Lets be honest and make some money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Senor Frog

flanna01 wrote: »
    Here it is.....

A simple treble, that is going to make dole day seem like an inconvenience...

1) Kid Galahad 1/2
    2) Mathysse KO 8/11
    3) Mayweather 7-12 9/1

Does anybody know much about Kid Galahads opponent James dickens?
    odds are fairly short both ways...dickens is 2.5/1

I'm thinking :
    Lucas Martin Matthysse KO/TKO 1.72

Floyd Mayweather Jr to win 1.33

Kid Galahad to win 1.50

every one euro down returns 3.45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

I will go with most of your bet , however I think Canelo by KO 7-12 os much more likely to happen -

This is also 9/1 .

Canelo walks through Mayweathers power no problem.

Also the fact maywerather hurt his hand against Gurerreo does not help his chances against Canelo ........ curious why you added that !??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭flanna01

So the Wild Dogger questions a selection....??

Sir.... I should have you taken out and flogged. However, I'll put your query down to ignorance - A common complaint among the working classes.

Mayweather grinds his opponents down, they end up chasing shadows all night. Canelo will be either totally drained from shedding weight, or carrying an extra 10lbs plus by fight time - Plus he has a problem with stamina.

Either way, I expect Canelo to be gassed out by the 8th round.

Although Floyd won't knock him out cold, he will administer relentless pressure from the moment Alvarez shows signs of fatigue - Can you imagine a static punch bag being hit at speed by an unforgiving executioner ..... That's the scenario once Canelo begins to fade..

The referee will intervene to save Alvarez from a cruel beating, somewhere between the 7th and 12 rounds.

Now you Old Dog.. Don't be biting the hand that feeds you, it's all about faith. You should be more concerned about keeping your Mrs in the dark regarding this little venture. How will you explain her finding a roll of notes in your pocket on Sunday evening...?

Last call gentlemen....!!!

Don't be crying into your tea on Sunday morning...

When my wager bears fruit on Sunday morning, I intend to throw a 'sickie'...

This is a trait I picked up working along side the common herd. Basically, when a large amount of money is won, it is commonplace to just stop practicing manual labour until the spoils are depleted....??

Now, I have always been in favour of flogging the peasants an a regular basis, just to keep them on their toes if nothing else... But alas, I intend to follow suit next week, no work for me!!

Get on gentlemen... The clock is ticking.... 25/1 !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

I will go with most of your bet , however I think Canelo by KO 7-12 os much more likely to happen -

This is also 9/1 .

Canelo walks through Mayweathers power no problem.

Also the fact maywerather hurt his hand against Gurerreo does not help his chances against Canelo ........ curious why you added that !??

You have a long history of betting against Mayweather and losing every single time..will you ever learn?

Kid Galahad 1/2
    Mathysse KO 8/11
    Floyd 7-12 9/1

Hope you're right this time mate I just put my money down :)

Greetings 'Prettyboy' - A very modest name if I may say....

The Doggy fella has a valid point. The younger, bigger Canelo, brings a lot to the table. After the final weigh in, he will have a feed of spuds, and gain another 10lb - 16lbs on top of Mayweathers weight. I would assume his training camp were concentrating on his stamina issue, ensuring that he doesn't run out of gas before the final bell...

Unfortunately, his time is not now.

At the weigh in, he looked like a skeleton. His lips were pale and white - classic sign of dehydrated to the last. Although the ginger nacho muncher will get his weight back, his power won't return soon enough. This will hit him in the second half of the fight.

Will a gassed out Canelo looking to survive... The slick Mayweather will rain hell fire and brimstone down on him, the referee at some point will have to put a stop to the spectacle - Win No.45 for Moneymay via TKO in the later rounds.

Ok... My possums, that's our first horse home and dry...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

Lets be honest................

And stay away from the bookies :p

Won't be making any bets in the foreseeable future...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭hawkeyethenoo

has garcia ever been put down? matthyse couldnt finish off judah or alexander after putting them down. cant believe how overrated he is being here! in his 3 biggest fights he has lost 2 of them, i know they were close but even if he won, close decisions against judah and alexander are exactly something to write home about! i agree he was impressive stopping peterson but peterson had been down a good few times in his career matthyse did well to finish him though. garcia at 5/2 is my idea of a value bet in that fight.

1) If you really think that Garcia is leaving the ring standing up, you really need to find another sport to follow ... seriously.

NB. Please don't post anymore nonsense about Garcia winning, it's like walking in on your Mother having a shower... It's cringe worthy and embarrassing!)

you really should have listened to me if you wanted to make some actual money. seems you don't have a clue what you are talking about. give up seriously before you make the bookies any richer, you've embarrassed yourself enough, if you leave know we will forget you ever came on boards and made such a fool of yourself. :) and I'd like an apology for the above kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Tobyglen

Greetings 'Prettyboy' - A very modest name if I may say....

The Doggy fella has a valid point. The younger, bigger Canelo, brings a lot to the table. After the final weigh in, he will have a feed of spuds, and gain another 10lb - 16lbs on top of Mayweathers weight. I would assume his training camp were concentrating on his stamina issue, ensuring that he doesn't run out of gas before the final bell...

Unfortunately, his time is not now.

At the weigh in, he looked like a skeleton. His lips were pale and white - classic sign of dehydrated to the last. Although the ginger nacho muncher will get his weight back, his power won't return soon enough. This will hit him in the second half of the fight.

Will a gassed out Canelo looking to survive... The slick Mayweather will rain hell fire and brimstone down on him, the referee at some point will have to put a stop to the spectacle - Win No.45 for Moneymay via TKO in the later rounds.

You don't have a rashers. Bookies love soft touches like you. Cocky yet simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

Ah lads, c'mon.. you're being a hit harsh. Without people like this, boards would be a very boring place. So he got it wrong, so what, it has been a bit of craic! He didn't hold a gun to your head and ask you to gamble, or even read this thread, it's his money, let him at it. And to be honest, his posts are literary genius!! Tips aside..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭keysersoze0330

80s Child wrote: »
    Ah lads, c'mon.. you're being a hit harsh. Without people like this, boards would be a very boring place. So he got it wrong, so what, it has been a bit of craic! He didn't hold a gun to your head and ask you to gamble, or even read this thread, it's his money, let him at it. And to be honest, his posts are literary genius!! Tips aside..

Well said. Ah sure, the people aren't happy unless they're whinging about something

Well said. Ah sure, Irish people aren't happy unless they're whinging about something

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Last call gentlemen....!!!

Don't be crying into your tea on Sunday morning...

When my wager bears fruit on Sunday morning, I intend to throw a 'sickie'...

This is a trait I picked up working along side the common herd. Basically, when a large amount of money is won, it is commonplace to just stop practicing manual labour until the spoils are depleted....??

Now, I have always been in favour of flogging the peasants an a regular basis, just to keep them on their toes if nothing else... But alas, I intend to follow suit next week, no work for me!!

Get on gentlemen... The clock is ticking.... 25/1 !!!!!

dont work too hard tomorrow....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

Mayweather was never going to KO Canelo. Ridiculous call. Can't blame you for betting on Matthyse for KO (although I had Garcia), but 8/11 were horrific odds. Don't quit the day job pal

Greetings to all my fellow manual workers...

I was going to do the Billy Clinton apology routine again, maybe add a measure of grovelling thrown in for good measure... But, nah... Done that gig before.

So... How did one of the best boxing brains in Ireland get it wrong (Again granted..)??

I got Kid Galahad without much bother - Your man Jazza just can't fight more than ten rounds, the bulb in his head just turns off... A very queer fish indeed, you will agree??

Danny Garcia and his 'blunt' hair cut, played a blinder... The fight started off good, with Matthysse slapping him all over the ring, and then his Father Angel, slapping him all over the corner during the intervals...
    Garcia shut his tormentors eye, and the rest was history as they say.... In fairness, I tip the hat to Garcia, he beat the odds and got himself another fan in the process - No other than my good self..

So... With a heavy heart, and the realisation that I was heading back to work on Monday morning, I settled down to watch the main event.. With all hope of a financial windfall gone, I enjoyed the fight for what it was - A boxing exhibition of sheer class, skill and outstanding God given talent.

Mayweather gets younger and fresher by the year.

Canelo looked like a skeleton on a Halloweens night out.. His lips were white, his body drained, and in way over his head... Even a dish of hairy bacon and cabbage would not have saved him at this stage...

As Mayweather put on a five star boxing display, you must also congratulate the Mexican for lasting the distance.

So... It's back to the drawing board.... My sickie cert is still not required.

As for 'Hawkie'.... Relax my friend, you take things a little too seriously... I detect that you are devoid of any humor or banter, and lack in the personality department..?
    In a previous post you stated that you were going with Garcia.... So you were successful of the night, and did not avail of my selections.....

So why would you want an apology...? (Not that I'd issue one in a million years)??

I was considering never darkening the doors of Boards.ie ever again... But how could I leave my followers poor and hungry...? So fear thee not my fellow peasants (a class I intend to leave when my next big thing comes in...). I shall return with a guaranteed, iron clad, dead cert... (mass applause heard in the background..)

Watch this space...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

I'm more of a lurker on the boxing forum but this Fianna lad is the best thing to hit this forum in ages, gas craic! I'll never forget the last lad that stuck in the mind who was that fella collegehero or something along those lines.

Glad to see some support from the minions...

Obviously, my long term goal is to break ranks with the working classes, I never cared too much for them...

Ok, lets get down to business... This is the Christmas banker!!!

It's a slow burner, but puts Christmas into guaranteed happy mode. You WILL be paid out on December 8th... Plenty of time to get your shopping done, and of course - avail of the customary sick cert routine.

As you slackers will do anything to burden the tax payer more.. I have decided to repay your faith in my wagers with a special Christmas bonanza...

10 /1

That's right... 10/1

So, without further a do:

28th Sept David Haye 2/7
    13th Oct Tim Bradley 11/8
    26th Oct Kell Brook 1/8
    24th Nov Manny Pac 1/5
    30th Nov Carl Froch 1/5
    7th Dec Amir Khan Evs

No KO predictions, No points predictions... Just straight wins!!!

This is a gift to all my work shy followers... Even 'Hawkie' might crack a smile with little chestnut...??

Get on, Get rich.... Only the brave will be rolling in the lolly at Christmas!!

As for 'Hawkie'.... Relax my friend, you take things a little too seriously... I detect that you are devoid of any humor or banter, and lack in the personality department..?
    In a previous post you stated that you were going with Garcia.... So you were successful of the night, and did not avail of my selections.....

So why would you want an apology...? (Not that I'd issue one in a million years)??

the apology would be for insulting a man of my boxing intelligence and knowledge by saying the following,
    1) If you really think that Garcia is leaving the ring standing up, you really need to find another sport to follow ... seriously.

NB. Please don't post anymore nonsense about Garcia winning, it's like walking in on your Mother having a shower... It's cringe worthy and embarrassing!)

maybe it was you who needed to find another sport flanna? garcia not only left the ring standing up but standing tall with the belts he came in with just like i said he would against all the odds. this greatly enhanched my bank balance. id like to thank mugs like you for backing the matthysse KO thus giving me better odds on danny swift garcia.
    This is a gift to all my work shy followers... Even 'Hawkie' might crack a smile with little chestnut...??

cant find much fault with those selections, bradley is a cracking price and khan while he is glass chinned wont have to worry about that against alexander and should have to much speed for him. the rest should win aswell. so yes that looks a decent bet. my only criticism would be the froch one as the 1/5 is not a great price and im a huge groves fan. froch should win yes but 1/5 is not a good price in my opinion so id perhaps be leaving that one out but solid selections.

Hawkie.... Your becoming one of my pilgrims??

I may be wrong... But did somebody dart you in the neck midway through your post above...?? You went from Mr I know best, to being all loved up, and practically begging me to take you under my wing...

Hawkie - No bother, and welcome aboard.

We need to work on your blind devotion to George Groves, he's a nice guy and all.... But we can't be letting fantasy get in the way of reality - Not when the troops are looking for a Christmas cracker (courtesy of my wager of course..)

So... Hit the bookies with the 10/1 certainty... And a merry Christmas will be had by one and all...

Hawkie.... Your becoming one of my pilgrims??

I may be wrong... But did somebody dart you in the neck midway through your post above...?? You went from Mr I know best, to being all loved up, and practically begging me to take you under my wing...

if you spout nonsense and something stupid like you did about garcia before the fight i have to say something. but they are solid selections so no point saying they arent. bradley is 6/4 on betfred and ill be having a nice single on that .

Thanks Hawkie.. Your endorsement can only consolidate my boxing guru reputation.. At this rate of going.. I will be a legend in my own time.

If I could sing - I'd be Johnny Cash!

Ok possums....

Ye all have one week left to make your way to the bookies. It is my understanding, that the vast majority of contributors on this forum are lay-abouts, so there should be no excuse for not being able to avail of my 10/1 earner...

Unfortunately, I will not be able to prompt ye any further, as I am heading off on annual vacation with the leg iron.... Ten days of sheer mental anguish.

I will be returning with minutes to spare for the start of the Haye vs Fury undercard. Obviously, that will be the start of the Christmas cracker... 10/1 guys!!!

So my friends... If ye can just peel the mattress of your backs, trot on down to the bookies, ye will be rewarded in time to pay Santa.

During my absence, my mate Hawkie will be looking after the boxing side of things on this section....

So, as they say in Italy.. Au revoir monsieur's!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Themonkey

as crazy as it sounds i fancy fury at the prices i think hayes only chance is by early knockout so maybe there is value backing him to win by ko rounds 3 to6 but i think furys going to try and drag this into the later rounds and hope haye gasses im hoping any way love to see fury becoming big time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Let's hope your boxing predictions are marginally better than your language/geography skills!

TbL

To the Lemon fella.... Did you never watch fools and horses?? You probably wouldn't get the tongue in cheek humour.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

I think your whole betting crystal ball gazing is tongue in cheek and you'll be fooling people on the horses next.

TbL

Greetings my little fur balls....

So... After nearly a fortnights break from this forum, I have returned to find the Haye / Fury fight was postponed...?

Now, too be honest, I got wind of this in northern Italy. I was in a typical rustic Italian hotel in Tuscany.. (often compared to condemned buildings in similar countries around Europe..), when I amazingly got a half decent wifi connection... As I scrolled down the sporting section, I was horrified to discover that Haye had suffered a cut and the fight was off...!! Bear in mind, the prospect of this fight was keeping me going during my annual two weeks on 'water boarding' (time spent with the Mrs..)

So.. with a heavy heart and a light wallet, I treading around the numerous shops and malls looking at handbags, scarves and shoes.. As my spirits declined, and depression sank in, I considered the consequences of strangling my lovely wife... ( I reckon I could do two years if I was guaranteed no more... yep, that's a fair exchange??)

However, I was spared any servitude, I didn't have to resort to serving time with the common herd, I spotted that the Scott Quigg fight had been moved to October the 5th!! Now we're sucking diesel....!

So with a spring in my step, I knew I could complete my annual vacation without a strangulation charge hanging over me...

I straightened my back, summoned the leg iron, and proclaimed ''let's go shopping my sweet''.

Before the bitter fella and Hawkie think I've gone soft, my plan was to park the leg iron in some shoe shop (keep her occupied for hours), then sneak off to a cyber café, logon to Paddy Power and make my fortune with my new found wisdom...

So what happens - Unknown to me, the good Italians have got a blanket ban on gambling sites, it goes against the good book!! (Pity they don't extent it to the padre's chasing young fella's in shorts around the country!).

Unfortunately, after many attempts, I could not access the paddy power site. With losing the will to live, I returned to shoe city to collect my still unstrangled wife, she informed me there was a great handbag store further on.... (somewhere around this point I retreated into myself, kinda like a vegative state of exsisting...)

Next thing Im back in Dublin....

Now my possums, I feel invigorated, my days of being poor are drawing to an end.... I am soon to be divorced from ye shower of burdens on the tax payer...

I am replacing the Haye / Fury fight with a Scott Quigg knock out... The odd's haven't been published yet, so hang tough my cherubs.

Stay tunes to this thread, I have a 10/1 Christmas cracker coming soon...

Tis great to be back......