which lasted about 35 minutes. I kept throwing in the "ye lads over there" phrase hoping they might reveal where they were calling from i.e. "Jaysus aren't ye lads over there great to spot that problem". My initial stringing them along included waiting for the PC to boot up, problem with tinternet cables, and the tell me how to do that again routine.

I then asked for medical advice off him on a number of ailments because "sure ye lads over there are all doctors aren't ye?". From a click in my jaw when eating chicken to a strange rash on my scrotum, "wouldn't ye lads over there have that problem, with the heat and all". A second fella came on and told me to focus on the computer problem at hand. "Are ye lads brothers?" I asked. I think when I moved on to my "athletes foot" problem they copped on and hung up on me.

I should have just stuck to the two ailments but went for three :( Damn my greed and borderline racism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,698 ✭✭✭tricky D

My elderly mother, who wouldn't know how to turn on a computer, is having fun running rings around them right now, winding them right up. She 'wants' them to call out and replace her computer, asking how they know and now knobjockey is accusing her of wasting his time and has just hung up.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Had them ring a couple of times before and basically told them what they could do to themselves. Your man rings me back but my sister answers and asks who it is and he tells her he is my boyfriend. She told him that he isn't and that I only go for fella's who speak Irish (I think she meant English). He didn't ring back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,834 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Would love to be able to wind one of them up.

You want remote access to my PC, sure ... & give them an IP adresss for FBI Computer crimes division.

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Would love to be able to wind one of them up.

You want remote access to my PC, sure ... & give them an IP adresss for FBI Computer crimes division.

127.0.0.1 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

127.0.0.1 ;)

Really? Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 pigfarmer44

OK just got one of these calls. I strung it out for 15 minutes or so before giving him an earful. When I pretended that the www.support.me link wasn't working he got me to connect to http://www.hollandit.ie/remote-support/ and try to put in a code to allow him remote access. By all accounts, this website is for a business based in monaghan. the phone number is 047 77177. Maybe they are traceable. Anyone have any idea if the gards are interested in this scam or not. Maybe we should get anonymous to DDOS them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Southern Belle

Have had around 30 missed calls to my landline from a UK number in the past 3 days - which p**ses me off clearing them from my phone log. Have googled the number and it must be new to Ireland as the only complaints I see about it are on Dutch sites - is there any way of blocking these - it's seemingly a Microsft type scam thing. Or anywhere to officially complain?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Never got one, but would love to see what'd happen on the call if I was to tell them I was in Microsoft.

I've read previously their dialler just goes through a directory and it isn't odd for internal corporate phones to receive such cold calls. I've received'em a few times in work myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Yeah we've been getting them with two years or so, the latest being only about a half hour ago. Funnily enough, it's usually me who answers the phone.

I'll admit the first time I actually believed him for a while until he explained the procedure then I said that I was in a rush and he agreed to call later. When he rang back I just put on a smoky authoritative voice stating I was from the local Garda station and would he like to report a crime. He hung up straight away.

A few weeks later he rang again and I knew it was them because of the weird number. I decided then to pretend I was an orphan and that I had no money. I nearly forced myself to cry and started roaring saying that my family were killed and that I had to sell everything just to get by etc. I then said that I have no time for a computer as I work three jobs so how could there be a virus....I don't know how I didn't burst out laughing.... He apologised for wasting my time and wished me all the best. Another time they rang when a friend was over so I got him to start playing some dance music and we pretended the Indian lad was through to a live radio show....doing the usual casual chat and how's life and his love life. As soon as he'd start getting serious about my computer being in danger we'd just move to a new topic and turn the music up more.... We thanked him for calling the show and hung up.

Since I've come home from college they've started again. I'm just saying that I've never had a computer. He wished me good day there and I just said "Enjoy yourself man" and hung up.... It's annoying but I fing love taking the piss out of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

My parents got one of these calls. My mum had just turned on their old and slow pc when the phone rang, so she thought it was legit.

They basically got remote access to their pc, charged them £35 for MS security essentials and set it up to do a full scan.

Behind this and out site, they opened the browser, set up a Western union account and transferred £180 to an account in Chenai.

Luckily I phoned almost immediately afterwards and got them to unplug the pc and ring their credit card company and western union, who refunded the money. In the meantime I changed all their passwords using my laptop.

Two days later one of the ****ers rang me and after about five minutes of throwing abuse at him I actually ran out of insults, so hung up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Have never had a call from them but if i did i would love to deal with them the way this guy did. It's not the old Indian calling from windows scam just some poor ****er cold calling for a digital satellite company in the states...an oldie but a goodie:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kAb8vGSRBoE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭CorkBabe33

I used to get the "you have a virus in your computer" calls but none for ages. But over the last few weeks I keep getting "dead" calls, as in there is no-one there when I answer. The number that comes up is 0020 11772013 which is Angolia or somewhere like that !! Now that I recognise the number I ignore the call but I did answer the first couple of times. The call comes always around the same time in the evening.
    Is anyone else getting these calls? I can't figure out what their goal is seeing as they don't talk to try & get you to give them credit card details. Can I be charged just for answering the call :confused: ?

CorkBabe33 wrote: »
    I used to get the "you have a virus in your computer" calls but none for ages. But over the last few weeks I keep getting "dead" calls, as in there is no-one there when I answer. The number that comes up is 0020 11772013 which is Angolia or somewhere like that !! Now that I recognise the number I ignore the call but I did answer the first couple of times. The call comes always around the same time in the evening.
    Is anyone else getting these calls? I can't figure out what their goal is seeing as they don't talk to try & get you to give them credit card details. Can I be charged just for answering the call :confused: ?
    They often hack into a local businesses phone system and leave them to pick up the bill.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

The number that comes up is 0020 11772013 which is Angolia or somewhere like that !!

I doubt it's from Angolia to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭corktina

0020 is Egypt...I googled it earlier when they rang us....told my Missus to tell them feck off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

All I can hear when they ring is "balti balti balti computah balti virus balti balti"
    I told him I have sash windows and there is no virus as I painted them last year.

Plagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Garzard

It happened to a mate of mine earlier on this week. He immediately went on YT and turned on ''The Dial Up Noise'' http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=iHW1ho8L7V8 and instructed the guy on the other to wait for his internet to connect. It strung him along for a few minutes while he went for a sh1te. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Why doesn't the 'anonmymous' group sort stuff like this out and shut down CoMantra and co.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

corktina wrote: »
    0020 is Egypt...I googled it earlier when they rang us....told my Missus to tell them feck off

Don't worry Corktina,you're in good company when it comes to phone scamming...

http://debates.oireachtas.ie/ACC/2003/11/20/00004.asp

Browse at your leisure from section 12.2 :)
    The Department completed a detailed examination of the electronic version of the telephone bills received from Eircom for the two periods and extracted the total of international calls made from the exchange. Foreign calls totalled €85,297 in the July bill and €208,839 in the August bill giving a total estimated loss to the Department of :eek:€294,136. :eek:

Check them oul bills !!!!

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭robclay26

Got a call from these arseholes today, called from
    Ask you to press the windows key and r to open the run box. They then ask you to type in some thing to open event viewer.
    Apparently this shows corrupt and error files in your windows. It's kinda bull.
    Anyway mr Indian man ask you you go to www.ammyy.com and down load a remote access program to take control of your computer.
    They will then install spyware to hack yiur credit card details and online banking too.

I had fun. Wasted 15 minutes of his time, went along with it and asked if he wants in install spyware on my laptop to get my card and bank info. Told him I know all about this and I'm reporting him to the police. Then roared in his ear as loud as possible "don't you ever fu€king ring this number again" he hung up :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

Angolia? Is that right near Saudi Ukrainia?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,615 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

I got another call from them this week...

Guy said to me "We have detected a problem with your computer" - To which I said "Oh really?....Which one? I have 8 systems "....He hung up straight away... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 bke

just got called today, keep asking her how she got my number (she's probably reading this post) until she gave up. She evern got sarcastic at the end, brilliant! I've just moved house so I don't even know the number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The ones I get don't make any effort at all. I try to string them along but they just tell me to **** off and hang up.